Is there anything wrong with this photo? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 23 March 2015

Is there anything wrong with this photo?

Nigerians are going after presidential candidate for KOWA party, Prof. Remi Sonaiya for her posture while handing over a book to president Jonathan at the 2015 NEDG presidential debate. They feel that for a candidate aiming to take a job away from the president, the way she bent in respect or whatever courtesy she felt she was extending is wrong. Do you see anything wrong with this picture?

235 comments:

1 – 200 of 235   Newer›   Newest»

Nothin is wrong. Lindaobserve

Don't know

She is respectful, the kinda leader we need. Lindaobserve

Nigerians should learn to take a chill pill, must we complain about everything?! If you kneel down, they say "is he God?" If you don't they say "you don't have respect!" Haba my people, take one stand and stick to it!!!!

i don't agree with them, he deserves the respect she accord him, APC supporters must be against everything.

Na waoooh

Chi said...

Are they silly? He is still the President until May 29 and should be respected till that time. Nothing wrong in shiwing respect to the current President-competition or not. I think those having issues with this are APC supporters who lack manners-stoning a current President and washing an entire street after he visited.

Yes, something is wrong.
She doesn't look like she is contesting with him.
It looks like she is trying to find favour from him.

He is still the president for crying out loud.

Awon Stephen Oshi said...

'they' are idiots. I also see nothing wrong here.

I don't see anything wrong with dis pic..

Nigerians can be primitive. Its just a normal sign of respect. They expect her to be slapping him while giving him the book? it shows she is well cultured and mannered. He is still the president and she would do the same to her husband. I feel we should be voting her during the elections.

It doesn't matter if she's vying for his post; at the moment, he is still her president. Hence he deserves whatever respect this photo depicts.

Stupidity is the word.. She saw standing in front of her president.. Why shouldn't she show respect... Senseless mofos nai full this country

Hian! I think I should hold this brief for her.
I can't find anything wrong in her posture, notwithstanding her political ambition GEJ is still the president and should be accorded that respect.

Give honour to dose whom honour is due

He is still the President and deserves the respect and loyalty of his followers irrespective of their political affiliations. So there is nothing wrong in that.

She is a learned woman and we'll cultured... He is the sitting president and she has to accord him the respect he deserves. Most people talking negatively about this photo and her kind gesture are just looking for a bite to take.

son church said...

linda he is the president , those who see something wrong with this pic , are those people who lack respect , in age he is older than her , in office he is her superior , so what is wrong if she prostrate for the president ? is she even older than his wife ?

all i have to say is that, let this election come and go, im tired of the noise

Gentletee said...

There is really nothing wrong with her posture since GEJ was sitting.

Monty said...

Ppl get wahala shaa. There is nothing wrong with showing respect. For Christ sake GEJ is still the president and deserves the respect. This is exactly y ppl don't succeed (not showing respect to relevant authorities) . God help us

Pearls said...

He's still the current president, so there's absolutely wrong with this

Nothing is wrong wif her posture

Na Wa o.... All These people wey dey carry Politician 4 head!! (Copy and Paste)

*Buhari's Child Zara Is paying Over £40,000/‪#‎12million‬ Naira as school fees developing her future and career.
*Jonathan's children have being moved to London for studies and residence while developing their career and living in affluence.....
*Atiku Abubakar's Children are abroad schooling....
*Tinubu's Children are abroad schooling and
Living in affluence, they are all developing and investing in their children to continue to rule us after they are gone.....
You are there as a jobless
Graduate and Undergraduate wearing APC and PDP customized Vest
and Polo, chanting "CHANGE" holding Brooms and carrying Umbrellas chanting "TRANSFORMATION"!! Killing Yourselves, Fomenting Trouble and Constituting Nuisance to the Society because of peanuts that can't make you a Better Person......
Even if you have no paying jobs, why not do apprentice or learn a skill that will make you more productive today in the Society. Why not do volunteering jobs instead of looking for big pay jobs!!!! Stop being a disgrace to your discipline,
Stop wearing APC/ PDP Vest because that is the wish of Politicians for you...
They know if you have a good job, they can't use you as a thug/propagandist. If Buhari will not bring all his Ten children to the street for campaign and Jonathan will not Bring his Children and blood brothers to the street for campaign, then you are a disgrace to your family if you don't stop masquerading yourself as PDP and APC agents, because up till now, I have never seen Buhari 's children and Jonathan's children on the Street wearing APC/PDP Vest, Holding Brooms and Carrying the PDP Umbrella even on Social Media let alone In the Street.... A Word Is Enough For The Wise......

Yes!

Mtschew..they can argue about something more logical biko

I see nothin wrong with it, nigerian's and their complains

First of all, she's Yoruba and I know them to have a high degree of respect irrespective of age and gender. Second of all, she's "aiming" to replace him. Till she does, I bet she remains loyal to him who occupys that office. So in summary, I see absolutely nothing wrong with that photo.

I SEE ONE OF HER HANDS IS DARK AND ONE IS LIGHT

Thereis nothng wrong with it jor.......He is still d president of Nigeria.........And wat were dey expecting her to do.......stand on his head?????

There is nothing wrong with her posture. Give honor to whom honor is due @@@@@ Bia Bia.

She was a disaster at the debate. We saw how she was always gesticulating to Jonathan and applauding "his good works". I thought she was a serious candidate. After the debate, I concluded she was merely there to showcase her ignorance. These so-called professors!!! we must clean up our Universities!!!!!

Please note that GEJ is still the President of the Fed. Rep. Of Nigeria Until May-2015, Even the MD of any company in this country would do the same.

Tumodi said...

there is absolutely nothing wrong with it. mere courtesy demands it, not to now talk of him being the president. even if she is going to take his job(which i not likely going to happen) she should respect his office and do the right thing. she is in order jo.

I don't see any thing wrong with her posture!

DeeD25 said...

I don't see anything wrong with it... even if she wants to take away his job, courtesy demands some form of respect to the person in charge still. it's a sign of maturity and shows you are fit for the said job. did they expect her to fling the book at him? Really guys??

We all know they all don't stand a chance, this whole thing is for their names to be in the history books and for a humongous party like PDP to recognize them and maybe offer them some kind of position

Mac10 said...

Nope! Absolutely not! Considering that the person she's handing the book over to is sitting while she's standing, it's only natural that she bends towards him. As long as her knees are not bent, which Wld have signified the Yorubas mode of greeting.

Mac10...

SWILL MARTIN said...

Mcheeew dem no get work

He is still d president of the country and he demands respect....

Sooooo many jobless pple around sha...

eternal gems said...

for your wedding and classy engagement ring.........kindly visit us today @ eternal gems.62b opebi road,opposite keystone bank,salvation bustop,ikeja lagos or store c20,cocoa mall,dugbe ibadan.

Can't see anything tho

I think it is perfectly ok that she bent in respect cos she is aspiring for the same post and would want the same respect accorded to her. Until Jonathan hands over power, he is the president of the country and we as the governed should learn to respect human authority.

Adesola Emiloye said...

She is selling her legitimate right. Too bad. Even Uncle Jona" suppose to honor her like a mother by standing and receive the book.
First time commentator

The man is still the president of the country and demands respect

No, I don't think so

Yes dat everyone wil alwaz wants to find faults wit GEJ even if there is none. So as for me nothing wrong wit d pic.

Bosslady said...

He is still her president!

Osafele Fredrick said...

I didn't see anything wrong with the photo

Meenora said...

Biko theres nothing wrong, as a matter of fact, it's a virtue of humility she is displaying. Or is Jonathan no longer the president of Nigeria? All these arrogant people around carrying themselves as presidents when all they're yet to stand election.

It is a natural pose 4 someone begging for a post! Cos' I know she can't win d election!

Respect your opponent. That should be your number one rule. ----C21

There's nothing wrong with what dis woman has just done. He's still the president of the nation. And one of the profound qualities of a leader is the ability to be a Lion and a lamb. If u listened properly to her debate you would know she isn't a push over. She isn't trying to fight him but to be given an opportunity to be a better leader.

There is nothing wrong with it at all after all GEJ is still d president

There's nothing wrong with what dis woman has just done. He's still the president of the nation. And one of the profound qualities of a leader is the ability to be a Lion and a lamb. If u listened properly to her debate you would know she isn't a push over. She isn't trying to fight him but to be given an opportunity to be a better leader.

there is absolutely nfin wrong wif it,shes a presidency candidate while Jona is d current president so she gats accord him vhat respect

CHERRY said...

I don't see any tin wrong wif what she did,she only showed a sign of respect!

No. PGEJ z still our president n he deserves d respect...... Linda, I ope u can b submissive to a man ohhh...cos u sound like one who znt in support of her respect

Because she intends to take his job means she shouldn't respect the office he holds? There nothing wrong with the photo by the way.

You should catch some sleep.

7F098C19 said...

Humble president. Engr Emy

Oh please, she knws she can't win. The least she can do is show some respect so Goodluck can give her a political appointment if he shld luckily win

Oladimeji said...

He's still the sitting President, so from my point of view nothing is wrong with the picture.

Linda's Intern said...

I see nothing wrong with the picture. Same people saying this crap would turn around and tag her a proud woman who won't listen to advice should she be elected if she did otherwise.
Nigerians would keep suffering from mediocrity

Linda I can't see anything.. Biko borrow me your glasses..

Rough Diamond said...

From the African perspective, there's absolutely nothing wrong with this posture, I personally know Prof. Remi Sonaiya, she was my HOD, as much as she is learned, she still highly regards African values. She must have been used to attending to men in that manner. Let's not waste time on frivolity.

Please,we are quick to find fault in everything. Let these people be....Nothing is wrong with this picture...Not even a single fault.

Nothing wrong
1. the president was sitting

2 we are Africans

3 humility is not stupidity at least he is still the president

Yes and Jonathan is rude. You get up to accept a woman's gesture. What a shame.

its as if jonathan is handing an egg over to her

Sign of respect, she be woman na, no matter wat, man will always be d head

For d fact that 5% of over 170 million Nigerians see this as not too good doesn't represent the whole populace. We all can't think alike. What if 40% don't see anything wrong in this, in which I am part of ? What better way would she have handed the book over to him? Kneel down or squat? llindodo, abeg leave story. I'm sure if she has expressed d same body gesture to Buhari, some illiterates will still come out and say Buhari is old enough to be her father .

kollins said...

I dont tink so. He's still d president n deserves respect.Dont 4get d woman in question is yoruba. U know yoruba pple r keen wit respect.

For d fact that 5% of over 170 million Nigerians see this as not too good doesn't represent the whole populace. We all can't think alike. What if 40% don't see anything wrong in this, in which I am part of ? What better way would she have handed the book over to him? Kneel down or squat? llindodo, abeg leave story. I'm sure if she has expressed d same body gesture to Buhari, some illiterates will still come out and say Buhari is old enough to be her father .

LIB chairlady said...

Thr business... Change all d way

I dont see anything wrong with the picture and my reasons are;

1. GEJ was seated and there was no way of handing over the book without bending.

2. From the cultural perspective of women giving men respect she could have unconsciously bent without even knowing (i.e. for those who don't agree with the first reason).

However, I still don't see anything wrong with the picture.

kollins said...

I dont tink so. He's still d president n deserves respect.Dont 4get d woman in question is yoruba. U know yoruba pple r keen wit respect.

UNHAPPY NIGERIAN. said...

You should never forget that haters will ALWAYS hate, after all it has to do with GEJ. The prof. Is Yoruba and that is her culture it does not by any means diminish her person or what she is contesting.

Obiora jamal said...

Nothing wrong,is about respect

Well... I don't see anything wrong.

There is absolutely nothing wrong here, if any, then it should be with Mr president that should have shown some courtesy by standing up to receive the book! how else do you expect the woman to present the book.

Kponskii said...

I don't see anything wrong with being courteous. He's still the President @ least till the next election.

Apparently Nigerians don't know right from wrong anymore. He is still the president of the country,how else was she suppose to greet him?? Jobless pple

I just love her.Nigerians and there wahala .tufiakwa.

Na them sabi biko. Enough said and done already. Linda take note!

This is africa and if yu dont stay here or dont knw anything about this culture then yu better shut ur mouth ok....

There is absolutely nothing wrong with this photo. She has to bend a little as the President is sitting down and she is standing. If they were both standing and she courtesied maybe there might have been a case, but now theres nothing. People are clearly fishing for whats wrong were there's nothing here. Linda Take note!!

Collin said...

Nope....means she hz ntin against him...plus his stil d president

Collin said...

Nope....means she hz ntin against him...plus his stil d president

Chigo said...

Nothing is wrong with it. Let the woman be joor. It shows she has a good home training. As a president of this country - she was supposed to do that. As an elderly man- she was supposed. If Gej happened to be her husband- she was supposed to. So i personally did not see any thing wrong with that.... as it is only a mark of respect.

I think Nigerians keep losing their senses every day. They forget the He is still the president until 29th May. The woman did the right thing. It's a shame politics has eaten deep into our thinking cap hence we now reason like fools

Linda u forget manners abi? Even d holy book say make we respect our leaders. Nothing wrong

No nothing wrong,, Jonathan is still the president, even buhari will accord him that respect wen they see face to face

The bow means nothing. 1 quality that i love the most abt her is her humility, which is a very important quality a good leader. not Pride as Jonathan has proven to have. I know this woman and i can defend her. on.fb.me/1FtAwle

Nothing wrong with this!

Whether you like it or not, JONATHAN is till the president, she is a contestant from one obscure party that stands no chancing of winning. Arrogance therefore isn't supposed to be her game.

After this elections, GEJ might give her one work to do.

SAiJoNaThAn!

He is still d current president. D man deserves at least a little respect.pple shd calm down

She is only giving respect to whom respect is due.And that is how it should be.Contesting against Mr President does not in any way make them enemies neither are they at war. For me this is how it should be.Say no to abusive and hate campaigns.

wash..... She has come to collect her own share of the Goodlock Christmas in March gift.

Lin nwa Nkwere...
I don't see anything wrong with the photo oo.
No matter how u put it, he is still d President at d moment.
So disrespecting him in what ever guise is an insult upon Nigeria.
Samoyooyo...

whatever somebody does in Nigeria people must talk. could she have shown sign of disrespect to an incumbent president just because she is running for the position.. unbelievable

Useless and bastard president with a brainless Prof(mrs)

Jonadaft Badluck Ebele, d most useless president in d world

Every body is free to feel........wot should she have done?.....pose and hand the book to the president?....

He's still the president for petes sake and deserves every respect for now......

More over, he's older and old enough to be her husband.......

To me there nothing wrong in her showing respect to the President,afterall Jonathan is still the president his tenure never finish. GEJ till 2019.

thatgirlyouwant said...

Is not like she will even win or carry second sef so what's d big deal

dmj said...

Nothing. Absolutely nothing.

dmj said...

Nothing. Absolutely nothing.

People sha ! What's wrong with her according him respect ? After all he is still the incumbent even if he wasn't , shows she has proper manners . I tire

AdoEKitiFirstSoN said...

I don't see anything wrong here

So because she wants to take a job from the president she should not show him respect? Please don't let us desecrate and decimate the office of the president. #God save Nigeria

No I don't.Respect is not a matter of status in life but your character. I just love her now for doing DAT.

Mercy E said...

There's nothing wrong. GEJ is still the president till May 29th so we have to respect him

Mercy E said...

There's nothing wrong. GEJ is still the president till May 29th so we have to respect him

Mz_GEJ said...

The problem we have I still stand by it is our media...stop trying to find a fire wen there isn't any trace of smoke...

Nothing wrong with it. The fact she accorded him that respect doesn't change anything about thier status. GEJ is the President and must be respected. any one ho occupies the seat of the president, hated or loved must be given respect. Even the Bible states it...

nothing wrong.

Nothing wrong. ..... people sha

why didn't president Jonah stand to receive the book? we all blaming the poor woman, when Jonah cannot even eat d pie of humility. #mysincereopinion#

Nothing pls.

All the hating people will never have a hand shake with any president.

If she did that for Buhari there will not be issues.

Dirty people

There is nothing wrong with the picture,he is still the president of these country and she is a woman. Our culture demands that women should respect men,am sure he is older than her.

issues.

The Perfect Bitch said...

Linda!!!which nigerians are going after her?guess that's you..why u trying to lit a wet wood?that they're contesting for same seat dosn't mean she should be in enemity or rude to her president.everybody must not be Buhari or his cohorts.you have brought her here so ur tomb followers will bash her for simply doing what's right for the country!!!peace is all we need!!enough of the fightings and killings

Nothing wrong with this!

Whether you like it or not, JONATHAN is till the president, she is a contestant from one obscure party that stands no chancing of winning. Arrogance therefore isn't supposed to be her game.

After this elections, GEJ might give her one work to do.

SAiJoNaThAn!

I don't see anything wrong with it because he is and will remain the president till the handover ceremony on the 29th of may,2015.and its a sign of respect to the office.

Politics is not a do or die affair. U don't have to be rude, abusive or mean to an opponent. He is still her president and an older person. She only showed courtesy. Good woman!

He is still president and will be so till 2019..she is a woman and has to show him respect as a president and also as an african man..

Linda take note

***dahenriez**

...Nuttin is wrong with d way she presented d book na! Aba, people sha nothing wey dem no go read meaning to!

ebony said...

Absolutely nothing wrong with it. I respect her for this

I see nothing wrong with her post. it doesn't show any disrespect.

Bia people are dumb sha... First of she is Yoruba and we know how respectful they are. She's also a woman and women respect men. And that is the friggin PRESIDENT of Nigeria and he deserves massive respect and its unfortunate some of you hobo's deny him this... #udo

JIRO said...

Linda you can be troublesome sha. show us the comments of the Nigerians going after her. btw, her posture is perfect for the presentation. He is still The President

She was only seeking to take the job. The office of the president still exists and the person occupying it must be respected. not the way APC insults him all the time. This woman has done the best

Not at all, shes just showing respect as a woman.

Nothing is wrong with this picture, for Christ sake there is nothing wrong if I decide to bow down or kneel afterall he is the President and he is an elderly person. And he is a man while she is a woman.

No there is nothing wrong in showing respect,their a saying dat says give respect to whom respect is due

Nothing is wrong with this picture, for Christ sake there is nothing wrong if I decide to bow down or kneel afterall he is the President and he is an elderly person. And he is a man while she is a woman.

Linda for christsake he is d President of our country,he deserve d respect just bcos APC dnt respect d office of d President doesn't mean other party will follow suit,APC are desperate politicians.i can even vote her for respecting d president,cos respect is a reciprocal,hv u ever read anywhere dat APC commend d President.

Mr. President needs to learn to be a gentleman. A gentleman is up standing when greeting, shaking hands or receving or giving a gift, especially to/from a lady.

Ntin is wrong, she's only giving honour to whom it is due. Bad belle pple esp Apc touts

Why use panadol for another man's headache??? Nigerians r jx fond of reading meaning to everything.

Bush man Jona too no get respect for the woman. The right thing to do was for Jona to stand up to receive the book

Mesky Da ImoFirstSon said...

No.He is stil d president so she has to show respect even if they contesting against each other

But he is still the current president of the state so honour must be given to whom honour is due and she does not necessarily have a respectful posture. she looks like she bent over to make it easier to hand over the book. I await other comments maybe I am not observant.

Unchained said...

She knows she doesnt stand a chance in the election

Jayluv said...

Absolutely not! How else would she hv done?

may be she should have handed it over to him with a dirty slap bcos she is also contesting!!mumu arcade!!

hell yeah every damn thing is wrong.. I mind body language a lot on this note with that posture, I wouldn't vote her

Aiwo said...

i dont see anything wrong with the pix

I see nothibg wrong with it cos he still is d president until he's voted out of power

Chi chi said...

Her business, if she like make she bend Yansha for President. They will both lose come Saturday. Change is here.

People don't understand how exciting it is to see Nigerians be liberated from the same old ways things was done. Nigerians are now standing up to say, if you have not fulfill your promises, you will not be re-elected.

No more celebrating mediocrity, we want good leaders with the right vision to take us to our right place in the world. Go out Nigerian and make your votes count.

Chi chi said...

Biko dear libers how una dey get Google acct pls?

Chi chi said...

Biko libers how una dey get Google acct pls?

Patto Evra said...

Onye fee Eze, Eze eruo ya (to whom who respect the stool shall inherit it)

She is a woman nau. She did wat she is supposed to do

Saint said...

To me Yes oo.we all knw say na play dem go do there

mikun said...

Nothing wrong.. @least Mr president stretched his 2 hands 2 receive it..

No I don't. She is a yoruba woman. And as a yoruba woman, she shows respect to those who deserves it

Angela said...

She is a woman, and the boss remains the boss even if Mr Presido retires today, he remains her boss.

They must b kidding me, GEJ is still d acting president for christ sake and he still deserves respect frm anybody, so they were xpecting d woman to stand upright abi, SmH

I don't see anything wrong in her respecting her President even if she aspires to unseat him.
By doing so she is showing respect to herself as well as because President Jonathan, even if he did not, would now be obliged to return the level of respect she has shown him to her. Like they say respect is reciprocal.

Christian Evans said...

absolutely NO, respect is respect

Biko theres nuttin wrong wt her posture...pple sef...looking for trouble where theres none

MISSVEE

It's a sign of courtesy to the president of her country, also she's a yoruba woman and it's part of culture so I see nothing wrong in what she did

It's humility as a woman. Nothing wrong

...and will it put food on me table??

FUTURE LEADER said...

NIGERIA IS A VERY CONFUSED PLACE WITH TOO MANY INFLUENCES. IT IS HARD NOT TO MAKE AN ERROR.

WE THINK WE ARE PRACTICING DEMOCRACY BUT IN REALITY WE ARE FEUDALISTS. THERE IS NOTHING EGALITARIAN ABOUT NIGERIAN SOCIETY. STATUS IS EVERYTHING.

IN THE PICTURE SHE SEEMS TO BE CURTSEYING WHICH IN NORMAL NIGERIA CULTURE WOULD BE ACCEPTABLE AS NORMAL WHEN GREETING A SUPERIKR, HOWEVER SINCE NIGERIAN SOCIETY IS SO FRACTURED IN CULTURAL TERMS, OTHERS MIGHT SEE IT AS DEMEANING WHEN LOOKING AT IT FROM A FOREIGN PERSPECTIVE.

EVEN THE PRESIDENT'S ATTIRE IS AN EXPRESSION OF CONFUSION.

SAVE NIGERIA, THE BEAUTIFUL COUNTRY WITH BAD PEOPLE

At all Linda
She's a woman and secondly he's still the president
People must talk sha

John said...

Nothing is wrong with her posture. There is no way she would stand erect (or straight) and hand over something to somebody who is (was) sitting down. It is not possible. She must bend a little (for reach).

Nothing wrong abeg.

Nothing is wrong with d woman's posture or d pics , na d critics head no correct!

Kyke said...

Na wa!!!! For people oooo!!!!!!

...My name is simple CALL ME KYKE...

Lily of Nigeria said...

Gbam.

Copy my blog link to your browser www.iblogwithgrace.blogspot.com

Those who think something is wrong with d picture are just miserable ....nothing attall...itts mere courtesy and she really showed she is a prof and learned with her attitude...

I see notin wrng wit it. Pls pple shuld stop dis rubbish of reading unnecessary meaning into dis 4 cryn out loud

There is nothing wrong with the pix,that she is aiming to be the president of nigeria does not mean she shouldn't respect the incumbent president,give honor to whom honor is due.

some people are just crazy....I see nothing wrong with this pic! linda next plsssss

Ndi asiri ...nawao. ..,,

Tri. said...

So, because she is a female, he is automatically her boss cos he is a male?You are obviously a silly nitwit.

The colour of her hand lol

maky said...

Anyone who sees something wrong with this picture deserves to be in a mental hospital. That's why I can never vote for APC. They full of hatred, lies and propaganda. #GEJWINSIT

Everything about the woman was poor...I doubted if really she was a prof,she entirely dint hammer a single nail...no specific point,spoke sporadically all through,was sounding like she even came to compliment the incumbent...Woman can't be president now anyways,I dint expect any better,only a trained *for that purpose* woman can be president here..we have just one woman close to that "NGOZI OKONJO" Buh she ain't entirely ready till maybe in another 4yrs of service.

Open ur acct on Gmail and bla bla bla lol

true talk

Mummy Prince said...

So, because she is aiming to take over the President's job, she should not respect him? This shows that the woman is humble, responsible and respectful and that is the type of women we want.

Help me oh. Abi shld she have stood rigid like a tree abi na robot? Pple like talking too much. Nothing wrong abeg

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 235   Newer› Newest»