Stop The Drum Beats Of War! “The Forest Dames” | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 28 March 2015

Stop The Drum Beats Of War! “The Forest Dames”

Invitation letters went round town heralding the launch of “The Forest Dames” on the 20th of March 2015, at the National Press Centre, Radio House, Abuja.

Before the launch day, the author Mrs. Adaokere Agbasimalo a UN eminent peace ambassador, who is also a recipient of the extraordinary woman (unsung) award by Genevieve Magazine, and the merit award of excellence and integrity by the Nigeria Association of Women Journalists, Enugu chapter; had in Abuja and Lagos canvassed for peace during this forthcoming elections and beyond so as not to repeat what she witnessed firsthand over four decades ago, when Nigeria erupted in a civil war. 

She took her campaign to media houses in Lagos and Abuja encouraging fellow Nigerians to join in beating the drums of PEACE not war.

The presentation held in Abuja and was graced by notable Nigerian men, women and youths. It was a memorable occasion as it became an issue-based book presentation and not just a banal book launch. Stopping the drumbeats of war and embracing peace became the issue and theme, especially as general elections were around the corner. Victor Emeana, the book reviewer made a world class review of the book. The former governor of Anambra state, his excellency, the former governor of Anambra State, Chukwuemeka Ezeife (Okwadike), former health minister Dr. Tim Menakaya, PPRO ACP Emmanuel Ojukwu, Engineer Emmanuel Agbasimalo and others, all lent a voice to PEACE in Nigeria. The author said "From whichever angle you view it, war portends evil and must not be allowed!" As the highpoint of event, participants all signed in solidarity, a giant Peace Card on which is crafted the following: NIGERIANS SIGN UP FOR PEACE! 

This card is expected to be taken to the relevant authorities to express Nigerians’ goodwill and commitment towards peace.  The book presentation ended and the author, having also been internally displaced during the Biafran war, proceeded to one of the Internally Displaced Persons (IDP) camps in Abuja to do the needful.

“THE FOREST DAMES” is an antique but unlike antiques which are rare to find, it is available at Silverbird galleria bookshop and Booksellers bookshop, City Plaza, opposite Biobak eatery Garki, in Abuja while in Lagos, the books are available in Unilag bookshop, Glendora bookshop at Shoprite Ikeja, Quintessence bookshop at Park View estate in Ikoyi and Laterna bookshop in Victoria Island. It is also available at konga.com, amazon.com, Barnes and nobles. Interested bookstores may call this number 08033486984 please.

25 comments:

Luck Adolphus said...

Hmmmmm!!!
Need News, Jokes, Entertainments, Gists, Musics, Videos, Pictures Downloads and Lots More, "CLICK HERE"

Nice pics

Okiie seen, this are the kind of people, we need in Nigeria. Linda take note!

Waiting for post election violence

Kai my data don suffer. Linda pls next time notify us by stating data chopping story as d topic, so person no go open.

Nice caption, and msg. Thumbs up for dis. Lovely.

Seen.

Seen.

Good for her.

Seen.

Seen.

Seen.

CHERRY said...

Nice!

Seen.

Are you a blood sucking demon?

Henry Eze, you lack manners and untrained. Grow Up!!! The Nigeria of our dreams , for every trained Nigerian does not include post election violence. Grow up and be patriotic !!!

Na u, ur family and una house Dem go burn. Idiot. Aswear U v no brains. Burnt asshole
#NWord

the movement and the book has my support

Effects said...

One love nja,lets pt Nigeria first

Effects said...

One luv Nja,lets pt Nigeria first...

mumsy said...

It's a must read, I encourage everyone to get it And read. Well done Aunty Ada.