All Banks To Commence Zero CoT | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday, 4 January 2016

All Banks To Commence Zero CoT

Effective from last week Friday, January 1, 2016, Nigerian banks are expected to charge nothing as Commission on Turnover (CoT) according to the gradual phase out plan of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN). The CBN in April 2013 had revised the guidelines on bank charges, introducing the gradual phasing out of commission on turnover.

The revised guideline had introduced a gradual reduction of CoT from N5 per mile (per N1000) in early 2013 to N3 per mille or N1000, N2 per N1000 in 2014 and is to be N1 per N1000 in 2015 and finally phased out effective January 1, 2016.

Although some banks had stopped charging CoT, others still charge and in some cases above the stipulated N1 per mille which it was last year. Also for some banks, the amount charged as CoT depends on the customers’ relationship and ability to haggle with the bank.

Last year, the apex bank had ordered deposit money banks to refund illegal fees charged customers over a period of one year, giving them 30 days to refund the excess charges or face severe penalties. Specifically, the central bank said some banks had been overcharging customers on the Commission on Turnover while some lenders had also imposed illegal maintenance fees on the CoT-free accounts.

Source: Leadership

70 comments:

Seen. #IamMe

Dinma Peace said...

Let's see

Dey should be firm with the new plan cos some Banks still dey do rubbish. Linda take note!

BENUEGUY said...

Please include ATM charges

Oooookkkkk

#Change

#LibGotMeUpAllNight

Its cool though...banks charges sucks its bad for me to be on a queue to withdraw my own money with all d stress of waiting and wasting my time I still get charged for that..its a welcome development..

~make I go drink one bottle of beer~

Uzosafetyblog said...

God news. #IRepLIB

LIFE IS GOOD.....mine is better!

tosisochukwu said...

Ok seen

!brightosman aka fake phyno .#gerarahere

Make una tell them they wan finish our money with charges

LEGENDdePASTOR said...

That is a very nice one. Banks can now stop stealing with this CoT of a thing.

How many Nigerians even have time to scrutinize those charges on their account and these banks took advantage of it and where just charging us anyhow.

esthy baby said...

Very good I can open current acct

Thanks to CBN.

Ethel said...

Its the 65naira charge on Atms I want removed mbok!

Okogba said...

Ecobank dey hear so?

Teddy said...

We haff hear..#my2cents

Good work sir

Mufliat said...

N
O
T
E
D

#Hajia Mufliat

Owk

PEPSI ADDICT

babile said...

Jobless people

thankGod

MISSVEE

That's good

Aunty Linda Enter your comment...

Kojevspin D Realist said...

OMG, I never knew about this. My banks, GTB n Zenith still charge me COT above wat it was supposed to be.

It's long over due

MR EMEFIELE YOU TRY,,,MAKE THEM STILL FACEOFF THE 65 NAIRA CHARGE ON INTER BANK ATM USUAGE THANK YOU...

THANK FOR THE CHANGE, BANKS LL HAVE 2 LOOK ELSE WHERE FOR INCOME...

good way to go. , nice......

Oya na!

Any how #Abi#

Dis is welcome develoment!

Good.

So so so story teller.

Noted

Thank God hope it works o.

Rapuluchukwuifenineadigommakings@yahoo.com
Delsu am here.

princess said...

Ope o! Example of such bank wt high charges is Ecobank

Luv this.

kingsareborn2rule said...

Enter your comment...all na wash

#Haveyouprayedfornigeriatoday

Francissub said...

Thats good
....from Romans

EZE C.j said...

good one fron cbn.

I think this is better if they will obey apex bank because some banks still charge unnecessary fees....

Olatee said...

Not sure if dis is worth celebrating

CrazyHornyWife said...

Screw you!!!! Am penniless coz I av banned use of atm abroad.

Lilian chinomso said...

Babylawyer. said...

Thank God. That's good news now I can make transfer without anger

@Lindaikeji No. I FAN

For window blinds, wallpaper and curtain please call 08160856785.

Kk

Ok...initially thought it was cost of transfer, som1n pls explain to me this CoT??????? ‎

Dan said...

Berra all sort of charges from bank these days

ebere gold said...

Wow! This is not good. This means more jobs will be lost,cos the bank will not be making enough profit to pay workers. I have never liked this policy. #linda whatever.

linda its not only the COT ish sef, if u use ur atm card on another bank's atm they will charge u 65 naira even if its just one withdrawal as opposed to the #65 after 3 withdrawals ...... they need to penalize banks like NCC did MTN bc its getting really ridiculous!!!!

Nigerian banks are thieves...

Linda what is your source? i can't find any secular/bulletin on CBN site.

QUI OO. said...

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE THEY SHOULD COMMENCE IT IMMEDIATELY. SOME BANKS ARE THIEVES LOOKING AT THE WAY THEY DEDUCT MONEY FROM CUSTOMERS.

Ok. #LindaNgwanu#

nekkymighty said...

Nice one!

I now have a case against my Bank

They should also stop the charges they charge we that are not in Nigeria too

There ishh. ....fuck Nigeria banks

Good news. Never a fan of cot

this is not good at aĺl. banks will start sacking their staff cos their source of income has reduced.

Ecobank, u don hear?
Pull ya ear very well.

This man is not good for the economy

Remyne05 said...

The law came into existence since 2 or 3 years ago, it's a gradual face out from #3 to #2 to #1 and now zero COT

i hope they enforce it...angelmakiz@yahoo.com