Is this really how to identify rotten eggs? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 10 April 2015

Is this really how to identify rotten eggs?

Is this method true or false?

188 comments:

True

No Idea..
.NOTE: Raise Your Words, Not Your Voice. It Is Rain That Grows Flowers, Not Thunder..

If u ask me..na who I go ask? Linda Ikeji, i dnt kno.

This is true. If an egg floats it is bad rotten, if it tilts it is ok to eat just older some air has already gotten in and fresh eggs sink.

charles ems said...

Very helpful....i needed it!

Lemme ask my grand ma, ina zuwa, chai I asked her o linda,her reply was who rotten egg don help???

All I can remember is my grandfather's method. Just throw the egg on d floor, if it breaks, then it's rotten.

MYS fabric bags lagos 08134794565, D60E8C4D said...

Mmmmmm true

So besides gossip and being judgmental,what exactly do you know my love?

IN DS CASE LINDA, OYO IS.UR CASE..TRY N TEL US..TOMJERRYSWIT

@amOwen said...

Would confirm myself....make I go buy egg...I dey cum

Its true, that technique has been used for a long time to identify old eggs from fresh ones.....

No idea

Linda, this is very true! Didn't you study home economics in secondary school?!

Return of the Mark said...

madam linda, it is very true. so u don't know? thot u knew everything; u are selling life jacket and cannot identify fresh eggs. if u like go buy d lifejacket wey ur ppl make, na bottom of the lagoon u go see ursef.

true

D problem is once u put it in water then if u don't use it almost immediately it gets rotten

Don't really know

diddy316 said...

its actually true

yeah Linda, it's very true.... i practice this alot before i break eggs.

not sure about the days but yes it is. always work for me.

Linda Na U sabi🙈🙈🙈

aya oba said...

Yes o! Very true

aya oba said...

Yes o! Very true

It's true Linda. I'm sure about that. It's an old method of identifying How old an egg is.

Very true, I have tried it several times. Linda take note!

Yes sisi Linda

Yes

IF THE PICTURE IS FROM POULTRY ASSOCIATION OF NIGERIAN.... Then It's True!

I saw something like this on social media, but have no idea if its true.
Lemme wait and read comments.

Yup...this is one very good way of identifying them.

Kponskii said...

A lot of people will try this.

dnt know......but will try it wen i get home

It's true Linda, d one floating u can't even eat again cos it's not only old but very bad

hrm paul ojeih said...

Linda we no no oo abeg ask patience Jonathan she suppose no.

Who the eggs help? Hhehe lol

I don't know

pamela said...

Very true.

I know rotten eggs will float.

... THE ARCHITECT....

Yes. Bad egg floats.

eka said...

i really don`t know
but l will start doing this...

it's true!

Will experiment to find out

Very true Lin. I've used the method for a long time. Works every time.

True....i do dat almost everytime before I fry my egg.

Yes. its true tried it out last week and it worked.

Very true

omolara said...

Very true

It works for me

Very true.

Yes o! It works perfectly!!!

yes.

Linda nwa....yes. Learnt it in foods and nut in secondary skool

getnnenna said...

yep. absolutely true lindyway. We learn every day don't we. *wink*

Osasemma said...

Very true.

wanna run a test will send u an observation report

***Dahenriez***

No idea. Lyk whch 1 precisely?

They are jesters

W.G. said...

Yeah it's true, it works...

We were told something like this when we were kids(30yrs ago) and i tried it, it worked.

Absolutely right.

DEE said...

YES, IT IS TRUE

Yes!!

Heard so too one tym. Dunno.

Linda u didn't do home economics in school? That method is true and is taught in school!

Quite true besides the spoilt ones will float too.
To buy your fresh eggs in large quantities at affordable prices,pls call 08068877538

Yes it's so true!

If u ask me , ma who I go ask"???

If u ask me na who i go ask eh Linda? Check out naijacarlovers.blogspot.com.

I don't understand mbok.

Very true.

Works in salt solution.

Its true..

We should be asking you na

So true
I just tried it and holy hell it panned out as it was illustrated
Crazy world I tell u

....SƖεεkz

TRUE.....learnt in standard medical textbook (community medicine)

Yea its tru

DEE said...

YES, IT IS TRUE

oyelekan said...

It is true.

its very true apparently.....but i eat it all....lol

Very True!

4nkylization said...

Very very true. I do it till date nd it works.

True!

Gloria Matthew said...

Yes it is very much true

Linda u hav water, and d necessary tin's there wit u to test dis, and u ask us. All d same, I hav not done dis b4 so I wil leave it for my other LIB readers to answer d question.

Yes oooo. I thought you should know better....abi u dey cook ni ?

Honestly I have been thinking about this, cos it happened this morning. I was washing the eggs b4 breaking, then I realised one of the eggs floated. I had d feeling it ws bad, I broke it and the yolk wa intact, even the egg white ws thick. And I read that, once egg white is watery, it means the egg is bad. Bt this wasn't d case, so I can't say. Over to you LIBers

Its nt factual at all

Very True

i will love to try this

gdys said...

I have to try it to know if is true

I heard dat too

Pamscrib.blogspot.com

Tis True

True but not guaranteed. Clearly, our Naija system hardly recognize expired eggs lol.

very true.

True

Partially true.

Cutevivylaura@gmail.com

Very true..
Kyriankelvin@gmail.com

Partially true.

Cutevivylaura@gmail.com

Drafag said...

@Linda it does. A fresh egg as good haugh unit (scale for egg) meaning the Albumen is still full and firmly attached to the Yolk. just like when you fill a plastic bottle with water it sinks. as days go buy the yolk flattens and detach from the albumen. just like when the water in the bottle is reduced the bottle will begin to float.

Partially true.

Cutevivylaura@gmail.com

Partially true.

Cutevivylaura@gmail.com

Yes linda.. if u watch a lot of cooking shows.. you'd see some chefs use this method.. even bakers.

Very true!

Innocentia Annie said...

Maybe i should give it a try
then i'll respond to it

Very True

true

Yes it is. It was in my comprehensive English textbook.

Linda why not try it...then you tell us...asking jamb question..

L.A said...

Yes....

Not sure! Let me try it

Dobzi fingers said...

Don't know if it's true or not but I use it

http://dobzifingers.blogspot.com/?m=1

dorismakas said...

Just hearing of it for d first time oo..

So tru...I usually do dis

Very true

D'ANGELS said...

Ummmh! Would surely try it out.

very very true linda, i watched it on some food network channel

Very true! Linda try it

Yes Linda it's true, the fluid inside starts getting thinner as it gets older, that's why it begins to float. You know when you crack a spoiled egg the fluid doesn't draw.

Ladies!! Looking for classy, versatile outfits to suits your various needs and budgets? Check out the official fashion blog of AURA and take your pick!
aurabytiti.blogspot.com

Yes it is

Is very true 100%

It may be true.. my F and N teacher said d same back then in school

Mz Hardtheyleye said...

It's very true, i'v done it several times.

All i know is that very old eggs float on water.

LIFE WITH GIGI said...

Its true o....I do this to know if the egg has spoilt. If it floats then its bad .

Hmm have no idea.

Yes its very true, i've been doing 4 a long tym

Cherrywillz said...

Yes very true, i've been doing it 4 long time

I think I've heard abt it before

Very true linda

I guess I will hv 2 try it....#general OLAMIDE!!!

LegendRules said...

It's very true... I make snacks and I work with eggs all the time. When it floats, it's so bad.

Yes

*Minxy* said...

It's true

Doctoressà.. said...

I only know of the very old one(which dey say is spoilt) and the fresh one...so its kinda true..

Doctoressà.. said...

I only know of the very old one(which dey say is spoilt) and the fresh one...so its kinda true..

ADA NDUKA-OSONKIE said...

Tested &proven method:
Egg floats - bad
Egg sinks - good

Hmmm am sure gona try dis

B Ud said...

Maybe not entirely reliable, Linda

B Ud said...

Maybe not entirely reliable, Linda

Very true Linda...

I think so too...heard it some time ago

very trie... learnt it back in pry school..

True. I use it anytime I buy eggs from suspicious outlets

Actually it is.

Very True!

Anonymous Solomon said...

Very true

Pearls said...

Very true, u should try it

Pearls said...

Very true, u should try it

Eric Uroh said...

True

Madam E. said...

i cant say oooo but will really like to know.

True

Yes very certain

It works so accurately

Mrs CJ said...

True

Experiment am na. U need to ask

Are the eggs kept in cold or hot water???

D floatn one is bad egg

Of course! I knew this since jss1. Even tried it to clarify my doubt

It's true.
I have experimented it as a kid, and I found it valid.

It's true.
I have experimented it as a kid, and I found it valid.

This method very true. Egg shells have tiny pores through which air gets into the egg. The longer the eggs are, the more the air in the airsac within the egg making the egg lightweight. This is why stale eggs float.

Osasemma said...

Yea. I knew this long long time ago. Just put it inside cold water

UMU ABAGANA said...

OLODO.LOL

Yes it is true madam linda. U too 2 shd try it now

Very true!!!

Olaide Davies. said...

Everybody knows this nau.

My grandma told me this as a child.

VERY VERY TRUE, I DO THIS ALOT. I RECOMMEND TO PEOPLE

True. We were taught this in school.

Lol. Tribalism drama too

So true!
Omazo

Ummm let's see...how to be a truly successful lady in every sense of d word. how about u hun?

monica ozigho said...

I've never had time for the water test, all I do is get two bowls, one small one big, when I break the egg, if good it goes into the big bowl but if bad, I rinse out. Simple!

Lmao!!!

Dreezy the quidnunc said...

Lmao, u really need help

Hahahahahahahaha
I would not try you grandpa's method.

You have to add salt to the water.

Wow will really luv 2 try it

Tue, from food and nutrition sec school days . i do this method always

SWILL MARTIN said...

It depends shaaaa oooooo buh it's 90 prcent true.