Photo: Corpers serving as INEC adhoc staff sleep on hard floor ahead of tomorrow's election | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 27 March 2015

Photo: Corpers serving as INEC adhoc staff sleep on hard floor ahead of tomorrow's election

How patriotic. These are youth corp members who will be serving as INEC adhoc staff in tomorrow's election. They decided to sleep at the INEC office so they can go out early tomorrow morning to carry out their election duties.

222 comments:

1 – 200 of 222   Newer›   Newest»

Hardship. Gej must go! Lindaobserve

Naija 4 life!!! I hail o

May u not loose your lives servicing your father's land.... OBSEQUIOUS

Linda! They decided or they were told to. Can't they make arrangement for them.

Naso we see am......

4gt patriotism they had no choice
Besides they are after the
payment not the act.
Love their spirit of hustling.

Oh Lord! Pls don't depart from dem! Be with dem in Jesus name! Amen!

I weep for this country
These are graduates sleeping on the floor! Yet we say we have a Jona that wants to move the country forward.

forward indeed!!!

Nigerians please wake up for the sake of our children.

Once again I weep for this country.

After dey wil nt gv dem work after serving... Anyways I pray for beta tomoro

Jojo said...

I feel for them. One luv

They need am , INEC says they will pay them 32k so....

They r on their own

Aiyaa, may God help & protect them..hope they get water in d morning to bath.

Benkz said...

I actually thought I was the only one that sleeps like a dead man, lol...that dude in the middle sleeps like me.... Well it's part of the sacrifice we pay for our dear country, we pray our so called leaders can do the sam and more....Corper Weeee Ooooh, you guys show make it count for us please....gracias

i lauugh. this is serious.

Na their moni dem de think of

Please remain patriotic as your blessings shall never elude you.

Under the sun or in the rain. It's part of it.

an so wnt inec pay them

VERULE says-headlines

Goodluck Till2019 said...

There is hope for Nigeria. Kudos to them for believing in Nigeria.

eka said...

Our God Almighty will guide and protect them...

Linda they didn't decide to sleep in inec office, it was inec that made it compulsory for Adhoc staffs in a particular local government, to sleep together in one place, then move out early the next day.

I pray for their safety, I lost a love one after the 2011 election result was announced, she was among those killed by northerners. The government failed to provide security for them.

Patriotic my ass! If you know the amount they were paid, you'd know patriotic was the last thing on their mind!

And this is supposed to be news? Smh*

PEPE said...

Pathetic!

How Pathetic!

Our leaders only care about themselves

It is all about them and no one else matters
Can this ever happen to their children??NOT IN A MILLION YEARS

I met a small boy in the market this afternoon that came to buy tomatoes,pepper and oil with N250 only because that was all his mum had for tomorrow.

Do we really have a government in this country.

Nigerians,please wake up now!!!

I hope they dont end up loosing their lives like those corpers last 4yrs.. But as for me,i cant do this. Patriotic or not.

God bless $ guild them all,but Inec should have provided a comfy place for them,not surprise,Jega has eaten their money

They didnt decide
to sleep @Linda.....Its compulsory dat all those participating in d election must sleep at their RAC centres...dat is how its done everywhere.........Becos they cant get transport on electn day if dey stay back @home....among oda reasons

Eya vats so patroti of dem

Lol. D same thing I went tru wen taking part in Benue st was it senatorial election last year. Aldo we were given mats dou. It is well with naija moi country#Nija#

Under the sun or in the rain. . Bye! Ur 1500 is sure.

Humm

Tendency oby said...

Chai! Govt would hv provide a better place for them

Rubylicious said...

What kind of suffer head is this?

Lindodo, dis ur caption nawa ooo....they actually decided 2 sleep there on their own will.....so good 4 them

Petite Diva said...

Na wa o, on top of cardboard paper again. And i can guarantee that they would sleep there again tomorrow when they are collating the results. God help them. As for the photographer, let them catch you ehen....lol

journal of a petite diva

This is soooooooooooooooo wrong

After aboki go still wan kill them. Bastards

Ethel said...

How patriotic indeed! Election wen dem don alreaady know winner by now....mtchewww

I thought they were dead! Thank god they're just sleeping.

Whaoo this the height of commitment and Patriotism. Can u imagine after this great sacrifice some wicked politician will later make evil comments that will instigate violent to attack these innocent youths. As was the case in 2011. Such a person deserve to be stoned to death.

This Shildren

Gini na aza patriotic? Cnt inec officials lodge them, mtcheeeeeew

Nawah

Can you imagine, this is an indictment on the part of INEC, so they can't provide a conducive place for their staff to sleep, how sure are we they can guarantee their safety.

Eeeeeyah, God bless them and also protect them from any form of harm. Linda take note!

PRETTY GIRL said...

EYa! Corper Wee. ..God please protect them , Amen

Marburg said...

Dey ddnt decide o... dt wz d instruction givin 2 all of dem nt onli corp members. Most whr givin halls 2 slp till 2moro cos of d time

Bad govt!!!!!! Lord is ur strength!!!! Dis is Y u guyz shud fight corruption out of is nation

Sai buhari

Buharite 2015

Ayaaa tk u ooo

It's well, we did same to while serving at anambra during the governorship election it was not funny no place to have our bath many did not sef but is all for a good reason sha

YEAH!!!
There's somethin bout the Clarion call with under the Sun and in the Rain shit.

Oh my lord. Once again Nigeria's young ones sacrificing for God and country. Not even Sleeping bags Haba mana it's cold oh...We still can't take card of our people?

U sEee dz ad u so f**king telln me not to vote out GEJ ; how much be hotel way dn no fit check all coppers In??? Prty unfair

Good citizens. May the Lord be with them. Amen

Roman! said...

So no hotel accommodation can be provided for them** I tire for this country o

*Singing* 'Youths obey the clarion call, let us lift our nation high, under the sun or in the rain...'

I just spoke with my brother and he confirmed they are sleeping on the floor. So sad..

Patriotism on their part but on the part of the country (government) they work for?

May Almighty Allah reward them for serving their father, even under non-conducive environment. Kudos to you guys

Hmmmm. And I heard they are only going to pay them 11 000 oooo....

LIB chairlady said...

With Dedication and selflessness, Nigeria is ours, Nigeria they serve... Weee ooo

I hope this hard floor they are sleeping on will not scatter their head o

May God keep them safe..Amen

Linda go to bed please youre needed to vote tomorrow at 8 am sharp

That's the process,i did the same in Lagos Island 2,slept on a chair,but the following week was at a hotel tho,after I got paid... winks

Nigerians always looking for whom to blame. I remember during our own time we were like 3 friends. We lodged in a nearby hotel against the next day. Why sleep outside? If anything happen now God forbid they will start blaming devil.

Is this patriotism or what?

amilove said...

It not fair

divalicious said...

Abeg how much dem go pay them?

Click my name to know

Wow!. That's really patriotic. Kudos to them.

tizhe said...

I don't think this is true. Even with there shoes on.

Imagine???!!!...body and mouth odour ga dikwa egwu. I pity dem tho

Imagine ehn!!!

Even me too linda....e no easy at all...

Karlsson said...

Service to father's land
Ubanagum

Omg.....at least dey shld be given beds nw....Linda watch!

How patriotic indeed.. they are only there cos of the money #Be real

kpekpeduke said...

Imagine!so no hotels?#SMH

Gudxample of 2morrow Leaders

Abdul Uthman said...

It's not patriotism jare. Don't twist stories. INEC deceived us that we re moving the election materials by latest 12:00 AM. That all Corp members and other participating add hok staff must be in INEC office by 3:00 PM (Friday)... we have been there since 3:00 o clock. And nothing is happening. The sensitive materials has not been sorted out. This Corp members in the picture are enjoying compared to wah we re going through rite now. Almost all of us slept on bare floor, and open ground. It's about raining now sef... that's the dehumanising treatment we going through @Ohafia local Govt in Abia State rite now. So Linda. This is not Patriotism, it's suffer head.

Starry_viv said...

Same with me. We are currently sleeping in a primary school classroom.

So messed NYSC -Corpers sleeping on the floor too bad

My dear Nigerians no b patroitisim o...even 4 where i d 4 akwa ibom state na so we d sleep 4 ground

They don't "decide" to "camp", for those taking part it's compulsory, so enough with the sarcasm....

May almighty God gives them fruitful futures

Hhhhhmmmmmm! Is really sad.

Ije uwa adiro mfe...una dooh!

Hmmmn.....Dea own bera ooo.... Hea at inec office in Nsit ubium local govt of Akwa Ibom state dont evn av a place to slip.
•Dat Akwa Ibom Corper frm Ekiti state•

Hmmmn.....Dea own bera ooo.... Hea at inec office in Nsit ubium local govt of Akwa Ibom state dont evn av a place to slip.
•Dat Akwa Ibom Corper frm Ekiti state•

It was the directives from INEC so as to get to their various polling Unit ASAP.

AMI said...

Naija we hail thee...!

It was the directives from INEC,so that they can be at their various polling units ASAP.

Eya,more power to their elbow.

Nigeria go better #change

And we reward their patriotism by allowing them to sleep on the bare floor while the politicians they serve live in 10 bedroom mansions.

IslandeR said...

Hell no!!! All lies...they slept on the floor because adequate measures weren't taken in getting them somewhere decent to spend the night. I'm so sure they will have to pay several visits before they finally get paid for this job. Our leaders will rot in hell if they continue this way IJN (a big AMEN!!!)

The foolish inec officials keep telling us not to allow d political leaders buy us when themselves are already selling us ,thunder that will strike u is doing press up

It happened to me in 2011 election. I slept on a bench.

May God protect u guyz. I chose not participate 'cos I was posted to a LGA in the north where they speak little or no English. I no fit shout.

It happened to me in 2011 general election. I slept on a bench.

and INEC cannot provide a more comfortable accommodation with all the money at its disposal.

Patriotic? Its more of 'how pathetic'. They are human for goodness sake. How much does it cost to accommodate them in the cheapest motel?

destinysweet said...

All for 32k!hmmmm can't risk my life for such

Auntylindagoddaughter

Menh Naija is so backward. If it's in a developed country they would have put them in a very comfortable hotel with feeding inclusive and also be paid hourly until election is over. Nawaooo

Bbamsmi

LIFE WITH GIGI said...

No be today now

Gm

Cicee said...

.....with dedication and selflessness, Nigeria's ours, Nigeria we serve!

Abeg, this one na sufferhead nor b patriotism anything. When I was serving in 2011 tho, no corper was asked to crash in INEC office. They slept mostly in the corper's lodge though what the sleeping arrangement was like, I dunno. Me I lodged in a close by hotel Friday to Sunday for the duration of the elections. Helped that said hotels were affordable to me even as a corper. Basically, I think they might have had that choice but chose not to take it 'cos of lack of fund. Me I can't suffer myself like this biko. How much is INEC paying these days sef? #VoteWisely #VoteNotFight #BallotOverBullet

Dey r sha being paid

How do we now identify them as corpers... They could be homeless people looking for a place to lay heads. Flies go shit, una go say Na oga Jona shit. Tufiakwa! GEJ we're almost there... We're unstoppable!!! Forward we march to the promised land. No vacancy in Aso Rock till 2019👍

How do u know they're graduates... Did u see their certificates?.. Nigerians are so gullible.. GEJ we're marching very closely👍

God punish ur dirty mouth!

@ Anon 11:06 pm. Thank u dear, exactly my tot, in year 2011. I vote for GEJ, I mobilize all my friends for my full street to vote for GEJ, after four good years, GEJ have nothing to show, all what Nigerians see was corruption true out. GEJ, cause calamity to Nigeria people, GEJ, create enemies to Nigerians brothers against brothers, sisters against sisters, friends against friends, most of them killed themselves; Kidnapping here and there, immigration job scam when some of our jobless youth of Nigerians lost their lives, etc. After all that tsunami GEJ said we should vote for him again as our president GEJ lie, as for me, my household and friends will not and we will never vote for u again, unless some daft Nigerians that will vote for GEJ, can somebody tells me Buhari past error? That he built two refineries when he was petroleum minister, to create employment for old and young Nigeria citizens, so that white men won't robb us again, and he brought discipline and orderliness to Nigeria when he was head of state, that he executed some drug barrons ,that he jailed all corrupt politicians , that he started paying our debts to free our economy, that he refused to collect loan from world bank and IMF and devalued our naira , that he built roads cut across the nation when he was PTDF chairman, that he bough buses and luxurious for all tertiary institutions in Nigeria and last but not the least, that he refused to collect 23m as monthly pension as ex-head of state but instead wrote to be paying 2.3m. If these are the errors he committed then I will vote for him again so that he can repeat the mistake. #ihavedecided to vote for #change

Theirs is even good, we no sleep for Lagos.

We just lack organisation in Nigeria, it's painful.

~FromOutOfThisWorld ~

Patriotism?? i doubt that...that's hustlism. These guys will sleep on a transformer,express-road,roof if the money is really good, they are being compensated for this.

I guess you should weep for yourself for displaying your ignorance in the public. It's not the job of GEJ to mobilise the corpers or get them where to sleep, or what to eat. It is the job of the umpire INEC. INEC has the responsibility to mobilise it's staff whose approved budget for this election run into several billions of naira. Inec is independent and has his own funds in excess. How would you know this, when all you youths do is to gallivant up and down refusing to learn or read your books. I don't know what they teach you people in school smh.

They did NOT decide to! They were Made to! May God protect Every Corper working on INEC! Peaceful election I pray!
NCCF will never die!

This is not patriotism, this 'ORIGINAL SUFFER HEAD'. They need the money badly, so they are ready to make scarifies for it.

THE ACT OF SEX said...

Weep for yourself!!! I was part 2011 election as a corp member. Nobody was allowed to sleep in INEC office. It's not a lodging center . stop whipping up stupid sentiments

Forget let just pray for their safety, but these guys are after their money, take note as for Nigerians money first before anything

This is why naija rankd as the most stressed up country in the world. Why can't they provide comfortable accommodation for them ,just for a day. This is so messed up.

Hardship has been in existence even before jona came jona has tried

U never cry well, u go soon cry blood. Scheew!! Na apc go move u forward!! Blood tasting fanatics from the pit of hell

U r right dear

Na generator?

ezinne. said...

I pray it will be a success.

You are foolish, even if they will pay them, besides how much are they paying? Idiot! You still have the blood of a slave. Bastard, bloody retard

Thunder fire you

This is gross irresponsibility. The dumbest thing ever if u can liaise with NYSC to get adhoc staff then take ita step further and get mattresses from them we all know NYSC has
Alot of mattress they use at camp.

JEGA THIS IS INHUMAN.

Gee Cee

beauty said...

So sorry about the loss

McQueen said...

Linda! No be any patriotism, they are are doing it because they will be paid

Why would anyone in his right senses blame GEJ for this. There is an institution set up and equipped to organize and conduct elections.

Amen!!! May we not hear any bad news..

Jesus they r youth corpers preparing for elections. Not like they don't have homes. Common can U guys stop the incessantly comments for once!

I feel for you my guy. They will get it back in their own coin.

u r delusive

anon said...

Just 32k?. That's just the cost of transportation. You are a bad Nigerian (in Obj's voice). Theses ones are patriotic come rain or sun.

Grace n Truth said...

Your hatred will burn you up. So GEJ and not JEGA is to be blamed for INEC as hoc staff sleeping on the floor? Get ready to move to another country because GEJ is getting sworn in on May 29 for his second term in office.

Damola Gbadegesin said...

My prayer for them is Gods protection as they carry on their duties today.

Ifeanyi cyril said...

hmmmm!!!... reminds me of 2011 when i was a part of this in ekiti as a serving corper. i pray God protect them

This one is small...in 2011 election as a polling officer I slept on kerosine tank outside Inec office in Dukku Local government in Gombe State.
I av contributed my part
~Vavavoom Marker~

All you are after is being one of the first to comment, obviously with "giveaway" on your mind. You never bother to read articles properly or you are just too dumb to comprehend. Did you read where the article stated that they CHOSE to sleep in the office so they can go out early? Does it occur to you that it is the chairman of the well funded INEC who is responsible for the welfare of his staff? Do you even try to use more than 1% of your brains?

I hate everything people like you stand for. If not for the fact that I have already made up my mind who to vote for, I would certainly not vote for anybody associated with you. You do well meaning people a disservice by standing on the same side with them.

Thank God all this election palaver will be over today, so that people like you can crawl back under the rock you came out from and cease tormenting people with your disturbing ignorance.

Na fight dem one fight???

They deserve a fair treat, sha I wish them save lives during this election and after...

Pls can you read out the meaning of INEC and pls give emphasis to the letter "I".

Flora said...

I die na... Patriotism my foot.. I just sha hope deir safety is guaranteed. This one dat Inec cannot even provide common mattress 4 dem 2 sleep on.

Pls shut up. Is INEC part of government?. It is an indepedent body that was given billions to conduct the elections. Illiteracy is really a sin

What has GEJ got to do with this. INEC was given adequate money to organise and conduct the elections. INEC is not a govt agency,it is an independent body. Pls go educate your self before blaming the govt for every single thing.

Following decades of misrule;jona is suddenly the cause?

Crystal said...

May GOD protect them I pray

Dey decided 2 sleep der on der own. During d 2011 election, we went 4rm our lodge 2 our LG 2 gt d materials bt u must b der b4 6:00. I pray 4 d peace of d Lord 2 b wt dem, no evil shall b fall any of dem n we @ home too IJN. Dey shd nt sell ballot papers o cos sm party agents wl come 2 request 4 d remaining ballot papers in exchange of money. Pdp agents did it 4 us den in 2011 whr I severed in Abia.

SOMEONE is;

J = Joyfully
O = On
N = New
A = Assignment
T = To
H = Help
A = All
N = Nigerians

THEN we must also resist anyone who will

B = Bring
U = Us
H = Hatred
A = And
R = Religious
I = Intolerance

Plz be patriotic and send to others.

The Lord will keep them.

after all this to get job na wahala ........we need change.

They have not still told dem hoe much dey are paying dem just suffering dem after dey would delay the peanut they are paying dem

Linda, it's not INEC office plz. It's called RAC(registratn area centre). It's an order from Inec office dat all serving corp members working as Adhoc staff should sleep at d RAC on d eve of d election.

Linda this is real, ask any corper who served in Yobe state 2010/2013. We all did not dat we wanted. I even slept in a hut provided. Wr will u see hotel. We wr conveyed by all ds Lorries dat carry cows to our diff polling unit. We passed through sandy deserts and as at that time it was xtremely cold over dr, I sleep wt my jean n canvas. Right now I cnt vote as my PVC is dr n d crowd re-registering was hell. May God save dem. Am glad am alive to tell the story.

Leaders of tmr, smh

Are u stupiid?

Amin

Just imagine?! Thank God I did not participate.

What is this one saying? Absolute rubbish! You are the one who is suffering

jennykurt said...

Hmmmmm may God protect my fellow corpers ooo. Corper weeeeeeEeeee!!!

Abaah

LuchiDataLady said...

Am a corper,am not interested in d elections, I left my PPA to my hometown, after d elections I will return bcos life no get duplicate

Shawn Mr said...

I wonder how people reason; yes they would be paid to do their job, but sleeping on hard floor isn't part of the job. Our leaders are paid to do their job; they don't sleep on hard floor and they still don't do their job.

It's not "servicing your father's land".
"Serving your fatherland" is the correct statement.
Thank me later.

U are a fool for saying that

So GEJ is in charge of inec too, Ur d biggest FOOL ever 2 live.. my word.... how can one be dis stupid???? *goosebombs

Not patriotism. Just some hustler.

They had no choice.INEC made it mandatory. For them to sleep over.God pls protect them cos am also a Coprer.wish them all the best.

My dear! It's unbelievable such a scene can be seen in a country supposedly called the "giant of African" at this stage and time amongst any human not to talk of graduates serving their fathers land! It's embarrassing to say the least!

BrendaN

4nkylization said...

Na today? Dey re evn sleepin on a hard floor in a room. I slept on Hard sand in an Open air space. A primary school compound for d Ekiti elections last year.

U are a stack illiterate.... u can't differentiate between GEJ and Jega just a single letter is what is confusing u, I piri u

Wise decision dear! Your safety is paramount cos if anything happens to you, like the missing Chibok girls, life will go on. Stay safe for your family and loved ones.

BrendaN

Patriotic ko! Patriotic Ni! Thecorpers are after d pay thats why they ain't bordered about making arrangements 4 them or not! Ask them 2 sleep there after the election they will for the pay! So babe forget the story

Pls tell them

Twice As Fab said...

Did the same in 2011. slept on bare floor.with no means of bathing before going for the election. it was an exciting experience though,especially when the alerts start tripping in, u start feeling like a 'prouding pelzon' hehehe. God keep the ones from evil ijn.

Twice As Fab said...

Did the same in 2011. slept on bare floor.with no means of bathing before going for the election. it was an exciting experience though,especially when the alerts start tripping in, u start feeling like a 'prouding pelzon' hehehe. God keep the ones from evil ijn.

My goodness! And Nigeria has the highest number of private jets in Africa, that is if it's not in the world. If the government or INEC can not adequately cater for corpers why treat them like slaves? Hope security is been provided cos if accommodation can't be is it security they are capable of. As far as I am concerned, it is foolish to be patriotic to a country that doesn't have your back!

BrendaN

omotara said...

Youths obey the CRYING call....

INEC ought to have provided them a more comfortable accommodation.... I pray this election be a peaceful one

ola said...

They didn't decide nothing...they didn't have any other choice. My brother is one of the corpers and I feel so sorry for him. He left last night to go and sleep @ d local govt......y couldn't they arrange pickup frm the closest point to their homes for them this morning??! Psheww!

Linda what is patriotic about this??

Wow! Dis is real definition of being "patriotic". God bless them abundantly, and grant their heart desires IJN.

Young lady everytin is not abt money. No amt of money can equal dis act thereof.

God forgive u. Amen!

Linda be professional and give us real news. This is not what we want to hear, go get hot jist o jare oooo so don't let us get bored. Is me ady in the house

Dats naija for u

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 222   Newer› Newest»