National Conference delegates vote to tax churches, mosques | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 28 May 2014

National Conference delegates vote to tax churches, mosques

Delegates at the ongoing National Conference yesterday May 27th voted unanimously for churches & mosques to pay taxes. The delegates arrived at the decision after deliberating on recommendations made by the Committee on Religion.

A delegate representing Civil Organizations, Mallam Naseer Kura, during the deliberation observed that most religious leaders in Nigeria are now making a lot of money from their organizations and so should be taxed accordingly.

Supporting his arguement, Isaac Ighure a delegate representing the Nigeria Guild of Editors, in his submission said most religious leaders had so much money now to buy jets while their followers are living in abject poverty and asked that they should be made to pay taxes. "Some people buy private jets when people in their churches are suffering and living in abject poverty, they should be made to pay taxes,” he said. 

The recommendations to pay tax will be submitted to the National Assembly at the end of the conference and if accepted by the National Assembly, it would then be passed into law. Who agrees that religious organizations should pay tax?

186 comments:

I totally agree. ....looking at how these so called spiritual leaders amass so much wealth.....

I agree 115% with this recommendation.

I think I agree, some churches are just too wealthy and the pastor are making more money than the government, they need to pay tax

That's only what Committee on religion could come up with?, Tax! I guess it's a step towards uniting both religions huh! They should all be awarded then. #MisplacedPriorities.

Long overdue

It's bcus d money some churches earn jst in a sunday service is more than that of sum govt organizations!

#Pesty

Mamman Nimat said...

I Agree. All churches and mosques should be taxed as they should also play a part in the reconstruction of this country

dr_dozie said...

Without any atom of quandary,I think religious institutions should be taxed.

First off Linda, Churches and Mosques are non-profit "organizations" and shouldn't be taxed. secondly, we still don't see what has been done with tax payers money so why tax the church or mosque? considering the fact that Taxes are even collected from the offerors of the offering paid in the church, i see no need to still tax them. because making them pay taxes is like saying NGO's and other Carity organizations should pay taxes. it is completely wrong, and a new innovative to illegally acquire more public funds.

@porche_melo said...

Those thieves pastors jus ve to pay taxes ohh,.. Espec winners chapel

My dear Linda, Jesus christ paid tax why not.

I agree, @ least pple won't jst wake up naw and say "God called me, lemme open a church"

Nigeria is faced with more problems they should be tacklin rather than proposin tax payment for religious bodies.dem no get common sense o

TEMMI said...

i support abeg!!!!!!!!!!!!! NAIJA CHURCHES ARE MAKING SERIOUS MONEY

I don't agree. The tax we are paying,the so called government eat up everything.they are looking for more to generate money and steal it.mcheew.

DOBY DOBY said...

Hehehe.. if im to say.. yes.. bt they shld also reduce tax on infact companies to encourage pple to open up a company

Now they will start denying the church worth. Loooool

I agree with this idea. Some churches are running like bussiness organisation. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

I concur, but pray d tax money should b used properly. Not robbing Peter 2 pay Paul.

How will they police that

Iwu ka obu! I agree.... They are sooo wealthy while their members are suffering. Meanwhile na the members make dem rich oh. Pay tax joor... Heavy tax.

jaybeyblu said...

Give to Caesar what belongs to Caesar. If the govt wants em to pay tax they should! Isn't like they have dry pockets

Sing, sealed nd paste , atlast dis moi pastor wil know ow it fil. ...... D new comer

Seriously i dont see any sense in this but thats there business shah....

skilful_ said...

Paying Tax and other levies won't stop pastors from buying private jets and building. A very ignorant reason to try to cut on the funding of pastors. When the tax won't be up to 50% of their income. Abeg second base jor.

I agree with them.

Shame on you all,it's obvious you do not know what to delegate on anymore. Now you want to attack churches all in the name of tax,make God punish una there.#BringBackOurGirls greedy atheists!!! Go tax the traditionalists(baba alawos) na.

Esp winners chapel abi,then thieves pastors, u know ur problem u are lost and empty, so kip insulting men of God

After dem don chop d general tax finish with nothing to show 4, there r looking for anoda avenue.

Yea Jesus paid tax! So it is not wrong if they also pay bcause @ the end its d government printed note they are spending so you give 2 ceasar what blongs 2 ceasar

mapindi said...

The lord shall continue to supply our needs according to his Riches in Glory....

Mz Labby said...

First of all very true, some pastors are just acquiring wealth in the name of ministry.Secondly, these big mouth delegates can sit down and vote even when the street to their houses are not tared.By the way the church is accountable to God, who is the government accountable to? As if they really care about the ordinary man.I rest my case.

Segun said...

We are simply in a backward country. In developed countries, the govt pays back to non-profit organizations because the monies donated to these the organizations (churches, mosques etc) had been taxed before. The govt in forward thinking countries believe that the money donated to non-profit organizations should not be taxed therefore pay a rebate to the organizations. Here we are in our own country stating absolute bullsh*t as reasons for taxing these organizations. #ThisIsNotACountry

Lols to d last comment

mapindi said...

The lord shall continue to supply our needs according to his Riches in Glory....

I know in the USA and UK churches don't pay tax,because the US founding fathers among other reasons believe that God is supreme and his enterprise should be left untaxed. In the UK churches are regarded as charitable organization and such don't pay taxes. And the richest pastors in the world are in the UK AND USA.

PERSONALLY, I don't think God will be angry, if Government decide that his business should pay taxes, because Jesus one time paid tax and Gods commanded xtains to obey authority.

BUT I THINK IT WILL BE MOST STUPID FOR GOVERNMENT OF NIGERIA TO BE IN THE FORE FRONT OF TAXING CHURCHES PRIMARILY BECAUSE LEADERS ARE RICH.

I DON'T THINK HE THAT REFUSE TO RESPECT GOD WILL BE GUILTLESS. AS IT IS WRITTEN THEY THAT DESPISE ME I WILL LIGHTLY ESTEEM. 1SAMUEL 2:30.
I SORRY FOR THOSE PUSHING THIS MATTER, FOR IN THEIR DAYS OF TROUBLE, THERE WILL BE NON TO RESCUE THEM.U CAN BET ON THAT

naija said...

200% agree.

Naija Event said...

it is well with nigeria

The solution is not by taxing churches or mosques, but by diligent use funds that accrues the govt by other forms of tax.
They've not shown accountability,so taxing churches or mosques is not the way out.

I agree but shld be private churches. And mosques? Do they make money in mosques? Are mosques owned by individuals?

dolf said...

Totally agreed

Zeme said...

I agree totally! Since they can't spend money on the poor people in their church, then they may as well give it to our greedy government

BeautifulHeart said...

Lindiway, I support this one o.
Abeg make them pay tax sharp sharp.
Some of them called by their pockets under the guise of "man of God" exploit members.
It is my prayer that all believers have discerning spirit, learn to pray on their own more in order to be empowered by God, and desire to study the bible like the early Christians did, by so doing we will not be carried away by everything that comes out from the mouth of every pastor. This is one of the things I like about Mountain of Fire church. There you dont depend on the ministers for everything. They teach you how to be self dependent!
May God help us especially in this end time!

Payee!!

Tax them, religion has become a big business and acts as such so it is only fair that they are treated as a business, so they MUST pay taxes.

@ porche You are mad for calling winners. Are you ok in your head?

BeautifulHeart said...

Lindiway, I support this one o.
Abeg make them pay tax sharp sharp.
Some of them called by their pockets under the guise of "man of God" exploit members.
It is my prayer that all believers have discerning spirit, learn to pray on their own more in order to be empowered by God, and desire to study the bible like the early Christians did, by so doing we will not be carried away by everything that comes out from the mouth of every pastor. This is one of the things I like about Mountain of Fire church. There you dont depend on the ministers for everything. They teach you how to be self dependent!
May God help us especially in this end time!

Real talk, u dey enter class well @porche_melo, yea!.....winners chapel, christ embassy, redeem and all d pastors wif private jets are oley (thieves) !!!

I disagree with you. Most Nigerian churches are profit making. They invest their huge funds with high interest rates in banks to make money. They build and sell houses. They build universities and don't offer free education. So they are profit making. # my opinion#

These useless ppl are not satisfied with the federal government money they are stealing now they want a share from churches, the money ppl give to these mosques and churches are they not already taxable. Nonsense people with their pointless conference Mchew

onye nsogbu said...

Churches are NOT supposed to be taxed! Its not right!!!

I totally disagreed with this,in the first place the churches have so many charitable things and events that are done for the less priviledged in the society,schools and hospitals are sometimes sponsored by churches,things that are the responsibilities of the government.so WHY shld they pay tax.government shld also take up their responsibilities to the society if that is the case.annonimous.

kush said...

o.m.g................. i see no reason for this#misplaced priority besides is churches n mosques profit orginazation....abeg ooo

The taxes paid, of what use has it been thus far?

Some people are just funny when it come to church. if u want the church to pay tax then all NGOs should do the same because what comes into the church is donations not profit from business. that some pastor are blessed does not mean others are not poor. I know it will not see the light of day.

Lisa London said...

@ Tonye.

When 'non-profit' organisations sit on vast amounts of wealth, enough to purchase jets for
flimsy reasons etc they are no longer charitable organisations.

They are clearly out to make profit and rightly so should be stripped of their charitable status and pay tax.

@11.29 u r a fool 4 mentioning. Winners chapel. Ode!. If d goverment can tell us how dey hv been spending all d 1s dey have been collecting 4m d poor masses den dey can go ahead n collect tax. After all Jesus paid tax.

beejay said...

I agree o cos d money churches r makin iz 2much, wen dey by chan6 open sku dey only mak it 4d rich. Most of dem attended free missionary sku bak den!!

I totally disagree with dat. House of God are not suppose to pay tax.salvation is free

Lydia said...

Abeg dats nt wat we want 2hear jawe...make dem bring back dose gals 1st..Dis issue isn't suppose 2cumup nw

SIMPLYCOCK said...

i LOVE THAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Is that your headache,bring it on,we shall pay and still be rich at least we have something to pay

Perfect, you want to have a say in how people live their lives. You determine the fate of women, gays and children, then you have to pay for the privilege. You can't make or influence policy without paying the cost. Sorry o. Churches, when auditors start shutting you down and investigating you for corrupt dealings, then people will truly know you are all liars..... Maybe your god who made a 14 year old virgin who was betrothed to another pedophile pregnant will give you tax rebates in the fairytale heaven with no gays that all you nasty evil people will end up in. Bye Felicia!

jessy said...

Abeg let them pay but d thing is it is still d congregation who would be made to donate money for tax every sunday I'm sure they would print a special envelope for dat and label it "tax"

Is that your head ache? Bring it on,we shall pay and still be rich at least we have money to pay

For once in this confab, they hv made sense. I totally agree. Jesus himsef paid tax wen he asked 1 of his desciple to go to d river, catch any fish cut it so as to pay tax. These churches re suppose to pay tax, anytym dey hold service the pressure of vehicles on d road also result in delapitation of the road, so lynda, I 1000 percent agree...

Oloyinbo Obayagbon kaabo

I totally agree with dem lindodo

The thieves should be taxed!!! Idiots!

Real talk, u dey enter class well@porche_melo, yea!.....winners chapel, christ embassy, redeem and all d pastors wif private jets are oley (thieves) Period!!!

AIO said...

So long as they exempt the Catholic church, as its leadership is under the Vatican. Any other group making money ventures should pay.

Praise The Lord !!! Best decision so far , no be only pastor go dey chop the innocent believers money , make govt follow share inside.

@porche_melo,u must be very stupid for using winners chapel as an example. Wen churches nd mosques re non-profit organisation y will dey pay tax

Wat stupid delegation.dis Naija leaders don't make no sense.people are living in abject poverty bcos d govt officials are not making gud use of our funds
not bcos dey give in deir place of worship.and d only place people find solace are d chur,mosque.

Linda Unijos student are presently on a protest march to stop the boko haram bombings

U must be mad to mention winners chapel.all these people that called themseleves christains dats why d muslim dey kill u people

Linda if u like no post my comment

@porche_melo. May God forgive you and never let His wrath fall on u. Is it not the same bible the pastors use? open ur church lets see how far u go. #ignorance

U must be mad to mention winners chapel.all these people that called themseleves christains dats why d muslim dey kill u people

Churches in nigeria are non profit organisation, please look at other non profit organisation did their organisations own a private jet, why nigerians rich pastors can have this when they have a non profit organisation, they can feed the poor with the money.
SOS child village is one of the biggest non profit organisation in the world, they have childe villages in about 144 countries and the head of this non profit organisation has no private jet for his work, but nigerian rich pastors will tell their brainwashed followers they need it that they can spear the gospel to the world. why only pastors from this new churches have a private jet!!!!!!!

belinda said...

@tonye, wat taxpayers money r u talking about? V u ever paid tax in ur life nd u r asking d govt how dey r using d money.

Interestingly most people who will support this DO NOT pay taxes.
Me I don't support this notion @ all, in a country where even the oil companies making billions per day arent taxed appropriately!!!
Anyway even if they are taxed it will not stop their prosperity!

I'm in support of the idea, they should be made to pay tax, simple. These pastors are making too much money on their members sha.

Even ppl @ d shrine shld b taxed too, nonsense. As if dey will use d tax for anytn gud rather dan gettin dia pockets fat.

Porche or wateva u named ursef may God 4give u must u refer 2 Gods' anoited az thieves?I pity u nd ur generations bc wen d wrath of God comes it won't end on u alone

belinda said...

And also churches and mosques are profit organizations. Like dey observed in d conference d churches do not give bck, deir congregations are absolutely poor. Dey are dere4 nt non-profit

The Poet said...

"Give unto Caesar what belongs to Caesar and unto God what belongs to God". Our Lord Jesus Himself paid His taxes and encouraged His followers to do so, thus the church management or overseer should pay taxes. Jesus Christ did this when he didn't have enough to buy His own horse but had to borrow one. How much more when our pastors can afford jets (I am NOT against pastors owning jets and living well, not at all). The problem is that most pastors will not pay it. They will tell their members something like,

"You see, the government has said we should be paying taxes. This is a corrupt nation. However, we shall survive. From now henceforth, there will be a third (or fourth or fifth...) offering to be known as tax offering, every Sunday. Special freewill donations are also very welcome. There will also be a tax card to record your offerings for the tax offering. Obtain the card from the ushers for N1000 only. Remain blessed as you obey the Lord".

Only honest pastors will truthfully pay that tax from their earnings on their church. For the rest, those delegates just opened a new revenue window. Simple.

I'm in support of the idea please; they should be made to pay taxes. These so pastors make too much money on their members sha.

Its because churches are making impacts you want them to pay taxes. Its ok, but their reason for them to collect tax is irrational. Them paying taxes or not doesn't make Nigeria better, it just gives politicians and tax officer more money to steal. When we see the impact of tax payers money, then they can bring any law into existence.

kimkeem said...

And the people who voted in favour of this crap should also find time to vote for the military who claim they know where the chibok girls are to go bring them back by crook or by means. Start the process first and lets see that it is too dangerous for the girls then you can stop and restrategize. The state of the nation should be the only topic on the lips of our leaders. When they have achieved any success with the security state of the nation then they can begin to tax churches, mosques, ngo's and everything taxable. Until then, please u people, Army, Police, Navy, Airforce, Bush force and whatever armed forces there are, BRING BACK OUR CHILDREN.

The death that will kill a dog does't allow it to hear the smell of shit. God will always fight his battles.

@Tonye Ofongo, you are poop-pooing the long discredited line of argument by the leaders of these religious organisations. Tithes,offering, contributions, Zakat etc are payments made by worshipers to the religious organisations in anticipation of social-economic advancements;in return for messages of this-worldly or otherworldly hope gains or profits; promises of heavenly manna or favours; extrinsic demonstration of penitence etc. These sir, are in the nature of services. It follows that upon payment of tithes, zakat, or offering, the MONEY REALIZED becomes INCOME to the religious organisation.Income from services rendered are by law taxable in many countries in the world.The religious leaders should also pay tax as a earner of a taxable income. The accounts of the religious organisations should be open to periodic statutory auditing by a specialized agency of government to prevent money laundering,sponsorship of terrorism and embezzlement of these funds. Robbing Paul to pay Peter been the bane of our religious experience as a people.IT MUST STOP!

Arrant nonsense

Hmmm end time

#Gbam.....Great News.

I think I agree so d will be less church

May be, just may be if churches and mosques pay their taxes they will help fight the government if they are not using it right.

...and Churches/Mosques that don't make 'plenty' money should be made to pay taxes too? Apparently, that is the reason for clamoring for taxes from these religious institutions!

http://oyinlolasobowale.blogspot.com/

The bill should have been passed a long time. They should pay tac

One thing ur little and oh so little mind does not know is that even if winners chapel is taxed it won't affect our pockets. God has so blessed us that paying tax doesn't scare us one bit. After all Jesus paid tax and it did not hamper His ministry
Give to ceaser what's ceaser and that's exactly what we are going to do

Supported, they are business ventures.

That one or two pastors own a jet is not a national problem that some envious people will waste their energy on and besides who said that the poverty of the members is the responsibility of the pastors.The president of the country has 7 jets and was elected by the people and besides there are so many poor people in this country,so let us start with the president first and besides church members were not forced to join the church and they were not forcd to make contributions

What about babalawos and other spiritualists? they shouldn't leave them behind o!

Mia says so via iPhone5

I think Political Parties too should be made to pay TAX, because they collected more revenue than Houses of Worship

CHURCH MONEY IS MAINLY GOTTEN FROM WILLFUL DONATIONS FROM ***ALREADY TAXED CITIZENS** So why should the govt now tax money that has already being taxed??? Then motherless babies homes, orphanages, NGO's should be taxed too!!!!!

Am in support of it, they should put it into law

It can not work churches are registered under charity that means all charity organisation will pay tax and moreover only big churches will be able to pay smaller ones pay nothing

I concur.
Jennipukka

Yes, I know that some of these spiritual leaders a masses lots of wealth, but that should not be the reason to tax God. People that give these money, gives it with the mind that they are given to God, though the leaders eventually do missappropriate the funds for their personal use. Nigeria has fallen so far away from God, to the extent that He has almost forsaken us. Are we going to add to the curse by taxing Him? God forbid. What we should be talking about is finding a way to tax monies being misappropriated by the leaders. There should be a mechanism for levying taxes on the personal fortunes of the spiritual leaders. The fortunes of our spiritual leaders are child's play when compared to those of those of the leaders in the US and the western world, yet, America does not tax churches and mosques. There must be a reason for that. Nigeria should not make a very unpalatable history by becoming the first nation in the world to tax churches and mosques. Besides, Christianity, for instance, has paid it's dues in the country. Let us not forget the schools and hospitals they built even before we had formal government. These schools and hospitals, did contribute a lot to what we are today. Churches have the moral obligation to help in building a good and just society, and many of them have done and are still doing that.

Finally, you cannot tax God, rather, find a way of taxing monies that spiritual leaders have converted to personal use.

Chyke
Unknown City

Agreed they should all pay tax. Did I hear some1 say they are charity organization? When some don't even help members. Our taxes are well utilized

You are a big fool for mentioning winners chaple. Who made a judge. ? Please pple, don't bring condemnation over your head just because u have to comment.

I totally agree! Thes people make a whole lot of money from thr members. So they shuld be made to assist d govt by payin taxes

How about the idol worshippers. Who will visit them in their shrines for taxation. This is just a ploy against the church. This counsel will not prosper in Jesus name.

Linda churches and mosque nt pay tax anywhere in the world dey are non profit organisation even in US where I live dey nt nd @Porche u better mind wat to say abt winners or God wil punish u

I don't think there is any issue on churches and mosques paying TAX.It is clearly written in our Tax Law that they should pay Tax if they engage in any trade.who does not know they sell books,CD,set up high paying universities etc.The problem we have in Nigeria is implementation of the Tax Law.I stand 2 be corrected!

Nath Ekanem said...

I agree, is like the church paying its own tithe to the government, don't see nothing wrong with that

no way churches and mosques are out of it. if they are to pay then all these so called organizations will start paying theirs too. No pastor forces the brethren to bring money to them, or are you guys jealous of them. where did the money collected channelled to piss off.

Tonye,I think your comment is the most reasonable comment made here so far,I commend you for that..Churches and Mosques are non profit organisation and should not be taxed..What have they done with the taxes collected so far other than looting them for person gains?..As a matter of fact,that confab is just another means to siphon our common wealth because it's not a sincere conference..They'll surely give account to God someday.

Dr Fred said...

I support. ..Some of the pastors just dey chop church money

If it must be passed into law,even the poorest church will still pay. Or,will they recommend that according to the church's background? If so,i give YES to it. Remember,not only churches but mosques as well because every thing boils down to religious taxation... Wisdom should be added into this,thank you! 29331d9a

How does their payment of tax solve any of the problems in Nigeria. Are we asking them to pay tax because we feel they are earning well or we are simply clueless on what to do next in this nation. The delegate just want to submit a report so we do not say the conference was useless. pls do something else #misplacedpriorityeatingdeep#

I agree 100%!!!!!

sick old corrupt men! tax ko taxation ni. what have we don wit d once they have be collecting? arrant nonsense.

not -running-a-church said...

let them pay taxes.after all they are running these churches like businesses,so why not?

Deres no sense in it....its dah peeps dat ar. Dumb enough ta fall for dia pranks en again...if dah members feel datz watz workin for dem...fine...@least.dah members ain't complaining na....naija fools...just be comin up wif unreasonable finz...cause u ar poor en stuff doesn't mean odas shld be like u....bratz en hypocrites hiding behind religion....wen dah country is facing alot of problems...dah only fin ur useless brains culd come up wif is dis rubbish...instead of u guys ta face.dah tougher pzzz dat we in naw....how won't ur govt be ranked dah worse on earth....dis believe dat wisdom comes wif age is all bullshii in dis our tyme...pls u guys shld step up en implement more reasonable finz....assholes....Mtcheww...just pissin someone off every single tyme...monkeys....

i agree 200%

Churches and Mosques should be taxed and some average minds here are supporting it! If a religious organisation runs businesses and the public re meant to pay for such services then it should be taxed eg having a university in which tuition is not free. Please think logical

Sometimes I wonder how we reason in Nigeria, I don't understand how that decision can be made unanimously, how can you tax a money that was taxed.

The members of the churches and mosques have already been taxed, the workers in these worships centeres, imams and pastors and other paid workers are taxed, why should the free will offerings be taxed.

While i agree some of these religious leaders do things over board but It is not only in Nigeria that religious leaders are buying jets, it's done all over the world and in a place like UK, when we give offerings, the government return our taxes back to the churches.

I just don't get Nigeria. How will that action help the problems that Nigeria is facing? Na wa!

Sometimes I wonder how we reason in Nigeria, I don't understand how that decision can be made unanimously, how can you tax a money that was taxed.

The members of the churches and mosques have already been taxed, the workers in these worships centeres, imams and pastors and other paid workers are taxed, why should the free will offerings be taxed.

While i agree some of these religious leaders do things over board but It is not only in Nigeria that religious leaders are buying jets, it's done all over the world and in a place like UK, when we give offerings, the government return our taxes back to the churches.

I just don't get Nigeria. How will that action help the problems that Nigeria is facing? Na wa!

This is absolute rubbish, why would churches and mosques pay tax, the congregation already pay taxes in their respective place of work.Tax won't makes these pastors to be less richer. It will only make the congregation to suffer more because they are the ones who is going to contribute money to pay it.

I disagree...yes their are reasons to point a finger...but
1) their are some churhes who dont have enough to sustain their expense
2) the individuals that give tithes and offerings have already paid their taxes. Why then should offering bucket be taxed.
3) jesus said give whats for the governemt to the government and whats for God to God
4) if you tax the church then you are taxing the citizens twice.

I disagree...yes their are reasons to point a finger...but
1) their are some churhes who dont have enough to sustain their expense
2) the individuals that give tithes and offerings have already paid their taxes. Why then should offering bucket be taxed.
3) jesus said give whats for the governemt to the government and whats for God to God
4) if you tax the church then you are taxing the citizens twice.

Churches and mosques should be taxed.

I totally agree, its either they stay away from politics and talking about politics in church or the psy tax heavily. I don't know if we have men of God or politicians these days

Jadesola said...

They should pay tax so that the money eating will increase abi...I totally disagree...The other taxes they have been collecting how well has it been utilised????.....mstcheww...

how many of una dey pay tax?if the wantto tax the profit from biz activities of churches where they make profit like banks, no prob, but if its to tax tithe nd offerings ,it will amount to double taxation.let the delegates not abuse their opportunity to make decisions before GOD sentences their old heads quickly to hell for sacrilege.

Sometimes I think we need more rational thinkers to comment than everyone just using their mouth because they have one.In the first place there is no monopoly of religion, the young men started their churches and never stopped anyone from doing same.Secondly non of their members were forced to belong not to mention being compelled to give money in any guise.thirdly the mosques are not privately owned like churches so I dont accept the unanimously voted jist.

yinka said...

How foolish!!! So the new level is to tax God through the church...The Muslims at it again..I perceive a revolution.. .

Ur right

It's wrong, let's not use some church to judge others.

Spot on

edache said...

so,what of our currupt politicians? Who do there pay to? And how effectively will the taxes paid be used? I think this is targetted at the chuch and not mosque.

The fact that clever "spiritual leaders" make money off their blind and foolish followers does not give the government the right to collect their share of the egunje from these places of worship. If we are being honest with ourselves will the government uses these taxes to better the lives of these church goers living in abject poverty? The answer is no. I understand the frustration of many people with these charismatic leaders that rob their congregations blind, but this is absolutely not the solution. We can only hope that people use their brain government can not regular that unfortunately.

D comments frm some pple only shows how daft even d common nigerian is. Who is responsible for d poor state of nigerians? Is it d govt who has failed to create an environment for economic growth or religious bodies who shapen our spirituality! Dr chris

They are stupid wtf is wrong with this so called politicians, law makers n govt! Why wud church or mosques pay tax, okay u ppl that are in Govt for over 5decades n ur citizenry are suffering n killings every day with poverty, what have u guys done since u guys have been in power Nonsense ppl shameless ppl in Govt stupid foooooooooools

Make them pay tax or takecare of the poor people in the church n reduce dier education fee.....if not all buisness owned by the church should be taxed

Tax them jor! After all the offering money thier university even average man no fit pat

I support they shud pay tax. Yesterday I had from a relable member of christ embassy that all the zonal pastor are having a meeting wit past chris in america.
Wat is wrong wit holding the meeting here in 9ja. And d person said dia pastor is spending ova 2million naira.
Now tell me wia all dat money is coming from.
That is one zonal pastor, we are talking of ova 6000 to 10000 pastor if not more. Its time we wake up in dis country. U can ask any christ embassy member if the zonal pastor are not in america now 4 meeting.
Meeting O just meeting. While some members can not eat.
I am a christian I am okay to the Glory of God but this is not what Jesus is all about. Make we talk true and shame devil.

I don't agree!

Its a good move definitely, but wont it bring about tax evasion and all sort of malpractices to evade tax, being a religious organization, we would be putting them in the middle of corruption or being true religious leaders.. lets watch as it unfolds

Anon 12:18 I disagree with u don't be jealous of church or mosque if they are doing business by building uni. Then tax their uni not the church

Austin said...

4 me ,its a welcome development as churches who care less as to how the common are taxed and hw d govt spend the taxes collected would now be concerned bcos their tax is there too which would play a major path in public sensitisation expecially to the illetrates and ignorants who are more in churches nowadays

Dee Brown said...

If the people in govt were pastors they would simply quote giv wot belongs to ceasar...to ceasar. www.datsall

Nice comment

NkiruFatimaOla! said...

hmmm is the tax paying going to solve the problem boko haram in Nigeria? this pple shuld disuses how poly student will back to sch, hw to avoid all this strike in higher institutions, pay security pple their wages without cutting, unite us as one Nigeria nt all dis irrelevant things abt church and mosques paying tax. NLC promised they will do somthing until now nothing has being done concerning poly student!

Who do they pay to*

This idea of taxing the church is wrong because the money there has already been taxed and I would not subscribe to being taxed twice by a government that is as callous and mindless as ours. The best they can do is compel the churches to use these monies for charity as they are NGOs. This government should stop robbing the poor citizens or else this revolution that they think would never come (just the same way we all thought Nigerians can NEVER become suicide bombers) would just drop on everyone and the thieving government and their families would really have it so bad because it would be the worst ever heard of. Personally when the revolution comes I would make sure that every thieving government and his/her family are brought to book. ENOUGH is ENOUGH. As for the confab delegates, they should take their 12 million that they have not worked for and get out.

Linda I ofend u? Y u nodey gree shw my post are u selective

Ha Moses u talk as if u dey go church U don't knw anything abt church so pls excuse ue

Govt shil first account 4 d use of all d monies dey realise frm oda avenues they shldnt try to mess with God-o, its very risky. They shld just concerntrate on B.H

I agree anon, churches are simply for profit these days

Ha Moses u talk as if u dey go church U don't knw anything abt church so pls excuse ue

Some people might agree because they see pastors in Nigeria being wealthy. just a quick breakdown of what churches or mosques or any charity organisations are:
They are NGO's
They receive donations (yes tithes and offering)
The idea that taxing something that was giving out of your own discretion is not sensible.I know the policy is just to get more money out of so called rich churches. I dont think taxing them will be smart because it means you have to tax every NGO or not for profit organisation in Nigeria. We all know how bad charities are underfunded in Nigeria or not even appreciated , so why take more money from them.

I think they should have a strict rule that makes all charities to present and show what exactly they are doing through their account audit. Everything they do must be charitable. Now to those who say well they build school people can't afford. The truth is building projects cost alot and so do teachers. I think for universities own by charity organisations shouldn't be free but subsidised by the government simple!

finally, If we think because a pastor is rich and he's congregation are poor its the pastor's fault I think we should think again. Do you know how much your politicans earn in Nigeria including allowances and the minimum wage is 18,000naira? So what is the difference. If we are advocating for taxes for "rich churches or pastors" then we should also cut down all politicians in office in Nigeria by 70% and lets see how that feels!

Sylvanus said...

My question is how does this solve Nigeria problem? Was taxing churches the solution to our lack of unity? Was taxing church the reason why one region wants everything in Nigeria? How will this solve our problem as a nation. People are always quick to jump when the issue has to do with church. Close Church cos of noise, people rejoice, yet Aeroplane makes bigger noise than any Church. Tax Churches, people rejoice yet some multi millionaires and billionaires are not paying taxes too. God will deliver Nigerian and Nigeria

This one na war against God or wat? ?

unserious complainant said...

since they know how to make money , the shud also know how to pay tax.

Okay! I think you people should just calm down and relax... If churches and mosques pays tax, Nothing wrong with them paying tax at all. We know they are charitable organizations right? But in Nigeria they are not because i don't see anything they have done to the poor people instead they investing abroad especially the churches. Their Universities are the most expensive universities in Nigeria and some of the pastors flying around with private jets. It's hard to see pastors in the US OR UK with private jets not to talk of a pastor in Nigeria with 4 private jets and churches in Nigeria is a REAL business and i think they should start paying tax. Churches are just too much in Nigeria and some of these pastors are just tortoise, They are thieves and getting money from the poor but not doing anything back to the poor. Winners and Redeem have the most expensive universities in NIGERIA and i don't see what they have done to the poor. So these people should start paying tax.

Wasteful efforts! Are the rich paying taxes? People are too smart to pay anything to government.

Nigerian's pastors are not moderate at all.The life they live baffles me.I live in abroad n i ve seen naija running to catholic churches or church of england for help especially d smart ones becos no naija church is ready to help as per getting ur papers,but these other two churched will stand by you and make sure u r comfortable.our very own naija church will ask u ur tithe number b4 they could assist u.Anyway God dey o.What i know is dt in Jesus Christ time there were chariots of gold but Jesus decided to ride on a donkey.Naija pastors should follow His footsteps.

The church members pays their tax, asking the church to pay too is double taxation.....its just my candid opinion!

its never in any countries law dat any religious sect should pay tax, nigeria first 2 break records in everything, i'm not religious, despite the fact that churches are making serious money from the business Its not right that they pay taxes,.. I just don't know when this country will be free from criminal minded people.. U all over heard ur president saying stealing is not corruption, when Will nigerians learn, u are a member of a church and u can't afford school fees den ur church is in billions and u say d pastor is gods anointed, nigeria is rich still u cannot afford food 4 ur family, and the daughter of ur president gets over 1000 cars as wedding gift what a shame... make unanswerable get sense ooh... Surv pacy

zibaintl said...

hope dey hv decided on more impt tins as well.however churches in pay tax in uk,,,so naija even gt more...let dem pay on d conditn say d money no go enter corruptn/embezellment

Jane said...

Am amazed at d level of hypocrisy in dis country. Immediately any one mentions church, pple Start saying stale things like incuring the wrath of God! Call a spade a spade. Most of these so called pastors are called by money and private jets! Woe betide any man who lie against d Holy spirit! Fake pastors na una dey sin pass! Tax them! I wont be suprised if they offer bribe to stop dis. Uwa mmebi! Make dem buy innoson cars biko!

Winners Chapel has produced two world class universities and the third one is on the way without a single dime from any government grants, not to talk of primary & secondary schools across the nation, which state government has done that without wasting tax payers money.
Directly mentioning winners chapel is just an act of ignorance and a case of envy............your headache is about to start because that church is taking the world by storm, and again, paying tax is not the issue, we can pay the whole tax needed by the government but the challenge is that the government cant even match our leadership ability and development, you can see that except you are confused by envy and ignorance....

Dis churches don kill us,d use wot dosent exist and man made history book call the bible to milk us dry,DAN

With the way churches are run and the money they make. Heck yes!

This is double taxation if this happens, cos this tithe pple pay in church is from their pockets, cos tax as bin deduced from what ever is payed to the members bfre they take off their pocket to pay the church....so y would govt want to collect it in d hand of another person.

Holy Guy said...

Either a lot of Libers are uneducated,ignorant or just too mediocre and filled with hypocricy.
1)A church is not a profit making venture, so why tax it?
2)A pastor living large can never be an excuse to tax the church, the church collectively means every member of the congregation so the pastor is not same as the "church"
3)Any profit making venture established by the "church" can be taxed seperately for the money it makes outside the name of the church, this is fine and legal
4)A pastor is already being taxed for personal income he earns from the church so this is fine as well
5)A lot of chuches are living up to their roles as non profit we can evidently see a lot of projects they have done for public good, donations, benevolence to the poor e.t.c
6)You cannot tax the congregation or church members donations after they have paid personal, company and vat taxes e.t.c
7)This leaves me with conclusion that a lot of u saying they should be taxed is out of envy, jealousy and hypocricy, this type of perverted mindset from a third world nation will only inform our colonialists that though they freed us years ago, the slavery and poverty mindset is still intact and the scare of wealth still haunts the very people that need and desire it
8)Amazingly this motion was moved by Muslims but is being propaganded, forced and reinforced, pushed by Christians who like to castigate and discredit themselves outside their body but never within their body
9)When the teeth decides it will crush the tongue both will ultimately suffer the consequence
I case my rest.

Churches or Mosques should not be taxed..... I think pple should be more careful about what they say about Men of God.... Also, these churches actually help poor individuals.... but pple hardly ever acknowledge it because they just want to criticise these churches

It's not right to taxed church don't juldge

Bede said...

i have seen it that common sense is not common, it seems we purposely want to anger God and let him destroy our country, sorry to say; most of us talk stupidly, and i don't agree a bit with what these old men are saying. go to the bible and read about the levites, how God pampered them, then these my fellow nigerians surpporting these law, probably they are just sunday church goers or non church goer, why envy men whom God Himself blessed. church is not an organisation seeking for profit, besides these churches are even doing more than the Govt, check your community and see how much input the church has done, in education, in health services, in roads, in development, Lastly i want to tell you all to just SHUT UP BEFORE THE LORD WILL CURSE YOU.

it was personal tax jesus paid and his disciple. every individual employed by church should pay tax all pastors should pay tax from their personal income.the schools and other business created by the church can be tax , not church but the will offering giving to the church should not be taxed. the tax gotten by the govt should be utilized prudently and not to be embezled by the public officers. do you want pastors to be begging members? if they impact lives they must be rewarded, that is scriptural. So dont be envious about some men of God who are genuine and rich. if u work hard you must be rewarded. church is a charitable organization , therefore, they must not be taxed.USA UK are not taxing churches and they make use of the taxes thy get from the public. we can also emulate them .Thanks.