We won't fail Nigerians says Buhari | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 7 May 2015

We won't fail Nigerians says Buhari

President-elect, Muhammadu Buhari yesterday, reassured Nigerians that the incoming government of All Progressives Congress, APC, will not fail them.

Buhari, who hosted a delegation from Taraba State, also said by the end of his tenure in 2019, Nigerians would be confident of a society where elections would be free, fair and credible. Also, to underscore his inclination to the rule of law, the President-elect directed security personnel attached to his convoy to always heed traffic regulations and stop at red lights.

The President-elect also said the advent of the technology of card reader and the will of the Nigerians have redefined the electoral system in Nigerian.

He said: “I think that 2015 will go down in Nigeria political history as a glorious year. Nigerians have deliberately understood what is multi party democracy. But we thank God for technology, PVC and card reader and the insistence of constituencies to make sure they are used.

“However, in two political zones where they were subverted, the people wanted to vote, but they were not allowed to vote and they continued with what they used to do in their party offices or their sitting rooms, where they would write the results, go to radio house and television house and announce the result and say whoever does not accept the result should go to court.

“How many people can go to court when they are struggling to get the next day’s meal?  Where will they get the millions to give to those Senior Advocates of Nigeria. I was able to do it because of the goodwill of Nigeria which again demonstrated itself this year.

“People agreed that I am not a very rich man, but I was lucky that Nigerians believe in me and they put their strength together, voted and made sure that their votes count. I say thanks to the technology. Please continue to support those among you that you feel will go and work for your state and for the country. I assure you that the government of the APC, when eventually put in place, will be a competent Nigerian government.

“We will never betray the people because they have risked everything. Some even lost their lives in this course to make sure that APC succeed and that we have a leadership in place that they can trust and that is what multi party democracy is all about.”

He further stated: “I will tell you what made me a multi party democrat. In 1991, after coming out of detention, I was sitting at home and the Soviet Union collapsed.

They were the world power fighting the western world. They had more sophisticated weapons, but something happened. “There was confusion and everybody went away. Today, there are 18 countries from the former Soviet Union. That was when I believed that multi party democratic system is a superior form of governance and that is why I joined democracy.

“We have made a big stride this year and I assure you, God willing, if we survive the next four years, Nigerians will be in a position to confidently raise their head and elect their representatives and leaders. “They will choose those they want as their representatives from local government, states and to the centre.

I will fight for free, fair and credible election because that is why I remain in politics. I thank you very much for the sacrifices you have made to make sure we succeeded.”

In regards to ther rule of law, Buhari has directed security personnel attached to his convoy to always heed traffic regulations and stop at red lights at traffic points.
“Without leadership by example, the ordinary citizens would become copycats of the lawlessness of their leaders,” Buhari was quoted as saying in a statement issued by his media office last night.

The President-elect, who currently stops at every traffic light, promised to continue with the tradition as president as a way of demystifying the arrogance in power. Buhari was further quoted as saying that the “arrogance of power, lawlessness and disregard for the rights and convenience of fellow citizens would have no place in his government.”

The statement quoted Buhari as saying that for leaders to inspire respect, they must obey the laws of the country, adding that when leaders treat the country’s laws with contempt, they send the wrong message to the citizens. Buhari lamented a situation where fellow citizens are punished at traffic points and public roads because of the “arrogant lawlessness of the leaders.”

64 comments:

Fingers crossed and watching

We dey watch na...

Well he says he is not a very rich man. Lets watch and see how he handles our great nation

Please enough of allllll these kind of talk already.....campaigning is over, just get to work and deliver 'all' u promised.....chikena. and when u fail to.....u go fear Nigerians

amaka said...

We all pray for a better Nigeria

Awww! That's my president.
Sai Baba!!!

Sai Buhari

Unchained said...

Gbam.! Sai sai....babaaaa

DondanteScope said...

Backward talk... Move on to better things abeg

Good. We are in support of your policy.

From may29 Nigeria will begin to see leadership by example from a leader who is always ready to serve them with utmost sincerity n transparency..... May Allah SWT guide and protect my president elect.

Time will tell

Dave Mide said...

Thats very nice of him to say and may God help him. However, stopping at each red light isnt practicable especially for the "president", even where I live, the King and his entourage are given free pass in traffic even when the red light is on, this is bcuz staying in his car for 3-4 minutes by himself leaves a porous in his security details. I think hes a little bit open to "attack" during this period. I know he wants to abide by the law but for a person of his caliber, he should exempt himself from such. My opinion tho b4 sm ppl start to say i no make sense.

Dobzi fingers said...

We'll see..

Check out my makeup blog
http://dobzifingers.blogspot.com/?m=1

Amen.. By God's grace dz incoming government will not fail...

Isn't dat y he won?

shut up u can do nothing

Buhari Out

Bokoharam sponsor

we are going to kidnap 200 fresh girls

islamist fundamentalist

A better Nigeria.

Such humility and nobility!

Buhari you didn't win because too many people loved or believed in you,you won cos of the underage voters.if you were truly loved. You would have won at in at least 30 states, I still don't believe you can rule well,not with Tinubu and Obj around you

Action already!

WORD!!!!

2niceNorthEast said...

If u like disappoint na u sabi

Nice 1, that is my president not gej & his fail team. May God give more wisdom.

D little boy in me jst loves diz man! He may not miraculously transform d state of d country but we def gon see him curbing corruption which has been insidious to 9ja's system in general. Fenk God 4 diz he datz been appointed 2 emancipate us, unlike his puppet predecessor

Hmmmmmm'' better day ahead.... a comment coming from you sir-Buhari is worth reading' Leadership By example ''my faith in ur leadership is till Intact

Pls sir help us

I believe you my General. God help you guys. Linda take note!

Saibaba...I trust u

We are waiting sir bcos dis una promises didn't start today

Pls we are more i interested in what you will do for Nigerian economy not war against i discipline. You have started again

May God almighty grant u the effort nd gud health to achieve gud governance
....I blv in u sir

May God almighty grant u the effort nd gud health to achieve gud governance
....I blv in u sir

sweetie said...

Sai Baba. The man of is word. Can't wait for may 29 to come

ebony said...

God bless u Sir.pls tell the police men that that violate traffic laws and then punish citizens for not paving way for them

Its easier said than done.

We just can't wait!

I believe you sir

I trust u

Too much expectations

We are watching!

JIRO said...

Still saying the elections were rigged where you lost (2 political zones).....smh. Just wake up already. South-east and South-south will always vote against you with same opposition. we would see how you run your all-inclusive government. You cannot be a president for all, yet singling out some zones as having rigged the elections. The elections are over, you won, get on with it and be The President-elect.

CANT WAIT FOR THE 5K/MONTH FOR UNEMPLOYED GRADUATES,THE N40/LITRE PETROL/THE 24HR ELECTRICITY......FROM MAY 29!!!THAT IS WHAT WE VOTED FOR!ANYTHING SHORT OF IT,THE INCOMING GOVT SHOULD KNOW WE WONT BE FOOLED AGAIN!!NO NEVER AGAIN!!!!

No problem, we will see about that

U are making plenty sense. Leave Oga Buhari and his modesty.

Stories that touch. We are waiting for $1 to become $1.

same thing that was said in 1960, 1964, 1965, 1973, 1976, 1979, 1983, 1984, 1985, 1990, 1993, 1999, 2003, 3007, 2011, and now 2015, while we expect you to perform, the least thing anyone in politics should expect from us is our trust

If you perform excellently well. Ure 50/50 for the next election.If you fail nigerians, you'll know Nigerians don't really like you in four years time. Ur own go worse pass jona (I voted for you)

Sai Baba may God continue to strengthen you and prof Osinbajo. Amen

U mk sense

linda said...

Perform first b4 I dish out my praises....been dissapointed one two many times.

Most igbos always express dissatisfaction towards any idea that seems progressive and even within themselves, i'm yet to see a long lasting synergy. They are always in disbelief. They're still suffering from Biafranism I suppose.

Why is it that some tribes just hate this man.They just cant see anything good he what he says. Must Jesus come down from Heaven to rule us before we have a change of mind? When will Nigerians tell themselves the truth. Are you happy with the way the country is today - No power , no fuel, no security, no salaries etc.

Anyway,whether you like it or not, Buhari is your President for the next 4 yrs. You beta face the fact or relocate to the moon.Enough of these hate speeches.

Very true!!!@Anon.

Abi o, dey r full of hatred

ooo.. we aff heard. u guys had beta not, cos it might not be funny. many r angry nd pissed

Cool story!!! Story for the ancestors.

ROTFL. Stop crying already!