Much ado about nothing! | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 11 December 2013

Much ado about nothing!

UK Prime Minister David Cameron, US President Barack Obama and Danish Prime Minister Helle Thorning-Schmid have faced serious backlash from people since these photos of them taking a selfie at Nelson Mandela's memorial service in Johannesburg was released yesterday.

People online are accusing them of undermining the seriousness of the event by smiling and taking photos on their mobile phones. I don't know what these people are talking about, I think it's adorable and shows they are regular people like us, at the end of the day. What do you think, was this inappropriate?

652 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   601 – 652 of 652
the professor said...

Yeepee!!! I'm the last to comment

Come on at a 95 years old funeral what's wrong.Its a time of laughing and dancing, a celebration so nothing wrong.

Abeg make the people wey dey complain ,make them park well.....Mandele no old reach abi na wetin sef?

chinnybest said...

linda y u no post my comment na......nt happy o

TONIA said...

MOST PEOPLE ARE JUST HATING FOR NOTHING, THEY SHOULD GET BUSY PLS HABA. THERE'S ABSOLUTELY NOTHING WRONG WITH WHAT THEY DID INFACT IT SHOWS THAT THEY ARE AS ORDINARY AS US MOREOVER THE WORLD IS NOT MOURNING TATA MANDELA RATHER WE ARE CELEBRATING THE LIFE OF TATA NELSON MANDIBA ROLIHLALHA MANDELA!!! TATA LIVES ON

kunle said...

Obama enter one chance. But why is Michelle frowning or is she jealous.

first time am commenting on this blog. there is absolutely nothing wrong with the pics, leave hypocrites and their Wahala after all its a celebration of life.

Renney said...

I wld have done dsame......tz not a sad event nau, he z 95 already. Michelle's expression z kinda weird tho

ZeeZee said...

Whoever is saying it was a burial should check facts it was a MEMORIAL SERVICE all the people who are criticizing probably didn't see the rest of the event - people were laughing, jumping and smiling it was a CELEBRATION OF LIFE (performances etc). There are bigger issues to be worried about than this (like Obamas speech for example - great and actually world peace) Imagine what people would have said if one of those people had refused to take the selfie (they would have called them vain). Please shut the fuck up Obamas $400 000 a year will still roll on whether or not you like it. What other simple things will people expect him not to do now will they also want him to stop waving? smh

i ptay that God gives me the grace to die as old and as fulfilled like Nelson mandela and my Grandmothers. At such burials,it is little crying and more of celebration of a worthy life well spent

People will not let this people be.Mandela had a great life and he was celebrated at his death!so why shouldn't they be happy.

wemimo said...

@ atobatele..last time I saw ur comment on this blog was 2012.. u used to be popular then...don't tell me u re commenting now cos of d 100k..lolz

Dia z absolutely nothing wrong with them taking pics n smiling period 'collins says so via' ekwenti 'lindyway all d way

I do not understand why people are mourning over mandela. he lived to 95 n had larger than life achievements! only his immediate family should mourn.the rest of us,including Obama, should party hard.

This picture is epic, at least for those who feels too big to snap picture with there phone, are they bigger than Obama? I love I love.

Bitch plz beta leave obama na michelle own

lol...

Nah dem sabi, buh there's notin bad in that... O neccessary!

chioma said...

i foresaw this lol...im stil *lovestruck* @ obama

Lol whats-up wit Michelle??

Sen.E said...

Akuko na egwu, seriousness of which events, a man dat died @ a ripe age. No during d burial they shuld jump inside his grave too. Human beings na wahala.....

As in! That look was priceless. You guys should see the concluding picture where she switched seats with Obama and she backed the Danish prime minister. Loool

mchenrygenius said...

she wants to put them on instagram...she needs followers..

Stop lying. .. that's not a true statement. Earlier (few seconds before the picture was taken), she (michelle) was conversing with the Danish prime minister too. So stop spreading false news.

Obietrezy said...

Hahahaha..... Linda you didn't show us the whole pic nau, michelle had to switch seat with obama because he wasn't acting matured there, there's nothing taking pics but when you're out with your woman, try and accord her some respect and not to take pics with another lady when you know your woman is beside you, for me its not nice. From the look on her face she wasn't happy or maybe jealous and after they switched seat, obama then gave her a kiss on her hand maybe that could mean he was sorry sha.....

Abi o

""Comment undergoing approval via G-Ebony...please wait..."
Must dey do dese in public or r dey just seeing demselves...smh

Me i love this selfie gan ni! See obama doing like †̥Ɨƚє guy next door & david cameroon acting like 'i mist show inde this pishau'. S̶̲̥̅Æ ̴̴̴̴̴̴͡ lovely. They r human too, so haters locate †̥Ɨƚє nearest wet transformer. #triple

Apart from the fact that Michelle was jealous (so to say)they should have carried her along... What they did is normal for real people. Should they now be forming like our corrupt leaders here? Its a pleasant sight joor.

There is absolutely nothing wrong with them taking photos. That will them less than 10seconds...

Anyway...people expect so much stiffness (etiquette) from public figures.

They signed for it.

I love this picture. It shows that they are humans too and can have fun.

MosDef said...

Olofofo BBP....mtcheew...na mourn dem dey mourn mandela? The guy is a legend joor,and na celebration of life b dis...seriousness ke...dez ppl r tryna show us dey r stl very much regular ppl nothing extraordinary...no b naija wey every1 is forming 1tin 1tin...f*#@ y'all haters

theres nothing inappropriate with it linda, people always want make something out of nothing.

Heehee. See Michelle's face like "kedu ife umuazi a n'ezuzu."
But ppl can like to worry shaa. Much ado abt nothing indeed! The man neither died early nor tragically, so that was a celebration of life. In Nigeria that would hv translated to a serious 'owambe'. All those ppl that r foaming at the mouth now for don get stroke then!

It Doesn't seems they are taking pictures of themselves, what it does seems is they are watching the event through Hellen's phone....
Whichever way its dosn't depict anything wrong... The one who take the shot knows well...

Supposed to be in sober mood because of what? Did Mandela died unfulfilled? Please let's be real for once

I dont see any thing wrong with this picture.his just being human,Michelle should know that.Sandy Berry.

Yes. a true leader.

Anthonia Omo oloyede

Catherine Ighalo said...

There is nothing inappropriate about this. They have not seen each other for long and are very happy and had to share pictures.

No freaking way, although they are world leaders, they are also human and everyone who has a camera phone and sees a once in a life time thing or event happening, will take pictures.

Those guys in the same place at once, the selfie was absolutely necessary.

nafiu said...

all of them are stupid

OBIANODO baby said...

Look people, these influential people are also humans, they eat, sleep and defecate just like you and I. By the way Daddy Madiba was 95yrs before he went to answer God's call, how many of them in that burial will ever see such over ripe ages in this life. Please this is a transition and celebration of a life well spent for Nelson. I think we should be more interested in looking inward ourselves to discover what can help us create and add value to our generation so that presidents and influential people can attend your burials just as they attended Mandela's. Mandela served mankind to God's Glory, what have you done for mankind?

At times it is good to behave like a child no matter yr position. life goes on in a happy mood

mohtoh said...

they are human, and rememba no mata how it all goes down, life must go on.

You will just have to defend Obama whatever the case. Taking a selfie at a funeral is very unbecoming of anyone not to mention a president. Imagine if it's GEJ. But hey, we are talking of god O.

Nnodim said...

My concern is with Michelle: She isn't happy with their pranks!

I think it is high time some arm-chair critics realize that there is and there should be, a difference between mourning someone (like Dr Nelson Mandela), who passes on at a ripe age of 95 and mourning someone who dies pre-maturely. The former is usually mourned with gratitude to God for a life well spent, while the latter is usually mourned with regrets and tears. President Barrack Obama & the others were in order.

been a figure person in d society shldnt take away d fact dat u ar human and u av to do thngs wen u ar surpose to plz.peps ignore it.allow d guy free style.

i thnk d guy is human and been a figure in the society doesnt mean u av to take away ur playing time plz allow d guy some space to express himslf .cheers

babes said...

I think they are human being, and just like any other human, pls people should free them

hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm y she cme dy vex na

«Oldest ‹Older   601 – 652 of 652   Newer› Newest»