Deeper Life pastor, Eric Abakporo, sentenced to 6yrs for Real Estate fraud | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 29 May 2014

Deeper Life pastor, Eric Abakporo, sentenced to 6yrs for Real Estate fraud

A pastor with Deeper life Bible Church and a former Brooklyn-based civil attorney Ifeanyichukwu Eric Abakporo, was yesterday May 28th sentenced to 6 years imprisonment by a US Federal High Court for defrauding banks, mortgage lenders, property owners, and property buyers in America.

Prosecutors say Mr Abakporo and his accomplice, Latanya Pierce, carried out the illegal transactions for over nine years. They were convicted in a wide-ranging series of illegal transactions in New York city over a 9-year stretch, dating back to 2003. His accomplice, Latanya Pierce was sentenced to 30 months imprisonment.

Pastor Abakporo was immediately handcuffed out of the courtroom with his wife and his 2 children present in the court room wailing as he was taken away.

83 comments:

Good for him, u think America is like nigeria where u can get away with anything because of your status in the society, I trust americans, they don't care, if u like be an angel with wings, if u commit a crime,u will go to jail, period

This is a big shame.
We've many of them guilty of such crime over here.
After cheating them u'll ask them to shout "let the poor say I am rich"

Hmmm Oga pastor.Na so money dey sweet you reach.See his head,lyk an overfilled tank.Fraud!Na so all pastors be o,even my own pastor.Oyo lo wa o,pastor.

Too bad for the deeper lives peeps #bright bravo#

Simple. The hood doesn't make the MONK.

This is what should have happened to oyedepo, when he slapped that under aged girl, he should have gone to prison

Estiluv said...

Dis is too bad of u man, a whole deeper life pastor. So w@ teachings do u give to ur congregations if u d whole pastor is involve in dis act?

I'm pretty sure the church will come out to deny this 'man of God'. It's really really disappointing if this is true...#Kumuyi say something...EDIDIONG JONAH.

Mumu,u think you're in nigeria where everything is lawless, (shut up all those people shouting,touch not my anointed blah blah blah) he committed a crime he should pay,

God hav mercy, U̶̲̥̅̊ can imagine whn pple who call demselfs pastor can nt b̶̲̥̅̊ emulated by deir members,it is well

Yu just use ur hand disgrace urself, ur family and nigeria as a nation, God don catch yu thats the sweetest thing though....

Cynthia Iyede said...

Why now?

Pretenders do the worst.So many criminals hiding under the canopy of religion

When he carried out dis illegal transaction, was he a pastor then? I guess not.

Salvationnigeria said...

God hav Mercy

Nawaoo, this is serious. I know this man in our village I was still growing up.

Deris God o #dancing etigi# 1 by1, all d pretenders will be caught.

Mrs Davido

Austin said...

All these pastors sef..some are wolves in lamb clothing..deceiving,cheating and stealing from their members..deeper life pastors dat act as if they are the holiest of all and now this!

Lolllllllllllllll pastor

O ma se o

IF SOMEONE is OWING U money,read this. Its 4o hilarious. Tired of laffn

Deeper Life!!!!! After all the 'women must cover their hair, women can't wear trousers, no televesion'????? Big shame. God has exposed you lot.

Shame on u.....................#King

Igbo kwenu Nawah oh we igbo's are always involved in fast money syndrome smh at u pastor my foot

2 bad.....wat a shame...not all pastors are pastors.....

His sins brought him out bcuz of the church he attends. U can't pretend in Deeperlife. If u say u r born again $ they make u a worker in d church, dis is wat u'll get wen u compromise. #Rogerthat#

Julie Best said...

You may be right my dear, I have the same thought with you, though am not a member of Deeper Life Church but I don't think he was a pastor when he committed all those crimes.

LMAO, America no be Nigeria oh ; Mr Eric Abakporo should build a Depper life bible church in prison.

VIA TECNO B3

DOBY DOBY said...

Only if we can hear d pastor's side of d story. .

It's a shame. Am sorry to say this, but the truth must be told. These days our pastors are so preoccupied with material things. They posses the best cars, houses, private jets etc. Some have more than 10 cars, common, when some people can barely feed. The only people must of them visit and pray for is those that gives them a huge sum of money, most are stolen from the government. A pastor a thief! You guys are suppose to lay a good example for us to emulate. It's a pity. May God help us.

One down. Several pastors to go.

Pastor Why?what a shameful act.

Men of God are just men after all.

while cnt u jst shut ur mouth up. Fool

Chizzy said...

Guess he must have consoled himself with 'touch not my anointed and do my prophet no harm'. Hehe... American police no sabi Bible.

He is a deeper life pastor I agree but the church didn't send him to commit fraud,he is flesh n blood just like everyoda person.So plz let's not pour blasphemy on d church n God,he is paying for his sins

He could be disbarred and banned from practicing law after this conviction.

lolz..."I AM RICH OOOO!!!"

Good for him, but how come his accomplice only got 30 months?

Both of you are so freaking silly. Can't believe what I'm reading. She question. Mtchwwe

SEX AND INTIMACY said...

Misplaced Spiritual Priorities. If you want to be a Shepard be a Shepard. If not, stop spoiling the office of the clergy and go do your thing. The sentence serves you right

I don't have a problem with him paying for his crimes which is a shame, but why does his accomplice get a smaller jail term??? Shay no be d same crime both of em' commit..see discrimination oooo

Good for him he got what he deserve

That reality check moment you realise that even a deeper life pastor has money urge like we regular folks...#cheEzyjayne

Keep quite pls,nigerian pastors living abroad love money pass yahoo boys.

Y dint d girl sue him na? OVersabi!!

Na wah o! This man don disgrace Deeper Life well well , the people when I think say na dem holy pass. Anyway this should as a lesson that no one can be trusted when it has to do with money.

A whole pastor? Nawaooo, anyway theris godooooooo

hrm paul ojeih said...

Wen i say pastors dey thief thief say na only few be real men of God Libers attack me the truth be say God go dey expo0se dem one by one thief's they get rich on the sweat of their members
why is the wife wailing shey she go come for naija during xmas dey flaunt wealth dey pose other village women go dey jealous am dey attack their husbands say their husbands are lazy and they are not making it not knowing say na scam dem dey run for yanky viz a viz sinzu and godwon stealing from ATM and robbing for candy bars

You are 100% correct. But there is judgement after the judge here in this world. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

Angelswing said...

Hmmm,too bad....short of words..

Jst yesterday we were all here commenting on why churches shld start paying tax, nw look wat's on today nw wif one pastor, our own naija pastor living in the u.s.a, land when suffer nor dey like naija, if this man can go there to involve in stuff like these, so wetin un think of the once we get here for naija?....deeper life pastor nor deeper life, pastor's pastor, we no d Good ones e.g t.b joshua, and my own bishop orhonigbe maybe many more, buh as far am concern christ embassy, winner chapel, redeem are all criminals, come peeps, see their schools na from secondry to universities, if ur parents are nt among the criminal politicians and pastor u can't afford d school fees and no scholarship scheme for d poor. I no Ginger or na linda dem dey call am nor go post this comment, and if he manage post am self, some Adamu when dem papa and mama b dis criminal pastors and politicians go comment, so if u're one feel free to comment to mark urself as Adamu 1 for life!.

A Deeper life pastor for that matter!

Good levy the building in the 60s, these people are just leading you like sheep into darkness. Wake up and live, love and do good, you for need theives to tell you to be good people whilst they rape and pillage and deceive.

Lady kim kim said...

Anon 10:13 what is it wit u n oyedepo sef?na ur family he slapped ni?if only d pastor can narrates his own side of the story too.....bt u pple sud understand dat pastors re humans wit a divine grace too n it depends on ow strong u wanna b

May God help us. Nigeria should emolute the US.

I feel sorry 4 him. We all need the grace of God. It is men of God dat face more temptation. Hop he will learn a lesson frm his mistakes.

MISSPERFECT said...

Hv u heard his own side of d story?don't be fast in judging ur father's and mother's,some peeps will do any thing 2 bring others down,Libers shup up.

If its to magnify trivial issues and suspend people because of the style of their wedding dress, these pastors are the champions. Meanwhile, in their closets they are committing more serious sins. Dia ris Goduooooo!!!!

CeeDee said...

Willy, it's that 1 I saw ba? U didn't see d fact that he's ur father's cousin. Onye ara like u

Men of God indeed

only 6 years...what da fuck

Pls read again and understand. The act was carried out over a period of 9 YEARS!! Starting 2003. The man was just sentenced meaning he must have been on trial for a while maybe a year or 2. Besides, wheat her he was a pastor at the time or not is irrelevant.

I support you oooo all the pastors are the same, can u imagine a pastor that I told to pray for me concerning a problem. All he told me was that if God answ ma prayer, I must be giving him my tithe or else another thing we hapen to him and not Me. Usless peeps..am even tired of goin to church self.

Good for him pastor my foot....kumuyi talk nah.........

Is ur fingers equal?dts d reason not to do follow follow.

pentecostal churches.smh..I cant say more.Anglican for life!At least the priest marry so no issue of molestation and nobody can just open a church anyhow or amass wealth.

yes o there is god ooo.... Can u guys jst stop its d work of d devil

I never knew people still reason lke this! Lady he was caught simple has nothing to do with your poorly dressed over sanctimonous hypocritical church

When my hubby wanted to travel back to Europe, I took him to my Pastor for prayers. My Pastor asked my husband and I our age, we told him, he asked us to sow the seed of our age. That's #64,000.00(sixty four thousand naira) for the two of us. That was the last time we attended that church. Some of this pastors sef!

Very interesting...

No one has blamed it on Christianity.. Even though he's a pastor, EVERYBODY agrees that the one thing to blame here is the PERSON, NOT RELIGION, which I agree with, even though I'm a Muslim.

Wait for one Muslim, NOT even an IMAM, to commit a crime and this place will be flooded with how Islam sent him to commit the crime! Mtcheew!

I know say Linda no go post this one

Anonymous 10:30am may d wrath of God visit u nd ur entire household for calling bishop oyedepo u will regret dis day for d rest of ur life since u re not brought up properly to discern btw a genuine man of God nd u talk shit u re cursed already or ve u read in d scriptures touch not my anointed nd do my prophet no harm

I pity the pastor family.

I live in US and just to let naija folks know, most naija pastors here are into that shit ( mortgage fraud). Many fled during the heat of housing bubble burst.

They (pastors) prey on gullible church members. Preaching posperity and backed with fake prayers to lure their members to buy property they cant afford but at the same time the same pastor serving as realtor, some as ppraiser man, loan tittle and even loan officers.

They disgust me but it more annoying when u see their members worshiping these pastors more than Jesus and respecting them more than law of the land.

MOST Naija pastors in US are fat cows preying on church members using their position for biz interest. Why are they coming to US in thousands to set up churches here anyway, they shd go to Guinea Papua or Borno State.

I pity the pastor family.

I live in US and just to let naija folks know, most naija pastors here are into that shit ( mortgage fraud). Many fled during the heat of housing bubble burst.

They (pastors) prey on gullible church members. Preaching posperity and backed with fake prayers to lure their members to buy property they cant afford but at the same time the same pastor serving as realtor, some as ppraiser man, loan tittle and even loan officers.

They disgust me but it more annoying when u see their members worshiping these pastors more than Jesus and respecting them more than law of the land.

MOST Naija pastors in US are fat cows preying on church members using their position for biz interest. Why are they coming to US in thousands to set up churches here anyway, they shd go to Guinea Papua or Borno State.

Men of devil.

What a shame.......

why is der so many churches in Nigeria?In my street alone,der ar 6 churches nd all d pastors claim dat God kold dem.y cant evrybody worship unda one umbrell?d muslims are one evrywhere,bt its nt d same wit christianity.church nw is biznes.all d pastors ar thieves.ndi oshi.dey ar jst like d pharisees in Jesus day who wer afta material things.all pastors wnt to hav dia own jets nd private universities.dey dnt care abt dia members.evryone of dem is a thief

Emolute??? U really need God's help. Olodo

Why do we waste our time analysing these so called "Pastors". Can't you see that it is a lucrative business. How many of these penticostal churches are in your village. God is always "calling" them to the urban people.

Some will tell you after praying for you that you must sow seed with money before God can answer the prayer. #GodNoBeBusinessMan

He made a mistake by not going to the police station to preach that verse for them. Pity American police force not knowing bible.

You did not understand everything.
He only took charge in financing some homes that tend to be foreclose by banks, but banks hate that and they call it fraud. God is on the throne.
I know him here (USA)