New York photographer captures Albino beauty in an amazing photoshoot | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 19 October 2015

New York photographer captures Albino beauty in an amazing photoshoot

In an effort to unravel the mystery surrounding people with albinism and inspired by images of albino model, Shaun Ross, a New York based photographer, Angelina d' Auguste began studying the condition that interferes with DNA, sometimes leaving a person colourless-a lack of melanin production as well as hair and eye colour.

Angelina d’Auguste’s initial curiosity grew into a senior thesis project at the Fashion Institute of Technology in New York. Trying to “captivate people by showing the unseen,” she gave her models the opportunity to speak simply and frankly about the challenges and hurdles they have to face everyday.

The series of photos shows the ways in which albinos handle their inborn “difference,” which can sometimes lead to physical abuse or even be a danger to their life. Most of the models remember being teased or bullied in school because of their striking looks.
"Having albinism…broke me out of my shell, because I am very shy," said a model. “It is a big part of who i am, and i wouldn't trade that for the world" Being an albino usually goes hand in hand with having impaired vision. Many of them can neither read without a magnifying glass nor drive a car. Most albinos also have something called nystagmus, a condition characterized by eyes shaking back and forth, unable to concentrate on one point. The models admit that being an albino does bring challenges in their lives, but as one of them said "being different in society becomes a cool thing when you grow up" The photographer’s project focuses on albinos living in the US. "Unfortunately, it is difficult for [people with albinism] to fit in society, so I wanted to show their distinct, beautiful features in a positive way,” d’Auguste told Refinery29.

Source: Angelina d'Auguste Photography

71 comments:

Luvly

Luvly

Gracious said...

beautiful

Nice but not amazing

www.glowyshoe.com said...

wow...this is another beauty side of albinos.... looks beautiful

Glowyshoes's blog

Eiya nice pix

Lovely shots

Like seriously.........

Beautiful creatures.

awww! lovely pictures.
Nice shots.

SMURF said...

They actually look like one family, and they look good.

Cool.

Akanda omo! Albinos are wonderful children!

Cool. But atleast they should have dyed their hair & their beauty would have been more vissible.

It's all good all the same. Nice one!

Cool. But atleast they should have dyed their hair & their beauty would have been more vissible.

It's all good all the same. Nice one!

Oyibo no suppose get albino........naturally they are all albino's

Abeg, they're many that are. Prettier than this crappy pics. They look sad here. If you see the soji ones sef, you'll love them. Whaz dis? This photographer is a cow

Special and flawless creatures frm d Lord. I call ds wonders of d living Lord creation.

Nice one.

ASHANKA said...

AFIN

Whoa! Really intriguing. Linda take note!

Harbee said...

wow, this is really nice of them. and BDW, congrats on ur mansion Linda, ur words brought tears to my eyes. been following ur blog buh this is ma first comment...yaay!!

Aww! They all look angelic and innocently cute

Oky seen....

Nobody shud b hated because their skin is different! I have albino friends n they're amazing beautiful people!

AWWWWW SHE BEAU

AUNTY LINDA.......

AWWWWW SHE BEAU

AUNTY LINDA.......

AWWWWW SHE BEAU

AUNTY LINDA.......

AWWWWW SHE BEAU

AUNTY LINDA.......

groovy said...

Beautiful!!!

amakaluvlyG said...

some of them are gorgeous while sm....I don't knw..#inspired by linda

That's nice to know...

Na waoh

These set of albino look good, compared to those who often expose themselves to the harsh Naija sun. I had a friend back in primary school. He was an albino and was so friendly and funny. There was never a dull moment wherever he was. Unfortunately, he went missing all of sudden. His decomposing mutilated body was later found some days later in a farm. He was killed for ritual purposes. That is one episode i will never forget in my life.

Rubylicious said...

This is pretty.

These set of albino look good, compared to those who often expose themselves to the harsh Naija sun. I had a friend back in primary school. He was an albino and was so friendly and funny. There was never a dull moment wherever he was. Unfortunately, he went missing all of sudden. His decomposing mutilated body was later found some days later in a farm. He was killed for ritual purposes. That is one episode i will never forget in my life.

“Don’t only practice your art, but force your way into its secrets, for it and knowledge can raise men to the divine.”
-- Ludwig van Beethoven, composer and pianist

aproko manager said...

Hmmmmmm

glow said...

Why do they all look sad?

They look amazing in their various ways

Hmm!

Hmm!

M GORRETTI said...

Awww, they can be very good looking if well taken care of.

Send these pictures straight to African countries cos they use these poor souls for sacrifices daily.@Bia Bia 😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭

Kerry okoye said...

Jidenna come get your family!

AMARACHI (LindaIkeji's Daughter) said...

So sweet!

Nice shot

Tears,tears rolling outer my eye,tears of joy,Aunty linda you are a blessing,you've inspire a lot of people out there,LORD JESUS when will my time come. TIMILEYIN BLESSING

beautiful. though i tot dey were teddy bears at first

Anonymous Personified said...

So cool.

God is wonderful, buh dey luk like teddy bears

Wow...!

Wow...!

They don't look so bad! I thought they now inject kids born with albinism with melanin at birth?

There are finer albino in Nigeria.Linda congrats on your new house

Everything Is So Much Better Being Born In The States. ..see as albino fine

Belok said...

She is beautiful

Nice photos

OKORO UPGRADED

http://Job4Living.com/?ref=56713

Meaning if you groom the Albies in Nig they will also look great. Someone somewhere pls help.

It's like someone saying you have to bleach your skin in order to be more handsome.
They are beautiful just the way they are. God created them with blonde hair which is absolutely gorgeous

Let me explain something to you about photography, its evolving. It's no longer like when you were in primary school where you have to 'cheese' in every picture. The photographer is amazing and he captured them beautifully!

bummyla said...

You are all blessed in Jesus Christ Name! Amen! http://www.bummyla.com

Odikwa very nice. As e dey hawt....

Woohoo so lovely

Why r they tilting their heads to one side? Nice shots

Abimbola Aje said...

Nice shots

Wonderfully and fearfully made....