'The Oba’s Words Matter' - Chimamanda Adichie's response to Oba of Lagos | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 10 April 2015

'The Oba’s Words Matter' - Chimamanda Adichie's response to Oba of Lagos

A response to the Oba of Lagos over his threat to Igbos from award winning writer, Chimamanda Adichie. Chimamanda says the Oba’s words are quite disturbing. Read below...
A few days ago, the Oba of Lagos threatened Igbo leaders. If they did not vote for his governorship candidate in Lagos, he said, they would be thrown into the lagoon. His entire speech was a flagrant performance of disregard. His words said, in effect: I think so little of you that I don’t have to cajole you but will just threaten you and, by the way, your safety in Lagos is not assured, it is negotiable.
There have been condemnations of the Oba’s words. Sadly, many of the condemnations from non-Igbo people have come with the ugly impatience of expressions like ‘move on,’ and  ‘don’t be over-emotional’ and ‘calm down.’ These take away the power, even the sincerity, of the condemnations. It is highhanded and offensive to tell an aggrieved person how to feel, or how quickly to forgive, just as an apology becomes a non-apology when it comes with ‘now get over it.’
Other condemnations of the Oba’s words have been couched in dismissive or diminishing language such as ‘The Oba can’t really do anything, he isn’t actually going to kill anyone. He was joking. He was just being a loudmouth.’

Or – the basest yet – ‘we are all prejudiced.’ It is dishonest to respond to a specific act of prejudice by ignoring that act and instead stressing the generic and the general.  It is similar to responding to a specific crime by saying ‘we are all capable of crime.’ Indeed we are. But responses such as these are diversionary tactics. They dismiss the specific act, diminish its importance, and ultimately aim at silencing the legitimate fears of people.

We are indeed all prejudiced, but that is not an appropriate response to an issue this serious. The Oba is not an ordinary citizen. He is a traditional ruler in a part of a country where traditional rulers command considerable influence – the reluctance on the part of many to directly chastise the Oba speaks to his power. The Oba’s words matter. He is not a singular voice; he represents traditional authority. The Oba’s words matter because they are enough to incite violence in a political setting already fraught with uncertainty. The Oba’s words matter even more in the event that Ambode loses the governorship election, because it would then be easy to scapegoat Igbo people and hold them punishable.

Nigerians who consider themselves enlightened might dismiss the Oba’s words as illogical. But the scapegoating of groups – which has a long history all over the world – has never been about logic. The Oba’s words matter because they bring worrying echoes of the early 1960s in Nigeria, when Igbo people were scapegoated for political reasons. Chinua Achebe, when he finally accepted that Lagos, the city he called home, was unsafe for him because he was Igbo, saw crowds at the motor park taunting Igbo people as they boarded buses: ‘Go, Igbo, go so that garri will be cheaper in Lagos!’
Of course Igbo people were not responsible for the cost of garri. But they were perceived as people who were responsible for a coup and who were ‘taking over’ and who, consequently, could be held responsible for everything bad.

Any group of people would understandably be troubled by a threat such as the Oba’s, but the Igbo, because of their history in Nigeria, have been particularly troubled. And it is a recent history. There are people alive today who were publicly attacked in cosmopolitan Lagos in the 1960s because they were Igbo. Even people who were merely light-skinned were at risk of violence in Lagos markets, because to be light-skinned was to be mistaken for Igbo.

Almost every Nigerian ethnic group has a grouse of some sort with the Nigerian state. The Nigerian state has, by turns, been violent, unfair, neglectful, of different parts of the country. Almost every ethnic group has derogatory stereotypes attached to it by other ethnic groups.

But it is disingenuous to suggest that the experience of every ethnic group has been the same. Anti-Igbo violence began under the British colonial government, with complex roots and manifestations. But the end result is a certain psychic difference in the relationship of Igbo people to the Nigerian state. To be Igbo in Nigeria is constantly to be suspect; your national patriotism is never taken as the norm, you are continually expected to prove it.

All groups are conditioned by their specific histories. Perhaps another ethnic group would have reacted with less concern to the Oba’s threat, because that ethnic group would not be conditioned by a history of being targets of violence, as the Igbo have been.

Many responses to the Oba’s threat have mentioned the ‘welcoming’ nature of Lagos, and have made comparisons between Lagos and southeastern towns like Onitsha. It is valid to debate the ethnic diversity of different parts of Nigeria, to compare, for example, Ibadan and Enugu, Ado-Ekiti and Aba, and to debate who moves where, and who feels comfortable living where and why that is. But it is odd to pretend that Lagos is like any other city in Nigeria. It is not. The political history of Lagos and its development as the first national capital set it apart. Lagos is Nigeria’s metropolis. There are ethnic Igbo people whose entire lives have been spent in Lagos, who have little or no ties to the southeast, who speak Yoruba better than Igbo. Should they, too, be reminded to be ‘grateful’ each time an election draws near?

No law-abiding Nigerian should be expected to show gratitude for living peacefully in any part of Nigeria. Landlords in Lagos should not, as still happens too often, be able to refuse to rent their property to Igbo people.

The Oba’s words were disturbing, but its context is even more disturbing:
The anti-Igbo rhetoric that has been part of the political discourse since the presidential election results.  Accusatory and derogatory language – using words like ‘brainwashed,’ ‘tribalistic voting’ – has been used to describe President Jonathan’s overwhelming win in the southeast. All democracies have regions that vote in large numbers for one side, and even though parts of Northern Nigeria showed voting patterns similar to the Southeast, the opprobrium has been reserved for the Southeast.
But the rhetoric is about more than mere voting. It is really about citizenship. To be so entitled as to question the legitimacy of a people’s choice in a democratic election is not only a sign of disrespect but is also a questioning of the full citizenship of those people.

What does it mean to be a Nigerian citizen?
When Igbo people are urged to be ‘grateful’ for being in Lagos, do they somehow have less of a right as citizens to live where they live? Every Nigerian should be able to live in any part of Nigeria. The only expectation for a Nigerian citizen living in any part of Nigeria is to be law-abiding. Not to be ‘grateful.’ Not to be expected to pay back some sort of unspoken favour by toeing a particular political line. Nigerian citizens can vote for whomever they choose, and should never be expected to justify or apologize for their choice.

Only by feeling a collective sense of ownership of Nigeria can we start to forge a nation. A nation is an idea. Nigeria is still in progress. To make this a nation, we must collectively agree on what citizenship means: all Nigerians must matter equally.

Culled from Ekekeee.com

760 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   601 – 760 of 760

Exactly
Like yorubas can claim calabar is no mans land because it was once the capital. You came to lagos with nylon bags now you are saying it is no mans land. Would u have come if it was not better than where u were.
Lagos became the capital bcos it was alrdy great

Who are u? If not for colonial masters and other tribes, do u think Lagos would have been this developed? So shut your trash if u dont know what to say. Your Oba is stupid and foolish. Accept it.

Is it a coincidence that the oba is saying this just some days before the gubernatorial election. Well I think his words are just part of a vice to stair up sympathy votes. And this medium is just a way to intensify a cold tribal war that has been in existence even before amalgamation.

Point of correction: yoruba people are the dirtiest people in Lagos. Have u been to Isaleko? Go and see how they live there. They are pigs. I agree Ibo pirate but for dirt, pls yorubas are dirty

The honest truth is, what the Oba said is wrong, or better still how he said what he said was wrong. Lagos is a predominantly a Yoruba State, very much accommodating to all tribes, that is why Lagos can afford to have any tribe as a high political officer, but then when Igbos make sentences like they ought to have deputy governor position, they make things hard to understand. The real issue is, will the Igbos in Amanbra or Imo accommodate any tribe aside from them even if they have been there all their lives. The issue here is the ibos won't even allow you to thrive in their place. Now they won't to hold onto equal rights in Lagos, and make sentences like Lagos is no mans land.
So yes I disagree with the Obas statement, as an Oba, he hasnt spoken well, becuz he his not oba of yorubas only but Oba of all people in Lagos, but then Chimanada please don't let sentiments get the better half of you, criticize the Oba if u wish to, but don't play that grateful card. Ibos should understand dis is a Yoruba State and the yourbas have respected them, it's only right they RESPECT themselves..

The people that kept quiet did it because of wisdom. So dont blame them. At times u apply wisdom in dealing with issues. It is not everytime you fight. I know that 9ja body too dey hot for matter. Only the wise understand. Some of u are spiritually dull.

Williams Okikiola said...

I respect your pen Chimamanda as a lettered intellectual but I was disappointed with how you react to an altercations from Lagos king... you are in a best position to alleviate the sentiments that may I accompany the king's threat, anyway Lagos as everybody knows is a land of all . Beside, it is in Lagos that non indigene was elected into political class... did you mention this? an Igbo man is one of the commissioners in the same Lagos... did you refers to this? just to mention few.... we expect more from this than stereotyping one ethnic group at the expense of another, a writer should proffer solution to the crisis of consciousness but never to add to the high flame of being consciousness of criss. Thanks sister Adichie.

Well written. The Ova spoke like a FOOL. It's an act of jealousy for the Ibo tribe. Give a Ibo a penny and come back few years and be shock how effectively and afficiently he has managed the resources. Great people great minds

Williams Okikiola said...

I respect your pen Chimamanda as a lettered intellectual but I was disappointed with how you react to an altercations from Lagos king... you are in a best position to alleviate the sentiments that may I accompany the king's threat, anyway Lagos as everybody knows is a land of all . Beside, it is in Lagos that non indigene was elected into political class... did you mention this? an Igbo man is one of the commissioners in the same Lagos... did you refers to this? just to mention few.... we expect more from this than stereotyping one ethnic group at the expense of another, a writer should proffer solution to the crisis of consciousness but never to add to the high flame of being consciousness of criss. Thanks sister Adichie.

Igbos, if you like vote Jimi or even don't vote. I know that yorubas that are talking about voting for Jimi won't vote for him at the poll because of you igbos that are tribalistic. All yorubas love their parents no matter how harsh the parent is not like you igbos that use to belittle your parents. Jimi that you want to vote for is a yoruba and a son to Oba Akiolu. If he wins he will still bow down and greet the Oba not your Igwe. He won't leave Lagos and go and develop your east for you.
If you Igbos are that angry with the Oba, the best way to show your anger is to leave Lagos and go to your villages and set ur businesses their, maybe ur village can even rise up to Lagos standard one day.
APC made Lagos good for you ingrates to stay and flourish, yet you are still talking.
All the bad vices can be found in you people's hand, 419, child trafficking, etc. It is you igbos that are spoiling Nigeria name in other country.
Vote anybody you like and let us rest. Ingrates

Bade said...

What do u mean by respect political choice of the place? There's no such thing, you vote for you believe will do what is right, not the 'political choice' of the place.

When Afenifere asked Yorubas to vote for Jonathan, why didn't you all respect the political choice of the 'elders'? You voted who you wanted.

Igbos are not tribalistic and they are accommodating, most peole that say these things have never even left Lagos in their lives

Don't type in capital letters next time, it portrays you as being rude and uncultured.

Who said Igboland is not conducive for other people. The problem is that you guys are too lazy to hustle. After all, Igbo men go to some places that are not that conducive to hustle. You are just giving excuses for your incompetence period!

My father!

Like ebonyi abia enugu anambra where d useless igbo industriousness has made dem d eldorado. Jokers including dz linda dt block posts

You are so foolish! After insulting the people that will buy your tshirt, you go on to advertise...pity, your school fees is a waste!

Yorubaz can never v a complex cos of ibos. Our land gives prosperity and food to the ibos. History z replete with our humiliation of your forefathers. Our land z your greener pastures. We are proud of our history and heritage. You v none.

I think from what she wrote it's obvious Igbos have peculiar characters known by all that should be corrected, their pride and rudeness know no bounds. Even in your Ibo lands you still have OSUs among you. Yet you like to dominate anywhere you are. The Oba just reacted aggressively as per his background and the power bestowed on him. Lagosians are accommodating and very Lazy not all Yorubas, note.

OIL said...

Igbos must go, if u av an igbo tenant it's a problem cos der will never wanna leave.. they av very very very beautiful states dunno y der wanna die in Lagos including linda ikeji

So u did not post my comment mshew

Abeg u guys should go and rest and move on. U all started it by insisting not to vote for change by being tribalistic. All cos u felt ds solidarity to GEJ cos he is someone u guys can relate to. Stop forming victims here. Go back to ur respective villages if u do not like Lagos. For what it's worth there are indigenous Lagosians who are welcoming and do not take life as hard as u IBO's take it. So giv dem some credit and just move on. Stop inciting hate all cos u can write madam. Let it pass. As for d accommodation thing, as long as u continue to always trying to outsmart ppl and particularly landlords, u'll continue to b victims. U guys need to search deep and stop acting all innocent. Period.

Haha I never knew a day would come Igbo people ll act like victims. You people wanted Biafra. You want out of Nigeria but are crying because they said you should leave Lagos. Whether on point or not Igbos are not accommodating. So stop crying wolf. I know I can't go to Igbo land and build a house or be a landlord! I ll feel like a fish out of water. Until Igbo people themselves stop acting like they Dont want to be part of Nigeria there ll always be a mistrust. Dont forget there is Biafra in Spain now. Why should we trust you people.

U just bcame tribalistic bro, so a yoruba person cannot be great, bcos u re igbo u will
be great, guy wise up

U guys r so annoyinngly delusional. Y dont u bastard take your magic wand to your forested and cursed igboland. Isnt it too obvious yorubaland z a blessing to igbos. If you continue dz way u ll all CRY like in d 60z.

Chimanda or wats her name is as tribalistic as any igbo man....the igbos have the blood of tribalism flow in there veins. ...anyway am sure we knw wat the Nazis did to the jews.thats wat will soon happen to the ibos...they will get to taste a cup of there own drink...the caused the civil war so y still cry abt it...dummies...Lagos was developed before the so called ibos migrated to ibo ..or isnt it a rural-urban migration..so hw did dey develop Lagos..did dey build more roads or hospitals...yeye people

The truth is that many of us belong to one religion or the other, we read the holy books, which preach love of God and neighbor, yet we are so hateful and divisive, we are so tribalistic and ethnically biased in all we do, still we are hoping to go to heaven or get any kind of reward from God, who created the entire human race out of one man. It will be sad and unfortunate for such ones, because there will be no room for such ones in the Kingdom of God. Hausa, Igbo, or Yoruba, we are one, we all head for the same ultimate end. Freedom of speech or not, hatred of a tribe or ethnic group cannot be justified with any cogent reason. It smacks unreasonableness and arrogance for anyone irrespective of how high his stool or office is to command the Igbos around, and threaten their lives, because of his political leaning. For those who care know; there is no man with absolute freedom for ones freedom ends, where another's begin, hence the Oba's freedom of speech does not take away or invalidate the freedom of association (including the choice to vote for any candidate or to be voted for) of the Igbo nationals in any way. It is an unalienable right of all Nigerians to decide who to or who not to vote for. It remains sacrosanct, as enshrined in the constitution. That's all I have to say.

I agree we should become nigerians before being igbos/yoruba/........ but truth be told right nau we re presently, yoruba or igbo or......before being nigerian

Thank u and God bless

Y dnt u ignore wat d oba of lagos said nd vote. I am totally against wat the oba of lagos said but ur comment is just as senseless. I hav one igbo friend who lives like a pig so decency and cleanliness is not a tribe thing but it is a personal thing. Grow out of ur sentiments, it is unnecessary comments like this that causes trouble. #NoHate

OIL said...

I LIKE.. WE R ON THE SAME PAGE

Your very stupid. Fake ass people keep commenting here. Show your ugly face let's see.

U need to relax, u talk about fighting? Hav u forgotten that the very person who led u to war abandoned ur lot to die? Grow out of ur sentiment, ignore wat the oba said cus frankly ur comment is just as senseless.

WHEN YOUR SISTER (LINDA IKEJI) DEY ALWAYS MOCK YORUBA CITY (IBADAN) FREQUENTLY AND ENDED WITH HER SARCASTIC ATTITUDE SAY, YOU KNOW I LOVE U GUYS. NO ONE DEY CRY WOLF AND YOU GUYS ALSO DEY LAUGH, BUT WHEN THE TABLE DON TURN AROUND, YOU GO DEY CRY VICTIMIZATION AS IF THE MATTER NO GO REST AGAIN. THE OBA FUCKED UP AND PEOPLE DON CONDEMN AM, ABI WETIN YOU WANT SELF.

THAT WAS THE SAME THING THAT HAPPENS WHEN FASHOLA DEPORTED SOME DESTITUTE TO AND RELOCATED THEM TO IBADAN, OSUN, KANO AND SOME STATES IN THE EAST, YOU TOOK THE SAME MATTER FOR HEAD AS IF IT WAS ONLY IGBO PEOPLE THAT THE SAME INCIDENT HAPPENS TO. WHY ALWAYS VICTIMIZATION CARD AS IF SOME PEOPLE DEY MALTREAT U. MAN UP MY IGBO PEOPLE.

I KNOW THAT THIS WOMAN WOULD WRITE ESSAY COS IT ALWAYS REFLECTS IN HER THOUGHT THAT SHE STILL DEY NURSE GRUDGE WITH YORUBA, BUT SHE MAKES SENSE AS WELL, OBA UTTERANCES CARRY WEIGHT, SO HE MUST WATCH THE WAY HE TALK

Are you serious?? I stay in Enugu and Yoruba's here are free to do whatever they like. Don't stay there be fielding horrible problems and you can't carry. It's a free world and Enugu is a perfect place full if intellectuals. They know what it means to be one Nigeria. So please shut up Mr Adewole.

See your mouth.. ewure Gambia

Explain wat u mean by lagos is nufn without the igbos, u don turn to God? Ur comment does not make anysense, try sumfin betr or back it up with facts, wat exactly hav u done in lagos that u think we cannot do without u?

Oh please get out.

Patiently waiting for you in d lagoon!!!!!

Chioma said...

Linda, you posted this on the morning of election? Continueeeee. Iya e wa ninu cooler. Your nemesis is doing press up.

You didn't post my comment this morning Linda @Anonymous

beautiful piece from an unbiased writer.but after all has been said,we need not hold on to the notion of ''biafra''.we as nigerians are tryna live together in peace but unfortunately,some still want a seperation of states. I certainly wiil not be able to comprehend how a ''one nigeria'' would happen if we want ''BIAFRA''..josh tunde(fb)

Chi na wa ooooo all this yarn too much na,biko temper justice wit mercy.

Anons 11:47 God bless u jare...... Well said..... Igbos can not tolerate yorubas like the way we tolerate them in yorubaland neva ever

Osinachi IBIAM-URO said...

Are you really human? #throwsup!

For ur mind...... U igbos claim u develop lagos y dont u go to ur ABA & ONITSHA and develop it so we can say is no mans land.......eyin mofos

U speak my mind i swear

I am Igbo and proudly so. I have thot long and hard about the Oba's statement and I must confess dat it didn't go down well with me but it got me thinking that we d Igbo's should not just focus on the words but see a deeper meaning. We should understand dat no matter hw long u are here u will and cannot claim lagos as ur state of origin. We have an origin and dats where home is.
Nw to the yoruba's that agree with d oba's statement, I don't knw if u guys have sat down to think abd observe. Most of the inovations this land lagos has to boost about where not brought about buy ur people, Dey where brought into lagos by other people fron other ethnic groups. Have u asked urself what lagos would be like if all d igbo's in it are sent away. Where would u get spare parts, Aspandau,trade fair, yaba,alaba,transportation services for travellers, cinema's hotels. Etc.
It seems u would still hv to come to us to get dis tinz. Even ur clothes and under garments.

Make una think am well oooo.
All the tax we pay nko? Where would u generate internal revenue from. Most foreign establishments would pull out and does that want to stay would still pay their igbo staff as Dey would expatriates.
But the most important thing that would happen is dat lagos would no longer be the only centre of attraction. U know y? Becos knowing who my people are, we would build our place with d same vigur as we did urs.
So pls send us out! So dat we can begin early!!!

You are a mugu!

Unfortunately most of the morons here will not understand what she wrote. No matter what prejudiced Nigerians will say or do, Igbos own Nigeria because an Igbo man Nnamdi Azikiwe snatch her out of British tutelage. It is a question of time, Ndi Igbo must overcome.

Or we can all go back to our states with all our properties from Lagos and see if we can develop our states. He made a blunder and he can't take his words back bcos he is an Oba. I can speak for myself Lagos is home to me. Can a Yoruba man buy a shop in Aba or onitsha? Can any eastern state allow a non indigen be a commissioner? Or run for office? That would be the day. Lagosians are liberal and are welcoming. So let's put sentiments aside and face facts. I love Chinamanda so much. But for a state that has been liberal to us for over how many years be thrown away because of one comment???? I am the third generation in Lagos. we talk like Lagos is not a state and belongs to no one. We must learn to respect lagosians and love them....let this hate and tribalism stop..... And if Jimi wants to use divisive politics to gain votes I hope it works for him bcos it didn't vote for Jonathan. We can only pray for Nigeria.

Bloody fool! U will die in your sleep today by my Ibo charm😈

Finally a decent response after Pat Utomi's rather irresponsible comment , most comforting and encouraging coming from someone of my generation.

Noted. Have u seen d story about Flavour's niteclub? Check out naijacarlovers.blogspot.com.

1960 is diff from 2015,the corruption then ws less the obas of now av sold deir right to power

This is a true daughter of the great IGBO speaking. Am proud of you my sister. Truely we are simply the best and we always stand out in whatever we do,wherever we are, no wonder other tribes especialy the OFEs envy us a lot.

a lot of people here makes this a waste of comment cos they are very senseless. every other tribe don't like to mix with yorubas because they are dirty, 2 faced, back stabbers, loud even abroad, tribalistic and u see that as they speak their language everywhere and like to have only yorubas around them, so they can easily gossip others especially if the 3rd party don't hear yoruba, they are like obasanjo- can't be trusted! If you can come here and say lagos oba is more sacred than the whole igbos then u are a bastard with no brain... even edos and other tribes don't like yorubas!
Are yoruba's not in PH and Delta where they benefit from oil companies? bastards! well, u may want to be separated from the oil and u can continue enjoying your red oil. fools! Now u can enjoy rubbish comment like the ones you have been loading here.... deadists!

All dese lagosian wagging there mouths,if dey removed d seaports and airports from Lagos, Lagos is shit!!! That is just the igbos interest there #teamjimiagbaje

Kemi u and ur family will die in the lagoon Ashe. It's ur family that will carry corpse one by one. Hateful little twat. Anything u say back to sender.

Scotland protest to leave UK, because they feel they re not being treated fairly and subordinated... so is that wrong? Ireland actually left. Now you lot being so tribalistic and one-sided as usual talking rubbish because Igbos wanted to same.
Even incorporate organizations yoruba's will gossip u to death, UK, US, everywhere, u can't trust them! They are as wicked as hell! Even they don't like each other. Ijebu don't like ogun and vice versa. Come here and insulting a Chimamanda that wrote a gentle sad note that was meant to make people stop hating... she didn't even slightly insult anyone. damn! You are for real just showing yourself.

Na so D'banj show him yoruba side thinking say he go dull don jazzy... who come dull last last? deadists...

Scotland protest to leave UK, because they feel they re not being treated fairly and subordinated... so is that wrong? Ireland actually left. Now you lot being so tribalistic and one-sided as usual talking rubbish because Igbos wanted to same.
Even incorporate organizations yoruba's will gossip u to death, UK, US, everywhere, u can't trust them! They are as wicked as hell! Even they don't like each other. Ijebu don't like ogun and vice versa. Come here and insulting a Chimamanda that wrote a gentle sad note that was meant to make people stop hating... she didn't even slightly insult anyone. damn! You are for real just showing yourself.

the truth is always bitter ★Yoyo,hmmm to vote 4 a candidate is a choice not by force.

Mennnn we should all just separate since yoruba ppl clearly want to stick with hausa... we others can stick together, Thank God we were blessed with Oil, Brain and Strength. Yoruba and hausa can manage palm oil and cattles. deadists! Abi una go still claim oil wey no dey una land?

God blessed every body just stay cool no tribalism in lagos just make peace thank you...

Chima has spoken well by addressing the idea, but I will like to focus on a different empirical, here by asking some salient questions:
1. What kind of relationship do the Igbos in Lagos had with the Oba?
2. This curtesy call to the Oba's palace, how offen had it been?
3. Had this kind of abuse been going on for all these years without any media reporting it or the Igbo community been quiet about it?
4. What was the reasons given by the Ndi'gbo for visiting the Palace, was it gpolitically motivated?
5. Is the Igbo population that significant to that of the Non indigens that they have separate themselves from the others that constitute 61% of the population of non indegines?
6. Why do the Igbo traders think that other non indegines do not deserve representation in a planned curtesy call if ther are no motives?
7. Will I not be correct to tag the Igbos as dividing a population accounting for a majority in Lagas state along tribal lines?
I await open-minded relation to these questions

Unless you repent Kemi U are cursed! U shall know no peace, every bright thing in your life will turn grey, Ur corpse will be carried before an ibo corpse in no distant time, you shall bear no fruit before you kiss the dust, if you try to pray yourself out of this curse without repentance, your death will come sooner....I have decreed and it is established RIP KEMI

AbiolaVJ said...

Dumb dude looking for attention.

Mista Short said...

I am a Yoruba man from Ogun State born and bred in Lagos. I used to have neighbours also born in Lagos who spoke Yoruba fluently even though they were Igbo. Are they less Lagosian than I am? I think the threat is for all non indigenes and not just Igbos. So we should go ahead and call his bluff! I'm voting Agbaje, who sees us in d same light. You all should do the same!

Idiot!

jasper De King said...

Well spoken my lady Chimamanda, some people that's commenting rubbish here regarding this post can't even read and understand that's why they misyaning! Am proud to an Igbo cause Igbo Amaka

ibidapo said...

You open your mouth say ‘The Oba can’t really do anything, he isn’t actually going to kill anyone. He was joking. He was just being a loudmouth.’.
May thunder fire your mouth there.

What has what she said got to do with hatred for the yorubas. You guys are the ones throwing all the hate you got on the Igbos, yet you go about pretending to be the victims. Anumanu!

That is why an hausa man is the richest in Africa......the same uneducated hausas are far better than you. they don't make noise about it,they simply do the do!. U think its by importing fake goods from China and colonizing alaba. U guys should wake up.when next anyone applies for a visa and u r asked for ur nationality, pls tell them you are igbo or yoruba and not a nigerian!

What culture and tradition? To fall for your cheap threats and allow you trample on our rights as Nigerians?! Well, that is so pathetic!

She's an imbecile. Who has any fucks to give over any Igbos opinion?! She needs to find a recliner and lay down her burdens joor.

Igbos are a bore. The rest of us reasonable Nigerians are done with your stupidity.

You ate so bitter. Where is it stated in the bible that igbo people are the anointed one? Fool like you.

Award of most tribalistic people in the world goes to the Igbos.

A good product from Igboland well spoken

The reason why I always have a problem with chimamandas words is its so obvious that she's a tribalist. I mean if u are going to talk about an issue the least u could do is to say the full truth. U don't think it is offensive to Yoruba people to say a Yoruba state, A place which started out as a full Yoruba land is a no mans land because it happened to be the capital of Nigeria. Calabar was also the capital of Nigeria why isn't anyone saying it is a no mans state. Let's call a spade a spade yes what the oba said was wrong. He should apologise for saying that. And words like that should never be uttered again. But the igbos also owe the Yorubas an apology. By saying Lagos is a no mans land what u do is create more enemies than friends. No one is saying u are not welcome. Every tribe is welcome but don't overstay your welcome and start acting like u own it. Why is it that it always balls down to igbos having problems with one tribe or the other (growing up there was a saying that says if u are always having problems with people then u yourself are the problem) I never believed in all the stuff my parents and grandparents said about Igbo people while growing up cause I never saw any of those things. But recently I am beginning to see sense in all they are saying. In the past I felt tribalism will end with the generation of our fathers but it seems people's lack of respect is beginning to brew this concept in the minds of the youths). Also why doesn't she highlight the fact that in onitsha no one would sell a non Igbo especially a Yoruba person land. Why isn't that mentioned in this essay. She fails to mention how numerous igbos own lands in Lagos and other Yoruba States. No one is going to say I will not sell land to u because u are not Yoruba. But u go to Igbo land and no one sells land to you if u aren't Igbo. And that reason is part of the reason why u don't see many Yorubas in the east. Please for next time aunty tribalist, when u want to write an essay please state all the facts or don't say anything. Ur one sidedness on issues is rather degrading to the woman race.

Keep you stupid mouth shut. Fool.

Chimamanda is her real self and observed the basic values of love truth, peace, right conduct and non violence. Oba should mind his understatement. We are all Nigerians, and everybody has right to say anything that is in line. Why will Oba say that igbos should be thrown into the Lagoon for not voting. Oba is not the God of igbo.

Gossip about who? Nobody cares about you people.

Every Nigerian should be able to live in any part of Nigeria. The only expectation for a Nigerian citizen living in any part of Nigeria is to be law-abiding. Not to be ‘grateful.’ Not to be expected to pay back some sort of unspoken favour by toeing a particular political line. Nigerian citizens can vote for whomever "
Those are your words but are your people welcoming to people of other tribes. Before u can expect something from someone u should be willing to give. U do not deserve what u cannot give. We have always shown every tribe love and respect. But constantly we get disrespect from the Igbo people. How do u think that makes Yoruba people feel. Also please stop with the Lagos was the capital of Nigeria. Calabar was the capital of Nigeria. Yet no one disrespects her. Ibadan Abeokuta. Ondo. All other Yoruba States have non Yorubas who own lands and they are living happily. Which Igbo state can u say allows non igbos to buy land in their state. Not to talk of being a part of their government. Let's work on ourselves first before we expect something from others. If u showed other tribes half the love and respect we have shown u. We won't be having this discussion

Thank you my sister/brother. Tell them.

Look there are typical yoruba towns too where no other tribes can thrive as well. Lagos is a metropolitan state okay.

just say it said...

Dear Nigerians,

I am Igbo and reading all this comments made me ask these questions:
1. Are my a Nigerian?
2.Do other tribes think I deserve to be Nigerian?
3.Is the civil war genocidal?
I have never felt less a Nigerian till date.My best Friends all my life have never been Igbo.
My parents never told me to have only Igbo friends.
Chimamanda wrote to educate and correct an impression.Not to curse or for a feel of superiority.
Please let us be Nigerians and not Igbo and yoruba.You must also remember that a tribe as such must have something about them, making other tribes uncomfortable merely by existing.
Dear Oba,this 2015 and not 1966,the world is watching.
Peace.

just say it said...

Dear Nigerians,

I am Igbo and reading all this comments made me ask these questions:
1. Are my a Nigerian?
2.Do other tribes think I deserve to be Nigerian?
3.Is the civil war genocidal?
I have never felt less a Nigerian till date.My best Friends all my life have never been Igbo.
My parents never told me to have only Igbo friends.
Chimamanda wrote to educate and correct an impression.Not to curse or for a feel of superiority.
Please let us be Nigerians and not Igbo and yoruba.You must also remember that a tribe as such must have something about them, making other tribes uncomfortable merely by existing.
Dear Oba,this 2015 and not 1966,the world is watching.
Peace.

You feel yoruba people are very accommodating because of Lagos?... look that's a lie , Lagos isn't like any other state in Nigeria, it's a metropolitan state, so you can see as many tribes as possible there. Igbos in general are the kings of commerce in Nigeria and Lagos is the commercial capital of Nigeria.

Ibos r accomodating to the yorubas in the east but the yorubas there will not rise up and tell ur obi that enugu, Ph, etc is no man's land or they built enugu or ask ur obi to apologize to them ...ibos have crossed the boundary they r biting the hand that fed them...Lagos is no more metropolitan area , abuja is so ibos should go east or go abuja

Jealousy of who?

The reason why ibos r used as scapegoat is because u pple r loud, aggressive and violent just like african americans...u were the first pple to initiate unnecessary coups in nigeria just to b leaders by all means n u lost....u ibos lost ur respect long time ago n no tribe will respect u thank God ur BASTARD Ojukwu is dead...APC for life

Well stated.

GBAM!!! COME N CHECK THEM OUT IN USA ESP NIGERIA EMBASSY IN NEWYORK. .NOTHING DIFFERENT FROM ASABA MARKET...THEY EMPLOY THEIR TRIBE PPLE ...THEY HATE YORUBAS LIKE SHIT N R READY TO RUN ANY YORUBA DOWN IN AMERICAN SCHOOLS...COME CHECK THEM OUT

Shut up pls u r ibo. ..no yoruba man talks like u

Stop deceiving yourself. Igbo people are the most uneducated bunch.

I'm half Ibo and half yoruba... I watch my parents and envy their die hard love. And come here and see these comments and I'm lost. WTF? This can make any man/woman wanna cry. Please grow up you lot.

Lagos is this lagos is that. ..ur MAMA OR PAPA FOR ONITSHA BUILD ONE...NO BE ASHEWO U COME LAGOS DO TO FEED UR PAUPERS...FOOL,..GO BUILD ONITSHA

IBOS R WORST o

ONITSHA or all ur FUCKED up bio state is nothing without YORUBAS

Really, you can as well go back to your village and develop it. For the record without Lagos, most you Igbos is as good as zero. Lagos made you not the other way round. Stop deceiving yourself buddy.

Bitch u r a fool. U r still voting for a yoruba man in a yoruba land...u pple r BASTARD

Thanks so much Linda for posting my comment @Anonymous 11th April 08.51am. For some of you claiming Lagos, please read this piece.
The original inhabitants of what is known as Lagos state today were the "Awori" tribe though they speak Yoruba. Before the name, Lagos, was adopted by the Portugese, the settlement was called Eko by its Kingdom of Benin conquerors. The Benin Empire led by the Oba of Benin conquered the Awori people around 1300-1400 CE. A Benin Prince called Ado was the first Oba of Lagos (Eko). The Oba of Benin even sent some of his chiefs, including the Eletu Odibo, Obanikoro and others, to assist Ado in the running of Eko (Lagos). Ado and all of his successors ruled Eko (Lagos) for over four centuries until 1841, when Oba Akitoye ascended to the throne. Oba Akitoye was the first Oba not to be buried in Benin. Prior to this, all the Obas of Lagos (Eko) were buried in Benin. They passed on taxes to the Oba of Bini until the British came. Oba Akitoye ceded Lagos to the British. The British later seized Lagos (Eko) as a colony in 1861 and the remainder of Nigeria in 1887. When the British established the Colony and Protectorate of Nigeria in 1914, Lagos (Eko) was declared its capital. Until the coming of the Benins, Lagos's geographic boundary was Lagos Mainland. Lagos Island, the seat of the Oba of Lagos, then consisted of a pepper farm and fishing posts. No one lived there. The name Eko was given to it by its first king, Oba Ado. Eko was the land area now known as Lagos Island where the king's palace was built. The palace is called Iga Idunganran, meaning "palace built on the pepper farm". Oba Ado and the warriors from Benin, as well as some of the indigenous Awori people who sought safety, settled down in the southern part of Eko called "Isale Eko", Isale literally meaning bottom, but must have been used to indicate downtown (as in Downtown Lagos). Modern-day Lagosians have so intermingled that no single tribe or people, not even the Yorubas, can claim it even though the predominant language is Yoruba.
I'm an Igboman leaving in Europe and so upset after reading some comments from my Yoruba brothers concerning the flagrant and very divisive speech made by Oba Akiolu. The Oba must, I repeat, must apologise not only to the Igbos but also to Nigerians. For those of you attacking Chimamanda for her intelligent and factual response, please sit back, read her response again and think hard.
Sorry for my long comment.

Agbaje is a yoruba man playing nice politics

There are some issues not worth over flogging in this 21st Century that the world has grown above premodial sentiments and very myopic thoughts. I remember vividly that Dr. Orji Uzor Kalu at one point appointed a good number of non-igbos, Yorubas inclusive, as SAs and Commissioners in his Cabinet. I also learnt from history that a Fulani man was at one point the Mayor of Enugu district, I also have on good record that some states in the North, in recent past, appointed some Igbos and Yorubas as SAs amd similar positions. it is sad that instead of improving in this positive direction, we want to allow ourselves to be dragged 80years backwards. The Oba's comment is a very sad development. It was and will remain out place until he tenders an unreserved formal apology. We should begin to see ourselves as Nigerians first before any Ethnic inclination.

So you finally abandoned your village?

Ibos sabotaged, betrayed, n kill themselves all because of their mouth n aggressiveness. ..

Ibo women that marry yoruba men r there for money reasons n r very tribalistic ...their children tend to b tribalistic like their ibo mothers...there r few bastards n foolish men in all tribes

Pls vote for a yoruba man

Story for the gods n all ur mansions shall perish...im yet to see ur mansions for onitsha

U better change ur state of origin to abis even me dat they born for lagos use our fathers state not where u r born

Lol ibos r intimidated darling or else their tongues wont b wagging

Lagos is a yoruba land. ...im a lagosian. ..if its not yoruba land y do u think yorubas r governor s...i dont knw y u guys vist nairaland too much...pple creating their own history to make themselves feel better....bullshit

Supermom said...

Yes they are so advance in how to dupe people and 419.

Supermom said...

Yoruba are local? So what are igbo people? Can we concluded that they are barbaric ?

Pls non Igbo folks, it is "Igbo pple" and not " "Ibo pple". I get mad when I am addressed as Ibo gal cos I am not an Ibo gal but an "Igbo gal". Pls my dear Igbo brothers and sisters insist on being addressed correctly , they shld not choose what to call u rather tell me how u want to be addressed and stand up for the Igbo race.

Supermom said...

Igbo own Nigeria ke? For you mind.

You made your point in a very respectful way. Your parents should be so proud of you. Hugs!

Supermom said...

You sound so bitter, nobody want to mix with you either. You can as well go back to Enugu so that we will never see your rear light ever and ever again. Omo a jo kuta ma momi.

Which of your mind did she speak,can you write that epistle she wrote dia? Agbaya!

I bet you're a yoruba illiterate. Just see how you have displayed your level of ignorance...you don't just have sense, common to read article and comment like a normal human being, you cant. Anumpama! Idiot!

see the nonsense spewing out of your mouth.
create ur biafra and buzz off d West.

O.N. Progeny said...

And who told you that? Has anyone of ur tribe scattered in Igboland ever tried to be voted for and Igbos stopped him? U seek electorial office in a place you have contributed hugely and have good number of people who believe in you and are ready to vote for you. Seeking elective office is democratic.

Kin said...

The Igbos are perhaps the most tolerant group of people in the world. The large population of Igbos in virtually all the States of Nigeria is not necessarily a sign of toleration by the natives but rather an index of the ability of Igbos to embrace people no matter their ethnicity, race or religion. Consider that the very first Head of Government in Eastern Nigeria was Prof. Eyo Ita who was in charge of government in Enugu. The very first Mayor of Enugu was Alhaji Umaru Altine from Sokoto State. Both of these men were in charge of a population made up mainly of Christian Igbos.

O.N. Progeny said...

So u wish it away. We may forgive but not forget.

Well said.

O.N. Progeny said...

U r a fool for saying that. Igbo's don't live in Abuja? Your people are scattered all over my village, talk more of our my capital. You don't know it? O becos no one harasses them. How could u with your amala brain expect a Nigerian living in Nigeria to be grateful to you. Lagos was former capital of this country built by oil money from Niger delta and our industry. Does lagos sound like Ogun, osun or Oyo? Or does lagos look anything closer to rusted cities of mud you have in ur typical Yoruba cities? Rather Lagos looks like what obtains in every eastern city. Go check it out, fool.

O.N. Progeny said...

Maybe you should come to igboland and found out it's all round hustling for everyone as obtained here. Lagos never made it condusive for everyone, u hustle it out here and make it. Igbos got what ever they have by hard work under stringent and tribalistic government.

God bless you Chimamanda! Well written. Unfortunately many of our Yoruba "brothers" will not bother to read and understand what you have written... I have lived and worked in Lagos since 2006 and it still amazes me how much the Yorubas (even small children who have had no real contact with Igbos) hate the Igbos. Christian and Moslem; educated and illiterate alike. It took me over a year to find a house to rent as the Landlords usually left a message with the Agents: "No Igbos". I've read most of the comments on this blog about this issue as well as numerous other comments on Facebook etc and I am amazed at how people are reacting to the Oba's clearly tribalistic and hateful comments for which he is unapologetic and unfortunately has a wide followership. May God help our country, especially one in which my colleagues at work and acquaintances have no qualms in telling me to my face (with no provocation) that they "hate Igbos".

TWAT! Keep up with ur oily stews. UGLY GENERATION!!!!

My dear logistics, take another look at your Post. Don't you think you're toeing the same line you're preaching against?

Ewu Gambia has spoken. Ibos have not abandoned their states and would never. Lagos used to be the federal capital, and as such it was a bee hive for businesses and investments. The Lagos seaport is also a contributor. Lagos is owned by all, a mini - Nigeria it is. Open your ducked up brains. Keep hating o. Omo Iranu!

It is important to note that before we are yorubas, igbos, hausas, fulanis etc.. we are fist of all Nigerians.. #SayNoToTribalism

Ajoke said...

If only our igbo people can answer these questions sincerely.

Oniranu, omo ale, omo jati jati, olori ibu, el'ete pomo. Ai ni'tiju. Ko wo ibo lo. Se oro l'oso ni? For your info, Lagos is no man's land. Big head!

Ajoke said...

Linda is Igbo and v tribalistic. Stella Dimoko is farrr better.

And you will definitely buy the book, thus contributing to her success. If it pains you so much, go enter lagoon.

Ewu...... Who be your people? Omo jati jati like you.

#SayNoToTrIbalism said...

Well it is important to note that, before we are yorubas, igbos, hausas or fulanis etc... we are first all of Nigerians.. So we should like together in unity no paying attention to anything... Unity in diversity.. #SayNoToTribalism

See your mouth.... Move on, ewu like you?

Little brain like you.

Hehehehehehehehe

Susiegurl abi wetin u call ur sef,just imagine how an old woman like u is behaving like a kid,I wonder what u teach ur children at home.old mama youngy

Abdul Adepetu said...

The Obama of Lagos comment in public is dangerous. I believe this was made in private. Those that video tape and exposed have motives for that. The past about Ibo predicament can not be wished away. But the federal system has continously taken them in. Maybe too slowly. They should wisely plan there Presidency now. And stop complaining.

Abdul Adepetu said...

Well honestly, the Ibo in lagos needs to be very very carefully. This is exactly what started Jos, plateau state problem. That became known as Christians and Muslims problems. Hausa are more in Jos and better exposed with economic might. They can swing elections. There utterances led to eventual wahala. Ibo ' s in lagos are playing with fire. Now they are bringing in Biafran war into this Oba's comment. Go with your host! Be careful. Sentiments apart. Ibo are hard working and industrious. But in a federation be strategic. Please

Loool.. after insulting a tribe. You boldly print your bbpin for sale of shirts.. The volume of ignorance that flows through the Nigerian Air and Waters is IMMENSE!! Too many Stupid people on this land... so tell me.. Tunday black.. Do you plan to have Igbo customers? or are your shirts for Yorubas and hausas only?

I feel sorry for you and all the Children you will produce.. they will be brought up in the ignorant air that you breathe.. the fact that someone so educated can spit such ignorance is extremely frightening..

Well said my dear

what the Oba said is totallly out of place. He needs to apologize to the entire population for that statement. I am a Yoruba person and I have lots and tons of friends from the South East and the South-South. When we as a Nation divide ourselves by ethnicity, religion, political parties etc, yet we complain about how we suffer for from racism from the Whites (like Russians, Ukrainians and UK). Racism has to stop. We all want to be seen and treated as a human being when we leave the shores of our Nation, but when we as a people cannot even co-exist without segregating ourselves via these channels, it becomes appalling. I urge us to drop all forms of racist behaviors and Love one another.

The Yoruba man is not industrious , so you will never find them in the east...

Wise words.

Useless tribalist.. Smh

Which of his Yoruba subjects. Make una no dey make excuses. He was wrong and should apologize.

Enough of d hate n insults...make we all take a chill pill guys.no tribe is perfect n we all have our reservations bout EVERY tribe.Ppl r often keen 2 point out the fault in others whilst forgetting the fact that they hv theirs as well which are just as terrible...@ damocheydxb,bros,get ur facts right before u start claiming fact from unfounded B.S...just saying.One Nigeria.

UCHE said...

THAT IS WHY I SAID THAT WHY I REFUSE TO SAY SOME ONE IS A RACIST EVEN THOUGH IT EXIT: OK TAKE FOR INSTANCE WHERE WE COME FROM WE ARE FAED WITH TRIBALISM AT NATIONAL LEVEL: TAKING MY PEOPLE AS A ASE STUDY; GO TO IGBOS THIS PERSON WILL SAY HE IS NOT FROM OUR STATE; AND BINSIDE OUR STATE HE IS NOT FROM OUR LOAL GOVT ; AND THE HE IS NOT FROM OUR TOWN;OH HE IS NOT FROM OUR OUR UMUNNA EVEN PEOPLE OF THE SAME PARENTS WERE STRUFLING FOR ONE THING OR OTHER: FOR ME AS LONG YOU STAND FOR THE TRUTH I DONT CARE WHERE YOU COME FROM AND IREFUSED TO VCTIMIZED BY RACISTS BECAUSE I UNERSTAND THAT THE "TRUTH" IS NOTALWAYS FAIR TO ALL CONCERN: SO WHEN IT DOES NOT FAVOUR ME RATHER CRY RACIST I THINK OF A WAY IT WILL FAVOUR ME OR THE PEOPLE AFTER ME ONE THING I NOTICE IS THAT WE AFRICANS DOES NOT LIKE TO START A PROJECT WE WILL NOT LIVE TO BENEFIT FROM: IF WE CAN DEVELOP OUR EAST TO BE BETTER THAN LAGOS ;IF WE START TODAY OUR HISTORY WILL NOT REPEAT ITSELF OVER OUR CHILDREN

Dailiesroom.com said...

I don't blame you haters. She has spoken and has the right to do so. You feel indifferent because it does not affect you or your ethnicity directly. Let's not drag ourselves back to the 60's cause you really don't want to know and experience the horror of another WAR and tribal conflicts.

Dailiesroom.com said...

I feel the issue of citizenship as it pertain to Nigeria is still not fully understood. The indigene vs non-indidene dichotomy have made matters even more complicated.

«Oldest ‹Older   601 – 760 of 760   Newer› Newest»