Etcetera doesn't think Dangote can afford to buy Arsenal football club | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 9 May 2015

Etcetera doesn't think Dangote can afford to buy Arsenal football club

Dangote is worth about $15.7 billion, Arsenal football club is worth about $2bn but singer turned writer Etcetera doesn't believe he can afford it. Read what he wrote below and tell us what you think
You have sold some shares and you’ve got some money to spend. Now you want the ultimate: Your own football club. Hold on there, are you sure? Football clubs are a nightmare to run. In fact, almost two-thirds of premiership clubs have been in receivership at some point. Remember Portsmouth FC ploughed through four owners some seasons back and landed itself a debt of £60m and relegation in the Championship.
 Think of Leeds United’s tragicomic collapse; the balls-up at Cambridge United; Rotherham going into receivership in 2006 and 2008; Southampton’s sorry saga. And, of course, Crawley Town getting a winding up order years back. So, what do we know? Don’t buy a football club for the glory. So, before Dangote aspires to join Abrahamovic, Glazers and Al Mansours, he should make sure he knows his stuff.

But does Dangote know how much these football clubs really cost?
It is often mistaken that these clubs go for a quid. For instance, Swansea City was bought by investors for £100, and sold four years later for a £1. But beware: underneath those figures lies a pile of debt.

Does Dangote have the cash, can he do an Abramovich?
ADVERTISEMENT
No, he can’t. New UEFA Club Licensing and Financial Fair Play Regulations already in place, require clubs to balance their income and expenses. Dangote cannot operate under such rules. The premiership is too organised and transparent for any businessman to easily manipulate. The wage structure of footballers is too large for a businessman like Dangote to take on. Let us forget that those goons at Forbes have told us that Dangote is Africa’s richest man. As it stands, he cannot afford the outright purchase of a big football club like Arsenal. It is as simple as that. He will go broke. It is a possibility if we are talking about a club in the coast of West Africa. Dangote has most of his wealth in shares and physical assets and the football business requires liquid cash to sustain. Have we all forgotten that the same Dangote got a 3G licence and sold it to Etisalat? He is a very smart businessman who knows how to pick his areas of investments.

Can he get Bank backing?
Unlikely! No serious private equity firm would get involved with a football club. They are not proper businesses. Too much politics, too many egos. And there’s no proper exit route – the history of football clubs on the stock market is chequered, to say the least. They are rich men’s toys, great for entertaining your mates, and that’s about it. I don’t think Dangote can afford such an expensive toy.
A lot of people think it is relatively easy to make a million pounds by being the owner of a football club. That all you have to do is put in that first two million pounds. But these people should also know that since the English Premier League was formed in 1992, football finances have dried up to the extent that making a million pound profit is no longer a walk in the park. It is also the case that buying a football club is unlikely to yield that much of a return. Despite the significant TV and other commercial revenues, football clubs in England’s top flight still struggle to break even. This is ironic, given the goal of setting up the Premier League was to stabilise club finances.

Is Dangote putting his heart over his head?
Yes I think so. Simon Jordan, in his autobiography, tells the story of how owning a football club can go terribly wrong. Jordan amassed a fortune of £75m in the early days of the mobile phone revolution. In 2000, he paid £10m to take control of South London football team Crystal Palace, becoming the youngest football club chairman at the age of 32. He was warned by many not to do it, but having watched the club since his childhood, he could not resist. Fast-forward 10 years and the club was in administration and Jordan’s personal wealth largely wiped out. It is reported that Roman Abramovich, the Russian owner of Chelsea, has written off more than one billion pounds he ploughed into the club since acquiring it in 2003. Catching him up fast is Sheikh Mansour from Abu Dhabi, who has invested close to one billion pounds in Manchester City since 2008. Can Dangote write off such a huge amount of money? It is in fact the amount of money he borrows to invest in businesses. But again, I think Dangote is just trying to hype himself. Most of the serious money flowing into football recently has come from the Middle East. The Qatar Investment Authority (the country’s sovereign wealth fund) bought the French Ligue 1 side Paris St Germain in 2011 and has gone about transforming them in the same way Sheikh Mansour has Manchester City. Forget those guys at Forbes, Dangote is not in the same league as these guys.

The Glazer Family bought Manchester United in 2006, recognising the immense value of its global brand as a cash generator and the opportunities to enhance it even further. The cost of buying the club was loaded on to the club itself, with the revenues it generates used to pay the debt and interest that the Glazers undertook to buy the club. Eventually, the hope is that the club will essentially pay for itself leaving its American owners in possession of a multi-billion pound asset but till date, the Glazers are still gnashing their teeth and are still neck deep in debt. When it was speculated that a Middle East consortium was willing to pay £1.5bn for Arsenal Football Club, it was stated that Stan Kroenke, the American who owns about 63 per cent of the shares in the club, would have made just £400m on his shares. So, given the appalling financial returns, why do people buy football clubs?

Who can buy Arsenal football club?
Anyone can buy Arsenal football club, but that anyone doesn’t include anyone who obtains bank loans to fund a business. Sir John Madejski, chairman of Reading Football Club, describes the ideal football club owner as having deep pockets, mercurial, and not faint-hearted.

163 comments:

Etecera i dont think u hav common sense

www.glowyshoes.com said...

I think he is right..it takes a lot to keep a football club together

www.glowyshoe.blogspot.com

Do the walking and let your shoes do the talking
www.hawtshoes.co.uk

SANDRA said...

This guy is just hopeless and seeks comfort in writing all this rubbish

He has to pay me to read this crap. Lindaobserve

SANDRA said...

This guy is just hopeless and seeks comfort in writing all this rubbish

girls like to have fun said...

This man should keep shut!
If you're interested in meeting new people, friends, or for dates.Add me up 556d5e85

Everything Rosham said...

Mumuni.. Must he write on everything???

Pidgin Mistress said...

Good question

Olusoji said...

If he is really interested in helping Africa grow, develop and creating more job opportunity, he should put his money where his mouth is.

I do not think he can write a billion pounds as bad debt. He is truly an industrialist, but should invest more in Nigeria and other african countries. Charity begins at home.

I think he's right on this one...

Dis guy tho...

I think he's right kin off because buying it isn't a problem for dangote buy maintenance is what we should all think about!

Abeg leave that guy may he no find beta work than write shit .

I think he's right on this one

Dangote and afford to buy arsenal

Barca Stars Celebrates With Cesc Fabregas As He Clocks 28th

Man City on alert with Luis Enrique set to leave Barca

Griezmann wants Chelsea move

Walcott will not leave Arsenal this summer, insists Wenger

this fool should shut the fuck up.

True talk jare

The problem i have with pple like etcetera is that they let their bad belle n negativity get d better og their logical reasoning.. Does he think dangotr doesnt know d risks involved? Dangotr has s best lawyers and financial advisers in d world. Keep ur small mindedness n negativity in ur corner..cos u failed in ur career dnt mean others will

Father Lord, what is wrong with etcetera? He's so negative all the time. And wrong about so much. Disgusting really.

Wilsoniyke said...

Dangote is a wish man..

Ode

Endy said...

Everything he said is purely truth...We were just saying same yesterday...The bitter truth is that Dangote knows he can't afford it,Dangote is rich to some extent...He is just hyping.

We don't know precisely what the BOD want in terms of sale conditions.Networth of an individual or organization isn't cash in hand or bank Linda.it also includes but not limited to assets and businesses.

Same thought I share wit d writer dat he can never buy Arsenal except in his dream bcos dis is not sugar, and cement dat he is managing over here in Nigeria.

It wil b bad investment for him, and not profitable thereof.

Endy said...

Everything he said is purely truth...We were just saying same yesterday...The bitter truth is that Dangote knows he can't afford it,Dangote is rich to some extent...He is just hyping.

Dangote is clearly a front in this Arsenal deal, he will quickly offload the club to third party when the FA gives it a final go ahead.
The third party can't pass the strict Current Arsenal directors criteria.

# PropertyofWhiteHouse

Dangote is clearly a front in this Arsenal deal, he will quickly offload the club to third party when the FA gives it a final go ahead.
The third party can't pass the strict Current Arsenal directors criteria.

# PropertyofWhiteHouse

Dangote is a business man and am sure he must have done his feasibility study before he even make an attempt to buy...

Its he in his pocket?

Quiny said...

For once I concor with davido's driver...dis etcetera guy doesn't get tired..alwais a pessimist seekin attention.

he is clueless
Arsenal is worth $1bn that includes salaries, debts, retained earnings and future earnings

Dangote is worth $15billion.
Simple mathematics

Dangote is richer than owner of Chelsea and he cant afford? You see sometimes I think this dude needs to be slapped. Yes most clubs run at a loss but there are clubs that run with profit, Arsenal does!

@Davido's driver. I see why you named yourself Davido's driver. You are nothing but a fool. The guy was absolutely right about this particular write up. Dangote lives on bank loan and you need a solid liquid cash to run a football club especially an international football club. There is too much hype about Dangote

yea he can buy but the maintenance is the problem

This Etc is not well oh. Doesn't he know that Dangote prolly has more money than his declared assets. Also, such an educated business man should have done his research first and known the cost. Also he should have had his accounting team work out some s*** before coming out to say he's even interested. For this particular write-up, I now lose respect for Etc completely. Never gonna take his writtens seriously again. Linda pls stop giving him undue recognition. Tnx

lets watch

He thinks na naija business that you cheat workers, government and society and now come out to become the richest wicked man. He should try it and he becomes the highest indebted man on earth. Bride goes before a fsll

Hasn't he tried enough already in africa? How many business does he have abroad? And what have u done in ur own lil way to help nigeria?

Typo errors!! Was typing under "special conditions"...

yea he can sure

His negativity is just toooooo much..haba!

Thank you ooo!!

ok nw

johnnie said...

Everything he has said is the gospel truth,not all that glitters are gold

Dis guy is trying really hard to be noticed. Linda take note!

This guy shud concentrate on
Celebs and just STFU about made men.

Etcetera was right. Dangote lives on bank loan.

Hype hype. Richest man in Africa...Hype hype! Illusion created by Dangote himself. If you can not rely on your charisma to attract deals...What else?

Etcetera was right. Dangote lives on bank loan.

SHYLA (Blessed ). said...

Onyx if only you know how senseless you are, you wouldn't have been talking trash, fag. Comot from dis blog wit ur two left legs cos I know u don't have balls but torn hoe.

...Just like you are a competent analyst!

linda said...

ur right

Don Jon said...

Of course, etc is the football expert.

Dangote is the government of Nigeria front man. Today Etcetera is Dangote's haters front man

It takes alot to run any business, people doubt him just because he is black. And thats stupid. He isnt the richest person in Africa by mistake. He knows what he is doing. So eletronics shut your mouth bastard.

I guess this guy is right to an extend. from example dangote companies are making profit but they are not preparely structure with standard which he might get wrong at the end of the day with a club with high standard of structure.

ONYX i totally agree with you

Etcetera...I don't think u are in the right position to determine weather Danone is capable of owning a club...He knows what he is capable of....He is a business man and would have put all these into consideration...U are just a blind writer!

Managing a club is big business and if Aliko Dangote can manage businesses successfully why should one think club management will be an exception. Dangote is a pride to African and if that is his desire so be it.

I guess this guy is right to an extend. from example dangote companies are making profit but they are not preparely structure with standard which he might get wrong at the end of the day with a club with high standard of structure.

lol mr E.TC every one has forgotten dan Dangote is a shareholder in Arsenal

In as much as it is difficult to immagine dat Dangote can writeoff £1billion loss, he was actually forced to writeoff about $10billion loss due to the mismanagement of the economy by the GEJ administration. Little wonder the man is so keen investing in foreing countries.

True that. Best comment

Afis Oseni - A1 Concept said...

Same question dat come acros ma mind.

The Problem Watching Football With Female- A Must Read
See here>>> http://showfaze.blogspot.com/2015/05/the-problem-watching-football-with.html

Dangote, face your work o

This guy is right

GBAM. True talk brother

Haaa,,okay etcetera..tread carefully.

Writer Etcetera, Dangote can afford Arsenal football club

Dangote is a business man. he must hv known d risk b4 plunging into d pirchase of d club. Etcetera, go nd sleep. U know notin.

Even if Dangote can't afford to buy or maintain the club after the purchase, what is etc's business? The man has a right to take risks. Isn't business all about risk taking. The article was not analytical at all but very hateful. I am not impressed.

Thank you

yea he can

This guy is sick! So clubs like arsenal that generates $250m yearly and pay salary of $150m, make over $80m in profit cannot be bought? Even man utd with highest debt has suitors for it. Mumuni

Mind ur business n leave that to dangote to handle

Onyx go to school u will not go with your useless feg ass....u talk with your brainless head...he is right...he can afford to buy but can't afford to takcare of the club...

Chidimma said...

Truth is weda he can afford it or not is not out business. I think he should rather invest in Nigeria than taking all that money out of the country. Let's develop our own.

Etcetera stop replying me under anonymous. Be bold enough to uss ur profile afteral u were bold enuf to write this crap

Detailed and well written.unfortunately,majority of lindas readers will not understand the analysis above when even Linda equates Alh Dangotes net worth to mean cash in hand.

Alhaji is a wise business man,hopefully his ego won't rule his decision making.He's also very cunning and knows the power of perception for a business mogul.

DOBY DOBY said...

My dear etcetera is very ryt oo tho hes always blunt. . My mum works wit him.. he operates on bank loan.. hes is nt d richest in Africa. . I didn't say hes nt very rich oo bt hes nt evn d 1st 10th in Nigeria. . Most politicians ar far more reacher dan him jus dat dey cnt flunt stolen money nd some of dem use dangotes coy to make deals.. dunno hw to explain bt half of d wealth declared is nt dangote's.. some belong to top politicians esp obj jus dat dey use dangotes name to buy assets cos hes a very popular nd respected bis man.. if ur dad is a top politician u wil understand better.. most top share holders in his coy ar politicians. .

He does make some sense but he does come off as arrogant but truth be told if Dangote purchases Arsenal, his other businesses will suffer. So on that I agree with The critic.

DOBY DOBY said...

My dear ur ryt.. top politicians always flunt him oo to steal money.. If truly he is buyin arsenal.. den some one is behind it.. mayb obj nd al dis oil billionaires

Some of you are posting stupid/idiotic statements without reading his wirte-up with all the analysis and facts with your brains upside down, the truth remains dat dangote is not rich enough to afford that club but trying to hype himsel for more rating bcoz the money he's spending is other people's money and some banks loans and i can bet if he dares try it he will soon be one of the poorest in Africa

This guy doesn't know anything! Dangote has cash! Infact,dangote,otedola etc has more cash than assets! They're spending Nigeria's money! These people use to buy money from CBN! Go and sit down bro...Otadola wey dey use 15million dollars to bribe person!!! Poverty don cloud this one mentality!

linda said...

I dunno o. As if wen dey make their own money they'l remember nigeria. It's always sweet to eat Sme1's money.

Chai see finishing. In btw this little Godwin boy shud focus on his edu and stop wasting away on blogs

linda said...

Leave him alone. Are you nw d 1 making sense? Wt he's saying makes sense to me. Pple always think they knw best...forgetting d oda person has just same common sense as them. Who tld him dangote doesn't knw d risks, abi a seasoned business man like him will just wake up and want a football club?

Ode ni bobo e.t.c sha...
So, na hin papa go fit afford ahm abi? Kmt! #Iranu

Pride you mean to say....

dis guy no get point. Go nd look for sometin to do ecetera. U re jobless

He's always writing unsubstantiated crap. Without some inner knowledge of Dangote's finances, this commentary has no credibility.

nunulicious said...

singer turned writer. can this guy get a life please?

Nigga go get a job and stop criticising people,get a life...burna boy,dangote now...then it will be president buhari

Mr Etcetera am sure you know better than Dangote's Business Consultants..OH! i forgot you graduated from YALE

TeamFaceless said...

Etcetera is right though. Dangote is on a hype and can't afford Arsenal FC. He triumphs on bank loans and the football business in Europe is far beyond such deals.

Are u kiddin me???? U no go school??? Shu!

I think this guy writes anything he feels like without proper research, I guess his opinion is noted. Of all the clubs in premiership, Arsenal is one the best run.. He made mention of Man U with half bake information. Let me help him a little! How much did Glazers buy Man U! How much of their personal money is involved? How much have they taken out of Man U? How much is Man U valued today? What is Man U debt today compared to few years back. Compare earnings etc! Please Ectera or etc if can't do proper research don't be a critic.. Let's not go into other clubs like Newcastle, Liverpool etc. please shut up and stop giving one sided storyline

Tnx bro

Is Etcetera a good Critict or bad critict

becky said...

@anonym 10:09 etc is ryt, abi u think 2 own a football club z a walk in d park

Him said...

You made a lot of sense Onyx. Etcetera thinks he's dealing with someone who doesn't know what he's doing. Dangote's views are sought in economic seminars and conferences around the world. When he talks about a prospective business opportunity, he surely knows what he's saying; he has done his home work on such. Btw, according to Forbes, he's richer than Abramovich. This guy is just a fool.

Nigga are you gay😏😏

He makes a lot of point but I believe Dangote would have done his research & feasibility study either...

errm...Dangote can afford to buy Arsenal FC...What you don't understand is...to own anything, you just have to be the major shareholder...He doesn't need physical cash to do that...he needs to convince the shareholders to sell him their shares...Also, Dangote has a lot of physical cash...Football Clubs are self financed..a football club going into administration is not because of the owners but because they could not make enough money..

I can see you know your maths, $15Billion of what...
You want Dangote to sell his stake in Cement or Sugar to buy Arsenal. We know who is clueless

Its clear you are ignorant of how the global business environment operates. Waste of space

Onyx ask t ask that moron for me ooooo...... Man that has cement, flour and sugar industry in all west African countries, some eastern and central Africa........isn't that enough for Africa

Its understandable dt dangote's asset might be hyped. And he truly lives on loan. But I'm sure he must hv figured it all out before declaring interest. But d question is, what's ectera's business? Its not his money na.

Anya Wots ur stress......did he fcuk ur brother or boo.......they guys is 100% right

Segun bottle of chilled gulder for u

james badmus said...

best article thus far from you
spot on

Olusoji, I understand what your saying sha, but your a failure so you won't understand what Dangote is looking at... meanwhile, @Onyx, don't mind him. he doesn't know the contributions Dangote has put in place, in form of scholarships, health funds, ebola eradication, job opportunities etc... as long as you have a phone, even as a mumu *You think your smart enough to drop comments anywhere* hmm... I tire...ehe @olusoji you get BBpin charger???

BEST COMMENT
#68 Glazer family 2014 AMERICA'S RICHEST FAMILIES NET WORTH $4.4 Billion..

Dangote is worth about $15.7 billion.

Dangote knows his onion, he has his reason for the acquisition. If the fall in Naira has not dumpen his ambition for Arsenal, there's is something Dangote is not telling us.

I rest my case.

BEST COMMENT
#68 Glazer family 2014 AMERICA'S RICHEST FAMILIES NET WORTH $4.4 Billion..

Dangote is worth about $15.7 billion.

Dangote knows his onion, he has his reason for the acquisition. If the fall in Naira has not dumpen his ambition for Arsenal, there's is something Dangote is not telling us.

I rest my case.

Say what you will about etcetera when he talks he makes sense. See all the facts he was mentioning in this write up. Facts and figures.

Loooooser!!! Initially I rooted for this guy and was eager to see him succeed in his newly found career path, but I've come to realise he's empty and a hate writer an insult to the profession, and on this topic you chose to write on sealed the fact that you're just an attention seeking somebori....quit writing and become a priest you have nothing to contribute as a writer

People will just go and Google some financial information and think they know it all. Dangote gas been in business before etcetera was conceived and still remains relevant even after etcetera has failed as a musician and in life. And suddenly etceterae knows better than Africa's richest man who has a platoon of financial geniuses advising him. Ohh I've heard it all now.

Dear Etcetra, you have the brains to know who leaves on back loans, yet you don't have the leverage to make money like who you are talking about? Or better still become an editor in a media or some thing. But all you do is to use other ppls media to run ppl down. What is really your specialty? Rolling Stone?

Poverty has eaten deep into nigerians..... he's the richest black man for crying out loud people, do you think he doesn't know about what he's going into?!! , do you think he solely arrives at this decision without having consulted several experts?!!!.... I mean he's a business man people..... all the negativity shows how hateful nigerians are towards the betterment of another

African man, why don't he use the money to build better stadium in his own country. White man will respect him better, not to go buy arsenal, dummy. As an African man we still see you as an African booty scratcher. Better you help your people bcus you made it through them not white man

Etcetera is right ...

This is the first time I will read Etcetera write up, and I guess I lucky getn my attention in reading all dz.... Hv NVR Liked him Thu or gat interest in his craps way Linda dey help am hype.

Dis one thinks he knows everything, Attention seeker, we talking bout Dangote

Tendency oby said...

#truth# I agree with him in this one

LarryColeswealth said...

Only u av spoken wah I expect of a reasonable human being,good of u.

LarryColeswealth said...

Only u av spoken wah I expect of a reasonable human being, good of u.

Very true

A very well reasoned opinion. I agree Dangote cannot afford to buy and invest in Arsenal. He will go broke in no time and the club will be relegated.

LarryColeswealth said...

Etcetera is wrong! 1.The value of d club includes both assets nd liabilities of d club which engulfs d management cost nd all d rest. 2. Dangote is currently a share holder of Arsenal FC, a dormant partner tho,buh he's got little experience on how dey run football clubs. 3.He is a strong and consistent business man,and he Wld av done his workings beyond Etcetera's assumption.

mtchewwww Poor Dangote With Dreams

I stumbled on this article and I wish to congratulate this writer on his articulate scoping of the issues involved in Dangote's purported desire to buy one of the most well-known brands in the World. The 2-3 billion cost, if he can put it together is just merely a statement of intent. It is the on-going maintenance of the club's that is the crux of the matter. This is a capital intensive venture and Dangote didn't become rich by being stupid. Diverting and tying his capital to a venture that is a long-term capital intensive, almost zero-return asset is the definition of stupid. Not to talk of the intense Regulatory scrutiny that Dangote (personally) and his vast conglomerate will come under by the UK Authorities is a risk he will not accept. The negative comments here by Pedestrian economists reflect why we have a 74 year old ruling us now, we always find a way to drown the voice of reason!

Black vader said...

Iv come to notice the number of fools that actually try to acknowledge etceteras school of thought and how baseless and shallow he writes, for one dangote has managed conglomerates with profit margins enough to feed nations, so what is arsenal about, dangotes knowledge of investments surpasses etceteras wildest imaginations, there are some things that you cant just sit at a table and write about or ull indirectly inform the public how ignorant and dumb you really are. The guy should go and sit down and think of how to make money and feed hos hungry looking ass before he starves to death talkin about people whose net worth even if he sells his soul to the devil he cant achieve.

Plx who knows how much he buying it?

This loser-singer should shut until he is sued one day. Ode! Go and do business and see how hard it is to make money. You need a big curse on your head. What can you afford to buy apart from fufu? Hehehe!

Etcetera is 110% right on this one. Arsenal) is worth 2billion pounds, first of all, Alisher Usmanov & Stan Kroenke both richer than Dangote have battled to buy the club outright for over 10 years and none have suceeded. So by what miracle would a man whose wealth is the least Liquid (cement as against Sport Teams (Kroenke) & Oil & Steel(Usmanov)) win? Now say by some miracle Dangote buys this club, he buys the club's debts as well The tricky part abt owning a football club is not in buying but in running it. There's a reason German clubs must be publicly owned. Can he foot wage bills of over 40 million pounds annually, transfer fees of 100 million pounds annually in this competitive market and then taxes in the UK? Lets be realistic, its not a good idea for Baba. He has the money buy it'll wreck either him or the club or both. As for the Abramovich's example, do your research into Abramovich's role in making Putin Prime minister in 1999 & "The Family". Rybodolev bought Monaco a few years ago & see the effect loosing half his wealth had on the club.
I think its better he buys a Nigerian club & make them world class. Say Kano Pillars or a club with a huge fan base

black zoro said...

I think he should invest in Nigeria rather than a football club.

etcetera can talk.He should watch what he says.Uti's big mouth landed him into trouble.He had to apologise to Ike.

kush..baddest said...

Na wao..for dis idiot called Etcetera,,music no favour u again....na jealously no make u grow for your life, u just day carry everybody matter for head like gala..if u need help talk,,,d man will transform your wasteful life sell your products for free,click here

russ said...

I totally disagree. Dangote is not just a bizman but a seasoned one. He won't dabble into buying an English first flight team if he has not done his findings and projections on it. Forbes ratings are not just figment of imagination but a thorough assessment of an individual's assets, profits from all biznes ventures, growth pattern and accruing profits. etc. Dat Dangote is list by Forbes as Africa's richest and amongst the first hundred in d world is no fluke. He has d financial strength to buy the team. Also most of the top flight teams all over the world have investment ranging from horse track racing, hospitals, transportation, hotels, agriculture etc dat rake in profits for them.

Musediq said...

You would think he wrote this himself! Writer my foot. This write up is the exact replica of a BBC write up uphttp://www.bbc.com/news/business-26365955

Football is all about satistics and politics for now,and if you are not into it or know people that was into it for long i dont think you can run it better,
ask your self the reason you cry when a small club win your big club?etc, a division one club can goes back to a division 3 league just in the space of 3 season

I think the writer of this column is right. There are too many uncertainties in running football club in England. Dont dare going near these so-called big clubs unless to satisfy egos & watch them playing. But to think of great returns for buying over, forget it. Take a good look at Abramovich.

@Anon 4.00pm. God bless U

Etchetera is just too vast and intelligent. He would have just wasted away just playing music. A great guy indeed.Thumbs up.

Must he buy all d shops at Alaba bfr h know he's investing in Africa???

De guy too stupid, Because of Dangote u go find EPL details...

If u must succeed in business then take a risk.

Olusoji said...

May God forgive you for calling a fellow human being a name.

This is not Nigeria were 1man is given license to import cement#this is GB were corruption have gone digital @anon

I have just read many of the comments here and unfortunately most of the comments here appear as ignorant. Etc brought out facts and figures with half truths but he only reflected on clubs that FAILED. Arsenal FC is a self sufficient club that can survive without any owner. I beg to disagree with anon 4.58 pm about Stan Kroenke being richer than Dangote, last time I checked Dangote was far richer by 5times. (Although he lost 10bn recently because of the poorly managed economy). Arsenal is worth about $2bn and ofcourse you know when you are calculating someone's worth. Liabilities and debts are deducted. I also find it ludicrous etc comparing crystal palace,portsmouth with Arsenal.Last time I checked, the only debt Arsenal had was the one which they used to build the stadium, which has been paid off since, thats why the club can purchase the likes of Ozil and Sanchez. So back to the question; Can Dangote buy Arsenal? Ofcourse he can but the profit margin wont be that much :) Afterall Abramovich did it and so far it hasn't made him bankrupt. I am disappointed with his current article at the moment, he appears to be a bitter pessimist. His criticisms nowadays appear more of destructive than constructive.

SHYLA (Blessed ). said...

Henry Eze, you just want to be know, fag looking for tiny legs Onyx. Rotten worms, oooupss.

But what is etc's biz in this issue of Dangote buying Arsenal? Is his money involve in it? For crying out loud Dangote is a biz man which he has been doing for years,he knows the plus and minus in investments. That others richer than him tried and lost doesn't mean he won't give it a try.chikena.

You guys need to read this article written last year, it's where ETC copied and pasted. Lol! : http://www.bbc.com/news/business-26365955

From this post I can c why Africans will forever b seen as backward........I mean.....etcetera is a failure...... wah does he know about business?.........Can u even imagine how dangote has been able to manage Nd struggle to maintain d position he is today?......
Etcetera has always been angry at successful people..so I have no ish with him.......buh I have issues with majority of these blog readers Whu are educated illiterates...........onyx is kinda weird buh he's still one of d most reasonable commenters on this blog!

The "you cannot" clause. Everyone loves a challenge. And who is he to tell someone what he can and cannot do.
No be Human beings get the other clubs??
ETc abi whatever your name is, use your empty head abeg. Your lengthy load of jargons you wrote here

As if he knows how clubs are being run. Oga oversabi

George wey hate linda! said...

Etc is just spot on,running an EPL team like arsenal is not just having bank loans and stuff,you that solid liquid cash",the question is how much is dangote new worth in pounds!

Usually I try to be objective and make an unbiased response to the rankings of this madman but on this one I say SHUT YOUR DIARRHEA MOUTH! Did Dangote consult you when he was making his various business decisions that made him the richest man in Africa? Do you think he would not have "done his homework" extensively before trying to make such a huge decision. If you had done your homework "Mr. Research" you would this is not his first attempt! The last deal fell through because they couldn't agree on the price. The wealthiest people are some of the most frugal and take some of the most calculated risks. So Abeg, stop rambling on about stuff you know absolutely nothing about! Stuck to your ramblings about entertainers!

Thank you!! I totally agree on Onyx. He could go a little off sometimes but overall he makes clear, salient educated points. He gets dismissed because of his youth and perceived sexual orientation. Sad! I think he has learnt how to develop think skin though.

Motherfucker is a sham! Shit!!! Just went to the link/site. Gadamm copy and paste! Whaat??!

Forger, u mean. Crap writing is copied up.
Check out the bbc link pasted up there. Ole guy.

Copy n paster, u mean.