Egypt’s Hosni Mubarak sentenced To 3 years in prison in retrial on corruption charges | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 9 May 2015

Egypt’s Hosni Mubarak sentenced To 3 years in prison in retrial on corruption charges

An Egyptian court on Saturday sentenced former Egyptian president Hosni Mubarak to 3 years in prison on corruption charges after a retrial in Cairo. It was not clear whether the sentence will include the time Mubarak has already served, the Associated Press reported.
According to the court order, which also includes a 125 million Egyptian pound ($16.3 million) fine, Mubarak's sons Gamal and Alaa were given 4 years of imprisonment each in the same case, which centers on the embezzlement of millions of dollars over the course of a decade. The court's decision can be appealed, a lawyer for Mubarak reportedly said.

The funds, which were meant to pay for renovation of presidential palaces, were allegedly spent by Mubarak and his sons on maintaining their private residences, AP reported, adding that several supporters of the 87-year-old autocrat shouted in anger as the judge announced his verdict.

In January, an Egyptian court had ordered a retrial in the $17 million embezzlement case dropping the only remaining charge against him. The court had also overturned the convictions of his two sons, reportedly noting that legal procedures had not been followed properly.

36 comments:

Okay heard

Nice one what an award

He should be released.

Pidgin Mistress said...

Go well

He is a good man. He fought the religious extremists to a standstill.

The wages of sin... Justice has prevailed.

I'm out ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

Serves him right!

oh

http://www.9jahub.com/forum/showtopic.php?id=9577

Nigeria shud learn frm Egypt

moniqUE said...

CAN THIS TYPE OF A THING HAPPEN IN NIGERIA?

#LIB OBI

Good!

PARENTAL ADVISORY
***explicit content***

Hope to hear this in Nigeria some day....

How I wish such judgement could be pronounced on corrupt office holders in naija. All we need is a judiciary reform

7F098C19 said...

I wish the past naija leader face same with hard labor. Obj on the top list. Engr Emy

7F098C19 said...

I wish the past naija leader face same with hard labor. Obj, Tinubu, atiku, and even buhari on the top list. Engr Emy

Dis is a country where there is zero tolerance to corruption. God b praise, and I look forward to when Nigeria wil follow suit wit dis type of system.

Joy C said...

Only?

I wish it can happen in Nigeria, with our past leaders.. Linda take note!

silo swag said...

Too bad

Nice 1, ao I wish dis kind tin can happen in Nigeria

Aww. Kpele.

Tyana said...

Dis sentence shaa

choice said...

That's true law

Hmmm bad one....sha wish u well inside gate cooler

Not enough Justice if u ask me.

Muslims countries=lawful countries...

U guys(igbo and Christian) refused to see the beauty and lawful of the religion, they only see bad side of it and use it to judge like all Muslims are terrorist or bad people....
Not all Muslims are terrorist obviously not all terrorist are Muslims...

Islam the religion of peace!

Naija shud learn

Thank you my brother. Abeg leave them with their stupid mouth because I can see that most commenter on LIB are retards, that's y I don't comment cos I read a lot of senseless comments. Linda ,comments suppose to be filtered because some comments fit start war from your blog.

Enjoy ur stay dere

Would love to start seeing this in this country. When politicians go to jail for crimes committed.

You how your mind works?! Now look how you have just picked on a few class of people, the same reason you are angry and you do it to people. Lemme ask you a question: were you amongst those who called for the heads of Igbos for voting massively for GEJ? If you are then you were wrong! Were you amongst those who laughed when Soyinka accused the Igbos of voting for their stomach? Then you were wrong! The point I am trying to make is that it is painful when you judge a whole people by the action of a few, what you should do is take action. Commend those who do evil in the name of your religion. Form a sensitization group that upholds the morality and beauty of Islam. For I am Igbo and Christian and I admire your religion.

If only dz can happen in 9ja,if ONLY

its only in Nija they get away with it