Angelina d’Auguste’s initial curiosity grew into a senior thesis project at the Fashion Institute of Technology in New York. Trying to “captivate people by showing the unseen,” she gave her models the opportunity to speak simply and frankly about the challenges and hurdles they have to face everyday.
The series of photos shows the ways in which albinos handle their inborn “difference,” which can sometimes lead to physical abuse or even be a danger to their life. Most of the models remember being teased or bullied in school because of their striking looks.
"Having albinism…broke me out of my shell, because I am very shy," said a model. “It is a big part of who i am, and i wouldn't trade that for the world" Being an albino usually goes hand in hand with having impaired vision. Many of them can neither read without a magnifying glass nor drive a car. Most albinos also have something called nystagmus, a condition characterized by eyes shaking back and forth, unable to concentrate on one point. The models admit that being an albino does bring challenges in their lives, but as one of them said "being different in society becomes a cool thing when you grow up" The photographer’s project focuses on albinos living in the US. "Unfortunately, it is difficult for [people with albinism] to fit in society, so I wanted to show their distinct, beautiful features in a positive way,” d’Auguste told Refinery29.
Source: Angelina d'Auguste Photography
71 comments:
Luvly
Luvly
beautiful
Nice but not amazing
wow...this is another beauty side of albinos.... looks beautiful
Glowyshoes's blog
Eiya nice pix
Lovely shots
Like seriously.........
Beautiful creatures.
awww! lovely pictures.
Nice shots.
They actually look like one family, and they look good.
Cool.
Akanda omo! Albinos are wonderful children!
Cool. But atleast they should have dyed their hair & their beauty would have been more vissible.
It's all good all the same. Nice one!
Cool. But atleast they should have dyed their hair & their beauty would have been more vissible.
It's all good all the same. Nice one!
Oyibo no suppose get albino........naturally they are all albino's
Abeg, they're many that are. Prettier than this crappy pics. They look sad here. If you see the soji ones sef, you'll love them. Whaz dis? This photographer is a cow
Special and flawless creatures frm d Lord. I call ds wonders of d living Lord creation.
Nice one.
AFIN
Whoa! Really intriguing. Linda take note!
wow, this is really nice of them. and BDW, congrats on ur mansion Linda, ur words brought tears to my eyes. been following ur blog buh this is ma first comment...yaay!!
Aww! They all look angelic and innocently cute
Oky seen....
Nobody shud b hated because their skin is different! I have albino friends n they're amazing beautiful people!
AWWWWW SHE BEAU
AUNTY LINDA.......
AWWWWW SHE BEAU
AUNTY LINDA.......
AWWWWW SHE BEAU
AUNTY LINDA.......
AWWWWW SHE BEAU
AUNTY LINDA.......
Beautiful!!!
some of them are gorgeous while sm....I don't knw..#inspired by linda
That's nice to know...
Na waoh
These set of albino look good, compared to those who often expose themselves to the harsh Naija sun. I had a friend back in primary school. He was an albino and was so friendly and funny. There was never a dull moment wherever he was. Unfortunately, he went missing all of sudden. His decomposing mutilated body was later found some days later in a farm. He was killed for ritual purposes. That is one episode i will never forget in my life.
This is pretty.
These set of albino look good, compared to those who often expose themselves to the harsh Naija sun. I had a friend back in primary school. He was an albino and was so friendly and funny. There was never a dull moment wherever he was. Unfortunately, he went missing all of sudden. His decomposing mutilated body was later found some days later in a farm. He was killed for ritual purposes. That is one episode i will never forget in my life.
“Don’t only practice your art, but force your way into its secrets, for it and knowledge can raise men to the divine.”
-- Ludwig van Beethoven, composer and pianist
Hmmmmmm
Why do they all look sad?
They look amazing in their various ways
Hmm!
Hmm!
Awww, they can be very good looking if well taken care of.
Send these pictures straight to African countries cos they use these poor souls for sacrifices daily.@Bia Bia ðŸ˜ðŸ˜ðŸ˜ðŸ˜ðŸ˜ðŸ˜ðŸ˜ðŸ˜
Jidenna come get your family!
So sweet!
Nice shot
Tears,tears rolling outer my eye,tears of joy,Aunty linda you are a blessing,you've inspire a lot of people out there,LORD JESUS when will my time come. TIMILEYIN BLESSING
beautiful. though i tot dey were teddy bears at first
So cool.
God is wonderful, buh dey luk like teddy bears
Wow...!
Wow...!
They don't look so bad! I thought they now inject kids born with albinism with melanin at birth?
There are finer albino in Nigeria.Linda congrats on your new house
Everything Is So Much Better Being Born In The States. ..see as albino fine
She is beautiful
Nice photos
OKORO UPGRADED
http://Job4Living.com/?ref=56713
Meaning if you groom the Albies in Nig they will also look great. Someone somewhere pls help.
It's like someone saying you have to bleach your skin in order to be more handsome.
They are beautiful just the way they are. God created them with blonde hair which is absolutely gorgeous
Let me explain something to you about photography, its evolving. It's no longer like when you were in primary school where you have to 'cheese' in every picture. The photographer is amazing and he captured them beautifully!
You are all blessed in Jesus Christ Name! Amen! http://www.bummyla.com
Odikwa very nice. As e dey hawt....
Woohoo so lovely
Why r they tilting their heads to one side? Nice shots
Nice shots
Wonderfully and fearfully made....