New music service MyMusic.com.ng to launch next month | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 28 May 2014

New music service MyMusic.com.ng to launch next month

Will you pay N30 for a song with your phone credit? A group of young guys are starting a new music service called MyMusic.com.ng. Their idea is to offer a large collection of Nigerian music, both oldies and new school, on their mobile app /websites, price themat N30 per track, and allow people to pay for them with their phone credit. Founded by three friends, Tola, Damola and Dolapo who met in Babcock University years back, they say nobody has yet been able to solve the problem of digital music distribution in Nigeria. Continue...

According to Damola, though people who have the drive to steal music will continue to do so, their goal is to make stealing music more trouble than it’s worth by making digital music easy to find, purchase and reasonably priced. He believes the vast majority of people will choose to buy rather than steal.

Meanwhile, Nigeria has over 110m phone users and about 48m Internet subscribers. Their phone billing works in 80 countries including the UK, USA and Canada and their website also accepts credit card payments

Damola says, “The startup environment in Lagos is buzzing at the moment. The world needs to come here and see what people are doing. People are proffering solutions to various problems ubiquitously and I am sure that startups will be the next economic giants in Nigeria in the nearest future. The population is massive and this is just the beginning.Upcoming entrepreneurs should know that the only thing standing between them and their goal is the story they keep telling themselves as to why they can’t achieve it. ”

Can this reduce piracy in the music industry?

Watch their CNN feature here - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kkZmO7Yl5Qs

You can pre-register for a free account at: www.mymusic.com.ng

The Team withthe Head of Facebook Africa, at the Facebook EMEA Headquarters in Dublin
The team with the Lord Mayor of Dublin Oisín Quinn
At the Web Summit last year

36 comments:

Looking forward to it

Wow! I'm impressed. Nice one.

CoolDiva speaks!

Eugenia Ekeji said...

Why not if the music is a good one.

Nice start up. Just like DvNtunes that allow ppl to upload and download music for free.

Da rosy said...

Chai lindy, I na akula band azu ooo! Dat interview anchored by vladmir Duthiers was aired on CNN 2mnths ago! Say tanks

Depending sha...but i dnt tink i will

mr braska said...

guys are taking initiative to write their names in 'history book'!! some are busy criticizing everything existing including themselves. nice one to the dudes...
for those lazy a*s remember that the best time to start is now...braska

Anyikwa chinonso said...

Nice music company... Bookmarked
guruswizard tech blog, We offer latest on freebrowsing tips, computer tips, mobile tips and other related tips.

some hommies are thinking....

Nice one guys.

Nero said...

they should snap with google team to avoid being ban.. or else

Pay kor, pay ni.. Dem go jones die.. Dem tinks say na Yankee be dis?

It will reduce piracy... 30 naira is cheap... but 10 naira or even 5 naira would have been better so people don't need to think much before they purchase...

After all its just 5 naira let me recharge my phone and buy it... but if you recharge 100 naira I don't think you would want to buy a music for 30 naira unless you really need it but for 5 naira omo before you know you have downloaded 10 songs o how much is that 50 naria lol. I hope they read my message and reduce the price.

I'll support this business 100%.

Peejay said...

I will definitely pay, its a good concept. Similar to itunes.

Dats a very nice idea. Kudos to whoever tot abt it first. They'd b makin a fortune in no time

Gistmode said...

This is absolutely innovative. creativity is what we take who ever take the time to look inside of Him to the next level. I think I'll employ all youths to be creative...

Nice innovation, Kenya has something similar and has run for a while. Hope it succeeds, as i see the big telcos who make loads of money from RBT fighting back.

Way to go! Finally a way to compute record sales and give the artiste/music owner part of their record's worth.

Impressive!

deola said...

When I can download for free? *Bbm confused face*

If d music sounds nice #30 is nothing

Criously, dat wud be good...still looking for Odogwu ft 2face Bad Sharp Guyz for over 6yrs now...if dey av dat song I'll pay 3k for it...

I wanna Scream loud in joy but I will do that later ; I can't wait to download songs █░N░I░C░E░░ S░I░T░E░

>VIA TECNO B3

These guys must be very connected.
God bless the hustle.

KASS said...

Are u sure they'll evn sell? Remind dem we download anything for free o..... Issorai

They should not forget, the google exist for a reason..... Niceone though...

Gud idea, dey sure av som strong backin, the N30/track tho, hope it flies. I'd advice they av a 24/7 playlist lyk a radio, so ny1 can request for a track he jus heard too. Promotin songs wil be their major money spinner soon I guess. 360nobs, notjustok, spinlet nd co, u jus got a run for ur money. LK

News like this makes you proud to be Nigerian.

Innovators. Nice!

Like seriously? Sell music in this environment? Those guys have got something else up their sleeves. The minute a song is released in Nig u ll find it free online. By the way, ll they pay the content owners before selling it for N30?

Nice and impressive concept

May they succeed great minds not waiting for anyone's job but creating and will soon start employing. Well done guys.

nice move.

OLA LIB

csconnect said...

Nigerians learn to pay for the Games, Music and Videos online... Free Download or Piracy hacks is noor guud at all... Just saying but its fact.