A cancer survivor, Leon Mitchell whose ravaged appearance was mocked
in a cruel viral photo has posted a touching reminder that he is more than a meme. In 2005, Mitchell was diagnosed with nasopharyngeal carcinoma, a
rare form of cancer that starts in the nasopharynx, the upper part of
the throat behind the nose and near the base of skull. The 31-year-old who lives in Washington state, survived the cancer but
struggled for years with the devastating way it affected his body.
The
meme, called Meth Curry, highlighted Mr Mitchell's likeness to American
basketball player Stephen Curry, and compared his appearance with the
gaunt body of a long-time methamphetamine user. The photo used was taken
while he was undergoing chemotherapy. It was widely shared and went
viral on social media. Mitchell who is the founder of KNOE Clothing took
to his Instagram page yesterday, January 6, to hit back in a heartfelt
post.
"So earlier today I was the butt of a not so funny meme "METH CURRY" directed at the outward physical appearance that I display," he wrote.
"The fact that the meme was posted was a reminder of how distasteful and cruel people can be without background knowledge of the person in the bullseye of the target. I've struggled deeply for years with the devastating effects cancer treatment plagued my body with. The massive destruction it took on my neck, shoulders, nose, throat, and ability to function normally. I am strong enough to endure these attacks after years of rebuilding. However as we look at the power story I explain, let's remember these types of social media attacks on people can be massively detrimental to some who still battle with insecurities and uncomfortability with themselves and their battles. If we are going to allow something like this go viral Let's do it for the right reasons!
And he concluded:"I am more then a meme, I am a father, husband, survivor, mentor, community advocate, and positive motivational speaker. Proud to have endured and conquered everything I have!"
82 comments:
Thank God for his life...!
Good for him
Good Sextape scandal rocks NYSC corp member Bisi Alade, download
People used pictures of his illness to create memes? How pathetic.
That's what's up. Life gives you lemons. You make lemonade.
Tnk God for his live o
people will never stop putting g other people down not minding what or how the person feels.long life to you Mr.
Heeeeeya! This is so emotional! (Get's my handkie). The people of the 21st century can be too mean and careless especially with the advent of Social Media.
THANK GOD HES ALIVE TO TESTIFY...DAN SEGUN
Courageous man.cancer gat nothing on you
Tnk God fr him
That's the spirit. Yeye people
Nice one. People are really cruel and only God knows how many people are committing suicide cos of insecurity.
@Lindaikeji No. I FAN
Nice one. People are really cruel and only God knows how many people are committing suicide cos of insecurity.
@Lindaikeji No. I FAN
Congratulations. Thank God. Your healing is permanent IJN.
#LindaThumbsUp
Congrats dear
God is really great...he no easy
Enter your comment...may God continue to give u d strength u need each n every day of ur life....dnt mind dem haters,let dem continue to hate while u r bein lifted by God
Awwww.. God is good..
#WhoshouldItell
Awwww.. God is good..
#WhoshouldItell
Congrats dear
U mind demand my brother. Oluwa will heal u totally....
AJ MAIN BOY...
Observed, God bless, am in love with Linda Ikeji for real and would wish to meet her in person as my 2016 resolution.
Wonder how some people make fun of other people's pain like they wish it for themselves
Happy for him
Goo for him,
Not funny at all...he deserves better
Eyaaa
Thank God 4 his life
Linda dont take note!
# oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#
Congrats dear
GREAT MAN. Asap
Eyahhh thank God 4 you ooo........
Thank God he survived
I thank God for him
God bless u,permanent hilliness I proclaim for u. Thank God u r counted among d living in 2016.
@iamedobabe#replinda#
Awww touching
Am happy he took his stand ...but this is no news now ! ..am Ayomitide by name
This is so touching
Emotional but sweet of him not to let it bother him.
Thank God for him
Ok seen
My view not urs!!!!
No be lie,u are the apple of God eyes,congrat
Bad belle people sha!!! #IRepLIB
Thank God u survived and put them to shame... cruel people
Enter your comment... Now that's a powerful slam back.. Social media just brings out the inhumanity in humans,taking them back to their natural state (selfish).. I'm glad he's strong enough to overcome... I wish him well,and a permanent recovery...
Why this nigga look like Michael Early
you are indeed more than a conqueror.. God who saw u through the struggle would keep u.. Thank God for ur life
ehyaa! I can feel his pain then. thank God it's happy ever after...
Don~ jazzycrush
Enter your comment...Quick recovery to him
#Haveyouprayedfornigeriatoday
You are better than hose guys that seem to mock you ......God Bless you my brother .
Be healthy
Some pple ve no chill n pity whatsoever, they jst go on n write or talk Shit without getting 2 knw d pple very well, we ve d likes of here on LIB. I'm happy 4 him
You are a survivor dear. Thank God for your life.
Yes dear you actually made it
Thank God
Good one! Thanks for being strong knowing fully wel dat after the rain comes sun shine and there's always light @ d end of the tunnel. Remain blessed
Some folks are simply USELESS!!
I pray 4 any1 in like situation 2 receive divine healing..
Wow.....congrats mr. But pple are mean oh.... This social media of a thing is causing more harm than good. Imagine if he was still struggling with his insecurities, suicide would have been an option right now.
So touching...you're healed completely IJN Amen
Wow.....congrats mr. But pple are mean oh.... This social media of a thing is causing more harm than good. Imagine if he was still struggling with his insecurities, suicide would have been an option right now.
Very cruel of people to mock others in such a manner. I am proud of you survivor, father, husband and mentor!
Good one! You need to be very strong in this generation of ours!
"NeVeR SaY NeVeR"
Dts the way to go. Being strong above all...
thank God for him life.
LINDA SO YOU DON'T WANT TO SHOW US YOUR BOYFRIEND.
That's social media for you. Enjoy am
The lord is ur strength man.............Some ppl are cruel.
People can be really insensitive! Stupidity at it peak! More grace Man!!
God can heal U,mr Manny. Get well in Jesus name, put ur faith n believe in God, is done
That's wasn't nice of them at all...
seen...angelmakiz@yahoo.com
APPLAUSE...... just that people can be so stupid
#Salam_Alaykum
Nawa
I thank God u survive it. Don't listen to social media, they say wot they want to say. They have their mouth. What matter most is that u re alive. Praise God for that and I'm happy for u.
Thank God... He is indeed alive to testify
(Linda d Kim K's fan)
Eeeeiiiiyyyyyaaaaaahhhhhhh THANK GOD FOR HIS LIFE
Tnk God 4 his healing touch upon ur life
pplshaa...THank God for u
MISSVEE
Tnkx to God
Its sad to see that people will look at an individual who is FIGHTING FOR HIS LIFE and still make remarks that are heartless. In my own opinion anyone who makes such comments or is about to make such comments is a filthy idiot, that person is not human, in fact, such a heartless person is a beast walking on all fours. You don't know what they go through, the physical and emotional pain they will be experiencing. Show compassion and love towards anyone who needs it, ANYONE! Leon, God Bless you.
Thank God for saving his life.