Nigerian immigrant who is HIV positive (Bisi Alimi) offers free hugs to the public | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 8 May 2015

Nigerian immigrant who is HIV positive (Bisi Alimi) offers free hugs to the public

Nigerian gay activist Bisi Alimi a few days ago went to the town of Ramsgate and held up a sign that read “I’m an immigrant. Hug me or ask a question.”. He said he did it because he was angry at the anti-HIV comments of UKIP leader Nigel Farage and wanted to give a face to immigrants and fight the stigma of HIV. Read the heartwarming story after tthe cut...

From Evening Standard

A Nigerian immigrant who is also HIV positive has taken to the streets in the constituency where Nigel Farage is running for election to encourage people not to vote for Ukip.

Bisi Alimi, a prominent gay rights activist, is offering free hugs to anyone who wants to listen to his message in South Thanet, Kent.
In recent days he has become a regular visitor to the town centre, attracting crowds of people by holding a sign which reads: "I'm an immigrant. Hug me or ask me a question?"

Commenting on an encounter with one sceptical passer-by, he wrote on Instagram: "He stood afar from me for a while, kept looking at me. He was there yesterday with his wife. Then the wife walked up to me and started engaging with me. She hugged me. Then the man came shook my hand and said, thank you for doing this. Then I said; "you know you want a hug' to which he answered yes I sure do want a hug" and then we hugged and told him like I did to others "Please don't vote UKIP" and he said "to hell I wont". I love #ThanetSouth."

Mr Alimi, who was granted protection asylum in the UK in 2008 and later completed a master's in politics at Birkbeck University, decided to attempt the stunt after being verbally abused by a Ukip supporter in the street last week. He has received scores of messages of support for his campaign on Twitter.

Diego Marcano wrote: "Hug campaign to favour migrants its absolutely brilliant. Thumbs up man! #WeCare."

66 comments:

*sigh*

Comeseesumtin

Not too good an headline to use

1st to comment...

So he's hiv positive?

Not bad not bad...

APPLELIPX said...

Naija always representing

Interesting

Gay Life of an Anonymous Writer

Noted.
#LindaTakeNote

That's his way of getting Peoples attention, and it worked for him.

I love d fact dat he gat courage to open up to d world about his health status.

Death to all gays and lesbians

This Bisi Alimi guy again.. Ok ooooo..

Linda cogitate

This Bisi Alimi guy again.. Ok ooooo..

Linda cogitate

Oh well...

Noted!!!

Well, seems Farage may have a point or two- most people receiving HIV treatment in the UK are black Africans, most of whom contracted the virus overseas. Alimi can be angry if he wishes but the fact remains that he used his homosexuality to claim asylum in the UK and it is hard working UK taxpayers who are footing his medical bills. It would be much better for Alimi to go home and vent his anger at the Nigerian government for not doing enough to help the citizens of the country

Nonsense nd stupidity

Wo-eva!
Don't care a bit!

For the cause, good man.

Say no to discrimination...nice
Som pple ll dodge him though

Say no to discrimination...nice
Som pple ll dodge him though

He can only try dis overthere but if he dares dis in Nigeria we all know want d reactions wil b which wil mostly b base on d different geographic zones we hail frm. Its only few well brought up individuals dat wil hug him.

In fact I believe reactions wil b according to d states u hail frm. For example those frm d East wil curse him out, and accuse him of looking for who to use for money rituals while those frm d West wil insults his generations including father/mother, and tell him he is jobless. Those frm d North wil simply tak different directions in order to simply avoid him.

Am I right or wrong??? Pls feel free to air ur views via replying my comments.

Damilola said...

Confusing story.

hmmmm...Its alright @Bisi

He can only try dis overthere but if he dares dis in Nigeria we all know want d reactions wil b which wil mostly b base on d different geographic zones we hail frm. Its only few well brought up individuals dat wil hug him.

In fact I believe reactions wil b according to d states u hail frm. For example those frm d East wil curse him out, and accuse him of looking for who to use for money rituals while those frm d West wil insults his generations including father/mother, and tell him he is jobless. Those frm d North wil simply tak different directions in order to simply avoid him.

Good to know they're supporting him.

Oh please. ..I'm feeling lazy today.

Etsako Pearl said...

Hmmm.

Mcheeeeeeew! Everyone with im own. Linda take note!

#Yawnnnnnnnn#............next pls!

Bolty said...

UKIP has lost it. Alimi are you the only HIV positive in UK.

He is a gay and a gay advocate. Am not impressed.

Gay and HIV only one person and he still don't to reply and on top of that has mouth to talk.

Get the fuck up out of this blog! Rubbish you evil dual fuck you!

I have now concluded that this guy is an attention addict

Good for him...at least he got some well needed attention

GAY ACTIVIST AND HIV POSIIVRE IS ALL I C...TOMJERRYSWIT

Eya

Oh! He's HIV positive too?!

ASAMPOKOTO said...

And we can't even accept our own! Smh! Watch this man become great. Don't know why he still claims a country that has turned their back on him. #inspirational.

Ok.

Check out the interior of the new Bentley SUV at www.naijacarlovers.blogspot.com

Hugs in the air

Joshtech said...

I guess he is happy now that ukip has loss.

Free hug?
From a Retarded Queer?
Bitch pls,
NEXT!!!!

A gay and hiv too! Hmmm God have mercy we pray thee

so whats the rationale for that?

WORD!!!!

Only this man, he is gay and HIV patient..... wasted life

Don't be lazy my Dear.
Get up n go 2 Work.

Kaine Ifem Sophia said...

Good for him

NAMDOSKY30 said...

Hugging who. E no fit try am for naija......gay and infected with H.I V double wahala for dead body...guy bisi u need jesus he only can set u free from what u are going through i guess u are doing all these to console urself sowie maaan linda great job#miabestblogger#

I don't discriminate, I wont run away from HIV positive people and I am not against being gay but Alimi needs to chill a bit and curtail how he throws his ways at people

Not inspirational jor

gbemi said...

We all have our ways of gaining attention. Urs is spending most of ur natural life on Linda's blog while he remains an activist...somehow tho, I believe his own way will eventually be more productive.

Happiness is all i see now I never thought that I will live on earth before the year runs out. I have been suffering from a deadly disease (HIV) for the past 3 years now; I had spent a lot of money going from one places to another, from churches to churches, hospitals have been my home every day residence. Constant checks up have been my hobby not until this faithful day, I was searching through the internet, I saw a testimony on how DR. okorom helped someone in curing his HIV disease, quickly I copied his email which is dr.okoromspellhome@live.com just to give him a test I spoke to him, he asked me to do some certain things which I did, he told me that he is going to provide the herbal cure to me, which he did, then he asked me to go for medical checkup after some days after using the herbal cure, I was free from the deadly disease, he only asked me to post the testimony through the whole world, faithfully am doing it now, please brothers and sisters, he is great, I owe him in return. if you are having a similar problem just email him on dr.okoromspellhome@live.com or call him +2348158168556

Naija no dey carry last.

Linda u stereotyping him by saying his HIV for d world to discriminate against him

These will go a long way against discrimination with people living with HIV.

Visit: hiv247.blogspot.com