Breast milk banks tackle high infant mortality in S. Africa | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday, 3 January 2016

Breast milk banks tackle high infant mortality in S. Africa

Patrick, a premature baby weighing a minuscule 1.2 kilos (2.65 pounds), was "saved" by a breast milk bank in South Africa, where child mortality is high despite being the continent's most developed economy.

"It was a question of life and death because of the fact he could not go on formula," said his 39-year-old mother Annerleigh Bartlett. "There was no way. He was too little."
Bartlett, from Cape Town, wasn't producing her own milk yet, and the formula can damage premature babies' intestines.
So, for the first two weeks of his life, Patrick relied for his survival on breast milk donated by anonymous women.
The principle of milk banks is simple: mothers donate milk, which is tested, pasteurised, then delivered to babies in need.
"Every drop counts," said a poster at the headquarters of the South African Breastmilk Reserve (SABR), a network of milk banks which supply 87 hospitals and feed over 2,800 children this year.
"Human milk banks should be promoted and supported as an effective approach to reduce... mortality for babies who cannot be breastfed," said South Africa's ministry of health in a recent report.
"South Africa has a much higher nutrition problem than countries at comparable income levels."
South Africa's infant mortality rate was 32.8 deaths per 1,000 births in 2013 -- far higher than countries such as Egypt, Algeria or Indonesia.

Children who are exclusively breastfed are 14 times more likely to survive in the first six months of life than formula-fed children, according to the United Nations Children's Fund, UNICEF.
But South Africa has very low breastfeeding rates at just 7.4 percent, partly as a result of prevalent poverty and effective marketing by baby formula companies.
Soon after having their babies, many poor mothers need to get working again.
"Many of these moms are not employed in the formal sector. They don't get maternity benefits," said Chantell Witten, researcher at the North West University Center of Excellence for Nutrition in South Africa.
"It means that moms are not with their baby, so they start formula feed.
"These babies don't get the right formula because moms can't afford to feed adequately and appropriately."
There is also a pervasive belief in South Africa that formula milk is better for the baby.
"A lot of poor people think that rich people formula-feed. They aspire for the best for their children," said Stasha Jordan, SABR's director, describing some of the marketing for formula as "aggressive".
Until 2011, formula was distributed for free to prevent transmission of HIV from mother to child, another factor leading towards a bias to using formula over milk.
But experts say attitudes towards breast milk are changing.

Baby formula advertisements have been banned in magazines and billboards since 2012 and South Africa now encourages HIV-positive mothers to breastfeed as long as they are taking antiretrovirals.
Still, there is some way to go.
"First we were very uncomfortable, knowing that it is a fluid from someone else," said Pradesh Mewalala, whose twins Anya and Ariana were born prematurely.
Mewalala eventually agreed to use the milk, a decision that saved his daughters.

The milk undergoes strict microbiological screening and donors must take AIDS and Hepatitis B tests.

Patrick is now a vibrant six-month-old baby. Eventually, his mother was able to breastfeed.

It's now her turn to be a donor at the Milk Matters bank in Cape Town.
"I needed to pay back the institution that helped me and our child kind of survive," said Bartlett.
"I managed to provide three litres of milk... to assist with feeding 20 babies for a period of 24 hours."

Source: AFP

72 comments:

No wonder these south African girls always very tiny breast with wide hips and big forehead. How will milk come out

Na wa oooo

For all your quality and affordable female wears, accessories, handbags and footwear,kindly add us on bbm pin: 2bb40d42, we deliver at ur doorstep thank you.

It is well

This is what cossy should be doing...donating her milk...

~Make I go drink one bottle of beer~

Seen tank God 4 d breast milk available #sneh

Dunia Hukum said...

Babies are our future. Give the baby breast milk is the best option

Uzosafetyblog said...

Good news. #IRepLIB

Okk seen

My view not urs!!!!

kingsareborn2rule said...

Enter your comment...Breast milk kwa....... ..................odikwa egwu!

#Haveyouprayedfornigeriatoday

Jeez pls...they shld stop selling that!!

This is what cossy should be doing...donating her milk...

~Make I go drink one bottle of beer~

Breast milk bank,like seriously does this exist?
#needanalibitojoinmetastethenewgeishasardine

kudos said...

Wow so milk has a storage system...Believe

I wnt 2 donate pls#slimmy

Hmmmmm who would have tought SA of all countries,well that goes to show that you can never have it all.

Cherry girl said...

noted

I dnt know what to say......ts all goody

#AmNewHere
#AmGettingOldHere
#Milky

SHORTEST DUDE said...

And all this girls be forming for us with ordinary bra wey nothing serious dey happen inside am cos tube dey on top too!

Anyways that's what we get when Buhari no let money flow

Hmmm..can't imagine a woman producing 3litres of milk into a jar..e don finish be that na

"Many of these moms are not employed in the formal sector. They don't get maternity benefits," said Chantell Witten. True talk

ijeomajulien@gmail.com

So thoughtful of them

tosisochukwu said...

New generation

!brightosman aka fake phyno .#gerarahere

that's nice. shantel5050@yahoo.com

Can never let my child drink another persons breast milk other than my wife's. worst is even letting my child drink an unknown person's breast milk. yuck

Psalmuelle aka Samstone. said...

Breast Milk is the best.

Well..its a good thing they have breast milk banks

HUMBLE EVE said...

Cool one

Nice 1

Hmmmmmm

#linda give me 1bo#

Liber said...

#Team EBF

GHOSTFACE said...

sigh!!!

Linda and breast matter always, slightly with a sensual intent

cuutiie said...

Wow...so innovative.. are there any in Nigeria?

Still cute

Babylawyer. said...

Wow! That's nice but I guess most people will be uncomfortable with breastfeeding their babies another woman's breast milk.just like one of the speakers said but they alow it when it's a matter of life and death.

@Lindaikeji No. I FAN

WEALTHWALE!!!! •LINDA's BOY• said...

Okay.

#LindaThumbsUp

This is so great. Nice one

MR EDDY said this heat wan kill person

Little children are entitled to be properly fed after birth, honestly I think mothers should take this breastfeeding very seriously and stop stuffing kids with formula food..
^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~

Francissub said...

What caught my attention is breaks milk....nothing more
www.henrykingz.com

What caught my attention is breaks milk....nothing more
www.henrykingz.com

CHINELO!!!nellyjustnelo@gmail.com said...

SA be moving forward...thank God the baby was saved

Very ok

Maybe dey dnt process d milk well

Nobody has nothing, that's no excuse not to help someone. You can donate blood, sperm even breast milk. As seen here, you can save a life

waffymercyjohnson said...

Haven't heard of breast milk bank
It'd nice to know now.
Give me 5yesrs I will donated my own
Lol.

ZEO said...

Very good for mothers that can not breastfeeding due to infections or unable to produce Brest milk not for those lazy mothers that will say they don't want their Breast fall

eka said...

Never heard of breast milk bank b4
This world is full of surprises...

Na wa oooo

For all your quality and affordable female wears, accessories, handbags and footwear,kindly add us on bbm pin: 2bb40d42, we deliver at ur doorstep thank you.

Na wao o

Lilian chinomso said...

Nice idea

Oyibo has come again oh,have seen but not as this much #Abi#

ok ooooo...pray it doesnt get adulterated with time...cossilly tins happen

fascinating #lindaitsurboy

Aunty Linda Enter your comment...

This S.A sef their girls loves to get pregnant.

Rapuluchukwuifenineadigommakings@yahoo.com
Delsu calling.

Tnk God for d brrast milk bank. Does naija av such here? #IamMe

nwa mazi said...

Ala nwanyi Asaba

Dats a good one. Linda take note!

Like the concept of breast milk banks, didn't know they exis-D great anonymous now as Vivian Reginalds

Innovation at its peak

Ok seen

Hembafan said...

Nice one. Many years ago in most african culture, when a woman dies after child birth, the baby is given to a wet nurse. AKA women who breastfeed babies other than their own.

SHORTEST DUDE said...

Ala dala adago!

This info is very educative thank you Linda

Babylawyer. said...

Very good information. Keep up d good work Linda

@Lindaikeji No. I FAN

Is it that their mothers don't breastfeed their kids, or the breastfeed banks are catering for mother-less infants.

Wild flowers!

It should be a welcome development in Nigeria too

weldone ooo

MISSVEE

ok oh...angelmakiz@yahoo.com

Monica Castello said...

There also are many convenient varieties of microwave safe baby bottles. sometimes to sterilize them could be a matter of a fast rinse and scrub, and concerning ninety seconds within the microwave get more information click here.