Let’s Fight Ebola | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 27 March 2015

Let’s Fight Ebola

In July 2014 when the news of an Ebola infected Liberian diplomat who had entered Nigeria went out, there was a mental and emotional pandemonium in the minds of Nigerians. Convoluted questions like - Who would be next? What will happen to Nigeria? How will it spread? Who will be affected? Can we get over it? Amongst others, passed through the tunnels of the minds of Nigerian citizens. It didn’t help that information about the disease was relatively miscommunicated leading everyone to walk around in fear.
The Nigeria attack came more than 3 months after the outbreak of the virus in other West African countries such as Guinea, Liberia and Sierra Leone, and only went to show how impressionable we can be as a people and how much of an epidemic the virus was turning out to be. Reported cases in other parts of the world also enabled world Health authorities to consider how susceptible this epidemic was to becoming pandemic.
WHO declared Nigeria Ebola free on the 20th of October 2014 and the scourge has come under control in the various affected countries but the African Union is committed to wiping out even the remotest trace of the scourge. A ‘United Against Ebola’ campaign was created and Africa’s leading telecommunication – MTN, is leading the pack by galvanising its over 219 million subscribers in Africa and the Middle East to be part of this fight against this dreaded virus.
You too can be a part of the campaign to stop Ebola by sending Stop Ebola to 7979 on your MTN line.

33 comments:

Good initiative coming from MTN #LetsFightEbola

Oh yes.

Yes o! But partnering with MTN??? I don't think so. Linda take note!

AQO said...

Hmmm. Ok.

Lindodo goodmurin ooooo, how market?

Plateaupedia said...

For wetin?? MTN use your excess profit to fight ebola. You can't even say 10 naira. i no do!!

Thumbs up for dis wonderful campaign.

How much?mtn doesn't do anything for free o

MTN criminals have come again

Madam Linda, are you not aware that campaign is over? won't you remove all these campaign ADS? Msheew, you should know better.

Hmm the name Ebola scares me silly

I don't trust this MTN at all. Dey will just chop my hard earned N100 nd clean mouth cos MTN can never get tired of money. My one cent opinion tho

Alrty ooo.

MTN...

Gay Life of an Anonymous Writer

It's a good idea.

Noted

Noted

AnD 60% of the money goes to MTN, never

BasicPulse said...

This is very important.

You can read everything you need to know about ebola on my blog.

Go on and read it, we all need the awareness.

Aiit

Divine-Favour said...

MTN at it again! They be like, text Ebola to 7979 to join the campaign against ebola. Text cost #100 only...
Ebola must go sha!

Divine-Favour said...

MTN at it again! They be like, text Ebola to 7979 to join the campaign against ebola. Text cost #100 only...
Ebola must go sha!

Love the awareness MTN
Is creating. Nice one.

MTN.. una try

Me donate 100 naira and MTN takes the CREDIT no way.

The Therapist said...

Stop to 7979 the stop ebola abi

Not giving my money to MTN

Karlsson said...

Useless network. Always looking for a way to extort money from the public. Must MTN beg for money from public to perform their civic responsibility despite the huge amount of money they charge their customers? Ur internet plans n call tariff re too high.
Ubanagum

MTN u can help with ur excess profit. Abeg leave us alone. I no doooooo.