Govt confirms outbreak of Lassa fever In Taraba State, 1 confirmed dead | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday, 4 January 2016

Govt confirms outbreak of Lassa fever In Taraba State, 1 confirmed dead

Taraba State government has confirmed the outbreak of Lassa fever, a deadly viral disease, in the state. Lassa fever is transmitted by infected rodents. The state Commissioner of Health, Innocent Vakkai in an interview with journalists over the weekend said;

"One person died and two others quarantined and their blood samples have already been taken to Irrua Specialists Hospital in Edo State for further confirmation."
Speaking on how the viral disease is contacted, Vakkai said
"People usually get infected with the Lassa Virus after exposure to infected rodents, while person to person transmission occurs through direct contact with the sick person."
He said precautionary measures include putting food in rodent proof containers and wearing protections such as masks, gloves, gowns among others.

79 comments:

Be careful out there...!!

They should make sure they contain it there
#needanalibitojoinmetastethenewgeishasardine

Hmmmm another one don show. Biko prevention method o

Not again!!

Wild flowers!

This disease is very dangerous...

They better do something asap. Cos this fever is very dangerous to human!

#commonsense

BEAUTIFUL9JADELTA said...

BEAUTIFUL9JADELTABABE.. ahh which kind thing be dis God help us ohh hmm anyway me am Justsayingmaownohh via ma LATEST TECHNO f7.
@lindaikeji d lindus am still waiting ohh

Ambassadorial fever

Ambassadorial discovery

Mandymice said...

sorry to the dead.

new lagos wife.............................................

Dem don come again ooooo!abeg una go farrrrr oo!!

Babylawyer. said...

2016 headache is here already.

@Lindaikeji No. I FAN.

SHORTEST DUDE said...

I am covered by his blood sha

Dem don come again ooooo!abeg una go farrrrr oo!!

Mandymice said...

sorry to the dead.

new lagos wife.............................................

Babylawyer. said...

2016 headache is here already.

@Lindaikeji No. I FAN.

Nawa o

Sorry oo. Abeg is it Rodent as in Rats. Oloru oo. D blood of Jesus

Kurdor Peter said...

Enter your comment... God deliver us

Olivia Ngene said...

*lassa fever*

#iT wiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
#iT mUsT eNd iN prAise

kudos said...

Enter your comment...this new year,hope the contain it before it causes havoc...Believe

Dat Mbaise girl said...

Not again, from Ebola to lassa fever,God protect ur children

I guess baba's prophecy is coming to pass already

to be continued....

Don Jazzy Has Had Serious Beef With These 5 Artists Since, Even Before These Dirty Secrets Was Revealed By Olamide About Don Jazzy

It's a dangerous one. Hope people around there be more careful

Lord pls send some of dis sickness to a foreign land whr dey have enuf resources n hospital to flush dem out cus we hav enuf we r dealing with now.. Amen

kudos said...

Could this be pstor adeboyes prophecy come through,just wondering d'oh...Believe

Dem don come again ooo! Abeg make una stay farrrrr ooo!

For window blinds, wallpaper and curtain please call 08160856785.

Pesin Pikin said...

Heehhhnnnn, they had better contain this disease o b4 it spreads!

Abeg God take control.....

#JUSTPASSING

----WAY TO GET NOTICED ON LIB, TALK TRASH AND BE MEAN----

Taraba again. Why does it keep reoccurring there now? The govt should look into it. RIP to the dead.

Pastor adeboye said it

Alfred Adelaja said...

its caused by rats now they should try to keep their environment clean

Cursed people

Pastor Tee said...

We are covered by the blood of Jesus Christ.

God loves you and He wants you to be saved.

WEALTHWALE!!!! •LINDA's BOY• said...

#LindaThumbsUp

Na wa o, God save us all

Toni'Fresh West

Anointed said...

Abeg not this year,cause we don't need it.

Dan said...

Pls they should be quarantined n contained nice one

Abeg o. They should control it before it becomes serious

Now dat dey know, dey shld put it in check o

Na wa ooo,abi na de vision adebayo see?God de beg nooo,no more deadly disease oooo

Oh come on, save me the alarm, it's not a pandemic disease, all u have to do is keep your environment clean and free from rodent, and also food items or anything met for consumption, this is someone project work we are talkin about... may God protect us anyways!!!‎

For dis new yea,ebola jst come drop him sister behind

They should please contain it their o. It's to early abeg.

Psalmuelle aka Samstone. said...

Seriously? God help us.

sheba olamipo said...

Will all dis deadly virus ever stop tormenting us.

Abeg o!!!... Not this year. God forbid bad tin

Oh come on, save me the alarm, it's not a pandemic disease, all u have to do is keep your environment clean and free from rodent, and also food items or anything met for consumption, this is someone project work we are talkin about... may God protect us anyways!!!‎

Things happening fast this year.i pray God should take control

Na wa another disease may God help us

This year is full of many surprises oh. God help us. #IamMe

It is well with us all. Linda take note!

abeg oh... d year jus dey start..

Rats at work again

DBANJ CRUSH said...

Am presently in takum taraba state n hav nt heard of such disease...linda take it easy o

LINDA NOTIFY DBANJ

QUI OO. said...

PLEASE THEY SHOULD STAY IN THEIR STATE OO

Abeg o!lassa should go its way far from people...

Ruby Owanate said...

RIP to the dead

Aww.. 9c!

Rodent as in fish.. mumu

nawa o all these northerners & northern states sud b xcomm frm 9ja..
-na them gt shiites
-na them gt sunis
-na them gt Boko haram
-na them gt ebola
-na them don lassa fever.
Una wahala sef too much.

#kereisjustbeinghonest#

Them Carry blood sample 4rm Taraba state come Irrua specialist hospital in Edo state for confirmation.. Hmmmmm see d distance!! Just passing oh

LORD HAVE MERCY. LASSA BACK AGAIN?

This is sooo serious.
Ministry of health shold move in n save lives now.......

Lassa fever is not new neither is it sexually transmitted

Not yet again, God have mercies.

nonye said...

Lassa fever outbreak has been in edo state auchi to be precise since last year. Some persons have survived while some others have died

Hian!!! Kedu odiri okwu mmadu agaghi anu?

GOD come oh,let this be put to an end #Abi#

Annabellah said...

Omg!! Nooooooooo

Pastor adeboye said wat? Mumu read b4 u comment.

Quarantine should be use o.

Rapuluchukwuifenineadigommakings@yahoo.com
Delsu am here.

Mastivo said...

And they just had to bring it over to Edo state??😒😒😒😩😩😩

Lilian chinomso said...

Mercy

Francissub said...

please they should contain it there...angelmakiz@yahoo.com