FG cancels resumption ultimatum, pays N200b requested by ASUU | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 11 December 2013

FG cancels resumption ultimatum, pays N200b requested by ASUU

With the apparent stance of the Academic Staff Union of Universities on non resumption until the agreement between them and the Federal government has been honored, the Federal Government in a re-conciliatory move removed the ultimatum earlier placed on lecturers to resume otherwise their appointments would be terminated. FG has also provided proof of disbursement of N200billion to the educational trust account which was one of the criteria earlier given by lecturers for resumption.
Addressing newsmen yesterday, Senior Special Assistant to the President on Public Affairs, Dr Doyin Okupe, showed a letter with reference number GVD/DGO/GEN/MP/05/151 which was addressed to the Auditor-General of the Federation and titled: “Confirmation of the Execution of your Mandate for the Credit of Account No…Revitalization of Universities Infrastructure Account.” Continue...

The letter stated: “I write to confirm the execution of the following mandates by the Central Bank of Nigeria for funding of the above mentioned account as follows:
Mandate FD/LP2013/40/1/30/DF – 129,300,000,000.00
Mandate FD/F124/Vol XII/120/DF – 20,700,000,000.00
Mandate FD/LP2013/40/1/DF – 50,000,000,000.0
“I wish to further confirm that the available balance in the aforementioned account is N200,000,000,000.00 (Two Hundred Billion Naira Only).
“Please, accept the assurances of my best regards.”

As regards cancellation of the ultimatum, Doyin Okupe said about 90% of the lecturers had resumed nationwide so the talk of deadline resumption has dropped.

203 comments:

1 – 200 of 203   Newer›   Newest»

Okay... That's gud to hear!

funmsy said...

Very good move by the government .

another very funny and interesting post from Naija single girl dedicated to all men with a penis LMAOOOOO

Oshlan said...

This thing isn't fun anymore...getting sick of it...missed school o...sista Linda, Good morning

Hmm... good to knw! ASUU, pls call d damn strike off..

Fg now making sense.Gud development

Jewel said...

No, he for sack them na! One thing is to say the money has been deposited, another is to actually deposit the money and yet another is to really disburse the money for what it was meant for. Only time will tell. ALUTA CONTINUA!!

200billion ONLY...dnt knw y d ONLY is compulsory,I get angry wen I av to write d@ wen paying in,,,puliz dy shudnt call off dz strike o

#didi

Yea!!!!
#dancing skelewu#

MissChievous said...

We have a very Weak and Confused President. When they knew they will still pay money, why did they take so long to grant it? Wasting people's time anyhow. Shey ASUU will sha do and call of the strike now...

Nice move, well done FG

Rough Diamond said...

Tank God ooo! D great madiba's word has gotten to d FG. Education is power!

Waiting for ASUU's reply #chews sugarcane

omenah said...

I hope this is true

creamycherrypie said...

Na wao

If I was asuu, I wunt resume but 4 d sake of our students I would reconsider Them.....but me really like nd respect dis Assu people cos dey showed example of being stronG nd standing on dier right...- tout dey wud give up wen it got tough but I never knew dey were mean nd serious.@least dis will prove to d fed.govt dat dey no cowards.......gold

How can FG prove that 90% of lecturers ve resumed?
Anyway, I'm proud of my lecturers, they won the war plus the battle........I stll wanna resume january sha #wink#
SHACKLES

Hallelujah!!!
*dancıng lambo + skelewu*

After all the time wasted.....9ja Govt is a Shame!

♚KVNG ZINNY♚ said...

FINALLY!!!!! Now this is good news :)
5months aint beans!

THATIGBOBABE said...

Naija..which way forward..Vision 2020...E go better*in Donjazzy's voice

NERO said...

Between FG and ASUU we don't know who is Saying the truth anymore

You don't rule by force. It will always backfires

Oluseyi Olaniyi said...

God go have mercy on nigeria....thanks for the update

Linda abeg post my comment naaa

You don't rule by force. It will always backfires

Favourmoyse Blog said...

Praise the lord!!!

Thank God I have graduated!
I pity the poor students.
Better go and start up a trade by the time u know u are already richer than you think!
Goodluck

Arije_Baba said...

I will be glad if ASUU finally calls off the strike cux its long ova due.since the fed govt as make provision for the money in question,I see no reason why asuu will still be on strike.Asuu president while speaking on channels television said,if fed govt pays the money as requested,he sees np reason why his members won't return to classroom.so as it stands nw,nigerian students should only be waiting for the adress of asuu president calling off the strike.President jonathan as tried in dix whole issue,to me he his d best as far as handling asuu issue is concerned.I will say congratulations to nigerian students in advance because an end to asuu strike is in sight.

*COMRADE MADIBA SAYS SO*

Black Child said...

That was a nice Move by the Federal Government. I just wonder why they had to wait for so long to do the right thing. Anyways, it's better late than never.

Wooooo.... At last student can go back to dia various universities... Dats awesome

loooolz this FG sha,shakara oloje.

jaypei said...

Its about time

Wooooo.... At last students can go back to dia various universities... Dats awesome

Jolliable sound ,not bad for the festive period.

so can we resume now.....????

seriously they have GEJ on His neck.. this is ridiculous!

love me said...

Tank u Mr president nd God bless Nigeria! I do hope d money is spent on wat its meant for sha!

Mtcheew. A move that should have been made long time ago.
From ZICO aka the guy that needs the 100k

Mtcheew. A move that should have been made long time ago.
From ZICO aka the guy that needs the 100k

Nw they talking

bonito senora said...

E se oooo,a wa dupe oooo

And who says dialogue isnt the way forward?

UGLY BOY said...

Dis digits can change an entire generation,#ntn consine me sha# jus passing

So..?? Ppl are resuming already na

TY said...

My question is,do the FG av 2 wait this long b4 doing d needful?

Asuu z now left for u oo.

"神爱我" said...

God ll help them......

FG O le rara, Asuu all the way...

Woooow diz celebration period~God help us

CHIDINMA said...

Federal government don vex... Nyce move.so loving dis

Good news.

Hi linda morning to u hope the money is well confirmed cos govt are fake they are full of pinky promises not fufilled I am done thanks

anty linda today na 11/12/13

Tnk God oooooo

ikeoluwa said...

I just pray it's so...

evelynstan said...

Good one, thnks to fg

creamy chic said...

Let d FG make a fool themselves some more,they opened d acct,but didn't drop a kobo in it...n ASUU wudn't be foolish enough to call off d strike......wen dey av nt seen d money.d lecturers r tired,but wud dey just let deir efforts go to waste.

Goodluck pls don't come for 2015 ooo....cos u will just be wasting ur time.

Atobatele said...

Who is fooling who? FG and ASUU are playing kite with the future of youths. Only God knows when we gonna get it right as a country. Turning education to a political issue..God dey sha

Morning linda I hope the ASUU pay will get this money for real cos FG are fake they r full of pinky promises n not fufilling it smh

Ebere said...

plz they should do sumtin abt dis oooooooh

Let FG chill till August 2014

Onome said...

Thanks God ooo, but dat will not make me go back to skul dis year ooo. But to be sincere, I don't want dis strike to end oo(making money already). Yyyyyyyyy

Hi linda morning to u hope the money is well confirmed cos govt are fake they are full of pinky promises not fufilled I am done thanks

Baby G said...

Finally!!!

He seems audicious with his comments; may be ASUU should take him for serious if not for d sake of FG but the poor masses of the country whom cannot afford their children's education.. I luv NAIJA

I haven't seen my comment what's up linda

Janelicious said...

Wowwww after good five months

Yeh at last says tbassy via nokia1800

make dem settle and d student should resume .how far anty linda,how do u wnt to share d money and u must include anonymous,my acc.noba:005368881gtb ayanlola nike,abeg u in d name of god

I guess FG is making some progressive steps..waiting for ASUU to bring up another silly issue

Thn God, dere's an improvement, atleast dere's hope for jan. resumption

Moji said...

Its so unfortunate hw education is treated in this country Nigeria. our president and his aides are not ready to develop this great Nigeria, they just want to own everything,they are not bothrered about the general public. they are so corrupt and they lack knowledge thats why they want to own so much beyond human understanding. It is only Nigerians u will see owning Billions and you cant really say this is the job they are doing they are looting public funds for personal interests, its such a shame. Their thinking/ reasoning is so evident they are all illiterates and lack proper up bringing. most of our rulers in nigeria today were born wretched and were not educated so thats y they want to amass so much wealth, so greedy people. i feel very sad and sorry for this our great Nation few of us still believe in. its so unfortunate but i know that all these greedy and unlawful decisions wont last for long. A new generation of leaders would rise and change Nigeria we need to flush out these greedy illiterates we were deceived to appoint as rulers.....i am an affected and depressed nigerian student who has been home since july 1st,i actually resigned from a banking job to pursue my masters in a nigerian university (all in the name of career development)and an 18 months program is actually over 24 months and still counting....so depressing. We need a Revolution!

Jade said...

Finally! I knew it! They had the money but were not willing to meet ASUU's demands. Shame on them! Well,at least they came through this time.

We pray no other silly excuse come up again..cos I see both parties as greedy wolves!! ~donfoster~

way to go.. Linda i have a 1% chance of you seein this. But just know that you will be helping to build a career if you help me. 0137589785 gtbank. Amen

We pray no other silly excuse come up again..cos I see both parties as greedy wolves!! ~donfoster~

Wow good news#shame on the govt for wasting and taking too long

threaten na water,action na blood....clueless govt !*ONYXGODWIN *

aunty linda ur stil taking about asuu and fg u neva talk abt landlord and student,jst as federal govt wont pay lecturers for staying at home i wont pay landlord 4 nt staying in his auz for six months.......
Ola

hottie said...

If 90 percent of lecturers av really resumed,den H̶̲̥̅̊Æ¡̣̣̣̝̇̇̇ÏŽ com students ar still @ om.mak all of den park well n annouce resumptn date once n 4 all.

'90% of the lecturers had resumed nationwide'. Is this a fuccin joke..?

hmmmm i pray ohhhh..

jazdazzle

Fg can form dem no knw says assu form pass them, pls till January oooooooooo.... Pookypie

sassy bubu said...

Na dem sabi...Gej acts immature most times.why impose wat u can't stand for? making a fool of ur self nd the Nigerian government? Thank God it's settled now after all...

Tiana said...

Asuu is not done yet, dey said dey need d alart on dia phones.........lol jokers! Weda dem call off or not, CV is already flying.

FG should sign and implement the agreement it had with ASSU rather than coming to the media and spread propaganda

Natcomcf said...

That's fine though it got to an extent where it looked as if our leaders has lesser regards for EDUCATION.

Hmmmmm asuu 4 una mine una win ooOoo

Mr Obot said...

Arrant Balderdash

Madtom said...

*looks from left to right* Safe. First to comment.

diamondblinqZ said...

Welldone Mr President even doh its coming late. Like dey say beta late dan neva. + I fink Mandela's death spur dem up. Daz gudnews. I hv always been on d side of ASUU since dey went on strike I hope dey won't let us down. Please live up 2d task. Tanx

bubbles said...

Thank You Jesus...I'm sure goodluck is now thinking like mandela

Mr Obot said...

arrant balderdash!

Lol I said it Jonathan is a joker.he shd b covered in ashamed

Dear Nigerian students,
Please go and learn a trade, go and help your mothers and fathers in their places of business, because I don't see any end to this ASUU/FG charade.

It's a good move. Hope asuu can authenticate the reports. If it's in d affirmitive,den students would b getn ready by 1st week of jan cos dis year ia almost gone. Btw some schs av resumed e.g Ebsu n unizik. 'Sergio Frankie'

Natcomcf said...

That's fine though it got to an extent where it looked as if our leaders have lesser regards for education.

If our politicians think Mandela is as great as they have been shouting why cant they emulate Nelson Mandela in leadership, simplicity and service to the people? While Mandela died in his country South Africa, many of our politicians die abroad except when they die in an accident. Mandela was hospitalized and treated in a South African hospital throughout his health challenge while our leaders prefer to go to foreign hospitals to treat common headache. Mandela died a contented man and not a wealthy man. He did not own any diamond mine, private jet, bullet proof vehicle whereas our politicians are fighting themselves over our oil blocs and our national treasury. Mandela did not worship money. He surrounded himself with the love of the people. Mandela was not known to be religious. He never attended any Holy Ghost service or any special religious convention. He served God through service to humanity, forgiveness and love for his neighbour. Our politicians have many spiritual leaders praying for them yet their ways are not right with the people they claim to serve. God is not mocked. He sees the hearts of all men. Shame on all Nigerian leaders shedding crocodile tears and paying tributes to a great man like Nelson Mandela. Pay tribute to him by emulating his leadership style. Mandela believed its better to lead from behind and to put others in front. All we are asking is for the leaders to do like Nelson Mandela. Fix our hospitals, give the masses quality education, give us good roads, lead by example. All we are asking is, fix Nigeria. Please share until it gets to our good-for- nothing politicians who are stealing us blind. According to Nelson Mandela, We must use time wisely and forever realise that the time is always ripe to do right

200billion!! Choi!! Dis thieves have gotten what dey want!
School resumes finally!!

esosandra said...

Wow! 200billion naira, we are rich o, now I'm waiting to see how this money will be use. FG better put survelance on them. #Hawkeyesmode asap

What next? Hope they are not about to disrupt this Xmas holiday. *cagey*

Everything don ''dabaru". Na them sabi.

Awon Ode...... Why did they reconsider?? N which foolish 90%... Oniro iya govt.

Mr Obot said...

Wtf!.....God bless both parties for prolonging my stay in the varsity :-(

ASUU should now call off this strike biko. My school no gree pull out.

Goldberry Blaq said...

Nawu deya talukini. (Mzz Blaq)

ebere said...

Nice move from FG,I pray dis strike ends soon.

click here for tips on how to make your brain more sharp and efficient

But seriously, This Fagge guy need to Chill already! Keeping students can never help him at all.

Yeahhhhhhhhhhhhh!
ASUU won!!!
Big ups to them!!!
Our future leaders can now go back to school. *winks*

~~Miss P~~

tunde daniel said...

sincerely i think this is all just a script btw the FG and ASUU. it only went sore when Iyayi lost his life in the fatal accident.

Opeedo said...

Shame on PDP

Rest in peace Madiba

check out hot sexy gist here Rest in peace Madiba

check out hot sexy gist here

When will Nigeria government make sense for once, coming on air and making some claims will never solve the problem, I expect ASUU to make this statement that the said payment has been made if truly it has been made. ASUU is claiming ignorance of the payment yet this man never stops making noise.You had a meeting with ASUU but you refused to inform them first about the payment before taking to media. This is common sense. Anyway, until I hear the ASUU side of the story, I mellow.......

Thank God, nice move fg

and finally dis SAGA comes 2 an end..........

so dis is finaly coming to an end? happy for them

OK oo..hope this ain't flash money.. but the year is gone,so na January tins.. I can't wait for my kid sis to resume,the gal don kill me..

Skeggs said...

Dat 1 concern dem!!! My own b say me no dy enta skul again til nxt year..............

Igor said...

The never ending soap opera is getting.Jonah,you for meet OBJ make him teach how you for use scare ASUU.

All thanks to God ooO...at last!...thanks for the update auntie Linda

winipreye said...

hahaha, chai fg no strong at all...wen will dis their seasonal film end?anyway I op n pray
asuu calls off dis strike nxt yr cos dis yr is gone already

Oga o...since! God will judge...only if d GEJ didn't ave d money nikan noni+ I alredy knw dat all dose treaths were empty! 3-|º°˚˚˚ºmtcheeeew!!! . .
_\\_!! Tym wasters otshi

Hmm... The way Nigerians are joking with their education sector when Ghana is presently above 25% close to the harvard, oxford, yale standard and they haven't even reached 7%... I pity the govt and the nation; they should keep playing ojoro with the young ones. I wish students the best though, pray 4ur country or go 4a private uni or bera stil go 2ghana 4ur own gd. Time awaits no man, itd keep ticking.

Dem don pay dat money since, asuu na idiot, dem dey form stubborn but almost all of dem don resume work...@proflinks

lilian said...

wat next for asuu? Pls call off the strike.

OSEYI said...

Save our educational system pls

FG knows that majority have not resumed & they can't sack everybody. They are tryin to see if majority will resume. Before they gave d ultimatum they forgot that Iyayi will be buried. Who are they fooling? FG is as useless as the 'P' in Psychology

TIRED OF STUBBORN FAT??? CLICK HERE

Congrats students, u all can now go bak to schl and stop flooding ikeja city mall. dats if u still remember ur matric no.

mr kelly texas said...

i still need som holidays cuz still hustling for pocket money Asuu take note!

I thought the clamour was that the AGF should sign the MOU....why the rush by FG to open an account for ASUU and make payment without the AGFs signature on the MoU.....
After this first payment, will FG not renege on their agreement say 2014 or 2015?
Which is more hard; signing of the MoU or Doling out N200billion?

LOOK GREAT LOOK AMAZING. BURN STURBBORN FAT NOW CLICK HERE

success igbinoba said...

Really gud news

By my rating, the Administration of President Goodluck Ebele Johnathan is the most RESPONSIVE Government Nigeria has ever had! b

TIRED OF UGLY FAT? CLICK HERE TO FIND OUT HOW TO BURN OUT STUBBORN FAT

Finally asuu n fg drama is coming to an end ...
Loris

GEJ, all bark no bite!!!!!how can u threaten to sack lecturers, u werea lecturer urself. Fashola tried it with Doctors in Lagos and failed...

na dem sabi...sch shd jux resume in jan.Xty

ka gini wey mezie? biko park well. its only now they wanna respond huh. them think say ASUU na achi ochi before.

In plain english r the tryn to say that the strike has been called off?... I don't know y all these grammar is here o. *GROWN N SEXY*

FG thou,acting like confuse set of people.they should settle ASUU biko.

ajokeade said...

Good 4 dem, en I hope asuu will call off d strike soon.

Ify said...

Indeed money speaking. if i see dis kind of alart, i go faint ooo.

missLynnder said...

This country is so fucked up. The federal government could pay the money but they had to wait untill students languished away at home. For over five months to do it? Haba!

Damola said...

Asuu get mouth pass FG obviously......na we be d scapegoats anyway!

lydia said...

I knew it wasn't going 2 work

FG n ASSU plsssssss abeg we need to graduate ooooo

brina said...

I seriously hope this move is true ooo...finally one can return to school...federal government,you see threats don't solve anything...I guess they have learnt that!!

Dprecious said...

Make dem sha do quick.., some student don dey smell house for body

We all know Jonathan does nt hv liver, where did 90% of lecturers resume? Somalia? Anyway ASUU should nt suspend oh, I'm nt ready yet, dey should chill till Jan

I just hope everything is okay as we are meant to believe. If that is so, I wish to advice ASUU not to see this as a victory to spite the FG. No, they have appreciably done well for our collective good especially when juxtaposed with the fact that although, the laws establishing Trade Unionism in Nigeria are only inclusive of terms and conditions of service as they CONCERN staff, they have responsibly stretched the strike further to include development and provision of infrastructural elements that will guarantee conducive conditions of learning. If this move is sustained in the years ahead and all parties keep their sides of the bargain, it will not be long before any Nigerian university will begin to find its ranking among global universities. All around the world, believe it or not, university and allied education, provides backbone of 'highly-concentrated'think-tanks for Governments and governance.

na dem sabi,bt make asuu wait till nxt yr....d year has ended already

Austen said...

Dis pple tho.. Money has been payed and Asuu is still formin

dee said...

at last fg has kept der end of d bargain.. am going back to school...yeeee

PAVOUR said...

Asuu enjoy ur money. Resume january oh..this is December n not good for students on d roads.

Swaggs isimemen said...

GEJ 4get him was once a lecturer be 4. d minister of supervisor on education wenke or what's name self should tell him 2 give Asuu ultimatum warning again nw idiot fellows

Swaggs isimemen said...

GEJ 4get him was once a lecturer be 4. d minister of supervisor on education wenke or what's name self should tell him 2 give Asuu ultimatum warning again nw idiot fellows

Swaggs isimemen said...

I feel for the stupid ones that resumed b4 the agreed date. bloody traitors!!

Thank God, hope Asuu will not come back next year for more money

Something they should have done since. Anyway, thank God our younger ones can finally go back to school.

so when do we go back to school,that's the ish

See money!!Yaaay... N more stil coming sef.....a lot goin into private hands for sure...

Quintessence said...

ASUU nd FG. Lawowo, Bikonu, Ejoor , Wowo,por favor. Please oooooo.

switchloe said...

wow! Is dis real? Dis s gr8 news buh its xmas already so aw will students cope. Glad its over finally. am still claimin d 100k 4rm linda n i'll recieve it in Jesus name Amen

Good for dem,after dey don waste deir pikins life....aunty linda abeg...my vote goes to Bonario n PC..pls biko

Its gud news !.....linda post my comment

Nice move by FG but, wrong time.

No they r talking, hopefully next year Jan thr wil be a hapi nw year news for resumption. Oshey!

Now they r talking, hopefully next year Jan thr wil be a hapi nw year news for resumption. Lindiway post kwa my com.. Oshey!

queen.blinks@yahoo.com said...

Story story

Let's see what they would use the 200billion to do now....

that's a very big lie... The FG tot dey cud use force.... mtchewww!!

Onkle_Gee said...

Jheeeezoooz!!! See money!! Choi!! Finally they got what they wanted...mtcheeeew!! Greedy lecturers

Onkle_Gee said...

Jheeeezoooz!!! See money!! Choi!! Finally they got what they wanted...mtcheeeew!! Greedy lecturers

Onkle_Gee said...

exclusive P said...

Dey suppose sack all d lecturez naw..........doyin N revitalization account SHA

dhobiz said...

FG jst fall my hand,I was hopin they won't get anything till January so they will have a hungry Xmas as punishment for letting us spend 5/6 month at home phew

dollyjossycakes said...

Finally,its settled praise God.we can nw resume school NEXT YEAR nt dis year ooo,cos dis year is almost ova,dey shuldn't try it *straight face*

wow, best Christmas gift ever, can't believe this. I hope they use it for what is meant for sha, anything is possible for naija

Online Scholarship said...

So fg get money and them dey do like this since?!

ify said...

Na dat one concern them, my own is that they should resume next year.

FG dey cut liver abeg.....
Anyway in as much as I dn't support ASUU,I tink that FG is using blackmail tactics... GEJ is alwz ill-adviced.....

Money, money..................... Ego Ego..................... Owoh Owoh..................... Kwudi Kwudi. Linda pls remember me in your Xmass gift pls acc no 0015634390 diamond bank phone no 07031925660 thanks

Money, money..................... Ego Ego..................... Owoh Owoh..................... Kwudi Kwudi. Linda pls remember me in your Xmass gift pls acc no 0015634390 diamond bank phone no 07031925660 thanks "De J.M.C"

Betty said...

Make e be true cos fg are not be trusted @ all.

Chinedu said...

lol... And the movie continue

Just ope its tru ooooo....

Oya all these students should go and face their studies. No more jonesing and 'first to comment' nonsense. Olue na omume. Lol

Shyla

Oluwadamilola said...

I said it, december must be sweet.. No resumption till january..

So this 200 billion...who will use it exactly?

Estiluv said...

Anty Linda pls am beggin u in d name of Almighty God infct am on my kneels beggin u i nid d@ precious xmas gift of urs badly more dan any1 on dis blog 2 change my lyf. Tnx 4 ur luv alwx b ur fav. Liber dis my acct. no (0052839571) God bless u

January tinz.allow d students 2 enjoy xmas jare.Nigeria jagajaga

Tillwilly said...

it is vry obvious dat d govt is neva serious,so dey think dey can bully ASUU to call off d strike,4 once i feel ASUU has real done a gud job wit dis 1.evryting dey ask 4 is 4 d benefit of nigerian student @ d long run.smh 4 those who term d strike has bin political,they ar so myopic,narrow & shallow minded to understand wat is gud 4 our education to move 4ward.when it comes 2 strike,i av bin dere,so i knw vry well ow it feels.

Ademola Olawale BME said...

Lolz

No una for continue with the ultimatum! Mstcheeeeew. Pls go and pay lecturers their 5months salary. And stop beating abt the bush.

Shut up dere,c ur eyes like titus fish wey dey don smoke

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 203   Newer› Newest»