Police issue statement on killing of Oyoma Edewor | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 12 May 2014

Police issue statement on killing of Oyoma Edewor

33 year old Oyoma Edewor was shot dead on Saturday night by Sgt. Otene Godwin in the Festac area of Lagos. Find the release, signed by the Lagos Police Public Relations Officer Ngozi Braide, below..
Shooting Incident: REF: F/NO.355272 Sgt. Otene Godwin
The Lagos State Command has arrested one Sgt. Otene Godwin with F/No. 355272 attached to Area ‘E’ Command for allegedly shooting one Oyema Edewor.
The incident occurred on May 10th, 2014 about 2300hrs along Alakija area of Festac Town. Sgt. Otene abandoned his duty post as the Station Guard at Area ‘E’ Command and left for Alakija area where the unfortunate incident occurred.
The sergeant is already in police custody and circumstances surrounding the shooting incident is being investigated. Continue...
The Nigeria Police is a disciplined organization and will never tolerate any act of indiscipline from its members.

The Commissioner of Police Lagos State CP Umar A. Manko mni wishes to use this medium to appeal to members of the public to remain calm and maintain peace as justice will definitely be done. He also assures the deceased family that investigation will be concluded in good time.

NGOZI C. BRAIDE DSP,
POLICE PUBLIC RELATIONS OFFICER,
LAGOS STATE COMMAND,
IKEJA.

124 comments:

Peejay said...

Hmmm! This is so sad! I hope justice is served. It will be very unfortunate if this matter is buried in a few weeks. Linda, please help us with follow-up.

Na so dem dey talk

I hope the case is not swept under the carpet, like its the norm with most cases like this

Are we still safe in this country so? If it is not Boko haram, it is the Nigerian police. Which way Nigeria? May his soul rest in peace.

Uchendu Doris said...

Justice while d poor guy's body is already down. No justice will be good if u dont sentence dat stupid policeman to life imprisonment

Power of linda ikeji's blog!!!

Abeg they shldnt sweep dis under s carpet o. Justice most take its full course. Police n their wahala sef.

Nwa Aba said...

I am very Mad with NPF, everyday we are investigating, every day the culpit will be brought to book, in NYPD, shooting is the rarest thing for an officer unless being attacked with arms.

Ok #bright bravo#

Hmm....

* My R1.50c comment *

H S C said...

When will all this rubbish police brutality stop??? A drunk man is given a gun!

Chei d way police r killing innocent ppl nw is alarming...diaris God ooooooo, diaris God ooooo *crying*

BAD NEWS!!! RIP!

stupid police man...... wat will dey giv d deceased family? jst d account of wat happened n hw he was shot.. nonsence

Y didn't dey arrest him before now?stupid fools damn dis country is fucked God forbid bad thing

RIP Oyoma

Nice one! The sergeant should dance to the tune of the law. Nigerian security operatives gotta drop these acts of impunity they keep displaying.

good, but the problem with this nigeria is that we are never pro-active, we are always investigating. what becomes of oyoma? at the end of the day, he remains dead!! let my Nigeria do better.. why would a drunk police man carry a gun in the first place.. in my opinion, the officer that allowed him hold a gun, those on that illegal guard duty with him should all be prosecuted, with some degree of murder charges.. that will create that care attitude amongst police.. korofo wey life don frustrate go kill person!!!

This is not the 1st time this his happening I wish I am in festac now, we should go burn down the station 1st because this keep happening. Nigeria police are not responsibility honestly, getting during on duty and nothing has been done to them, this Ngozi will always defend them. For me we should teach the festac police some lessons, most Nigerian police are drop out many of them are so interested in 20 niara instead of safe guard life's Nigeria force are bastard, u cannot handle boko harm, there will be war in festac soon

wish d investigation can bring him back to life.......

Can u imagine. He left his duty post to go n waste an innocent soul. Dis country is something else

Yeye people...God help us in dis country

DOBY DOBY said...

Hia.. leave dis tin linda. . Dats hw dey wuld end dis case issuing statement lyk dey care.. corrupt police officers

Welcome development. Power of information.

Eugenia Ekeji said...

Justice... We are waiting for.

Na wa oooo

Dats gud news... Let him dance to d drums of justice

We need to reorganize our police department, in fact we need to revamp our armed forces to weed out those deemed not fit to carry out their duties as seen fit.

The story too long I stopped there

disciplined organization indeed. nonsense NP

Jade said...

Swift response! Nice work PR.

Oh please! What a shame, why should a police man be intoxicated in the first place?

I think the Nigerian Police force should actually start laying off this officials that drink while on duty.

Let's hope sooooo..... Our eyes are on u!

Which stupid disciplined organization they are the worst set of police officers in the world and the bane of this country this is not the first time innocent citizens are being killed by them let's hope justice will be done

Good. Am very happy to read this, lindodo pls continue to carry us along about this story. We must see the end. That useless and josing police must be punished. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

Chai, Nigerian Police there is God o, all this blood you are sharing, there is God o... May Oyoma Edewor's soul rest in peace

All they can say is "unfortunately"abi? That's how someone's life is gone because of unfortunately.

After police, na Boko...

Bernadette said...

This is not the time for comic self praise. A man is dead and the Police are claiming to be a disciplined organization. Kindly put a stop to these senseless killings of citizens that you are sworn to protect and stop using the man's murder as an avenue to display your comedy skills. Disciplined organization my foot!

veralu said...

Linda, dis ur story is incomplete, wat happened, y was dis young man shot

After wasting someone's life u will tell the public to remain calm wtf they dunno dat it is life or somfin, i'm pissed off about nigerian forces killing innocent citizen

i actually know this dude. Its so sad

makasteve said...

They should keep this to their self police decpline my ass evil doers they had better handle this matter with justice cos we won't keep quite on this is too much for God sake Jare.

tnx LINDA for putting these up....... it wud av bn swept offff

Rubbish. Person don die. This is not the first or second.

Neeqilata said...

Thanks to Linda our voices are being heard

Gbemisola said...

@Nwa Aba May God bless and keep you for this comment. God of Justice will make sure it happens. RIP my dear Oyoma....Miss you already. It is Well!

Hmmmm....Linda and closeup.

Pls, may justice be served!

can we get the picture of the sgt godwin otene , he may be hiding from some other shootings we know nothing about

Linda pls just as you haven't forgotten Aluu 4 don't forget this issue-my Father is a retired police man I can convincingly tell you that nothing will be done to this man if people don't follow it up.At most he will be dismissed and allowed to walk free(that is if he is even in custody sef)or they will demote den transfer him to one interior village and tell the public he has been dismissed or killed.Lastly their story on the investigation might come out as saying that the deceased was a suspected arm robber.These Festac police pips r notorious in their shooting d shot my brother once same reason in broad daylight d music in his car was on nd AC on he didn't hear them stopping him so d shot nd it hit his right hand-my dear u wnt believe d stories on d pages of newspaper d said he was a notorious arm robber-ThankGod he was alive to tell the story.

Story! Story!! Let the family of oyome no remain mute or else they would do notin. He dat kill by gun shuld die by gun. So notin lyk custody here. Let he die too, 33yrz guy just gone lyk dat cha!......#NaijaDeyDullMe#

~CYNTHIA~ commenting from my TOYOTA CRICKET

this is d last of d story, we wnt hear anything again.....

Na so!!!...dis one is jst initial gara gara..custody indeed!!

Mrs E said...

NWA ABA, you wey dey talk NYPD, na for ABA you take know how NYPD dey operate or from watching Police Academy? Pls tell us now! #justice4Oyoma #BringBackOurGirls

U just killed this young man for nothing! Hope ur eyes are clear now

BLAJO said...

At least the public is being carried along.

Just like that.....uhm

Gud

May God help us in this country. So sad.

They are always investigating,later we won't hear anything again,hisss.

Bia mugu !! Bcus linda wrote about it ? I guess you don't stay in festac bcus if you do you will know that linda contribution no even reach 20%..

Olu P said...

Oyoma was a young promising guy. The policeman still shot him after he knew that they never attempted to run. Its so sad.

What a corrupt bunch of fools, how can a criminal work as a police? RIP dude

So sad ....May God comfort his family

Nigeria s police !they killed my cousin. Bayo Awosika.m they are useless nd very irresponsible. Period!

What are you guys talking! Power of linds ikeji blog. Good one bla bla Death is DEATH. Onyema can NEVER resurrate again. F Nigeria Police force. RIP bro tears!

NPF, we are watching. And believe me, we must see this one till the end. NPF, dear talks about displine. Which disciplined person would live his duty post to another area where he/she is not suppose to be. # NPF we are watching#

His vehicle broke down at alakija n he called a towing vehicle, d police officer wanted to collect money he was obviously drunk and shot dis poor guy. Like i heard the DPO of area A festac who is under the payroll of thugs n thieves kidnappers n ritualist also known for his rascality is trying to sweep the matter under d carpet saying the officer was drunk. Haaaaa enough is enough oooooo!!!!!!

I stopped reading when they said, the Nigerian police is a discipline organisation.

With all the recent misconduct by members of the police force on citizens of the country why has a committee not been set up to address this issues. Its high time a legal body is introduced to the public to educate citizens on their rights & also defend citizens who ve complains or have encountered gross police misconduct. A nigerian citizen shouldn't b paying tax which will be used to half train a police officer which at the of the supposed training would come out and become a terror to the citizens. The time is due to have a legal body that will sue this motherfuckers. Excuse my french, when I get so emotional & worked up I tend 2 speak a lot of french.

Olu P said...

Oyoma was a young promising guy. The policeman still shot him after he knew that they never attempted to run. Its so sad.

miss miss said...

Aunty ngozi,if u don't do somfin about dis particular issue,be sure to have d no of witches and wizards increase in festac and policemen wil start dying anyhow includn u!

Fine Sisi said...

It is well. May the Lord comfort his loved ones.

Dis case shud nt die like d rest oh!

We should see the justice just has we have seen the victim's body on the ground. For once police make us proud

Doro justice

hrm paul ojeih said...

So sad dat a promising talent and star was cut down in his prime may this unfortunate accident not happened to us or our loved ones and friends the very day Nigerian government legalize fire arm this police brutality will end police will think twice bfore they pull a gun at u

I TRUST OUR POLICE, THEY WILL SURELY DEAL WITH THE STUPID POLICE MAN FOR KILLING INNOCENT MAN

His vehicle broke down at alakija n he called a towing vehicle, d police officer wanted to collect money he was obviously drunk and shot dis poor guy. Like i heard the DPO of area A festac who is under the payroll of thugs n thieves kidnappers n ritualist also known for his rascality is trying to sweep the matter under d carpet saying the officer was drunk. Haaaaa enough is enough oooooo!!!!!!

Ngozi
Your institution is a killer and bunch of criminal institution.
Everytime,u will be lookin for wetin no loss andd wetin loss una no go luk for am.
If u want to be responsible,just resign from dat ur silly post. Bcs u encourage dem also.
Beasts!!!

Gud news den

My dear Linda, Thank you for featuring this story on your blog. My prayers are with the family of this young man. What a loss. When will these unjust and unlawful killings stop in this country. I have a problem with the Police investigating a case that involves one of their officers. I hope they will not sweep this under the carpet.

A norseman said...

I stay in satellite town, very close 2 festac town. The truth of d matter is that d policemen attached 2 that unit area E are always drunk most they are beggars,wicked,inconsiderate,devilish e.t.c they represent everything bad.fellow nigeria pls if u can avoid festac town pls do cos d police there r always harrassing people, ones they c u r well dressed they well double cross u like arm rubbers and point thier gun 2 ur head order u 2 come out of ur car, most times they extort u. Me' I dey fear them die, May God help us

This is just too sad. One too many in Festac, d embarrasement n oppression frm NPF Festac is in excess.

Can dey quit giving dis bloody modafuckas! Guns???? Ahn ahn how long nigeria how long? Which stupid investigating? Every d ay we are investigating abeg this particular guy must be brought to book o! Instead juju him to die slowly so he can understand and his family can also understand how it feels to loose a child! Wen all d men amd women in the nigerian police are fustrated why won't dey shoot? Dropouts and never do wells in the society! And you do not even try to rehabilitate dem,dey just com and join d police force den u give dem guns again! Ha make una fear God o!

Waiting for justice to be done makes me so distraught because the deed is dobe. The dead can't rise. What we should fight for u is prevention of future incidents. By giving the entire NPF stun guns or tranquilisers. They're not trained enough mentally especially. We can't keep sharing blood

Don't mind them, to curb d daily robbery at Mile 2 was a big task but dey re always happy to pursue n shoot at harmless innocent citizens

Seriously a police officer drinking or engaging in any misconduct or questionable behavior whilst in their uniform or on duty should be sacked immediately

The number of cases where police officers are alleged to have been drinking is quite high and should not be tolerated

In d end d poor soul can't be brought back to life. And am sure they sergeant would be later released to go free. N.a. Niger we dey

Police kill innocent pp, mother kill child, brother kill brother, husband kill wife.
Are those killers better than Boko Haaam? After they will saying Bring back our girls! Like say na d placard go bring dem back

What is CP doing to prevent recurrence? This is one incident too many.
Your officers smoke marijuana, get drunk, conduct themselves in unruly manner but you don't dismiss them for all of these acts. You wait till they kill somebody and that is when you come out to say justice will be served. That's reactive rather than proactive.

The police force in naija has turned to killer squad now.wtf is the IG doing to curb these killing spree?wtf is happening in nigeria?my advice is we the citizens should start meting out jungle justice on the motherfucking cops and then see what happens afterwards!bastards

kaylie said...

The justice had beta. Be done
Cos we re. So fade up of the police sheddin innocent blood o

Gone 2 soon..may God punish d man who took d life of dz young dark handsome dude *fashionista LeOnOrA*

chinero said...

The police should be shot.....

Billion said...

At festac, u see dis policemen in shuttle buses, old volvo n all sort patrolling n harrassing innocent citizen. Touts re robbing at mile 2 daily in d morning n evening. They re saddst cos dey even get angry at u for husttling n buying urself a good car to drive around, dats why dey never achieved good thing in dier lives.

benito said...

Nigeria should be an armed society. This is what happens when the citizens are not allowed to protect themselves and rely on government to protect them. It only leads to society like this, where the police and criminals are armed and terrorize the citizens. And yes i am talking from an American point of view.

SHADYBRIAN said...

Linda pls any update on d Chinedu guy killed by SARS in Achara layout Enugu? D guy they shot n abandoned with d handcuffs...

Every single police man in nigeria needs a psych evaluation monthly. Dey all seem to b on borderline behavior

If we check well, d policemen that are wasting f life of innocent people in Nigeria are those that could not pass school cert. Untill review our minimum entry reqirement for enlisting into NPF to ordinary nationa diploma, we will always have sitations like this. They will talk about doing justice, but it will not bring this young man back. God please avenge d death of this young man and make sorrow to reside in d household of his killer.

Billion said...

At festac, u see dis policemen in shuttle buses, old volvo n all sort patrolling n harrassing innocent citizen. Touts re robbing at mile 2 daily in d morning n evening. Its only in festac u will see RRS bike pursuing car owners, tokunbo cars frm tincan all becos of egunje. They re saddst cos dey even get angry at u for husttling n buying urself a good car to drive around, dats why dey never achieved good thing in dier lives.

Billion said...

At festac, u see dis policemen in shuttle buses, old volvo n all sort patrolling n harrassing innocent citizen. Touts re robbing at mile 2 daily in d morning n evening. Its only in festac u will see RRS bike pursuing car owners, tokunbo cars frm tincan all becos of egunje. They re saddst cos dey even get angry at u for husttling n buying urself a good car to drive around, dats why dey never achieved good thing in dier lives.

ANYA IKENGA said...

thanks to Linda and her blog. they would have tried to cover this up.

Mercy after death,a glory has bn buried. Least the police will do is to suspend the foolish policeman,but the deed has bn done.all the security agencies in the country are drunkard that are not suppose to posses arms but sticks.Frm the nigerian army to PF all are useless asshole.

Justice Team said...

God bless you linda for your assistance God will continue to keep you and your family in good health and wealth

omalichaspeaks.blogspot.com said...

This is highly unacceptable....the senate should wade into this matter.....law enforcement officers have gone haywire.
The Importance Of 'Vex Money'- click my name to read more.

omalichaspeaks.blogspot.com said...

This is highly unacceptable....the senate should wade into this matter.....law enforcement officers have gone haywire.
The Importance Of 'Vex Money'- click my name to read more.

Its sad to see all the wrong doing in Nigeria , it isn't safe anywhere now days , now days you can't even trust your local service men and woman

Its sad to see all the wrong doing all over the world but lately Nigeria has been going thru some difficult situations . Its not safe anywhere meaning all over the world . Its hard to find good hearted people any more its sad that innocent people either die or get punished over someone's bad judgment or thinking. And for the girls that been kidnapped praying for their safety

dunni said...

Infact its so sad how they took oyema Edewor's life such a young,vibrant n promising young man! A drunk with a gun? What a waste! When will all this injustice end? Bringing sorrow to this family! It's so sad! #wewantjustice#

Festac police are all blood sheders and armed robbers....from dere nonsense stop n search dey will point gun at u and rob u...pls make una avoid festac expecially in d nite...dis fuckers are killerz/blood ducking daemons

Zany said...

Edu Brazil...choi warau doing here!!!!! Go n face Ur patients oo m leave Linda!!! Hahaha nice one.

Nigerian uniform men are the worst in the world.

The law enforcement especially the police need reformation.they all need to be vetted and send most of them packing becos the truth is there are more criminals in the force that's why the crime rate in the country is worrisome .the cases of police shooting at citizens that they are meant to protect is alarming.

The earlier nigerian realize the police is their enemy the better for them. Our police force is filled with trigger happy men.

I had an experience two weeks ago when a police man (the ones who wear the shelled outfit) stopped me at anthony Oke on my way to the gbagada express way and requested for my documents and I showed him the vehicle license tag on my car, he then requested for my drivers'license and I presented the documents handed to me by the officer facilitating the renewal/processing of my new drivers' license.
The police officer began to pick holes in the documents, told me the docs had no validity date and they were fake. I tried to explain that I was told that the new DL docs had no expiry dates on them but you get a notification to come over for biometrics once they are ready.
It is important to note that I had two children in the car under the age of five at the time (one was fast asleep while the other kept begging the police to leave me alone)
The policeman said to me " madam, no make our story enter punch newspaper o" everyone knows what type of news is carried on the punch newspaper especially with gory details.
He then said he would take me to alausa but for the children I should buy him 60 liters of fuel for their car and bikes.
The policeman harassed me and all the occupants in my car as he continuously tapped his gun saying madam please don't waste my time or else I will enter your CAr.
I know my DL documents were not fake but for the fear of an accidental discharge I gave the policeman 5k and he let me go.
The policeman behaved like he was drunk and that really scared me as I had young nigerian children with me.

Linda, spread the word, Anthony Oke might be the next festac 3rd gate with a trigger happy policeman walking away scot free.
Fellow Nigerians, never go into an agruement with a policeman, they will kill you with that one bullet in their scary looking gun.

Grew up with this dude, calm and just returned from the states. Rich humble kid too, festac is just a gruesome place to be at,every manner of Sodom exists there. Cops watch the bad guys stroll around and even gallivant with them, too bad how justice will never be done. This is NIGERIA, we all know wat happens next. Oyoma Edewor rest in peace.

I know onyema personally, he was even at my house a few weeks ago for a birthday party. Quiet guy, talks softly and he's not done any wrong to these guys. Youths and mothers should carry out a rally. It could have been anybody's son or brother. Shame to the nigerian police... They can't even combat robbery on mile 2 area. Nonsense

K-REX said...

I swear if if i set my eyes on that police man right now i will kill him and go to jail! what the fuck is NP feeling like? it happened to me 2years back in abuja, one use less police man was drunk and if not for the intervention of his inspector, he wud have shot me death dat day. Though i heard the police man is now death after he over drunk himself. NP! you guys better be careful if not we will fight u guys to death. I hate NP with passion.

what re dey investigating again naw, he killed d innocent boy, he also should be killed. if not....... there wont be peace in festac o

Stupid police people they have the guts to issue such a silly statement instead of them to be apologising to the family. Thunder go fire una