Dear LIB readers; I've been sleeping with my cousin for the past year and now we want to tell our family | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 11 December 2014

Dear LIB readers; I've been sleeping with my cousin for the past year and now we want to tell our family

I blame Telemundo for this...:-). From a female LIB reader
I guess I should start by specifying that we’re not first cousins, but I don’t know if we qualify as second cousins or not. His mother and my grandfather are brother and sister, in a family where there are as many aunts, uncles, cousins, and siblings as trees in a forest. The two of them are separated by fifteen years, six siblings, and enough difference in upbringing that they would often talk about how they felt more like uncle and niece than brother and sister. I think that their disparity in childhood is probably a lot of the reason why we felt it was okay to do at first, because it was barely even like they were siblings.
We were so used to the big family reunions where everyone would get lost in the mix, and there were always new babies being born and new marriages and new extensions to the family tree — it was easy to pretend like we didn’t know what the situation was.

But we know, and since we first kissed outside a bar just over a year ago (on a night that was more about having shots and finding excuses to get close to each other than it was about welcoming him to Austin), we have been a couple. We are very private about our relationship — no PDA, only a few select friends know, never any evidence or anything on Facebook — but it’s a huge part of both of our lives. We are lucky to live far enough away from our family (they are almost all back on the east coast, we are here in Texas) that we can be pretty free with who we are. But if we are being honest with ourselves, we know that we share the kind of history and family relationship that would make most people cringe at the idea of us being together.

No one who knows that we are a couple know that we are from the same family. And although I often wish that I could confide in a close friend, I am simply not ready for the kinds of questions and judgment that would follow. They would tell me that it’s wrong, that it’s gross, that it is unnatural, and that I’m insane. And there is a good chance that they’re right, but the situation is just so hard to understand unless you’ve lived in it. Although it’s true that we are blood relatives, we only saw each other about once or twice a year. As I said before, the difference in age between his mother and my grandfather is enough that they are amongst the least close of all of their family, and I am much more familiar with a lot of my other cousins than I am with him. Even though I knew I could always see him at a family reunion or a wedding, I never really got that “close-knit upbringing” feel that you share with someone who you knew well in childhood. Hell, I even have friends from elementary school that I feel more of a kinship with because we were together for a lot of our important moments. Nick (a fake name, of course) was only there for the big stuff.

But I knew I loved him pretty young. We would always be the two kids at the event who would go off and play by themselves, and when we hit our pre-teen/teenage years, the bond that we had formed playing in the backyard at a family gathering turned into something much more profound. I could tell him things, he listened to me, he knew who I was in a way that almost no one else did — even though we saw each other very rarely. By the time I kissed him that night (I was 23), it felt like the release of something I had been waiting for my whole life. I wanted him to be with me, and only me, because I had always felt like I had to share him — with my family, with the girlfriends who would ask if he was single because they knew I could never be with him, with my parents who would make us leave an event early and take me away from him. For once, I had him all to myself, and I finally knew that he felt the same way about me that I did about him. I could be honest for the first time, even if it was only with him.

That night, we spent about three hours frantically Googling everything from local laws, to genetic risks, to “How to tell your family you’re in love with a relative.” We were insane, and scared, and completely lost — but so happy. So in love. Every day I look back on that night fondly, going from the computer to the bed trying to find out if the way we felt was okay, even though we knew that nothing we were going to find would change our minds. On some level, we realized that day that we were going to need to tell our family members. But at least, at the time, it was something we could procrastinate on.

I thought a long time about writing this, in a lot of ways it felt like the first real step to telling our family, because I finally have to put it all in words and acknowledge that it’s true. We decided, out loud for the first time not too long ago, that we would accept the consequences if our family could not have us around anymore. It’s a terrifying idea, and the loss of a family as big and amazing as ours would be a lifelong wound, but it’s something that is simply necessary. It is legal for us to get married, and if we won’t have our parents at our wedding, we’re going to do it some day. Nothing in the world makes me happier than the prospect of telling Nick, in front of anyone who is willing to watch us, that he is the love of my life. In many ways it feels unfair that we were burdened with the same blood, that we could have been just like any other couple around us who has the full support of everyone they love. But if we hadn’t been born who we are, we may have never met. And even if it costs me my family, it is a choice I am willing to make.

876 comments:

1 – 200 of 876   Newer›   Newest»

Ehen????akuko ifo

sassy chick said...

yawns
linda good morning

mostbeautifullibreader

tweeny said...

Eyah ....teeteelorpeh01@gmail.com

Hmmmmm

Hmmm una well done ooo! Mayb u people should marry

Ogenaija said...

u need deliverance

hilarious

Lol @ telemundo.

Nawawo! Sameerahdabo@yahoo.com

Cynhams Cakes, Abuja. said...

Incest. U better put an end to it and move on with your lives separately.

Incest.

Neks said...

>>>> its not right at all, its a taboo where i come from. <<<< corcake@yahoo.com

tell them and face the consequences...

Abomination.God help her

That's very immoral, God will surely help u out with dis immoral act of urs. Amen.

Eeyah! Okonubby@gmail.com

Ok Bobbyferafavorirabo@gmail.com

EbonyAma said...

Rubbish, different things everyday. amarachifewuaba@gmail.com

Abigail Lawal said...

ok..

Please go ahead and while u are at it ensure you have organised your for relocation out of Naija or better yet Obituary

Everything Rosham said...

This is y there should be an occasion where by family I mean extended family meet deirselves...
_
_
_
DERMIEY--DERMIEYDREAL
Temiarex@gmail.com

Ok hmm. Bobbyferafavorirabo@gmail.com

#jawdrops

Hehehehehehehe! Super Story!

EbonyAma said...

Rubbish, different things everyday. amarachifekwuaba@gmail.com

key said...

Need female friends 2BAFCD17

Hmmm na waoo.Bobbyferafavorirabo@gmail.com

Neks said...

>>>>> Its very wrong and a taboo where i come from..<<<< corcake@yahoo.com

What a silky excuse,if telemundo show cousins making out did they say u shld do it too? Better go and ask God for forgiveness

Dts really deep.

My dear I know how it feels to love, but u r doing something wrong. If only u can let it go. It is well.

Too bad

Eiyaaa nuradeeeen@gmail.com

Ha.

I Love Kaduna said...

Mumu, u beta stop it asap.

Oya na

Olamide said...

Toh! this one pass me o...God help you to get out of this mess you call love.

GCN( LADY G ) said...

Na waaa ooo

GCN( LADY G ) said...

Hmmm...gladchinyere@gmail.com

I Love Kaduna said...

Tell ur parents n face d oracle.

Watchu tellin dem for? Mehn dat shit sounds disgustin to the ears! Y'all shud just stop the act biko but U musnt tell dem

Abominations haaa good but first you guy need deliverance and travel far from each other

Mabogunjefemi@gmail.com

Na wa

skaler say so bgn247@yahoo.com

*** Linda's Pleasure *** said...

May God forgive you ...

*** Linda's Pleasure ***

Hmmmmm! Stories that touch the hrt and melt the bombom.

Repent truly and confess to Christ.No condemnation shall be directed to you.

Na wa oooooo. Make families dey do family meeting quarterly o and make sure there is intro... Mimo

*yawns

ok I'm here..supercharge@gmail.com

With your last statement,you probably don't need advice.. Have fun!!

Saidat said...

U don make up ur mind na, so why u dey ask us. If u people are Muslims den it is very much allowed for distant cousins to be togeda, buh I dunno bouh xtians thou, even in ur bible in d early tyms distant cousins marry each oda don't dey? Best of luck to u sha

mind-boggler said...

Na wa o

Asewo

tell ur family, if they accept to marry each other but if they do not, u don't have a choice than to look for someone.

mjabdulk@gmail.com

No time to read now, later. If you want to tell then tell na

Igbinosa Sarah said...

Sigh, with the high rate of divorce right now, do you think your love will withstand the test of time. Do you know how bad you will feel after telling your parents and all and you re cut off from the family, you think you are going to live happily ever after,just for reality to hit you 5years later when you are in court battling for custody of your imbecile son( genetic repercussion). Do you think it is worth it? Can't you try so hard to look for another guy, cause all those I felt something realise blah blah is bullshit with too much Hollywood.

AQO said...

It's better u tell your family. That's just it.

Am sorry for ur life

No matter how u try to justify ur relationship with him, he's still ur blood αи∂ at such, u shouldn't have had any bad/sexul tin wit him..its pure incest abeg

mind-boggler said...

This world sef

Nawa o. Finnatprecious@gmail.com

Aru kwonwa

Eddy Mycky said...

Hmmmmmm. This is weird.

datz a sad news for them.

No matter how u try to justify ur relationship with him, he's still ur blood αи∂ at such, u shouldn't have had any bad/sexul tin wit him..its pure incest abeg

maureen said...

Post my comment ooh,

what can i say? the society frowns on it.

Igbinosa Sarah said...

Sigh, with the high rate of divorce right now, do you think your love will withstand the test of time. Do you know how bad you will feel after telling your parents and all and you re cut off from the family, you think you are going to live happily ever after,just for reality to hit you 5years later when you are in court battling for custody of your imbecile son( genetic repercussion). Do you think it is worth it? Can't you try so hard to look for another guy, cause all those I felt something realise blah blah is bullshit with too much Hollywood.

Better you tell, God forgives

Linda u dey watch APC primaries ni.

NicK

mind-boggler said...

The type of shit you here

Its not good hun, u don't need to tell ur family just back out now why u still ve d chance

datz a sad news for them

This is madness. Ogishot84@yahoo.com

mind-boggler said...

Mehn

destinysweet said...

Abomination

Okoroedafedestiny@gmail.com

It's aiit

Vickydarl83@gmail.com
God bless u linda

lahrah said...

That's not cool dear, it is not too late to put a stop to it. Shit happens

WHAT OF IF SHE IS PREGNANT ,STORY FOR THE GODS DONT U NO SHE IS UR COUSIN ALL DIS WHILE HMMM

mayree-mayreeze429@gmail.com said...

well, its the first right thing to do..... next is prayers and counselling

She is sick really(Maureennnenna@gmail.com)

Seek counsel, seek God. With God all things are possible

destinysweet said...

Incest

WHAT OF IF SHE IS PREGNANT ,STORY FOR THE GODS DONT U NO SHE IS UR COUSIN ALL DIS WHILE HMMM

Too long and doesn't add up or make sense

mind-boggler said...

Wonders shall never end

KWEEN said...

Na wa o... let me join those who are always saying "endtime is near" today. Incest is now a thing to be proud of? I feel sorry for you. The both of you.

Even if it's second cousins like u said u at stik related

mind-boggler said...

Disgusting

OneKay said...

Long and boring at some point

Austine ihechukwu said...

Men!! Is absurd, wtf!!! Better quit its crazy

Neks said...

>>>> well you already made up your mind, why telling? go ahead and face the consequences . <<<<< corcake@yahoo.com

mind-boggler said...

Chai

Choice and responsibility

Dat is very bad nd absord, its beta u stop it now.owolabikikelomo@yahoo.com

ogeee said...

God s watching u oooooo

destinysweet said...

Taboo

----#AUNTYLINDAgoddaughter#

Sounds like you juist want to let it out and you r not ready to quit the relationship no matter what people think or say. Goodluck

dis life sha

mind-boggler said...

What nonsense

Choi.....uwa nmebioooo.Obedon2001@gmail.com

mzmaris said...

My ears r still ringing

mosebolatan said...

Abomination, olayemiok@yahoo.com

Really don't know what to call this maybe insest but who am I to put a title to it.... na una sabi jare

Is this for real?

cuteeloteg said...

wow wow wow

Incest! U need tobe baptized again.....

Go ahead n tell.... OYO

cuteeloteg said...

wow wow wow

too bad..secure.checks@gmail.com

Incest...still related

destinysweet said...

Signs of end time

-----#AUNTYLINDAgoddaughter#

lami said...

My friend take responsiblity for ur action amd don't lay it on telemundo.

Wonders shall never end

Amakadarlyn@yahoo.com

Incest...still related

How ever u choose to live....make ur choice and face d responsibilities either good or bad

mind-boggler said...

Moving on

Incest...still related

This can't be real now.

mosebolatan said...

Abomination, olayemiok@yahoo.com

mind-boggler said...

Irritating

cuteeloteg said...

wow wow woow

Incest...still related

kenoflife said...

wonders shall never end

Vry wrong !!!

Onismate said...

This case, odikwa risky, onismate@Gmail.com

that's crazy u have nofin to justify

Eastner said...

wow!!! for one,you'd need to know for sure how to broach this subject to your family. I do know something of this nature has happened in days of old as written in the bible. pray about it.

You are heading to DOOM!

mind-boggler said...

Irritating

Rubbish

Incest!!!

Neks said...

>>>> well you already made up your mind, why telling? go ahead and face the consequences . <<<<< corcake@yahoo.com

Pls stop what u guys is doing sis! It's abomination! Nd2k!

GLO AMBASSADOR said...

I KNOW I HAVE NO HOPES OF WINNING THIS MONEY THOUGH I NEED IT LIKE THE AIR I BREATH,REASONS BEING DAT SOME PEOPLE TYPE FASTER THAN FRAUDSTERS WHILE ODAS ARE ALWAYS ONLINE LIKE WITCHES, MAKING IT HARD FOR STRUGGLING STUDENTS LIKE US 2 HAVE A TASTE OF ANTY LINDA'S BLESSINGS,BUT JUST LIKE THE LAME MAN BY THE POOL OF BETHESDA THAT WAITED FOR 38 YEARS, MY DAY SHALL COME john 5: 1-18..EMANMMANUELKARNA@gmail.com

Emem2luv@yahoo.com

Just end it all... Chelvin2010@yahoo.com

Nkem said...

some stories are so dirty that it stings to hear nkemeze12@gmail.com

hmmm...fragiletimbz@gmail.com

mind-boggler said...

Try mountain on fire

Lolli4mum@yahoo.con

It happens, thers nothing new abt it

I think is better you guys say the truth and make the necessary adjustments

Neks said...

Punks

mind-boggler said...

Repent

Abigail Lawal said...

Wow ...harbigail@yahoo.com

Too bad

Neks said...

mind-boggler said...

Ok o

Just pray

GLO AMBASSADOR said...

I KNOW I HAVE NO HOPES OF WINNING THIS MONEY THOUGH I NEED IT LIKE THE AIR I BREATH,REASONS BEING DAT SOME PEOPLE TYPE FASTER THAN FRAUDSTERS WHILE ODAS ARE ALWAYS ONLINE LIKE WITCHES, MAKING IT HARD FOR STRUGGLING STUDENTS LIKE US 2 HAVE A TASTE OF ANTY LINDA'S BLESSINGS,BUT JUST LIKE THE LAME MAN BY THE POOL OF BETHESDA THAT WAITED FOR 38 YEARS, MY DAY SHALL COME john 5: 1-18..EMANMMANUELKARNA@gmail.com

You need to reveal this to your family ASAP. It will be a good step in the right direction. God will help you out.

ELENA (HER MAJESTY) said...

Normally i don't shy away 4rm reading long epistle but this time around,i had to...no matter how much u try 2tell urself it's right or tryna make it sound right with ur long write up and explanations the sad truth is that,it IS NOT and can't b justifiable in any way be him him ur 1st or 8th cousin,UR COUSIN is UR COUSIN regardless...what u guyz are doin is morally wrong and plainly stupid

Ps-linda seems uv nt been posting my comments lately or i probably hav been commenting on thin air cos lately i don't get 2c my comments...nwayz I'd just blame it on the network buh pls do look in2 it

mind-boggler said...

Hmm

Neks said...

GLO AMBASSADOR said...

susu cossy said...

u need deliverance rubbish.ozeisusan497@gmail.com

mind-boggler said...

Ouch

Neks said...

mind-boggler said...

Pity

Una try well well,,klap 4urself!!!!

na wa o

THE TRUTH mothfav@yahoo.com said...

Pls PUT A STOP TO THIS NOW COS THIS IS SO SO WRONG GOING BY OUR TRADITION ANG AS BELEIVERS. SO YOU DONT BRING A CAUSE UPON YOUR GENERATION.

The gods are not to be blamed... Smh

That's serious

Incest

godgives said...

See Gobe! Oya, tell ur family naa. Sebi una be adults and as such should be responsible for all ur actions.

I don talk my own.

mind-boggler said...

How do you live with yourself and

Madness!

U have already made a decision, what else are u looking for in dis blog as a reply? Abeg park well!

@jessyangels4love

chigozieokochi@yahoo.com

May God forgive the both of you

You don't have fault

Wow i cnt judge cus i dnt knw wat u going tru buh ah wish u all d best nd i hpe u guys re doing d rite tyn cus i knw u can marry ur 5th level of cousin or so am nt sure dnt knw d level u guys re buh i pray God will enlighten u

Just pray

prayer is the only key.. I rest my case..

Som1 like you can even marry ur own broda! i don't care the rubbish u say here y'all are still family! U said his mother and ur grandfather are brother and sister? Do u know if it was his father dat means u and ur so-called guy wud hav same surname? Dis world don spoil finish

Hw could she so stupid like. Dat to be sleep wit. His own blood! Any ways is none of my business.

Wow!

Story

I feel ur pain but I still think its wrong

Cynthia Tasha said...

Too long to complete...... but in ratification.... u gat no excuse to sleep with ur blood

U must quit.
(God bless Nigeria)™Sp. godblessnigeria.sp@gmail.com

End everything there

Impossible

dunicetaiwo@yahoo.com said...

Am speechless .....wil be right bck

geez! and you have the mouth to say it. God forbid!

Impossible

Rittyluv said...

Hian! Wetin person no go hear?

U'v judged urselves already, I think u already know d consequences and even said u are ready to face it so why disturb us???

wow... suicide...

mind-boggler said...

God help you

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 876   Newer› Newest»