Check out South Korea's suicide prevention program (photos) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 24 October 2015

Check out South Korea's suicide prevention program (photos)

South Korea has one of the highest suicide rates in the world and in a strange response to its growing suicide epidemic, bizarre 'death experience’ schools are being set up to teach depressed pupils to appreciate life again by showing them what it is like to be dead.

They are made to sign fake wills, hold up their fake obituaries, locked inside coffins and are given mock funeral services.
Sitting between rows of coffins, with pens and papers littering small desks, the students listen as the head of the center, former funeral company employee Jeong Yong-mun, explains that the problems we face in life are a part of life.
They are told they must accept them and try to find joy in their sufferings or whatever they are going through.
Among the students are teenagers who cannot cope with exam pressure in school, parents who find themselves bored or useless after their children have left home, and the elderly terrified of being a financially burden on their young families.

56 comments:

Scary

That's a good one

Oghene biko which kinda pattern come be this??? Ahan!

Did I undstnd anytn?

Karlsson said...

That's a country that cares about their citizens unlike the thieves we ve as leaders here

Ubanagum

looolz they're not leaving anything to chance.
US should take a cue from them.

Baddest Puta said...

This is a very good one

Nawao

See all these first world problems! SMH! They ain't got nothing to be depressed about.

Wonder why or what could lead to sm1 taking his/her own life. No matter d kind of depressed one is, or d kind of situation one finds his/herself, suicide usually isn't †Ñ’ξ best way to go about it, it doesn't necessarily mean u shld take ur life...its good they are actually taking their time to do this...it will help some while those that's obstinate about the whole thing will keep taking their lives. Its well o

#It WiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
#iT MuSt eNd IN pRAisE

Wooooow, dis is really good. Linda take note!

Wonder why or what could lead to sm1 taking his/her own life. No matter d kind of depressed one is, or d kind of situation one finds his/herself, suicide usually isn't †Ñ’ξ best way to go about it, it doesn't necessarily mean u shld take ur life...its good they are actually taking their time to do this...it will help some while those that's obstinate about the whole thing will keep taking their lives. Its well o

#It WiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
#iT MuSt eNd IN pRAisE

Wooooow, dis is really good. Linda take note!

Will dis work? I hope so tho

That's kinnda good for the people....

Eiya nice 1 I hope it helps dem

Hmmmm! That's demonic

ELENA (HER MAJESTY) said...

Nice initiative albeit strange

Anyone has a sewing machine that they do not need or use? Please help a sister and bless me with it....pleeeeaaaasssse! I'm in lagos. May God reward u in a million folds. My email address is istandongold@gmail.com

Some will even find it peaceful and still attempt to commit suicide.

SMURF said...

Nice but weird

A welcome development. Maybe dis will reduce the rate of suicide in dis our generation cos it's getting out of hand.

Na wah o.there's nothing we won't see in this life.God help us.

Wow!

This is weird though. But if its gonna work, then by all means.

Brilliant Move , I hope this can help reduce it ....

Its really not bad. Just demystifying death that's all. After all we all will die and still lye in one of those boxes called coffins. The Church should start telling the people the truth in Nigeria and stop all these their quick riches preachings. Work hard and God will bless your hustle. For sure we will all get back to our maker some day. and we will give account of our works here on earth. Its not bizarre at all.

seyi crown said...

This crazy

Seyilicious

Hmmm may God save them oh.

Hmmm this is weird. But so long as it's working for them, it's good.

You will also decree a thing, and it will be established for you: Bless yourself today

Women don't answer DON ..@ur email..look for some other story to fabrictae

This is stupid. A more effective way to combat this is to show them what it does to their families and people they left behind

Carphy said...

How urgent do u need it? I can organize for u in one month

Good. TIMILEYIN BLESSING

Home 'n' Therapy said...

Did u read it as " I stand on Gold"?... look before u leap.

It's not DON, but I stand on gold. Read very well b4 u criticize.

How u know say him na woman, over calculation dey worry u! If you can't help free the beggar naw!

Not family, family everytime...teach them to love themselves completely no matter what... besides can't they still tell depression is purely spiritual, also this seems more like a demonic initiation...

sanemy said...

I have one dear but it's in the east. It's never been used before and i've been wondering who to better their life with it. . How much is a new or fairly used one in Lagos? Inbox me details please. sandykach@gmail.com

All they need is to b told about heaven n hell and dat suicide is a sure ticket to hell. That's what kept me from suicide. When I'm so depressed and I think of suicide, I remember hell is worse than what ever situation I'm in now. They need Jesus.

Wow, this is really a good one

George said...

Ndi ara

TOUCH OF RAY said...

Scary or no scary as I see people write. This is a people who have identify there problems and are working to solve it. Let's not fold out hands but find a problem for our country before we are worse than them

I pray this works cuz some peeps will still want to die no matter how much u try to discourage them. Some will even find it cool.

Mtchewwwww people wey never see life don dey depressed

Dis program is lovely and cool. I hope they wil key into dis program.

Eyahhhhhh, I pray this works.

Order for your beautiful bedspreads @ 5671CDBE. Delivery available nationwide.

Dee goddess said...

My dear, pray you don't find yourself in that position. ..it's horrible

some of them will like the effect and now commit the thing

Boom shakalaka.

amakaluvlyG said...

I hope it works...# inspired by Linda

Yeah, this will work. Sure. Betcha the program has a success rate of 0.1%.