I am not an ex convict - Ibinabo Fiberisima says | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 28 May 2014

I am not an ex convict - Ibinabo Fiberisima says

Embattled President of the Actors Guild of Nigeria, Ibinabo Fiberisima has refuted claims that she is an ex-convict. Her worse critic in recent times, actress Clarion Chukwurah had said in an interview with Punch that Ibinabo was an ex-convict and therefore not fit to lead the Actors' Guild.

Ibinabo in an exclusive interview with TheNetng refuted the claims but however acknowledged she was imprisoned for 39 days
"No, I am not an ex-convict…I was charged. I am in court and I am appealing"  she said 
She also explained why she wrote an open letter to Clarion Chukwura. Continue to see that...

In a telephone interview with Encomium magazine, Ibinabo said it became necessary for her to respond to all the allegations Clarion Chukwurah has leveled against her on social and mainstream media. Ibinabo says she doesn't know if Clarion has seen the letter but at this time, she is more focused on her job. The actress says anyone who holds any grievance against her should seek redress in court.

109 comments:

Women nd natural beef

Mature mind. I love dis woman

Ibinabo should go settle her differences with clarion in private, the two of them should stop making caricature of themselves in public

She killed som1 who was a doctor by accidentally hitting d person, that I knw of. I also knw d family of d deceased pressed charges. D rest, Linda pls help us find out.

Does it mean she wasn't convicted but wad imprisoned.
Confuse ga di ma.

Ms. Ibinabo. Am no fan of Nigeria actors/actresses, so what about to say is an objective analysis. You killed a Dr. Giwa sometimes ago and went on the run. The Police caught you and the Lagos State Government charged you to court, where you where found guilty. You served time, jailed. Now the time spent incarcerated depends on the sentence and also on time spent while in detention before the case came to court. Plain and simple without no much "grammar", YOU ARE A CONVICT. A trip to the Lagos State Ministry of Justice would be revealing. Please keep quite or I will post a copy of the judgement on social media.

Tell them.. Clarion nwanyi obiakpor

Galore said...

@Clarion have you heard?

Or U have Deaf ears?

@Ibinabo...dont mind dem Haters

U are not an ex-convict beautifulm clarion is only being consumed by her own jealousy. If u are an ex-con, dat means she's an ex, ex, ex, and ex wife. Pls don't reply her again bcos silence is golden.

I vividly remember the Ibinabo case. Anyways, that's still their walla.

I think Ibinabo is quite mature. I love the way she's handled this issue. Even though Clarion blieves in following the regulations of the guild, I feel she also has other personal grievances against Ibinabo. Callin her an ex-convict on social media is extreme, and why is she the only person fighting for the cause? Where re othr seasoned nollywood actors nd wats their take on d issue? I demand an apology on behalf of Ibinabo

You can't play politics with people's intelligence on the media ok.

OK. Heard!

CoolDiva speaks!

Owk we don here you oOo
Sexy Miss Dunnie Flaunts her Mad Curves on Instagram (Photos

Court will not solve this matter but a ring fight will definately do and staying in prison for 39 days definately makes yu an ex convict abeg....

She has mouth to talk cos she's not in jail abi? She killed the man fa, horrible actress I wonder what she's doing in the industry

Lydia said...

Abeg dis 2old women mata don do..we don hear

Edwin Akwudolu said...

I can see that that name 'Ex-convict' is very painful.So let the debate roll on. According to the law of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, is Ibinabo an ex-convict or not?

10 Amazing benefits of blogging which you don't even know about

Na she sabi...

Lady K said...

She killed a medical doctor and breadwinner in a drunk driving incident and was charged for man slaughter, jailed and she managed to pay her way out early. Biko why is she denying facts? Is she still drunk still?

Ibinabo,as much as I don't support what ur rival is doing, I still want u to get it into ur thick skull that ur a murderer. U snuffed life out of an innocent young man. There are people who battle with such traumatic event and try to humble themselves, but ur case was diifferent cos u just acted like u did nothing wrong while u actually killed that young doctor in ur drunken state. I wouldn't refer to that sad event if I were u cos I don't think the family of the reade man will be happy about it. So u are definitely an ex convict whether u like the term or not.

Though clarion shouldn't have said dat she's not fit to be d president of the actors guild cos she's an ex convict. They can be whatever they want to be irrespective of where they av been. Ibinabo spent over a month there dat makes her one.
Sugar pweedie

bia ibinabo, pls note that 'A convict is 'a person found guilty of a crime and sentenced by a court' or 'a person serving a sentence in prison',[1] sometimes referred to in slang as simply a 'con'.[2] Convicts are often called prisoners or inmates. Ex-convict (or short: ex-con) is a common way of referring to a person who has been released from prison, Whether he/she served for 2days or more.

The legal label of 'ex-convict' has much wider lifelong implications, so the person may suffer long-term handicaps and social stigma, including restricting access to certain categories of employment. For example,In the Australian and some other countries context, the Federal government generally will not employ an ex-convict, but some other state organizations may. But in the Nigerian context, an 'ex-convict' can contest for election today and becomes the president tomorrow if he/she wins. That you enjoy that freedom here does not exempt you from being an EXCON. No hates pls just being factual.

Una don hear am she was only imprisoned for 39days so she's not an EX-CONVICT, she is simply an EX-PRISONER according by me. End of story.Lindiwe Next!

Phrank316 said...

If she's not an excon,what's she appealin for?????SMH@MIss Fiberesima

Pls tell the marines

If Clarion didn't coat her complaints in snobbery, she'd make sense. She'd say that Ibinabo committed the ultimate crime when she took a life and didn't pay a debt to society. She's uncomfortable with an organization that represents her being led by someone who literally got away with murder. Her concerns would be more understable if she framed them as such.

May God punish Ibinabo for saying such nonsense. You were drunk , driving and killed a MAN (doctor) ......If not for how useless Naija is you should be sitting in Jail for years

No remorse at all .......Nonsense

Uloma said...

E don do ooooooo!!!!!!!

Ibinabo Fiberisima needs to shut the hell up . She killed Dr Giwa and served time for it so YES YES SHE IS NO EX CONVICT .

That is how Ibori said he is not an ex convict yet court record showed he was. Ibinabo is an ex convict , she was found guilty of driving drunk and killing Dr Giwa

I dont blame Ibinabo , it is Nigeria i blame for later glorifying criminals . Did or Didnt you kill someone ??????

Ibinabo abeg have a seat and close ya mouth . Just be grateful you were given a second chance , the man you killed was not so lucky

princess said...

U killed someone, charged, sentenced and imprisoned for 39days. U r not an ex Convict so what r u madam IB? An ex cell mate?

I can see this woman is still a DRUNK , thats the only reason why she would say such nonsense that she in not an Ex convict ........The question is simple, where you found guilty or not for killing a man why driving DRUNK

Ok! Copied

Haba Ibinabo why will u say u are not an ex - convict. But u know u are. Ooh sorry Ex- Prisoner. Just hush your puppy abeg.

so ibinabo is trying to say that she was not found guilty. if she was guilty of the offence and sentenced she definitely an ex-con.

Wait! Case that happnd many years ago is still in court till now! Did som1 get away with manslaughter? The Nigerian legal system is appalling!

U r funny sis @ Obianuju Ugwa

Calm down anony10.37am, copy of judgement fa, can't wait.

Ms Fabrisima, you contradicted yourself when you said you are appealing and turned around and said you were not an ex-convict. Would you appeal a matter when you are not convicted? My dear, drunk driving may not be a serious offence in our jurisdiction because of the level of corruption in our police force as well as poor policing skill. However, when a death results from drunk driving it's a serious crime which convicted the person may be guilty of manslaughter not murder because of absence of intention in other words pre-meditation. Since you are appealing, that simply means you were convicted and found guilty of manslaughter, that makes you an ex-convict. *note that I do not know these women just trying to enlighten..thanks!

Ex-prisoner, I don die

Thanks jare. She must think we all don't have memory.

Accidentally, shit happens!! Take it or u leave it, it can happen to anyone. Higher she goes!!!! Was OBJ not an exconvict? Haters go and hug a Vulture

Clarion Chukwurah is cruel and callous. Ibinabo should sue her ASAP otherwise she will continue to spread malicious lies against her. Ibinabo had a car crash which led to the death of a man. That was what happened. Is any driver beyond that?

Agbaya/Aje Clarion is evil to the core. She should contest Ibinabo's sit or leave her alone. Shameless 'Limpopo' woman!

Ibinabo sorry but u are an ex convict,u killed a man and u were found guilty of manslaughter.u were also imprisoned. Whether or not d case is being appealed as long as a court of competent jurisdiction has found u guilty u are a criminal and an ex convict until a superiour court overturns d judgement. U shldnt have replied bcos u r not supposed to be out.many odas in ur situation dt dont know any1 are still languishing in jail till d outcome of deir appeal. Take it easy and be wise in ur responses.

pepperlina said...

Ibinabo F is an ex-convict, refuting this fact is irking and would definitely enrage the public.
You were charged, tried, found guilty and sentenced. As long as the court convicts you of that crime, whether or not you spend half a day in prison, you are still a convict. Please note that the operational words here are "having been charged, tried, found guilty and sentenced".

Lol! Its very obvious she is still very much drunk

Julie Mama said...

Chie.. U guys should leav ibinabo alone, accident is wat anybody can be involved in, even if she served in jail according to law she didint do it delibrately, some of us here blabing has in one way or d oda invold in dis same crime, is it bcs she is a celeb? am not a fan of both but from d whole story its an accident, and dat doesn't make her less. Bikonu let's be fair here, clarion seriously went too far, she also has her worst period, am only being sincere no beef.

Zeme said...

But why comment as anonymous?

How we go take know? Nigeria doesn't keep records!

Ok oooO.... we don hear una finish

GBAM!

Fools you people should leave her alone; Who God has bless no man can course. Mumus

Dis Ibinabo woman has guts o! Hmmm! She's so bold to say "I am not an ex-convict" shey na fowl u kill? I see u'r unrepentant. Jst hope u hv left d bottles? By d way what is she doing out here (taking a breath of fresh air)? Madam Ibinabo, ur supposed to b serving 50yrs jail term. D blood of d innocent man u killed is still crying out for justice.

Sharap there! U r not an X convict u r a Y convict..now I c y chukwuRAT does not want u there. Meanwhile she herself aunty agbaya is a BIG RAT for using such a sensitive issue to blackmail Fib in media..the problem with running in a rat race like this is that at the end the winner/president is still a RAT..chukwuRATuuu

PURPLE said...

Come lemme knock u so u'd stop being confused

PURPLE said...

Willie willie, hw market na? Ur madness don start again? Ok e don start. Ohhhh. Kpele

Madam ibinabo I can see u r not sorry for your sins. U killed a man dats bad enof, pls dnt come here to say rubbish. Just d name excon and u r pained?????

This Ibinabo must be crazy! Does she realise Dr Giwas family haven't gotten over his murder yet she flaunts herself in d media n has d guts to spew rubbish from her mouth! Infact I think that case should be revisited #JusticeForDrGiwa.

Mimi said...

I think this is the problem with Nigeria and Nigerian politics. WE MUST UNDERSTAND THAT NOT EVERYONE CAN CONTEST FOR POLITICS. The fact that Ibinabo has had issues with the law, especially unresolved issues, IMMEDIATELY DISQUALIFIES HER, on this case Claron is very RIGHT!
It is important to set these things straight so that people keep their records clean for politics. Look at the mess of politics and politicians today, these are the issues destroying Nigeria.
I beg Madam Ibinabo to go an look for something else to do, she can continue acting or directing but do not put yourself out there with your record. Thank you.

Gaia said...

Really I thought being sentenced and serving the sentence made you a convict but what do I know? Anyways, whatever the term she did kill a man sha and all cos she was too drunk to be driving :(

Lmao at confuse GA di ma

Mimi said...

Ex-convict (or short: ex-con) is a common way of referring to a person who has been released from incarceration/prison. Nigerian does not need the likes of people like you Ibinabo, This is someone that has been connected to a murder of another human being, in other countries you should still be in Jail, for second degree murder, because it was not premeditated. The major question is how did she get out of jail? She wants to use that long leg to be president/ represent Nigeria outside the country.....I SAY NO!!!! That record will show up in Europe and America. Ibori'case is a typical example. PLEASE STOP HER.
WHY THEN SHOULD THE NEXT PERSON WANT A CLEAN RECORD? WHY IS THERE ARE LAW AND RULES THAT GUIDE AN ORGANISATION. STOP HER!!!!!!

=M NT INTERESTED IN UR FIGHT WITH CLARION,BT COMING HERE TO DENY IS A SHAME & INSULT TO LATE DR GIWA'S FAMILY. DO U KNOW THAT THE RELATIVES OF THAT DOCTOR U KILLED R STILL ALIVE WUD PROBABLY HEAR U ON DS? PLZ ANON.10:37 AM,May 28, 2014,POST THAT DOCUMENT & SHAME DS LIAR AND EX-CONVICT. I WATCH ALL UR TRIAL IN COURT,OW U COVERED UR FACE ALL THRU WEN EXITING THE COURT & 2DAY COS THE JUDICIAL SYS LET U OUT,U NW COME HERE TO SAY WAT U WNT.WHO IN NAIJA DIDNT HEAR U KILLED DR GIWA,SO U R AN EX CONVICT & MAYB STIL A DRUNK TO DENY IT. bia linda post oooo,dnt let ds woman get away wit ds lies.

I DNT BLAME U,NA NAIJA JUDICIAL SYSTEM I BLAME,COS IF NA USA U 4 ROT IN JAIL 4 KILLING DT MAN. LETS SEE OW U WILL RUN AGN PRESIDO FRM JAIL.MTTTCHEWWWW,WHO DIDNT HEAR U KILLED DT MEDICAL DOCTOR?

Madam IB stop parading ur ignorance around.If u were not convicted,why and what are u appealing for?release of Chibok girls,or for unemployment in Nigeria?if u had any sense of right and wrong,or if u are still not drunk,u will honour the memory of the man u killed and shut ur trap up!can u imagine how his loved. Ones will feel about ur statement!dia is God oh!

Nawaoo

A night club owner, an Ex co-con and a druk.pls she s not a good leader.

Ibinabo Is not just an ex convict, but also a drug addict. Tell us how u gambled pyramids night club away. And what happened between u and d italian mafias over d date of ur boo d rightful owner of d club. U are also a home breaker ibinabo and u know it. U took fred Amata from Agartha. Had a baby for him while he was still married to Agartha. Causing them to divorce. While in prison. Was it not fred who took care of ur kids? Come o, the court sent u to jail. If not for contacts and connection of AGN, u know u would've been on a long thing. U seem to have forgotten d troubles u put Daniel Wilson into#as d owner of d car u used to kill d Dr# while drunk. U are a drunk. Stop replying Clarion. They more u do, d more people remind u of ur past. We know clarion is jealous of ur position, but relax and let God fight for u. Silence is d best plzzzz.

Linda why ar u not posting my comments. Is like u are siding that killer ibinabo. Who us proud that she was giving second chance, instead of using it wisely she bribe her way to become the president. Where are the nollywood legends, or colleagues non of them is talking bcos they are afraid of the power she has. No me of the two deserves it. May the soul of that man hunt u since u ar proud of saying u are an ex convict.

U wr inprisoned for almost 40days and u claim not to be an ex-convict? Am not sopotin clarion wit my view but no mata frm wich angle one views it, som1 who had served prison terms is an ex-convict

U are an Ex convict there is no dispute about it. U killed an innocent soul through a drunk driving state n you have the effrontery to deny it you are so lucky the the family of innocent guy allows you to go scot free if not by now you should be wallowing in jail you good for nothing bicth how did you find your way to emerge that of AGN president i think the family of the guy should reappeal so so that they can put you where you belong. If Nigeria is a good country you shouldn't be there opening that tap you called mouth. The blood of that innocent guy is coming to haunt you .

chia chia na only you waka come, the bloods you're shearing is not good. how can you open your mouth to say that you are not ex-convict whereas you are charged to court and sentenced to preson. even though i don't like clarion but you killed a bread winner, a medical doctor with your recklessness and drunkenness. chia you are an ex-convict but don't be proud of what you did. anyway continue to be the president because it's better than clarion becoming the president. just know this once an ex-convict is always an ex-convict even if it's half day.

Olubunmi Lawal said...

You are a dunce.
Ibinabo drove Dan Wilson's SUV while drunk and ran into and killed Dr Suraj Giwa. She ran away and was apprehended and charged to court by the man's family and LASG. She feigned all sorts to escape justice including saying she had cerebral malaria etc. She got convicted and is appealing.
Some of us have been following mainstream media before the advent of social media and are very knowledgeable.

Oskirin said...

C as she dey brag,no b ur fault.if it were 2 b in d advanced world,she wld banned 4rm drivin forthwith. but in naija, anytin goes...we really need 2 strengthen & implement our laws 2 d fullest.if nt,na ds kind of tins we go dey see n hear.

IB don't mind that OLD FOOL called clarion! Clarion is jealous of you.

Am sure if d man dt died had bn your relative, u won't be here talking trash!

Just one thing I love about ibinabo, her huge big Clit. Her Clit is so big and massive. Am not joking, am serious. Anyone who have been there can confirm this. When I mean big, is very big. And she love heading and love big brokos......

@Anon 12:00 May u loose sum1 to a drunk driver so u will know how it feels!

Bottomline is d nigerian judicial system is a joke!

Akin said...

Haba! You were convicted. You went to jail.... why would you then say you are not a convict?

What if she is an ex convict? Nigerians and there mindset always trying to label anything.

Abeg which kain 'knock' u wan give Bonario?

See ur life, the person ibinabo killed has a family o, imagine it was ur broda

PD said...

I don't know about my dear country Nigeria,but driving under the influence of alcohol or whatever(DUI)is a serious offense in developed countries.It's shameful that anything goes in Nigeria,this i must say is the beginning of our problems.If we can do things the proper way,elect credible leaders into public offices,then we can start to build a new Nigeria.

I feel for this woman.it was not deliberate.as ex convict in Nigeria you can only contest election after you have received state person.after state pardon like Obasanjo anyone that calls you ex convict is playing with jail
lesson.when you carry petrol don't move near fire.the office you are has exposed you to the whole Nigeria now
I don't know that actor gird or whatever is so backward to the extent of having ex con as leader
advice.resign honorably cry to Jonathan.he pardon an international thief that embarrassed a whole Nigerian how much more a beautiful and talented young lady like you.
sincerely I feel for you.it was a mistake
but you should not have brought yourself out until you have received pardon.
clarion.o nti oju onika mesan kaa.
I like you but .oku die kaa to.pelepele dowo e o
from a king who does not want to name himself now

This one nah double wahala oo... pls dey shld settle dere wahala in private pls

These 2 women shld pls take several seats! I saw them @ ph intl airport on Sunday we all flew into lagos together, they both sat 2geda and d departure hall and the flight was delayed for over 2hrs and they all were eating and talking. Sometimes I just feel all these are publicity stunts. But for the record that clarion looks quite the bitch in her overbleached skin n dark googles.

Madam, don't think u can confuse us with ur story. U did time for a crime u committed, that sure makes u an EX-CONVICT. Except the word now has a different meaning.

Really she spent just 39 days there, wow..thot she spent longer than that..clarion is wrong thou to ve said that,but pls ibinabo keep a low profile, no be u I heard u don turn born again for inside cell, I hope dat hasnt changed

princess said...

C ur self IB? Instead of u to keep quiet u r making mouth mtchew!

Ex-murderer maybe? But then again Clarion is an idiot for stirring the pot and bringing up dirt...if u wanna run to be AGN president put ur name in d ballot box and stop bad mouthing a fellow colleague! Who knows tomorrow...Clarion might be a murder herself at d rate of hatred she's going about this issue!!

Ok we don hear,so wot r u?, prison returnee?.

i lost an uncle last year to a drunk driver.my uncle died at d spot.d driver ws arested nd he stayd in d cell for weeks.he pleaded nd we had to let him go cos even if he goes to prison,my uncle wil nt cme bak.tins like dis do hapn.we jst hav to leav evrytin for God to jugde.we all make mistakes.it cn hapn to anybody.lets nt cntinue jugdn ibinabo for wot she did.its in d past.let her move on wit her life.no man is qualified to jugde any cos we all are sinners.clarion shuld leave ibinabo alone nd face oda tins in her life

So U Are Truly An Ex Convict?Who Says Nigerians Don't Keep History••I Hail All Of Una ooo••Aunty Ib Take A Chill Pill••U Need Am#BluntIjebuGirl281d27a4#

Chukkwurat I beg go sidon. This is a manslaughter case and she is appealing the judgement. As its rightly written by a blogger you are an 'agbaya'. You don't have morals yourself. You want to be president so that you will use the position to continue your fuck fuck with the high and mighty in the society. With your irritating bleach body. IDIOT.

Mischievous said...

Madam, you are an ex convict. Until you are granted a state pardon like Alams, the thieving ex Governor of Bayelsa State.

The family of the deceased didn't need to press any charges...

She committed manslaughter and was charged and convicted of same....so she's a big liar...

This woman shd fear God oh...court documents are public record nau..hia!!

What's extreme about it...court documents are public record and this all happened in the public eye...

They just voted her cos of her Gej connections..datsall

Some accidents can be averted....

It's not like the car had a mechanical fault that caused the accident..

She was drunk!!!! So yes, she was culpable and the court found her so to be!!

Even if she didn't spend a day in jail, the fact that she was convicted, makes her an ex_con! Shikena!!!

Eh yah... so sorry for your loss dear!!!

But you see, that is why we remain a lawless country...

It is not supposed to be so.. when a crime has been committed, the family of the affected is not supposed to be the one to press charges..the law is clear..the crime is against the state.. (that's why t it is the STATE Vs SOandSo)

God will forgive your sins and all but when it comes to a crime, the law will judge you accordingly...if everyone is let go because we do not want to judge since we are all sinners then we will live in a lawless society where anything goes..

See the way you are saying 'manslaughter case' as if it's a light matter...

I hope you know that as long as the appeal is on that the sentence of the high court remains valid?

I hope you also know that she should be appealing from JAIL...

Pls fear God oh....it's because it's not your person's death that she so blatantly denies being culpable for...smh

Dr Berius said...

@Anon 11:51am Ibinabo welcome oh. But why are you lying now? You know it wasn't just an accident.You were driving while drunk. The truth will set you free.

She has big clit so what? You are just a dons. Sorry for u.

She is an ex convict so what? Who are you to judge her? Madam righteous

I don't know how pple thinks, nobody is above mistake in this life. She is an ex convict agreed but you people shouldn't sing with it. Many of you condeming her killed one way or the other. Many have killed and taken lives through abortions and other means so don't judge others

Why shouldnt we sing about it ..... She the one who talking trash saying she is not an X convict yet she is a bloody one

I am so pissed that she shows no remorse , i only wished she was based abroad so her ass could have been locked up for a long time

Madam Ibinabo , a family lots their LOVED ONE BECAUSE OF YOUR DRUNK STATE . Dont u ever forget it or get it twisted that you are not an X Convict

We don hear dat na Una cup of gari