Ghen ghen! Premium Times battles Punch over Obasanjo's letter | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 13 December 2013

Ghen ghen! Premium Times battles Punch over Obasanjo's letter

Two days ago you guys read the 18-page stinker Obasanjo wrote to President Jonathan (In case you missed it, enjoy). Well, here's the thing, online news site Premium Times published the letter first and claimed to have exclusive rights to it. They even watermarked each page of the letter. Punch and other media houses later wrote their own reports and published unwatermarked version of the letter

Premium Times is now accusing Punch and all the other media houses of plagiarism, claiming they stole their exclusive and refused to acknowledge them.

The Editor-in Chief of the Premium Times, Dapo Olorunyomi, said
“Majority of the papers published the complete text of the letter which was first revealed to the world by this newspaper, and made available via our website. There were also cases of shameless lifting of the original story published by this medium. I am weirdly tickled at the absence of humility in competitors who sought to ignore accepting that they got the material from us and ended up failing to offer their readers the source of the material altogether.”
Punch has reacted to the allegations, insisting Premium Times was not the source of their report. See their statement after the cut...

The online news medium, Premium Times, on Thursday, falsely accused The PUNCH of republishing its version of the letter that former President Olusegun Obasanjo wrote to President Goodluck Jonathan without attribution.

We strongly repudiate this unfounded claim and deplore the online news medium’s recourse to hasty generalization in its bid to claim the moral high ground.
Premium Times was neither the source of the information used in our story nor the source of the text published.

The online medium would have avoided an “ethical flaw”, and served its readers well, if it had been careful to comply with one of journalism’s basic tenets by reaching out to The PUNCH for its side of the story.

This newspaper would have readily shared relevant information pertaining to our story, particularly, the fact that it was obtained from a source in the former President’s office on December 11, 2013 and also provided emails and PDF document containing the 18-page letter in its original form.

That an online news medium publishes a document first does not by any means suggest that it is the only medium (print or online) with the information at the point in time.

Our decision not to state the source of the story was not for the reason stated by the online medium. Indeed, Financial Times (UK) also published the story without stating its source, just like The PUNCH.

PUNCH’s culture of professionalism is its strongest forte. We provide clear attribution when stories are sourced and offer an apology when errors are brought to our notice.

Martin Ayankola
Editor, The PUNCH

92 comments:

See Gobe

1st..k den

Amanda A said...

What a mess, smh...

dhobiz said...

Fighting over nothing

Na real ghen ghen 'in linda's voice'. But in a professional way punch is kinda ryt as they claim to av gotten it from an anonymous source. Though I quite understand premium times, this ought to b settled amicably. 'Sergio Frankie'

Lol see tittle!!!!! Linda u don kolo o!

Donot Click here

Tiana said...

Tarrrh, dey should short dat pit in dia face dey call mouth! 1st to post ko 1st to post ni. All d news dey have bin publishing didn't dey take frm odas? No wahala dey shld take d glory, atleast Jonathan knws who to hold wen he wants abt d leakage. Hahahahah

Foolish pple....is dah wat dey should b talking about,so disappionted

Dis is really ghen ghen...OBJ d actor....tap rollin..

Why fighting over Obasajo stupid letter,we shuldnt give much attention to this man.if were whn he was president,hmm so many pple will be cooling off in EFCC net by now.Mtcheew!

helena said...

Oya battleline has bn drawn...premium times vs punch,hehe!

This country na wa. Newspaper organisations are here arguing who had the exclusive rights and co. Abeg the story is out and everyone has read it. Premium times de vex cos Punch newspaper probably sold more copies. Kpele nu

Shyla

ChocoBerry said...

I xpect dem 2fight ova Nelson Mandella's story nt som silly letter by dis so cald politician Obj.bonita bislam

Oya let d fight begin
Sallysmart

I rest my case

obiorah hilary said...

All this English because you thief picture? Na wa for una oh!

obiorah hilary said...

All this English because you thief picture? Na wa for una oh!

Ghen ghen war start.

Your sound effect no thick enough jor. It should be: Ghen ghen ghen!! Gre ghe ghen.. Ghe ghe ghe ghennnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn! #dahsALL

I.S.R.M.H.S Taslim OKUNOLA A.K.A Doctor Gaga

Ghen ghen part 1....

Hello Ma pls am still in shock. Am phykel wif no 08139514764. Someone claiming to be u called me ds afternoon. Pls confirm if its U. Check ur mails ma and ur twitter handle.plsssssssss

Aunty Linda...I nid d 20k 4 my dad's medications.We desperately nid 2 get them.D rest will be 4.my textbooks when schl resumes08168580854...

So what is the need for argument, the letter already went to the people,

Hmmm nawaoo, the person the letter was written have not reacted and these onse are here battling, willi call it right of ownership or what?

Immaculate said...

All of them are very stupid

Jude said...

Seems PT drank garri this time around. They need to understand what an intellectual property means

Madam linda pls choose me among your lucky winner, this weekend, pls.... I need money to enroll for waec plsssss...... I don't want to stay at home for another 1year because of 15,000 naira pls help me, the exam means a lot to me pls try and consider me, anything will be appreciated....
Osamudiamwen omoregie

Kogi Media said...

You guys should calm down abeg. Abi what's your problem?

PErson done write him letter, done achieve him aim, xo wetin con be dz one now?...abeg i get dagger free of charge..

Lyk ciriosly?who published 1St?

STARBOY said...

Am not surprised, all we have now are word-for-word copy "machines". If they did so, they should acknowledge them
STAR-BOYY

Swaggs isimemen said...

Who first blow each other I give him or her 10# naira 2 buy kporof kon d fight start nw go..

Weather is their own or not hence it was not written word to word and besides it not a book talk more off...if i may ask where did premium time (PT) got their own letter from?

miss linda am a student in your alma mater university (UNN) studying Comp sci final year currently writing my project...am deigning a star wireless/lan network box but finding it difficulty to procure some material needed so with your 20k it will help me a lot. just concluded my shiloh prayer and this was one of my prayer request, hope God of shiloh will answer me. so here is my cell number 08066286108 Goddy

Oluwadamilola said...

Heheyy! Egbami, look at these foolish people, just imagine what they are fighting over.. Bunch of jokers..

Waiting 4 part 2. *Debbie Chelsea*

Janelicious said...

Na them know oooo . Long hissssssss

""Comment undergoing approval via G-Ebony...please wait..."

Bunch of attention seekers.

thelma said...

Datz d Nigerian way of life

emjay said...

iranu awon pple yii po gan oo......oshisko pple.

Na rilli ghen ghen linda......lol make dem kill dem sef na ...pookypie

M-amie Hazard innit? said...

Not interested really.

Cat fight!!! Lol!!

Looool.. The Editor-in-chief of Premium Times (Dapo Olorunyomi) must be a UK graduate. Turn-it-in and Plagiarism has scattered his brain. I just wonder why Nigerians are fond of Chasing Shadows!. Instead of them to focus on the Letter's content they are busy fighting over plagiarism. I weep for my COUNTRY. ...

Fighting over what

Rough Diamond said...

Nonsense!

Its no nothing. It's intellectual property

Endy said...

Crazy dey worry una,what is the fighting for.....mumu people

Does he have any idea what plagiarism is?

They shud rest joor,its jes like a fight of photocopied material @ uniport.

This is the problem with nigerians, no sense of originality. If you intend on using someone else's information, ask for permission or otherwise, it will be known as plagiarism. Its honor, respect for your profession. People need to take pride in what they do, so you'd understand b asic priciples such as plagiarism. Plagiarism will get you kicked of out school, its another wird for CHEATING just worded differently. So, if you get an idea from someone else, do the right thing and QUOTE THE SOURCE. lesrn this wotd and put it in your diction, ORIGINALITY & CREATIVITY. smh for you.

Thank you. Thats the problem with Nigerians, always stealing other peoples concepts, ideas. Nigerians are very creative, use it, use your god give brain. If you're going to use someone else's, ethics requires that you acknowledge the source. People get sued and win court cases over this, students get expelled or suspended from school for cheating or the fancy word, plagiarism. Take pride in your profession so others would know you for authenticity, originality, e.t.c, not for STEALING.

All our leaders nw. Wan form Nelson Mandala way.

*Shut*..... thank me asap.

solomon said...

#kokan aye jooor...make premium times park well

Goldberry Blaq said...

Senselessness

Itz "shut" nt short...thank me later

War in Nigeria everyday

@Tiana,you should get your ass back in school. The word is 'shut' not short. You're welcome.

Puffiinnocent said...

I go with punch 2 punch premium times so dat dey will take their time

Dey are fighting yle OBJ nd GEJ dine nd wine in Kenya

Really?!!!!so this is what is important right now??!!!..mtsheeewww...you guys have better look for better things to do...can you imagine??

Asin ehn... this na wombolombo something. a game of words.

Really?!!!!so this is what is important right now??!!!..mtsheeewww...you guys had better look for better things to do like looking for news to publish...can you imagine??

Premium Time may be right. Plagiarism is too much in our publish industry. Ppl blatantly copy n paste other ppl's material without acknowledgement. * Phil *

Lols... Na u kill am ooo khen khen khen... LMOA

The. Question is : was the letter sent to only Premium times? They should just forget who published what first and concentrate on asking the characters in the letter what their problem is..

make the getawt

Oshlan said...

Good for em

All this things na politics

All this things na politics.

Nigerian media houses has joined nigerian govt..in hilarious display and arguement kai

Its really funny ..d major thing its dat we got to c d letter..d source doesn't matter..lol

ruby said...

Wts up wif ds old guys? Abeg ts time 4 d young nd vibrant to rule ds NaijA of ours.

dis people no get serious work fighting on top waiting. Una be mumu ooO. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

Let dem sort demselves out

Team kilo kanmi on point...

See Niger film show . I dey wait for final battle.

UnA neVa hALLa.......MtChWwWwWw...DaJaX

punch is always lifting stories from online medium, remember the story where Jonathan allegedly checked in to the hospital with patience in Germany, Punch lifted it and said from an online source. Punch is losing it credibilty quickly, even when the put the headline for Obasanjo letter, they said Öbasanjo bombs Jonathan"haba! with a nuclear bomb? punch is just selling sensation now!

U pple have job but on dis matter 2me u ar jobless... Naija self

Brazzimola said...

They are fighting over 1st to comment just like we do on LIB here. Interesting....

na wa o, so newspapers stli dey fight untop wetin no concern dem,may God help us in dis country

halliday said...

Dis pipo re really high on cheap drugs..

Acknowledge my foot............ Wats d gain in d acknowledgemnt wen all we ar after is d subjct of d news

vision2020 said...

Hmmmmm! Nija! Media fighting over a letter! Pls I hv strted writing my own letter! Pls linda invite dem 2 my ongoing letter!

Justyswt said...

Linda, this ur christmas gift has made pple turn to professional beggers. Imagine pple lieing about health issues, na wa o.

Enejo Apeh said...

even tuface talk am. Remove the log in your eyes before you remove that in another man's eyes. see pot calling kettle black@ obasanjo

pwitie B said...

Jonathan will have d last laugh

@Anon. 11.55pm, u claim to be a final year student yet ur essay was unreadable. D grammatical blunders jst make me wonder how u passed English exams and GST,but obviously u sorted ur way out. Smh. Ur comment has just made me forget wat I wanted to say abt dis plagiarism issue sef. Umu akwukwo, pls go back to nta akara.