The revised guideline had introduced a gradual reduction of CoT from N5 per mile (per N1000) in early 2013 to N3 per mille or N1000, N2 per N1000 in 2014 and is to be N1 per N1000 in 2015 and finally phased out effective January 1, 2016.
Although some banks had stopped charging CoT, others still charge and in some cases above the stipulated N1 per mille which it was last year. Also for some banks, the amount charged as CoT depends on the customers’ relationship and ability to haggle with the bank.
Last year, the apex bank had ordered deposit money banks to refund illegal fees charged customers over a period of one year, giving them 30 days to refund the excess charges or face severe penalties. Specifically, the central bank said some banks had been overcharging customers on the Commission on Turnover while some lenders had also imposed illegal maintenance fees on the CoT-free accounts.
Source: Leadership
70 comments:
Seen. #IamMe
Let's see
Dey should be firm with the new plan cos some Banks still dey do rubbish. Linda take note!
Please include ATM charges
Oooookkkkk
#Change
#LibGotMeUpAllNight
Its cool though...banks charges sucks its bad for me to be on a queue to withdraw my own money with all d stress of waiting and wasting my time I still get charged for that..its a welcome development..
~make I go drink one bottle of beer~
God news. #IRepLIB
LIFE IS GOOD.....mine is better!
Ok seen
!brightosman aka fake phyno .#gerarahere
Make una tell them they wan finish our money with charges
That is a very nice one. Banks can now stop stealing with this CoT of a thing.
How many Nigerians even have time to scrutinize those charges on their account and these banks took advantage of it and where just charging us anyhow.
Very good I can open current acct
Thanks to CBN.
Its the 65naira charge on Atms I want removed mbok!
Ecobank dey hear so?
We haff hear..#my2cents
Good work sir
N
O
T
E
D
#Hajia Mufliat
Owk
PEPSI ADDICT
Jobless people
thankGod
MISSVEE
That's good
Aunty Linda Enter your comment...
OMG, I never knew about this. My banks, GTB n Zenith still charge me COT above wat it was supposed to be.
It's long over due
MR EMEFIELE YOU TRY,,,MAKE THEM STILL FACEOFF THE 65 NAIRA CHARGE ON INTER BANK ATM USUAGE THANK YOU...
THANK FOR THE CHANGE, BANKS LL HAVE 2 LOOK ELSE WHERE FOR INCOME...
good way to go. , nice......
Oya na!
Any how #Abi#
Dis is welcome develoment!
Good.
So so so story teller.
Noted
Thank God hope it works o.
Rapuluchukwuifenineadigommakings@yahoo.com
Delsu am here.
Ope o! Example of such bank wt high charges is Ecobank
Luv this.
Enter your comment...all na wash
#Haveyouprayedfornigeriatoday
Thats good
....from Romans
good one fron cbn.
I think this is better if they will obey apex bank because some banks still charge unnecessary fees....
Not sure if dis is worth celebrating
Screw you!!!! Am penniless coz I av banned use of atm abroad.
Thank God. That's good news now I can make transfer without anger
@Lindaikeji No. I FAN
For window blinds, wallpaper and curtain please call 08160856785.
Kk
Ok...initially thought it was cost of transfer, som1n pls explain to me this CoT???????
Berra all sort of charges from bank these days
Wow! This is not good. This means more jobs will be lost,cos the bank will not be making enough profit to pay workers. I have never liked this policy. #linda whatever.
linda its not only the COT ish sef, if u use ur atm card on another bank's atm they will charge u 65 naira even if its just one withdrawal as opposed to the #65 after 3 withdrawals ...... they need to penalize banks like NCC did MTN bc its getting really ridiculous!!!!
Nigerian banks are thieves...
Linda what is your source? i can't find any secular/bulletin on CBN site.
PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE THEY SHOULD COMMENCE IT IMMEDIATELY. SOME BANKS ARE THIEVES LOOKING AT THE WAY THEY DEDUCT MONEY FROM CUSTOMERS.
Ok. #LindaNgwanu#
Nice one!
I now have a case against my Bank
They should also stop the charges they charge we that are not in Nigeria too
There ishh. ....fuck Nigeria banks
Good news. Never a fan of cot
this is not good at aĺl. banks will start sacking their staff cos their source of income has reduced.
Ecobank, u don hear?
Pull ya ear very well.
This man is not good for the economy
The law came into existence since 2 or 3 years ago, it's a gradual face out from #3 to #2 to #1 and now zero COT
i hope they enforce it...angelmakiz@yahoo.com