Chibok girls: We wrote to the state police but they did not answer us - Borno SSG | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 29 May 2014

Chibok girls: We wrote to the state police but they did not answer us - Borno SSG

The Secretary to the Borno State Government, Ambassador Ahmed Jidda was a guest on Channels TV Breakfast show, Sunrise Daily this morning where he gave the state government's account on the missing Chibok girls and why Borno government appeared handicapped in providing security for the school girls on the night of the abduction.

During the interview, the SSG said the initial number of girls abducted were 276 with 53 escaping and now remaining 223. He said with the recent return of 4 more girls, the number of girls now with the abductors is 219. He said the 77 girls shown in the recently released video by Abubakar Shekau have been identified by their parents and that the 57 girls that have so far returned are currently at the state Governments house where they are being taken care of. Continue...

The SSG said the allegations that the abduction was stage managed by the Governor to stop extension of emergency rule was totally false and was discredited with the release of the video by Shekau taking responsibility for the abduction of the girls and also stating his conditions for the release of the girls. He said the military saying they now know the location of the missing girls prove that the whole abduction was never staged by the state government.

As regards the letter reportedly sent by the Minister of Education warning that the Government Girls Secondary school was not safe to write exams and the students be moved due to security reasons, the SSG said indeed the state government received the letter but that the letter sent by the Minister only requested for security details for the Examination officials and not for the students. He aid the letter asked that security be provided in exam venues which is in Maiduguri, Biu, Chibok, Lassa and never asked for security for the students. He said on receiving the letter, the state government wrote to the State Police Commissioner requesting for security details for the WAEC officials as stated in the letter but the police did not respond to their request. He said the Minister's letter requested for security only for the Unity schools which is owned by the Federal Government and not for the Chibok Government schools as he never mentioned the school in his letter. He maintained that the Minister never bothered about the Chibok girls. He said the state Governor could not enforce the Commissioner of Police to provide security for the students if they did not want to do so because the Nigerian constitution did not provide the Governor the power to interfere in the activities of the Police which is to provide internal security in the state. He said even though the Governor was called the Chief Security Officer of the State, the constitution did not provide him any power to control the police, army, or even the Nigerian Civil Defence Corp.
Asked why the Governor did not use from his security vault to provide security for his people since the Commissioner of Police was allegedly not being responsive, the SSG said
"Security vault has a wider implication. If you know what security vault is, it has so many implications. Prayers for instance is a security vault. We have never received any assistance from the Federal Government in the area of security. The only time the FG supported Borno state in the area of security was in 2009 when the insurgency started. Till today, they released only N200m. This same FG released 3bn to security outfits. We have received only N200m, so this Governor (Gov Kashim) is a Governor that has preoccupied himself with Funding security matters. We have spent N10bn on security. We have provided more than 400 vehicles to the security agencies. We pay for the security official's logistics."
Asked how much the security vault was, he said
"Let me take you back to the Military. Security vault is a vault that was unaccounted for but since the advent of democracy in 1999, it is inscribed in the constitution that every Governor and even the President should put it in the budget for consideration on the approval of the National Assembly or State Assembly as the case may be. In the case of borno, we had N4bn in 20011, N4bn in 2012 and N4bn in 2013, for the 3years N12bn as proved in the budget as security vault and is generally audited and gives a lead way to the Governor to fund security requirement of the security agencies within Borno state. Security operatives in Borno state would testify to tha fact, whether on the part of the Commissioner of Police, or the Director of the SSS or  Customs, Police, Army they are all members of the security councel.and when ever they raise issues on requirements, we never told them to go to the FG or Min. of Defence. We always provided funding for them" he said
The SSG was asked why the state government did not bother to ask for security details for the state owned schools since according to him, the letter from the Minister wrote requesting for security only for its Unity schools, the SSG said the responsibility of the state Government was to write to the Police Commissioner before the kidnap, which they did.
Asked what is the true account of what happened the night the girls were kidnapped as there are conflicting reports as to what happened, the SSG said
"The authentic story is the one from the Borno state Governor because the Governor of Borno state personally visited Chibok and also  his Wife and Commissioner of Education in the state also visted the school'.
He said the girls were initially deceived by the Islamic sect men that they were coming and that they were there to give them protection. He said they were lured into a lorry and taken away. He said the school was thereafter razed down. He said the real version of the story is the one from the state government as they were the ones on ground as Chibok is not in Bayelsa or Lagos state.
Asked why the security agencies did not honor the state letter requesting for security personnel, he said the question should be directed at them. He said he and the Governor don't supervise the police.
Asked why did the state government still continued with examinations in the centre since it had been informed of the security challenges in the area, he said it was the responsibilty of the Police to write back to the state Government acknowledging their letter dated March 21st requesting for security personnel. He said the  Government respects the constitution which leaves the responsibility of maintaining internal security of states to the Police.
On whether the principal was available when the Islamic sect men arrived the school on the night of the abduction, he said
"No she was not around. She lives outside the school. They (the principal and the teachers) don't live with the girls.
He said they could not do anything about the police not responding to their request as the governor didnthe powers of the Governor to interfere in the affairs of the Police. He was asked why then did the state Government still proceed with conducting examinations in schools since it was said to be unsafe, he said
"It is because it was said to be safe and that security provisions would be made and that all that needs to be done was to be provided by the security officials.
He said the constitution as it is today stops Governors from interfering in matters on security even in their own states.
Asked if he was absorbing the state government of any blame on the missing girls, he said 
"Yes naturally. I would not be sitting down to see people insinuation things that are not our responsibility".
He said the recent declaration by the Chief of Defence staff that the military knows where the Chibok girls are might make the abductors relocate.
Asked whether the Governor was aware that Pres. Jonathan was to visit his state before leaving for France when the Governor left for London, the SSG said 
"Initially he was not aware but information came to us that Mr President would stop over in Maiduguri to Chibok so the Governor cut short his visit and we came back, waiting to receive the president only for the programme to be shifted to some other agenda. I mentioned to the Governor that Presidential visit is a major event. Normally we get 1 week notice of Presidential visit to prepare where he would stay, the roads he would pass. While we were waiting, we got news that the visit was shifted". He said the Governor went to London to look for investment opportunities for the state.
He said presently all schools in Borno state are closed down. He called on the Federal Government to fund the state with more money to fight the insurgency.

52 comments:

Tell that one to the bird, today is making how many days since the girls have been abducted! Oh bcos is democracy day. This old fools will never stop to amaze people.

Ok lemi not lie, read half of dis shit!!!!!!! Gat tinz to do! Mtcheeeewww!!!!!!!! #bringbackourgirls!

Jet li, Jackie chan, James bond007,Vandam, Spider
man, Super man, thor, captain america, iron man, hulk, batman spartacus... Na inside film dem go dey
show stunt. Dem hear sey boko haram don kidnap
over 200 girls o... Dem lego for 1 corner like sey
Nigerians no dey buy dere films. Especially dat Jet
li & Jackie chan wey fit beat 500 people with
bathroom slippers @1 spot. #BringBAckOurGirls

Eyeeh oßagoo....u guys dikwa senseless,imagine wat politics av turned nigeria into..tar all dis is political formular,bt obagoo

Jet li, Jackie chan, James bond007,Vandam, Spider
man, Super man, thor, captain america, iron man, hulk, batman spartacus... Na inside film dem go dey
show stunt. Dem hear sey boko haram don kidnap
over 200 girls o... Dem lego for 1 corner like sey
Nigerians no dey buy dere films. Especially dat Jet
li & Jackie chan wey fit beat 500 people with
bathroom slippers @1 spot. #BringBAckOurGirls

Security vote! Nothing like security vault.

Anything is possible in dis country......................#King

Anything is possible in dis country..I tire 4 naija....................#King

Micky Bangkok said...

Spaghetti/Shettima is a rogue and should be arrested he travel to London to seek investment opportunities who on earth will invest in God forsake boko haram empire

There is a lot of politics involved in this chibok issue

DOBY DOBY said...

Did pple at jus playin politics wiv dis whole tin.. shettima if you lyk dnt protect ur state.. let dem keep deceiving u nd usin ur state as major bh camp. Buhari shld keep deceiving u. . Y dnt he use kaduna his state to play politics. ..biko fed govt releasd 3bn nd u got 200m is dat nt enuf. After all we av 36 states in nigeria nt only borno state. . Besides wat av u usd d 4 billion to do in ur state. . If u keep playing politics wiv ur pples live.. remember Gej nd his relatives ar nt frm borno.. u ppl ar d ones suffering. .

I feel like slapping this Borno state SSG to shut up his fucking dirty mouth. All of them are saying trashing, just bcos none of their child or ward is among those kidnapped. "Fund the state with more money? " can they give account of the funds that had been released before now? I can see, Boko Haram lacks money now. They need to be funded. Oloshi

Pls if d state governor claims no security outfit responds to him wat does he nid more money for. Bunch of thieves and killers.

Who cares #bright bravo#

olu said...

Sick and tired of all these blame games... As far as I'm concerned every single one of you (Political leaders) are failures! Will u just get these girls back and stop pussy footing! Damn!

Diff ppl wit diff accounts... It is well

Lol, security vault indeed! LWKMD.....

Brown suga said...

What a pathetic story from a pathetic SSG of a State. 1. No principal, no teachers on ground of a boarding school, so d students are there @ their own peril? 2. A house on fire & u are busy chasing rats? Or how else can he explain dat a governor whose state is under serious attack by terrorist goes abroad to seek investors? Instead of tacking d challenges on ground, u think oyibo's na fool? 3. How come dat only d governor who has access to d escaped girls? 4. How come 4 girls escaped again from d den of d BH guys? 5. How come we have neither seen d faces of Parents/ Guardians of d missing girls? Somebody has some explanations to make & until dat is done, Missing Chibok girl is a Big Scam! Chikina!

Information is power and half truth dangerous
I already listened to this his side to the story the day Gbenga Aruleba of AIT interviewed him. But when you decided yo stand for truth and what is rational. Sycophants and apologists will go for your jurgular,claiming a governor staged the kidnap of his citizens to become the president of Nigeria.
When you read some comments here especially from my people south easterners and south southerners, you'll see how sentiments have blinded us from even feeling for another human being.
I know how I tried to make many people here come to terms that the girls were actually missing.
When the corpse of another's child is being stretched out,to onlookers it seem a log of wood.
#BringBackOurGirls

*Super Story* #bringbackchibokgirls

VIA TECNO B3

Fabricated lie... (my opinion)...

I don't understand our government! Do something to save these girls, they go to the media to thrash talk each other.

I pity that state.

sammy said...

It's a big shame that we'be lost all sense of morality, we go all out gambling with human lives as if we are betting in a football match...... It's a big shame.

Remy said...

This Borno state SSG is a lunatic, I am beginning to believe they know what happened to the girls. @Bonario,listen to the so called SSG, he is not coherent,he is just on Channel TV to blame FG while his house is on fire. His governor went to London to look for investors...

U r very stupid did u read that interview? Becos FG did not ask u to provide security for the student so u provided only for the WAEC officials dumb people nonsense they know what they r doing.

BONIFACE ONWUMA said...

Bonario whatever u say here is ur own personal opinion. U can't get all the people here to dance to ur tune. They have invested all this amount of money in the state security sector and yet there is such a level of insecurity and u people are only calling for the head of GEJ. I think the state governor is the chief security officer of the state and first and foremost be held accountable for the high rate of insecurity. Everybody uses what is happening to term GEJ incapable. Anyway, most of u people ur fathers have not bn able to manage ur homes so its not easy to manage a country of more than 150 million people not even when the insurgency is bn sponsored by some devilish persons all in the name of trying to make GEJ look incompetent. The reports are still conflicting anyway. The Chibok chairman earlier said today that only 164 is missing now we are having a different figure. I pray we will all live to see the end of all this including u Bonario. Most people only comment for the sake of of 100k or Nokia Lumia at the end of the year. Its only left for Linda to decide whether she will share money this year. But before that please let's take our jobs serious and stop bn lazy Baboons. And please learn to make judicious use of any space u occupy here or don't comment at all after all our comments ends with Linda and will not make any difference as to the current situation of things in the country. We are only running mouth. Lol.

Shut up u r trap u lazy fool. U can never know the truth even if it hits you in the face. Because of your hatred for Jonathan, you have decided to close your eyes and mind to the glaring inconsistencies that even a blind man can see. You have chosen to believe any and every lies being vomited by the apc. Now, if you can be truthful to your freaking self for once, give replies to to a few of the glaring inconsistencies below:

1. We have been told that 276 students were kidnapped, do they have parents and or guardians? If they have, how come we have only succeed in seeing just about 5 of the so called parents?
2. For an incident that have assumed an international dimension, how come the born state government has been conducting the so called identification in the government house with some selected few? Why could they not involve the international press and make the whole thing open. How come we are relying just on the info they give us in tit bits? Meanwhile, these are people that run to the international press to discredit Jonathan at every given opportunity.

3. How come that we have been told that 4 girls recently escaped from the boko haram, how did they manage to do that. We have been told that they were driven by the bokos into the forest for 2 to 3 days, how then could the girls escape and find their way to civilization? How come they did not show us the escapees and allow the international press to interview them. What are they hiding by keeping them in the government house away fro prying eyes.

I can go on and on to give you so many grounds of inconsistencies in the whole saga, but this would suffice for now. Born state government organized this kidnapping in concert with the bokos. After all, kabiru sokoto, that bombed churches sometime ago in Niger state was caught in bornu state government liaison office in abuja. Shettima government has been winning and dining with the bokos for a long time. The other senator from bornu was the one that was found to have been in constant communication via his phone with the bokos.

I keep saying it, the wind is now blowing and we will see the rump of the fowl soon. They overdid themselves this time around with this arrangee kidnapping.

He said " with recent return of four more girls"... so these Chibok girls could find their way outta Sambisa forest, while our soldiers and the foreign corps couldn't go in. In fact, Borno state gov and his cohorts in this crime / abduction saga, should sell this crap of story to a fool. We are Nigerians, we know actually what's going on. Pls let them continue to escape ooh without hindrance.

Bonario,shut up...have u stayed in the north? These pple can gang up against u,even when d truth is glaring jst b/c ur nt one of them n make u pay for a sin their own comitted.shettima and his government staged this abduction.

YEAH,I'M ALSO TIRED FROM THIS MARATHON OF HE SAID,I SAID,THEY SAID AND WE SAID.SO SHAMEFUL THAT A GROUP OF FOOLS ARE HOLDING US IN SUSPENDS.SO SHAMEFUL.PLS,I BEG YOU WITH JESUS NAME,BRING BACK THOSE GIRLS TO THEIR FAMILY AND DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS BOKO HARAM THAT HAVE BEEN KILLING INNOCENT SOULS AND PREVENTING THE GROWTH OF DEVELOPMENT IN NIGERIA.ENOUGH IS ENOUGH,STOP THIS MADNESS AND BRING BACK OUR GIRLS.

Hides you are a liar. Why don't you tell the whole world that no child was kidnapped in chibok. Look and read the analysis of contributor BROWN SUGAR. The Guy has said it all. Investor my foot in a bomb infested state like yours. You guys are day dreaming. So kanuri ppl like better thing? Your singular act in bornu state has draw back the whole country and Allah will surely judge you guys and your sponsors in millions of folds. Amin.

Shut up bonario. Pls go to the stadium and take several seats! Mtcheeeeeeeew! Oloshi. Read my lips; NO GIRL IS MISSING.
NB: am a strong APC fan

Bonario u r vry stupid. Mailicious bohaha! As if yu dn't knw dis northerners.try and compare 2days interview wt dt of aruleba of AIT and see hw unstable dis idiot is. Say d truth and let it set yu free. We all knw wat did shetima and his gvt has done. Lakosa!

Am anti-JEG. But until these girl and released and with proof that is beyound every reasonable doubt, i ll to say NO GIRL IS MISSING.

Im so worried dis days cos igbo ppl and south south ppl just cant do wivout sentiment. Lets always face the fact . We ve a weakest leadership ever since ur son ebele got in. And u ppl sing ukwu ukwu to praise him are you igbo ppl stupid dont u ever think abt future? I think we just ve to move on and let ur generations go due to ignorance. Dont get y u see the truth bt u cnt face the truth. Mr south south president is a cunt...kick is asssout now..

In This country anything can happen

I laff when people say, the insurgency came up to make GEJ look incompetent. Brethren, GEJ has been Incompetent long before he became President.

GEJ's government are the best blame "throwers" i have ever seen. they blame everything but themselves even when they have all the state security apparatus and the nations treasury under their control. The South easterners are the most foolish group in all of this and at the end will be the biggest losers in all of this.

Boniface Onwuma, cnt you see how foolish you sound. even those with a brain large as the size of a groundnut wont sound so silly as you do. GEJ has claimed he has the list of the sponsors, have you asked yourself why he hasn't arrested these so called sponsors..or even name them. The President is the Chief Security Officer of the Nation and Also the of a State where a State of Emergency has been Declared. the government of Borno State has no Control of the Police or Military persone.

SS and SE people embarrass and disappoint me with their comments, it pains me to know that I'm from the SE also. At times I just wonder if the SE guys are under a spell or sumtin

You dry craze

Mrs E said...

If you must know, he's been busy conducting mass weddings with the 4billion Nigerian naria

Mrs E said...

Yes, I can give account. If you must know, he's been busy conducting mass weddings with the 4billion Nigerian naria

Mrs E said...

He needs the money to conduct mass weddings

Mrs E said...

Yes, I can give account. If you must know, he's been busy conducting mass weddings with the 4billion Nigerian naria

Mrs E said...

If you must know, he's been busy conducting mass weddings with the 4billion Nigerian naria

Hmmmm.I am deeply amazed at how we reason blindly or perhaps trolls have found their way into this space.Secondly, must we abuse someone who has made his own contribution just because it is not in tandem with ours. why wanting to crucify @bonario.
Now, i really want to appeal to everyone to let us reason this out logically before trading blames or point accusing fingers.
1. we keep saying emphatically that this is a scam to rubbish the GEJ administration yet GEJ the C in C himself with all the intelligent apparatus at his disposal has not denied the missing girls as scam. so does that mean that we can reason more than him? or he too wants all noise on his head for nothing? #FOODFORTHOUGHT
2. if we understands the Nigeria system well enough, we would know that the Governor is just a figure head security chief in his state, because his role is just that of a logistics financial. He is not in charge of any operational command. it even becomes worse when the so called state is an opposition state. Operational command as far as our constitution is concerned lies with the FG. Buying of equipments and sophistication of our security agencies is the sole responsibility of the federal government, states are only meant to support. Evidenced buy the fact that the security agencies budget is contained in which budget? state or federal? the state only supplement in things like operational vehicles, housing, stipends,and some brotherly supports. it is as bad as the fact that a Governor's chief detailed officer can be changed from federal without the knowledge of the governor.
3. if we say this is a scam, where are those girls hiding? because i believe the state is still under an emergency rule, i would want to believe that if they are being kept by the governor in the governor's house, the security agencies should be able to figure that out or where else in the state would they be kept?
4. i believe we should all step up our call, cry, plea to the FG to not only #BRINGBACKOURGIRLS but #MAKEOURCOUNTRYSAFE.
5. if we all now also want to believe that these BH guys are being sponsored by the high and mighty northern oligarchy, and the president has not being able to clip their wings. then we are only saying and shouting out loud INCOMPETENCY, DELIBERATE CONSPIRACY. #FOODFORTHOUGHT2.

Daniel said...

the sss is very stupid man @ borno state....may GOD HELP US

Daniel said...

K....PLS HW CAN I BE MEMBER?

it is well nigeria

Hey Bonario jst shut it already.always forming intelligence when infact u don't know jack! I still stand by my earlier position that no girls were abducted by book haram.this was orchestrated/arranged by d Gov maybe using his boko boys to achieve his personal agenda