Happy Democracy Day, Nigerians. Read GEJ's Democracy Day speech | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 29 May 2014

Happy Democracy Day, Nigerians. Read GEJ's Democracy Day speech

Happy Democracy Day to all Nigerians. Read the Democracy Day national broadcast by our president below...

Fellow Nigerians,
1.   I greet and felicitate with you all, today, as we mark 15 years of uninterrupted democratic governance in our beloved country.

2.  Our dear nation, Nigeria, has certainly come a long way and made notable progress since our first Democracy Day on May 29, 1999 when the military finally relinquished power and handed over to a democratically-elected government, marking the true beginning of a government of the people, by the people, for the people.”

3.  Although I have ordered a low-key commemoration of this year’s Democracy Day in deference to the current mood of the nation, there can be no doubt that the past 15 years, the longest period of sustained democratic governance in our country, have been a blessing to us, as a people.

4.  As we commemorate 15 years of our Fourth Republic today therefore, I believe that it is fitting that we pay tribute once again to all those who played a part in restoring our nation to the true path of democratic governance, built on the foundations of rule of law and freedom of expression.

5.  As a result of our collective efforts since 1999, democratic governance is now entrenched in our nation and institutions. I wholeheartedly believe that our people are the better for it. The scope of fundamental rights and liberties enjoyed by our people over the past 15 years has been expanded beyond measure.

6.  On my watch, we have witnessed high national economic growth rates, steady improvements and expansion of national infrastructure including airports and roads, the restoration of rail transportation, the efficient implementation of a roadmap for improved power supply, a revolutionary approach to agricultural production, as well as advances in education, sports, youth development, healthcare delivery, housing, water supply and other social services.

7.  In the oil and gas sector, our promotion of a sustainable local content policy, continues to guarantee equity and better opportunities for Nigerian entrepreneurs and skilled personnel.

8. Significant increase in mobile telephone and national broadband penetration, making Information and Communications Technology (ICT) one of the fastest growing sectors of the Nigerian economy.  We have also developed strong financial markets and regulatory institutions. Our banks now have regional and global footprints.

9.  Nigeria has also gained recognition as the largest economy in Africa, the most preferred investment destination in the continent and in terms of returns on investment, the fourth in the world. We are pleased that the world has noticed, as global leaders converged in Abuja early this month for the World Economic Forum in Africa.

10.               The event not only witnessed a record attendance, it brought the prospect of an additional flow of investment into the Nigerian economy estimated at over $68 billion over the next few years.  

11.                 In foreign relations, our country has equally done well within this period, by establishing and strengthening strong partnerships with all ECOWAS countries and the rest of the world. This has helped to deepen Nigeria’s leadership role in multilateral institutions including the United Nations.

12.                Furthermore, under this administration, we have made consistent progress in improving the standard of elections in our country to ensure that they are ever more credible and truly representative of the people’s free choice. The National Conference we initiated to deliberate and make recommendations on the best ways of resolving our current political and socio-economic challenges is on-going. It is our expectation that its outcomes will help to further consolidate the gains we have made from democracy in the past 15 years, and place our dear nation even more firmly on the path to greatness.

Dear Compatriots,
13.                It is a sad fact that as I address you today, all the gains of the past 15 years of democratic governance in our country are threatened by the presence of international terrorism on our shores. Our dear country, Nigeria is facing a new challenge. A war has been unleashed on us. Extremist foreign elements, collaborating with some of our misguided citizens, are focused on an attempt to bring down our country and the democracy and freedom we cherish and celebrate today.

14.                The despicable abduction of school girls from Chibok in Borno State has brought to the awareness of the entire world, the heartless brutality of these terrorists who want to instigate a descent into anarchy and balkanize our nation.

15.                In recent years, terrorist attacks have claimed the lives of several of our compatriots, many have been  injured or maimed, whole villages and communities have been destroyed and the economy of some of our states  is in jeopardy.

16.                There can be no doubt that what we are witnessing in Nigeria today is a manifestation of the same warped and ferocious world view that brought down the Twin Towers in New York, killed innocent persons in Boston and led to the murder of defenceless people in the Southern Russian city of Volgograd. Terrorist activities have brought war and pains to Mali, Somalia, Yemen, Syria, Afghanistan and Pakistan. These agents of evil continue to brainwash and incite ignorant young men and women to attack the innocent. We cannot allow this to continue.

17.                I welcome the statements of solidarity from patriotic citizens and the global community in support of our efforts to stamp out terrorism. I applaud the understanding that in a democracy, such as we are building, people can have differences while sharing worthy values and standing together in opposition to the scourge of terrorism. Nigeria is the only country we have and we must all work to preserve it for present and future generations.

18.               Despite the challenges we face, we must commend our security forces. We must not forget their gallantry and successes in liberating nations and in peacekeeping, from Liberia to Sierra Leone,  Congo, Sudan, Mali, Guinea-Bissau and many places in Africa and beyond. Our forces have paid the supreme price in several places at several times.

19.                Today, they face a different challenge, an unconventional war by terrorists. They are adjusting and are being equipped to tackle the new menace of terrorism. We must show confidence in their ability. I have no doubt that, with the support of Nigerians, our neighbours and the international community, we will reinforce our defence, free our girls and rid Nigeria of terrorists.

20.              It is now 45 days since the horrifying abduction of the college girls of Chibok. I share the deep pain and anxiety of their parents and guardians and I assure them once again that government will continue to do everything possible to bring our daughters home.

21.                I am determined to protect our democracy, our national unity and our political stability, by waging a total war against terrorism. The unity and stability of our country, and the protection of lives and property are non-negotiable. I have instructed our security forces to launch a full-scale operation to put an end to the impunity of terrorists on our soil.

22.               I have also authorized the security forces to use any means necessary under the law to ensure that this is done. I assure you that Nigeria will be safe again, and that these thugs will be driven away – it will not happen overnight, but we will spare no effort to achieve this goal.

23.               For our citizens who have joined hands with Al Qaeda and international terrorists in the misguided belief that violence can possibly solve their problems, our doors remain open to them for dialogue and reconciliation, if they renounce terrorism and embrace peace.

24.               My government, while pursuing security measures, will explore all options, including readiness to accept unconditional renunciation of violence by insurgents, and to ensure their de-radicalization, rehabilitation and re-integration into the broader society.

Dear Compatriots,
25.               We must remain united to win the war against terrorism. Christians, Moslems, farmers, fishermen, herdsmen, teachers, lawyers, clergy or clerics, the rich, the poor and Nigerians from all sections of the country must work together with our security agencies and armed forces to overcome the terrorists who now threaten all that we hold dear.

26.               The war against terror may be difficult, but the days of peace will come again. Terror is evil; nowhere in history has evil endured forever. The menace of Boko Haram will surely come to an end. I believe that because of your prayers, your courage, hardwork, faith and sacrifice, we will ultimately prevail over the terrorists and all other evil forces.

27.               We are a strong, resilient and courageous people.  We will continue to partner with the civilized world, to confront international terrorism and every other challenge that comes our way with patriotic zeal and determination.

Fellow Nigerians,
28.              Yes, we have challenges but we will surely overcome. Nigeria is our country. Nigeria is blessed. We will all collectively protect, defend and develop this country for ourselves, and our children.  

29.               Long live the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

30.              Thank you and God bless Nigeria.

96 comments:

FM BABA said...

Hmm, nice speech mr president

Good to hear stupid country #bright bravo#

Happy long suffering n smiling happy PDP power failure ppl, bad roads,Boko haram, poor sector, corruption, unemployment n so on n so fort cos it is uncountable, stupid politicians

Boko haram is painful because, we are sending our armed forces to fight ourselves. Our brothers in the armed forces are dying, our innocent countrymen in the north are dying and yes, our guilty countrymen(boko haram) are also dying. So much death everywhere

No matter wat others may say Mr President, I am beside and may God help u and see u thru dis trying period.

shame…..which mouth did u use to praise your govt?which power supply?which water supply?where are the hospitals?where are the road constructions?okay now i see this people think we nigerians are fools and we can't see abi? okay lets wait till 2015 we would see who the fool is?

31. Bring back our girls!

IF SOMEONE is OWING U money,read this. Its so hilarious. Been laffn since morning

okeajibayo said...

Great speech by the president, he could not have said better

I am not a fan of Jona, but I must admit that this is a well composed speech. I am impressed.

Nicole said...

I wonder how long it took to deliver this speech. I was too tired to read the entire thing.

DOBY DOBY said...

Amen oo.. quite touchin. . GOD pls help our leaders to knw hw to stp bh.. seriously its nt easy to stp terrorism esp in an undeveloped country wiv less technology nd d worst part is wen some part of d nation is in support of it nd d rich ar sponsorin dem.. besides dey ar evn in d govt, in d military which makes it very uneasy to stp.. Nigeria wil be better again. . Amen

Nice speech Mr. President. Can you disrespectful children please refrain from insulting him? Romans 13:1-7 applies.
LS

Nicole said...

I wonder how long it took him to deliver that speech. I was too tired to read the entire thing.

Nice. God bless you Mr. President

God bless Jona for this wonderful speech and grant him and our security forces the power to overcome terror.....God help our nation....Naija is our Home....But Oga Jona,help us fight corruption the more, plsss cos i notice that was not mentioned nor buttressed in your speech...hopefully the world economic forum that was held would give space for foreign/private sectors to establish in our country thus providing more jobs for the youth...Happy Democracy against all odds.....

i pray for NIGERIA.

.....THE ARCHITECT.....

Temmy said...

Mr president,well written script plus i thnk i prefer dis cap to d usual hat. My own dividend of democracy will b full scholarship for my masters program. Anyone that knows d best and fastest process shd pls direct me. Thanks

Temmy said...

Mr president,well written script plus i thnk i prefer dis cap to d usual hat. My own dividend of democracy will b full scholarship for my masters program. Anyone that knows d best and fastest process shd pls direct me. Thanks

Hmmm, let the children on Linda Ikeji start spitting venom, long live the president, may God bless our country. May God continue to strengthen you and give you the wisdom to make the right decisions, our prayer is all you need cause you are the one on the hot seat. To the anti-islam, trying to spoil our religion, islam is a religion of peace and God can't be mocked, your days are numbered.

Temmy said...

For once I nod in agreement with GEJ's speech since the insurgency started.Evil has scorned Nigeria with ingratitude,but yet we'll still smile coz as long as we have laughter,we're not without hope.God bless Nigeria.

OYO...on your own.

Fuck the democracy day bcos their is nothing to celebrate about so everyone should go and slp.....

am not interested, what has he got to say, smh

So he only saw all the good parts right?? What happened to all the lives lost since he assumed power??? That man called Jonathan doesn't know what he is talking about. He doesn't know what it means to loose a loved one that is why he is talking rubbish. There is no democracy day in. Nigeria cos the people are suffering.

God bless you too SIR.

Yes ride on GEJ till 2019,if u beef u die

After all said,what are you doing as a president to make the country a better one??? Obviously nothing as far as I know. Instead contesting in 2015 is what is on your mind. Abegeee. Leave all these sorry pity words.

Long live Mr President and long live Federal Republic of Nigeria

Well said my President

Thank you Mr.President. I love your effort and determination in sustaining Nigeria democracy. Urgent problem to Tackle > Corruption A.K.A Stealing, Security,Electricity, Jobs creation,#bringbackChibokgirls,Prolong Strike in Education,Good infrastructure,Health facilities Etc

VIA TECNO B3

i feel ur pain Mr. President. Terrorism has eaten deep into ur government making ur efforts to all seem in vain. Bt my humble submission is, in order to fight these people, scrutinize all ur military personnel. Nigeria will be better, dat i believe.

@chux.com.......there is no light in choba rivers state for over a long period of time now.is that part of democracy?

like 17, Nigeria is our country, and it's all we've got..

Now I believe there are paid hirelings by the presidency on this blog. No matter what they are paid to do they cannot white was jonathans incompetence and failures.

Jona u ar good man sha,but no lecture no election

we love our country
Long live the Republic

How then can u acquire education witout reading,ignorant fool! Keep ut up

Nice doctored speech gej.

So na speech we go chop jona??? Its well..Let ur actions speak nt a written piece....................#King

Keep fooling youself

New Millionaire said...

Nice speech Mr President, spay no bound in fighting this menace of Boko Harram.

Long live Nigeria.

BETTER IS BETTER said...

I can only pray for 9ja. Power capacity decreased even after soo much was spent.Corruption increased even after so much talk about fighting it. Unemployment? ...i won't even go there. Infrastructure?...something else...

Long Live Nigeria

DOBY DOBY said...

@anon 10.31.. do u av eyes.. or rather can u read

This man has even mentioned anytin lik increasin d Military salary to motivate dem since he took over, d salary structure military r usin is wat Late President Musa Yar adua left, till nw Oga Jona never put a dime, so u expect military to work nd put in extra effort bt u av nt put in any extra on der pay, especially december period, no difference just lik othr mnth, its beta u wake up nd kno wat 2 do nd do d rite tin @ d rite tym

#crying#

God bless you Mr. President, God bless my dear country...Nigeria.

Nonsense speech, GEJ you are d worst president in d world. Do U know how many people hv died under ur watch? Power surply is worst than u met it, corruption is ur governmnt 2nd name, ur failure is endless. No matter how u & ur useless supporters paint it, u are a monumental failure. No amount of propaganda & lies will change that. I am so ashame to call u my president.

Then you should educate yourself. Take the privatisation of power for example, does that not open doors for investors? Is that not good? I think it's good.

Scrap this democracy day and allow civilians go back to work! Honestly we don't practise democracy but a form of government called bullcraptocracy! With some many holidays Nigerians are still wound up tighter than toys.

mr president pls step down u have notting to offer in dis country. U n all yr thieves in put in d govt

Sorry boss! Talk is cheap, I knw u dnt wanna be blamed buh y did u step up as a president if u always want to call out to the nation to fix ur problem, all this crime start with you for a reason, tell us all you truly knw and tell us where we can come in as concerned citizen. Plus stop announcing wat we dnt have, ZERO road, water, power and economy...plz let's knw we dnt av dz undercontrol so we can fix it Sir. Lovely speech though just mixed up facts.

I were not interested yet u read and still commented on it, don't u fink u are the worst fool that ever lived,

Well written speech but where does it leave us? Nigerians want more actions please Mr president! Less corruption, security, good and affordable education, improve standard of living, employment, enabling environment where small scale businesses can thrive in d provision of affordable en steady power supply, sustainble health and housing policies etc. No govt can taklele all these problems but do d bits nigerian pple can see and feel, solutions should not be only on paper!

Sorry boss! Talk is cheap, I knw u dnt wanna be blamed buh y did u step up as a president if u always want to call out to the nation to fix ur problem, all this crime start with you for a reason, tell us all you truly knw and tell us where we can come in as concerned citizen. Plus stop announcing wat we dnt have, ZERO road, water, power and economy...plz let's knw we dnt av dz undercontrol so we can fix it Sir. Lovely speech though just mixed up facts.

Whatever am not interested, like play like play close to 2 month and dey yaff not bringbackourgirls biko please ejooo bringbackourgirls already

U are a compound fool, what hv u don for nigeria, u are acusing him like say na only the president own nigeria, we are all nigerians, u should be ashamed of ur self first, so u are the only one dat don't know that oga jona recorded d higest power supply, I don't even know where to start wit u

I were not interested yet u read and still commented on it, don't u fink u are the worst fool that ever lived,

Do you not know where your past leaders is . So Jonathan will fix everything in few years what others could not do in more than fifty year. What a magician he his.

Abeg easy wit d gbagaun..wich 1 is "white was"?? Send me ur address I'll send u a dictionary......................#King

Nigerians...sorry to say,very gullible people.just a speech on one day,and u people are already falling for his lies.why do we focus on 200 girls alone when we have,have had problems before his tenure and during his tenure that we all know needs to be addressed that can stop BH and reduce crime in nigeria.have u all forgotten about corruption,no light,no school poor roads,senators fat pay,while u masses r there suffering and smiling,this people no know hardship,but people will just write speech for them ANC them go read to una inside AC una go listen under Hot sun,.my point exacly,if nigeria,s problem is not addressed from the very root,we can't be going after the damaged when we haven't prevented the causes
Of the damage.those who have ears,let them hear,pay police very we'll,instead of those thieves politicians,make them comfortable at least.pay the army very well,make them proud to wear the uniform,the government should encourage education that way,u guard our future...a lot of work needs to be done before we face terrorism.which is one of the products of a bad govt.i mean,internal terrorism.like I always say,one day,the poor will have nothing to eat,and they will eat the RICH...watch out!!!

Ok people I agree with the First Lady. The insult we reign on the president and the country is too much.

For believers or Christians the bible says that your tongue is life and we should use it well. It is time for is to stop insulting the nation and truly the bible says pray for your leaders.

For Muslims I have not read the Koran but I believe it will have a message close to this

Please let's use our tongues wisely when we speak about this nation

Linda u no post my comment of 3mins ago...ojoro

He is the one that killed this people you are talking about. You people think he is a magician that would fix what has been decaying for years in few years. No where in the world has one good man transform a nation in the mist of unpatriotic citizens, politicians, and civil servants including the police. You and I have a role to play by not partaking in corruption, injustice and cheating.

This picture of mr president is beautiful. Me like it

Evangelist Olusegun said...

My President,thank you sir for the captivating speech,I pray God will give you a discerning spirit to know your enemies and your friends in this battle front that you find yourself but Pls sir Always remember the Name of our God for help Read Psalm 20,regards Evang Olusegun

God bless u my president n God bless my country Nigeria.

Please u af options, relocate n renounce yo ciizenship or go n jump inside river nile or best, go to hell. Who cares! Ode!!!

When we comment, we should refrain from using abusive words. Abusing Jonathan has no meaning; he is only trying his best. Let us not forget that bible prophesy must come to pass. I implore you all abusing Jonathan to read 2 Tim 3:1-5. God cannot lie, God outline some of the things that will mark the end of this wicked world. Why the attack on Jonathan? Is Jonathan a perfect man, why are Nigerians expecting perfection from him. Let us continue to pray that things improve, but not 100% perfection. Rev. 12:12 says woe to the earth. I am not expecting perfection from any human leader. It is only God's government that will be rule by Jesus Christ that will permanently solve everybody's problem.

Mr President, God is with u, God is ur Strength iknw hw U feel, hmmmmmmm!!! Arise. O compatriot Nigeria need ur Prayers, Mr President needs Wisdom frm God, Happy Democracy my fellow Nigerians

Sylvonce said...

Well composed, constructive and remarkable speech Mr President.. wisdom 2lead us right..

Nice speech my president. God pls bless & protect our president. Give him more eyes 2 c evrytin necessary dt wil help put nigeria 2geda again. God bless my mother land nigeria!!!

They have speech writers and spin doctors, spokesmen and pr consultants to help wow these things. You can make even the most mundane thing sound noteworthy.

E.I the resilience shown by the people who have recently participated in demonstrations for the return of our girls demonstrate in their masses for the rights of my own daughters. They demonstrate because they care for family, we are family and together we will demonstrate in every way possible, me in Aso rock with my wife, till we find out girls. God bless the Nigerian family...

It's all spin.... That's an example of spinning a cause through sentiment, by semantics to appeal to base human emotions... People wake up.

Kudos to the much the administration has so far achieved in the face of odd circumstances. But I beg to defer on the 8th and 11th points. Telecommunications penetration did not begin with this administration. It may have naturally gained more mileage but certainly didn't start so at the inception of the GEJ/Sambo administration. Secondly if our relationship with other African nations has improved in any way, then that has been hardly manifest. What with our failure to leverage on such relationship to stem the current spate of insurgency on our soil. On the other hand and with regard to the state of power supply, our want of a road map is long aged we want results and tangible ones.

after the rain comes sunshine, lets just pray we are alive to witness the evolution of our great nation LONG LIVE NIGERIA!!

Amen! Nigeria unite. Islam people shld pls help &fish out all boko people. Yoruba,ibo & hausa,we re one nigeria. Let peace reign in our lovely country. Let us not turn our selves 2 slaves in oda pple's country by bringing down our dear country 2 crash. God bless nigeria! One love keep us 2geda.

If u love nigeria,can I hear u say God bless nigeria!!!

For those saying bunkums of ferrago against my president..........u are that bunch of people that always want somone to blame for their troubled life.
My president,is a true Democrat,a peaceful man,a man that believes so much in due process.A man with an unquestionable integrity and character.
Boko haram like other litanies of problem bedeviling dis nation,did not start with him,they have been there,just that his disposition to freedom of speech amplified the sardonic and lugubrious pool of problems in our polity....all because,he wants to lead not rule,sanitize a polity that was marred by corruption,little or no dividends.Worst was that no body ever aired their opinion cos fear was the order of the day...............a trace of dictatorship.
Am pleased that,Soon,Nigerians will see that my president is a force to reckon with..........check the Confab for instance...........a truly people confab.......check previous one hoisted by power hungry vampires,marauding beast and vultures,dictators........it was a gross failure....see d recent adoption by d delegates on resource democracy..........Oh God,u must bless my president........u must unravel this paraplegic
crinkum crankum that characterised the
Chibok girls,culminating in an od
oriferous saga cum gangatum gaga.
So that the Nigerians,who are new to true democracy,,,,,will see GEJ as a true Nigerian and a democrat he is.
I believe in My president abilities more than his disability.........hence I pray for him to excel.
God bless every patriotic leader and Nigerians they represent

Indeed, after the rain comes sunshine, lets just pray we are alive to witness the evolution of our great nation LONG LIVE NIGERIA!!

Heartless President shame on u n to all ur supporters.

Y is he like he jst shat in his pant

wow my president go on God is with you, do mind them.

@AnonymousMay 29, 2014 at 11:25 AM, why don't u just curl up and die? Otherwise, stop insulting your president! Just stop it. It makes you look very very bad.
LS

As long as am alive I don't like jona n his regime? 4 crying out loud! Some pple will still vote him come 2015 by so been BH will spread to lag n oda state? God let ur will be done

rasheed said...

speech is such a masterpiece, how i wish the thought goes deeply to the heart of the reciter, really respect what the speech stands for, one Nigeria and ever lasting progress.

Let's come together as one to fight Terrorism in our dear country.

Jona stop making nigerians angry imagine u don't even mention curuption

Well arrange speech,God help us

dilinger said...

What a silly and ignorant statement to make. Do you kidnap, rape and kill your own? These are terrorists and should be treated as such. We should not under any circumstance refer to them as our fellow country men, as they are cowards and a barbaric bunch and that is not what Nigerians are

You are a moron who can only see negatives. GEJ's admin has done remarkably well in a lot of sectors.

Happy democracy day dear blog visitors.

U think its good? Well 4 ur Info it isn't good o, infact I should say Power Supply in My Area got Worse since they Privatised it.

God be with you my dear president.

Firstly, Jonathan isn't boko haram! and in as much as he doesn't make the best choices, he isn't Nigerias major problem, What his predecessors did to this country is not what can be done in 4 years or more! so even the one he does would be swallowed up by the mass of rubbish they left behind! and Boko haram, is funded by some of the useless people Some of you want to vote come next election. Jonathan is not the best president ever, But neither was the invisible Yaradua and interesting but callous Obasanjo. you people complain as if GEJ is all that is wrong with nigeria, Is he the one raping 3and 4 year old girls? Is he the one robbing houses? and dont come and tell me about lack of jobs! because if lack of jobs would make you turn to the dark side, you very well had it in you since! I'm not saying that Jonathan should be voted for come next election,But if we really want nigeria to change, we should change ourselves first! after all these politicians don't cause havoc themselves, they pay gullible people , citizens of this country, your brother, her uncle, their cousin, my relative to do it for them. So......