Stay back and form a formidable party - APC tells defecting PDP members | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 11 April 2015

Stay back and form a formidable party - APC tells defecting PDP members

John Oyegun, the national chairman of APC said today Saturday April 11th that the gale of defections by politicians was not good for Nigeria’s political development. Mr. Oyegun, who spoke to newsmen in Benin shortly after casting his vote, advised those defecting to the winning party to rather form a formidable opposition to enrich the nation’s democracy.
“Many opposition party members have defected to APC just because they lost out, that is not good for political development. One would have advised that opposition members should stay where they are, and form a formidable opposition party.” Mr. Oyegun said.
He described the governorship and houses of assembly elections as “the most decent, orderly and peaceful” ever conducted in Edo. Meanwhile, the APC national chairman won the election in his polling unit. Oredo East: Ward 2, Unit 1 Polling Unit, the first time since 1991 when he was elected governor.

(NAN)

110 comments:

Is left for yu to stop accepting them bcos this thing tire me i swear and by the way everybody wants to join the winning team....

gdys said...

True talk oh let them form their own party and stop looking for where is happening

Lyndo is it only politics news we'll read today?

AMEN

True talk

I agree with him on this.
These politician ain't loyal at all.

Good for them.

#word!

#i am proof that God answers prayers! God is the ultimate! Accept Jesus Christ today!#

lami said...

Words of wisdom.

Very well said, the thing tire me sef. I don't know where they are all running to. Linda take note!

Tell them o

These politicians are not loyal at all.

Rent a novel for FREE now,visit
Cynthiakalubookclub.blogspot.com

tsalz c.e.o said...

Heavy word of advise.. I guess it shows how dirty politics is.. dem no go gree sit don for one place.

Please tell themoo! Izzit by force, we don't want.
They should go and form a formidable opposition just like we did.

lol... now they making fun of them abi.. diaris God oooo

MAKE MONEY AT HOME FROM YOUR PHONE. CLICK HERE

Add up this BBM PIN : 7FE2D61B and get N500 to N10,000 credit of your network choice.

You can get free credit/recharge cards daily.

I need a good and humble boyfriend.. kinda lonely after past heartbreaks.. Add up 7FE2D61B and lets chat.. No liars wanted plsssss

So pdp pple ve started moving sharp sharp abi.. o ga oo

MAKE EXTRA INCOME FROM HOME. YOU'LL LOVE IT CLICK HERE

Nigerian politicians are chameleons. These fair-weathers lack dignity.
Membership of political parties in the country is not driven by any ideological conviction. Party discipline has been thrown to the wind. It's a case of garbage in; garbage out. Our politicians are like sheep without shepherd. Smite the shepherd, the sheep will scatter.
There needs to be decorum/sanity in the way politicians decamp to the ruling party. Such convergence is inimical to the genuine aspiration and growth of a democratic system.
Such scenario will only incapacitate the efficient functioning of the democratic mechanism.
This is why decent democracies across the globe institutionalized an effective federal structure. Unfortunately, Nigeria which prides herself as a federal system has all her powers being concentrated at the centre.
Therefore, we witness all manners of centripetal and convoluted assembly of strange bedfellows. Abuja has become a home of pilgrimage for political desperadoes. They have all become like lost souls in search of financial salvation.
Nigeria lacks a definite structure; Nigeria needs restructuring. Nigeria needs a people's constitution. Decree number 24 is the military device to distract the political class.
Sovereignty belongs to the people. A participant political culture is a sine qua non for the Nigeria of our dreams. Let's not rest on our our laurels.

SWILL MARTIN said...

****yawns useless political imagine d nonsense if na KOWA de board naim all of dem go run enta!

He is very correct

And he has to say that after today's election. Wat happened to him saying it before? Pretenders.

Good....stay back don't come and corrupt apc

Very good an timely advice. Am a PDP member and I will remain a member for as long as I continue to believe in the political ideology of the party which is anchored on National unity and prosperity.

SWILL MARTIN said...

#wooord! it's d plain truth if na KOWA win nau,naim all of dem 4 run enta useless politicians.

Wow! Dis is d most sensible words he has ever spoke "One would have advised that opposition members should stay where they are, and form a formidable opposition party".

chioma said...

Nice one they are virus

God bless dis man called Oyegun, I swear he spoke my mind

Words of wisdom.

Ojukwu must be turning in his grave at what Peter Obi did to his party.The APGA had a great showing in 2011.If they hadn't allowed money(greed) to tear them apart,they'll be giving APC and PDP a run for their money like APC is doing with PDP.

I'm deeply ashamed of my Ibo brothers and sisters.No one tears us apart but ourselves.Chief Bola Tinubu started his party and thru cuts here,mergers there,whether we like him or not,he's strategically placing his party in the main arena.first as the main opposition party and now as the ruling party at least for the next few years.

But like in the civil war,and like in Lagos,we think with our pockets rather than our hearts and brain.And we wonder why people insult us.You want to know why?WE CAN BE BOUGHT!SHAME!

Simple man..........I pray Samson Osagie wins his senatorial seat

lucy akanhi said...

Very well said! The whole defecting game is shameful to Say the least.

ahahaha...very funny...anyway, for latest gossips click here. https://m.facebook.com/olaniyisanyeri
dawnnaija.blogspot.com

while for job opportunities visit
jobhuntng.com

Tell the political prostitutes...no loyalty at all..very soon they will still go back when power changes hands..

Don't mind them, disgraceful politicians. Starting with Obasanjo

Fair weather pollutician una hear am? Ntor

Abi o. Pls tell. Dem o...we don't want rags biko!

Good advice to those lazy and over corrupt politicians, hope Apc don't allow them continue where they stop from via Pdp

tell them, Nigerians do notknow how to play politics

Click here for more

Lady C said...

Nd also d first tyme he will say d truth.

Dnt mind dem greedy bastards, all 4 their selfish interest.

Funmi Aiyenuro said...

He is so right

oouucchh !! that must hurt the PDP guys rushing in. hE won election? for what!?

Don't allow pride to come so soon

Bonario is just so daft sha. Umunna gi ju kwa gi. Nwaosi aka.

Thunder will comtinue to fire ndi ofe

Bonario must come from imo state. Nwanne rochas. Pair of roaches

Choi! See hand! Feedeefee is finished.

Rubylicious said...

Please tell them, they are like ants running towards sugar. Nigeria isn't a one party state, those PDP folks should remain in their party and form a formidable opposition.

Rubylicious said...

Please tell them, they are like ants running towards sugar. Nigeria isn't a one party state, those PDP folks should remain in their party and form a formidable opposition.

sean said...

What a shame

Rubylicious said...

CHERRY said...

Okay o!

yes all foolish people....internet and social media open their eye now their follow follow amd zombie package is so annoying....even leader of d opposition party is ashamed....well they took d campaigns too far..made it seem like War..now so much HATE everywhere...PDP became d victim of all their conspiracy and propaganda....everyone saw GEJ as d worst president in d world when Nigeria is still the strongest economy is Africa

iif this is true then apc is a sensible party. Some politicians use to misbehave a lot they think they are going up there to receive salary

Thank God, they need to reject everyone who deflected after the elections!

They all want to join the winning party. Ayiri own na shock me pass

Mrs TC said...

Very well said. My thot too. APC should reject them. We do not want another 1party to hv monopoly of our political power like PDP was until apc came onboard.

Then they should stop admitting defecting politicians now. I just hate the way we play politics in this country.

Purejoy said...

That's the 1st sensible statement i have ever read from Mr. Oyegun

I've always said the same. Nigeria needs at least two strong competing parties so that citizens can always choose the best

So if they weren't told they won't know. That's why d ibos doesn't have a party. Peter obi who could have continued from where Ojukwu stopped defected from APGA to PdP and now APGA is loosing out. If only they can stick to a party and make it strong. But no, every one want to join d ruling party until they fail again. #disloyalty#

Politicians in Nigeria don't have that patience and decency, neither do they have the credibility or focus. Mr Oyegun have mercy, don't send them away. Simply create an IDP (INTERNALLY DISPLACED POLITICIANS) Camp for the political immigrants.

He has spoken well, Nigerian Politicians have no shame. If APC members had decamped to the PDP party who would have formed the formidable team that led Buhari to power. Decamp or not Buhari won't answer you once you have a dented name or record. EFCC will still do their job on you.

Chai...see washing! I can imagine how dey feel ryt now

The reality is that even if the ruling party looses, they may influence how policies are implemented. So it does not matter. The opposition can influence development that ordinary citizens will benefit from as well. Actually gains of democracy lies on how opposition can influence the way ruling party governs by presenting an alternatives.

Thank you oo am igbo too so ashame of them

Chop Chop said...

True though but what an insult..,

Political prostitutes, they are simply following the money and not the ideology.
They should be viewed with disdain and are not to be trusted.

If Boko haram won the elections these people would join them too.

Good4them

ij said...

You spoke my mind.

I keep saying the defectors are not politicians, they're spoilers, reaping where they didn't sow. Shame on them and kudos to David Mark.

You are talking absolute rubbish! APGA did not have the financial base that APC had (Lagos State) to grow properly. Also APGA did not have a powerfull presidential candidate fronting it. If CPCC did not merge with ACN, where will they be now?

Actually, I don't think you are Igbo (your spelling "Ibo" gives you away), you a just a mischief maker typing nonsense that is totally unrelated to the subject matter being discussed. GO AND GET A LIFE! IGBOS WILL NOT FALL INTO THAT TRAP OF SUPPORTING APC AFFILIATED APGA!!!!

I hope they listen to him. Every Nigerian politician seeks relevance after every election no matter the cost. Quite shameless..

No b only decent election...mtshew..when ppl were voting without pvc in centres in Benin. Smh

Talk about patriotism i tot my leaders had it in them.. Its a pity . I love arsenal despite their failure i av never tot of leevin d team. I do not understand y grown up men fathers leaders of d nation will defect to other party simply bcos its losin. Them no wan go prison kirikri go soon full so mke una buy land inside dey build o...

He spoke well, and thumbs up to him.

Gerry said...

Well said. Ashewo party.Political Party Prostitutes #PPP

"Like we did" who are d we now??? U be politician oooh? For ur left mind

The only way Nigeria can move forward and attain a greater height is for us to have two formidable parties as an opposition.Only one party system is not viable.

Well said Mr.John biko PDP members / supporters, stop all this shamless act $ stick to ur party,it's not good 4 d political development indeed.

Abdul Adepetu said...

Please tell them! Uncle John , tell them, good number of APC members formed this formidable opposition that saw the President doing six years work in less than three months. Please let's have a formidable opposition party. Abi should we just start a new party. Ah Ah kilode. It's not going to be All protocol observed as usual!!!!

Good advice to greedy PDP members.

Yes he said it all, they should stop running to APC and they should remain in their PDP party. people deceive people party and APC also wins in Oredo ward 8. I cast my vote in Unit 7. (APC 73 vote) (PDP 48 vote) (Void 7 vote) (PPA 7 vote) Unit 8. (APC 64 vote) (PDP 43 vote) (PPA 4 vote) (void 1 vote) Unit 9. (APC 50 vote) (PDP 33 vote) (void 11 vote) (ACD 1 vote) (PPC 3 vote) (ACNPN 1 vote) Unit 10. (APC 74 vote) (PDP 72 vote) (void 8 vote) Unit 11. (APC 75 vote) (PDP 63 vote) (PPA 6 vote) (NCP 1 vote) (void 8 vote) (NNP 1 vote) (PAP 2 vote) (CPP 1 vote) (PPN 1 vote) (CAN 2 vote). (APC got 336 vote) (PDP got 259 vote) (PPA got 17 vote) (void 35 vote) the election in my ward where I cast my vote was peaceful in everywhere in Benin city. Sai Buhari all the way! #ihavedecided to vote for #change!

Sadly they can't reject them.

You are one thinking person amongst a lot. My Igbo brothers need to be more futuristic and strategic in their dealings rather than bragging about how much money they have

For once, APC sounding as if dem no like violence. Buh d PDP ashewoz make una take easy. It might b PDP tomoro n I wonda if u will now turn back to go lick up ya vomitz

PARENTAL ADVISORY!!!

Interesting to know APC av good heads....

aeesha said...

Concede

am at lost with this advice from oyegun. may b they dont want to share d booty with any body now they have won d election. remember the party was all over d place luring pdp men into their fold b4 election . they even pleaded with obj d do or die apostle to join them. governors from pdp were even handed d structures of apc in their states as soon as they jumped ship, leading to d exit of d original founders of d party. now oyegun has turned to solomon d wise man. this selfishness joo.

Lukman said...

Katakata don de burst for ur party! Buhari vs Tinubu, you never hear?

Ahahahahahahaha!, very funny and creative. Lol@ internally displaced persons( IDP) camp for political immigrants

Yes now I see them as stomach and shameless politicians that are looking for what to eat, Indecision is their first name, other parties should stop accepting them, If your party is not working why not sit down and lookf for solution its not far fetched all u need do is make use well of the position given to u and everything ll be alrite its dt simple instead of running up n down.
Awon ole gbogbo my advise: APC must not recognise them they are not honourable pple they are out to corrupt APC like they did PDP just imagine somebody dt followed Jonathan today and Jonathan lost next minute we don see am for buhari side what is d meaning of that? Its not good for our politics really. God will help us

That is not the best advice for detectors from PDP .they have end stage cancer PDP so the party has to die and they need to give birth to a new party with credible members so that they can start anew and form opposition for the right reasons. Meanwhile detectors should not come to APC until they have been sanctified physocologically fit and have gone through 6 months rehabilitation and 6 months evaluation on their mental state and moral decadence on what is wrong or right before they join any party

Well said sir! Disloyal opposition...looking for money only

Before elections you didn't complain. Now its a problem because you don't want to share the national cake with too many people. APC is the new PDP so deal with it. If u dont like it you can leave APC and go and create another formidable party.

life jackets go on sale as amode coasts to victory in Lagos. Lol

That is not the best advice for detectors from PDP .they have end stage cancer PDP so the party has to die and they need to give birth to a new party with credible members so that they can start anew and form opposition for the right reasons. Meanwhile detectors should not come to APC until they have been sanctified physocologically fit and have gone through 6 months rehabilitation and 6 months evaluation on their mental state and moral decadence on what is wrong or right before they join any party

5:33am,I am entitled to my opinion and your telling me I'm not of Ibo extraction based on ibo/igbo is not relevant to me.The last time I checked,my lineage is still the same.

As usual,we pick on the mundane and ignore the problem.I maintain my views and stand by it.APGA is our own party to build or to destroy.cpc/anpp had a share of the north.ad/ac had a share of the SW.APGA had the east.

Our APGA leaders rather than sell us out and gradually reduce our potency by abandoning our ship should have nipped and tucked here and there.In 2011,the ACN negotiated with the presidency without jumping ship (Peter obi).They gained much needed funds to fight another day(2015) whilst strategizing its merger plans.I hope you see what I'm saying,chief Tinubu negotiated.Give and take whilst maintaining control.

My tribe is prominent and successful wherever they choose to settle.by now,apga would have a formidable number ANYWHERE.Atleast enough for us to be respected thereby allowing us dictate or point to good political positions.I can go on and on but let me leave you be.Ignorance CAN be remedied.

Anon 3:17, you are not Igbo!

Add tami $ swit collection channel on bbm is all about fashion $ style! U luv it c00304c31 addd

Yes na.

Disgrace them and pursue them all. They should learn to stick one place and be responsible for once

@5:33am,you said "IGBOS WILL NOT FALL INTO THAT TRAP OF SUPPORTING APC AFFILIATED APGA!!!!"

What about PDP AFFILIATED APGA.?My friend,lets look inward and stop blaming everyone for our defects most of which are self inflicted.

We blame everything,everyone,living and non living.the war was a while ago.lets learn and build on the lessons learned instead of allowing it draw us back.lets prove our mantle for our children to live on and stop going backward.

Let us pick up,dust off and forge ahead.once again,this is my three and a quarter cents.ibo/igbo,it doesn't still change my origin.

They want already made cake.

Yemi said...

Ashewo politicians with no ideology nor dignity! Mr Oyegun, please tell them!

Tola Balogun said...

They don't have shame. GEJ will see now that he is surrounded with fake people. Not commuted at all. Ge can see the reason for his failure.

Na wao for Naija politician, they put themselves first before the country. too bad.

If they are serious, they should start with the first person who deflected OBJ. Then we will believe them.