Sudanese woman sentenced to death for apostasy 'to be freed' | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 31 May 2014

Sudanese woman sentenced to death for apostasy 'to be freed'

The Sudanese Government today said it will free Mariam Ibrahim, the Sudanese woman sentenced to death by hanging for denouncing her Islamic religion.

A Sudanese Under-secretary at the foreign ministry Abdullahi Alzareg said Sudan guaranteed religious freedom and was committed to protecting the woman. He said Meriam would be free from prison in a matter of days.
Meanwhile her lawyer, Elshareef Ali Mohammed has expressed reservations over the government's new position, saying they are just trying to divert international attention from the case and that he doubts she would be freed soon
"It’s a statement to silence the international media. This is what the government does. We will not believe that she is being freed until she walks out of the prison. If they were to release her, the announcement would come from the appeal court and not from the ministry of foreign affairs. But at least it shows our campaign to free Meriam is rattling them. We must keep up the pressure.” he said
Meriam gave birth to her second baby in prison on Tuesday May 27th.

84 comments:

good news.. linda.. best news for me today. so happy for here. thank God.

Get paid here. click and be a part

De had bera set her free! Yaaaah!!!!!!! I see it happening.

ST. KIZITO BOUTIQUE IG: @stkizitoboutique said...

Thank God. Tomorrow, JUNE 1ST is my birthday. #SKB. Show me love

Good news! Feeling so happy and relieved hearing this

Na wa for life o, wer is d husband sef

Hapi for her tho

DOBY DOBY said...

Pls dey shld free her..

PrinceofLIB said...

God knows I've learnt more from this woman than any pastor could possibly teach me....May God see her through #Amen

I believe God ll surely help this innocent woman completely. She must be FREE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

I hpe is tru..

she 'll be free in Jesus name amen.#THAT
AKWA IBOM BOY#

God we give u de glory an honor.this s de best news Linda wow wow

Who says our god is not alive he never forsake his children our god is gud all the time

Sudan Govt are meant to compesate the woman for unlawful detention

VIA TECNO B3

Praise God!!! Am so happy.

E be like say Obama don call their Presido. Him get to fear

I'm so happy to hear dis thank God!
LAIDE

kclub said...

Thank you Jesus

Good Lord, thank God for this victory. Thank God for her family.

kclub said...

Thank you Jesus

Cheta said...

Thank God

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

If I hear.. I recall vividly you asking her to denounce her faith. I always know God will come to her rescue. The Lord does not forsake his people..

Diweri said...

Wow,so happy 4 her.

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

This will be the case of Bh. We shall all wake up one day to hear they have all killed themselves . Who says my God is not a God of when people finish ranting? Ome mgbe onyiri dike.

Adeniyi Joy said...

I've been praying for her freedom Oº°˚˚°o and she will be set free. Even the lawful captive of the might will be taken and the prey of the terrible be delivered. They have to let her go

Linda u knw wen I saw dis woman of recent wen she gave birth I broke into tear...who on earth kips a pregnant woman in larbour wit chains on her legs.my God is realli alive.c her she has lost weight.pls dey shud free her soon so she'd go get her medication.TUJ.NKY

God is in control

zeenee said...

Our God is a consuming fire, reminds me of the three guys thrown in d lake of fire n d enemies were consumed in there position, I am so sure she wil be freed. Apostasy ni Apostasy ko

PrinceofLIB,I certainly agree with you,this is a pure and simple demonstration of faith. I don't know her,but I like her,she's a strong woman and knows what she wants. More power to her elbow,and may God perfect her release.

SO SHALL IT BE IN JESUS NAME,SHE WILL BE SET FREE,D VOICES OF PEOPLE CRYING 4 HER FREEDOM WILL NEVER BE IN VAIN.

LORD thank you for the life of our sister in faith. Take all the glory

Dee Tee said...

... Datz good news. This country called Sudan. hen? is this Islamic or culture. someone should pls explain. i thought Islam is a religion of peace. why the killings

Zika said...

Thank God.

They must free her, our God is ineed alive

I feel like jumping!...

~MR EDDY~says so via www.facebook.com/eddywhiz

Love said...

Honestly i'm highly impress to heard this, i pray for the people with such mentality. We are all one before God, why are we discriminating & condemn each other?

Roseline Gabriel said...

A nice news

AMEN!!!

Is it God or the outrage of the people that has saved her from people's blind devotion to superstition?

The bigger picture is that the blind use God to persecute the innocent, these people are bigots hiding behind religion, people wake up and leave behind hate and misguided belief systems.

How can people hijack the determination of others and claim to be protecting themselves from wrong doing through persecution.

This woman represents every woman forced to marry into a life of unhappiness, every child bride, every gay person that society tells they can not be happy because "God says so" what type of God wants a woman to have a child in prison? Die of child birth because of underage pregnancy or languish in prison for 14 years because they do not follow the status quo.

Humanity is rejecting these ways of thinking, Nigerians need to catch up. We're not goose or gander, we're all humans at the end of the day.

This is not a case of praise God, it's a case of praise common sense.

Thank God for her life.

Thank God at last. Some muslims say there is no compulsion in Islam, what then do you call this one.

Wow!GOD is great. Waking up to read dis gives me joy, this month of June will be filled wif good news. Happy new month Linda nd to all lovely members of this blog and again happy Sunday too.. Psleeky

Linda's Elder Sister. said...

Father Lord, u v always made name for ur self isituations like this, may ur name b praised.

God will remain TRUE in the lives of those who worships Him in spirit and in truth. He said He will not leave us nor forsake us. I felt for her and her family but the truth is I appreciate her courage and faith. May the good Lord continually guard and guide her path. It is well

She better run out of that country n seek Asylum somewhere else if she's freed, cus I don't trust these pple

Thank God

Sweet Jesus,hw wonderful you're!the wonderful name of Jesus can neva be stained!Halleluyah!aa

I was making research on aspostasy and came across these bible chapters relating to the topic..deut 13:3-10 and deut 17:2-20...can any body help shed more light on why this law is still in the holybook and if it has been abrogated which chapter can it be found..

Steve if I catch u dia eeh! Lol.....I only said she's stubborn to want to die. Get ur facts right. Mr follow follow, na so u de folo me on twitter, insta, fb and now my comments.....kpachara anya gi oh.

I'm so excited. I said a short prayer for her yday $ somewhere in my heart I knew she was going to be free. This is to show some of the miracle God does notwithstanding the ones we don't hear of.

Halelujah may our God be praise. So so happy for her and d family. God will perfect everything he has started in her life and family.

Thank GOd for this good news, a reason to smile today cos I had a terrible month end. I trust God to prove himself once again I̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ d life of Mariam.

Who says there's no God.

They that put their trust in God will never be disappointed,to God we give all glory.

sha said...

God will surely see her through.

They had better free her... Wicked and callous people!

sha said...

Why not post my comment for crying out loud.

sha said...

God will surely see her through.

kenneth said...

Freeing this woman, is not juts enouf, she should ßε̲̣̣̣ compensation

I'm happy to hear this..than God for her

I.Thank Almighty God for his mercy ova dis woman.i am very happy for the Good News. I am happy she is free.

Good news tho

Indeed my GOD is FAITHFUL..*fashionista LeOnOrA*

Jide 'Folarin said...

In as much as this news calls for celebration, there is need to critically consider the position of Sudanese government on this development. Because they might just want to silence international media and still go ahead with the court judgement. #JustSaying

Our God never dozes or sleeps. U wii b free

neny said...

Thank God

Mariam brahim is a woman of FAITH, I love blodness, God will free her n jesus Name

That case should be follow up until she is outta prison o

Linda I know u re a good person,this is the only way I can express myself of how desperate I need ur help pls linda dear I can't pay my school fees anymore I'm a 300level stundent from nasarawa state university I ve younger once to look after pls help me this is my acc number 3070309071

Deut in an Old Testament book in the bible, which had a lot of the laws of Abraham binding as at then. As Christians Jesus came to show us love and teach us how to love so that we do not abide by such old laws . Love is the greatest law and commandment that as Christians we should abide by. Some of these Old Testament laws are what Islam still abides by. Please read New Testament for better understanding.

Thank God ooooo

Praise the Lord, best news in a while now.

Apostacy as a crime baffles me! You want to kill someone because he/she does not want to share the same faith or religious opinion with you? There must be something fundamentally wron with such person or the religion that permits him/her to put others to death...nah wah o. Wetin you wan come make the Sango/Ogun believers do? Yeye dey smell

I'm so happy for her....

Nice how Christians try to pick and choose

ZeeZee said...

Ah The power of my GOOOODDDDDD.... Father thanl you

by the power in the blood of Jesus christ. her freedom shall be real. God will raise a voice for this innocent woman. she shall be delivered from the gripe of evil and live to care for her kids. the power that delivered daniel from the lion's den and Joseph from the prison shall come alive to set her free. she shall be a living testimony of the power of God. lets remember her always in our prayers.

Thank God hope it will come to reality am so happy for her

i don't why someone should be killed cos of religion/ believe, everyone is entitle to their believe. crazy world we live

Rubylicious said...

I am happy at this news, God definitely fights for his people. Glory be to God.

Oyindamola Tella said...

Tnk Jesus

Thank you Jesus. Thank you Jesus you are the Best no one like you Mighty God. Thank you Jesus

My God is fighting for you my dear and be rest assured that he will definitely finish what he has started. God bless your heart for believing in Him. He won't disappoint you.

Korede said...

Good news indeed. Glory be to God, our Father.