Nigerian lady found dead in her hostel room in South Africa | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 29 May 2014

Nigerian lady found dead in her hostel room in South Africa

Nigerian student Naizi Evah, (pictured above) a third year Computer Systems Engineering student of Vaal University of Technology, South Africa was found dead on Saturday May 2014 in her hostel room, this is according to her friends who are trying to get the media involved in the case.

One of her friends who reached out to me said prior to her death, Naizi had been in an abusive relationship with a Zimbabwean student, who also studies in same school with her, studying same course. The unidentified man was arrested by police in connection with Naizi's death but was bailed two days after police said they couldn't find any substantial evidence linking him to her death.

Her friends say the boyfriend had been emotionally and physically abusive towards Naizi, beat her severally and even threatened to kill. They say Naizi got tired of the abuse and broke things off with the man and told close friends she was done with him but he kept on trying to get her back/

Her friends believe she was murdered but don't know by who and want the Nigerian authorities to get involved as they don't believe they will get justice for Naizi with South African police. Naizi was from Edo State and was only 20 years old.

70 comments:

Peejay said...

How sad, poor girl. I pray they find the culprit.

And she is so beautiful, may her soul rest in peace

Am so ashamed of this country cos this lady's death will not be taken up by d government, Nigerian govt. nor send period. And it hurts that the person responsible will still be there living free. See person investment as Dem waste am and a pretty one for that matter.

Edo state? Fack mhenmmmm

Sad..Another life lost..Abeg let d S.A police handle d case, cos if they can't handle it am nt sure our pot belly police officers n force men can do better..by Gods grace d killer will b caught....................#King

Love Love Love said...

She was Murdered by him. He had blood stains on him at the time he went to report to the police about her dead body. Who else had access to her room but him.

May her soul RIP..

Lady kim kim said...

Sumtin is definitely wrong sumwhere?bt what?

Nwa Aba said...

Chaii fine gal, R.I.P

Another senseless murder of another Nigerian in diaspora. The cases keep mounting and justice slow to come.

Ok, now lets see if south african police would help nigerian police like the stupid efcc helped the austrailian police to arrest nigerians....the dumbest country ever!

Ouch! R.I.P

#Pesty

One too many deaths of our people abroad. When you don value the lives of your people, who else will? Thought we have senate committee that oversees the affairs of Nigerians in diaspora. Chai!!!

What a waste, but did she go there to study or to have a boy friend, Zimbabwean for that matter, why did she not concentrate on her studies, her parent sent her to south Africa because in their mind they want to take her out of the the danger in Nigeria in order to give her a better life and a great future i really don't know what is wrote with girls of this days I am sorry about that, but I feel deep anger in my spirit when you hear stories like this it is very annoying. May here soul rest in peace

Oh God! When will this end?RIP girl.

@chux.com.......university no de for Edo state?

Tradesold said...

Very pathetic!!!

@chux.com.........university no de for Edo state?

May her soul...

Nigeria Students are not protected abroad, FG should set-up a committee to tackle mass killing of Nigerians Students Abroad. RIP GIRL

>VIA TECNO B3

Linda,I think Nigerian government should take up this case because, it seems Nigerians are no longer been respected anywhere in this present world. People deal with Nigerians the mind that they are nobody and no one can speak for them. I want to ask, can an American be killed like that?
So let the Gvt rise up and do something.
Thanks.

May her soul rest in peace
I pray her murderer is found and made to face the full wrath of the law.

At 20,ur in a serious relationship,girls should learn to remember where they are from...RIP my dear

Ehya... May her soul rest in peace. And if d guy was realy involved in d murder, he'd b hapy now dat he is going away wit it. Law!

0h mine...scary world. She's young R.I.P ----C21

But when will women n girls learn? Ditch that irrespnsible idiot now, wait 4 the gentleman. If there are none then love urself bt blive me there are good men out ther :( ----C21

I wish student will jux go to school n b more serious wit Deir books dan get involved wit Men... well, wat am I saying sef. Life is a total risk, she must ve met d wrong dude. So sad!

Every1 wants to have a boyfriend! If ur young and ur still in school, I'll advice u face ur studies. Boyfriend is not by force. Hian!

AGUDIEGWU said...

She got what she deserved,,was she sent to school to date?...smh..oya attack me

Nawah oh Nigerians are not even safe anymore both home n abroad R.I.P

Sylvonce said...

This wil b the 4th, 5th, 8th or even endless lists of college students getting killed abroad and parents soliciting for govt intervention. Parents need to start thinking twice about sending their children to study abroad, buh one wldnt blame them. If our educational system ws any betr, they wld hav sat their butts in their motherland. As young as that and already in an abusive relationship. I hope the Nigerian authorities come to ur aid, they havnt finished handling pressing issues at home...God rest her soul. Amen!

Linda's Elder Sister. said...

May her soul rest peace.but the rate at which nigeria students die abroad is becoming so high, and I suggest that Nigerians abroad should be more carefull with the kind of friends they keep.

RIP.

Please note people, man or woman, do not tolerate or stay in an abusive relationship. something terrible always happens

Ohhhhhhh My God! Y are they killing Nigerians in diaspora? Whyyyy? I cannot count hw many murder stories I hv read since d beginning of dis year (all nigerians).. Why does it keep happening? Are nigerians the only ones in diaspora? Som1 answer me? I feel soo bad!

globalruns.com said...

Being in abusive relationship doesn't translate to being killed by the partner. They need evidence.

Global said...

20 year old female edo student indeed. they never tell us what she did in RSA

zinnytreasure said...

too bad.God hv mecry.....RIP

Oh my God she die so young hope dey arrest the perpetrators

winniekoko said...

ThatBluntGuy said...

How can one be 20 or even any age and be in an abusive relationship?
Please, women wake up.
Don't tie your happiness to having a boyfriend or husband.
Na by force?
If he screams on you, quit the relationship immediately.
He's not mature.
Stop saying shit like he loves me but he has an anger problem.
There are many good guys out there, he's not even the best.
At 25, maybe this girl would have met a guy a thousand times better than the Zim guy.
Girls love your lives first before you love an absolute stranger.
May her soul RIP.
No blames to the dead because we don't know her story.
Nobody heard her side.
But let everyone learn both male and female that if it's abusive then it's goodbye.
I love Linda's spirit.
Take your stand, y'all.

@ AGUDIEGWU,

Thank God you realize u're a complete mad man! Bottom line is she met the wrong person. If girl @ 20 no get bobo, which age she wan start to get? 35years???
I met my bobo @ 17yrs and today I am happily married to him, and pls don't ask, I am extremely successful career wise with plenty money!
Age is not the factor here. She just fell for the wrong guy. RIP dear.

AGB said...

Rest in peace compatriot....God Bless your soul.

@Global don't say wht u don't know. By the way Linda, Naizi isn't Edo, she's an ijaw princess who lives in Warri. Her dad is an ijaw king, Pere Evah. She was her mom's only child. In as much as we like to judge pls how many of u here waited till u were 30yrz before u started dating. RIP Naizi Theresa Evah, may ur soul rest in peace.

You're an idiot! So u expect our police to support and cover up a 419ner and murderer? Becos u're in d same profession abi? Barawon banza.

stella said...

am really annoyed with the comments i see we Nigerians are hypocrites because she has a BF does it mean she was having sex and dont people finish university and marry at 21.okay d boys fall like manna and just come to your door step and marry you without courting.The only lesson here is flee from violent men without a second thought and nothing else.RIP let God be the Judge.

I wonder the population of Nigerians who are studying abroad to warrant the high rate of brutal killing of Nigerian students abroad... And I'm sure the unjust killings are not happening bcos they're too many, it's bcos we have a nonchalant government who don't care about its citizenry, even here at home!

Nobody will dare mess with Americans or Britons in this disgusting manner!

God bless you for this comment.

You sound like you know thrm

It's very pathetic. But the so called boyfriend should be questioned about the circumstances that led to her death.May her gentle soul rest in perfect peace

What a pity! A beautiful lady in her twenties was just wasted just like DAT and the perpetrator cannot be exposed. What a terrible country are we? May her gentle soul rest in peace

R.I.P

Eeya may her soul rest in peace.....

Anon4:16 u got it rite he is a fucking bastard,he does d same profession nd wld be caught soon

That's why you should never allow yourself to have contact with a man you know is dangerous no matter al the sweet things he may buy or say its to get you back and in due time the abuse again mentally physically emotionally or remain in a abusive relationship cause the outcome is never good , love isn't suppose to hurt , poor girl wow she was young

Same way dem track Jesse omokoh down make Nigeria govt sef make sure them investigate her death.

Adia mai said...

Naizi i dnt beliv u r gone,jst few days bk i saw ur step sister nd ur step mum nd i asked afta u frm dem they tld me u wer fine nt knwin dat it wud be d last time i wud ask afta u.ave cried Naizi nd cried 4 u bt i cant ? God cus he knws best bt whoever killed u wud nt find peace,ur pictures nd d picture of ur sista it still in my hux i look at it everyday nd smile cus i knw u r safe in heaven.i stil remebered hw we grew up 2geda in water resources warri b4 u nd ur parents moved out of d strt to sumwer else,my siblings nd i missed u nd we stil do, i cnt beliv u r still,cold nd lifeless.my entire family luv u,sleep on my frd,ur memories linger in my hrt.tnk God i knew u well b4 u died u r such a darling.rest in peace my frd nd my pet even tho i was older dan u i stil consider u my frd.God knws best.linda pls she is ijaw nt Edo.ogaga,Ajiri,Zino,fegor,me nd my parents miss u.

Adia mai said...

Oyinkro hw r u nd ur family?hw r u guys faring?am so sorry 4 ur loss i stil cant beliv dat ur sista is dead,whch day here did i c u nd ur mum nd asked afta Naizi.in everytin we shud gve tnks cus we cant ? God.pls be strong nd also be ur parents strength.tk hrt.i wud cum nd c u guys at home.

halimsy said...

May ur gentle soul rest in peace gone so soon what a pity

Honestly I can't stand people that make such stupid comments. A 20 year old is a full adult. Get out from under that rock!

My Dear stop assuming, let the police do their job, she might be your friend but don't ever think she will tell you everything about her personal life. Don't accuse the innocent man until he is found guilty. Just a word of advice. Too sad this lady had to die at such an early age, may God grant you eternal rest. AMEN

Akachukwu Adiele said...

Nooooooo!!!!! Not Naizi; This can't be. That's my close friend. I can't believe this. The last time we talked, she said she'll be back this year to see us in Nigeria.

I miss you Naizi and need #JusticeforNaizi

Cow

My fellow Nigerians please use this as your guide to sending your kids abroad if absolutely needed:
1. The risk of sending them to places like South Africa, Asia, Dubai etc is not worth it rather let them study in Naija unless you can send them to more safer countries like UK, Canada, US
2. If they are not mature and independent you are exposing them to wanton risk unless under a trusted guardian
3. Make sure you visit them occasionally and they come home as well from time to time
4. We can not afford to lose more jewels

My fellow Nigerians please use this as your guide to sending your kids abroad if absolutely needed:
1. The risk of sending them to places like South Africa, Asia, Dubai etc is not worth it rather let them study in Naija unless you can send them to more safer countries like UK, Canada, US
2. If they are not mature and independent you are exposing them to wanton risk unless under a trusted guardian
3. Make sure you visit them occasionally and they come home as well from time to time
4. We can not afford to lose more jewels

You are a very special fool, so one can't have a partner anymore, of what use is her degree and all other certificate is she doesn't have a man in her life, it's people like you, that will insult her that where was she when her mates were getting relationships

Rip

Bbg Eze said...

May her soul rest in peace; hope our govt won't let this death slide?

We know him, we are going tto deal with him