Sharing centenary award with Abacha is an insult - Wole Soyinka | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 2 March 2014

Sharing centenary award with Abacha is an insult - Wole Soyinka

Prof. Wole Soyinka, yesterday Saturday March 1st said he rejected the centenary award conferred on him by the Federal Government because late military dictator, Gen. Sani Abacha, was included in the list of awardees. His statement titled ‘The Canonisation of Terror,’ reads in part...
“Under that ruler, torture and other forms of barbarism were enthroned as the norm of governance. Nine Nigerian citizens, including the writer and environmentalist, Ken Saro-wiwa, were hanged after a trial that was stomach-churning even by the most primitive standards of judicial trial, and in defiance of the intervention of world leadership.
“We are speaking of a man who placed this nation under siege during an unrelenting reign of terror that is barely different from the current rampage of Boko Haram. It is this very psychopath that was recently canonised by the government of Goodluck Jonathan in commemoration of one hundred years of Nigerian trauma.”
"What the government of Goodluck Jonathan has done is to scoop up a century’s accumulated degeneracy in one preeminent symbol, then place it on a podium for the nation to admire, emulate and even – worship.
“Such abandonment of moral rigour comes full circle sooner or later. The survivors of a plague known as Boko Haram, students in a place of enlightenment and moral instruction, are taken to a place of healing dedicated to an individual contagion – a murderer and thief of no redeeming quality known as Sani Abacha, one whose plunder is still being pursued all over the world and recovered piecemeal by international consortiums – at the behest of this same government which sees fit to place him on the nation’s Roll of Honour!
“I can think of nothing more grotesque and derisive of the lifetime struggle of several on this list, and their selfless services to humanity. It all fits. In this nation of portent readers, the coincidence should not be too difficult to decipher. I reject my share of this national insult,”
Source: Punch

158 comments:

Immaculate said...

Thank you for rejecting the award, Nigerians are in pain, innocent children paying the price of what they do not know, and yet Mr President is busy lavishing award to people that did not deserve it, what about the 20 women abducted for over 3 weeks now, nothing has been done, infact I weep for Nigeria,

Aah Baba Don Vex, But On A Serious Note I Thought About That?? What Impact Had Abacha On Nigerians??

.SWEET TORTURE
.GENTLE DISPLAY
>Comment Moderation Disabled<

onyiiasa said...

BLOG ANALYSER: He knows what he is saying!. The award should have been for people who have done us proud.

Prince charming pls where are thou!!!
We need you to break down this sumountous brouhaha of our dear Nobel Laureate.
The reaction of d catalysts infuriates my metabolism.

True talk baba

Oyinbo poju

Soul said...

GBAM

How disgusting?! Is Jonathan mad or something. How dare him? Abacha name in the list and even his wife l. This country can't possibly get any worse

Thank you, Professor Wole Soyinka.
Dozie

I swear cus some leaders don't even deserve d award, I was opportune to b among those living in abj as @ abacha's time, I lived closed to d villa, u wouldn't understand wot his regime was like. Anyways na Naija Wia anyfin goes, smh

This wole soyinka is just a clown but I think i kinda agree with him sha

SUGAR DOC said...

I thought same thing.... Abacha was a dictator and didn't deserve it.

Exactly Sir....I just like the Nomenclature you gave it "NATIONAL INSULT". That is what the Centenary celebration is... A NATIONAL INSULT

Hmmmmm.

Damn!!!!! He went hard. I believe you man. Man of integrity. Honest man. Thank you for that deep one

None of them merit the honor not even only Abacha

uk.kofo said...

A man of great integrity. I admire him greatly.

uk.kofo said...

A man of great integrity. I admire him greatly.

But you're sharing the same country with Boko H.
Once you mention Nigeria overseas what comes to mind is Boko H.

Mischievous said...

''The man dies in all who keep silent in the face of tyranny''
-Professor Wole Soyinka.

I totally agree with Professor Wole Soyinka, he was one of those who stood up to the TYRANT called Sanni Abacha. How can Nigeria move forward when we glorify a despotic ruler like Abacha?
Abacha rule was free reign of terror. He was a BEAST!

duggie said...

well said prof.

No doubt, I admire Soyinka a great deal and respect his intellectual power, but sometimes his take on Abacha reads more personal than objective. Was Abacha the only corrupt Nigerian leader? I don't understand why Soyinka seems to be at peace with Babangida, and actually appears gullible in his memoir in accepting Babangida's flimsy excuses for not sparing Mamam Vatsa and co but always bays for Abacha's blood. How many of the former heads of state and presidents on that dais yesterday are clean of corruption and killing. Abacha is no saint and I have never been a supporter, but I believe Soyinka could have done better than single him out as the reason for rejecting the honor.

Oga abeg shift.

I am highly disappointed by president joe and his clownish cabinet, it is unreasonable stupid for grouping unreasonable thieves as a stud in our nation, I know someday Nigerians will wake up to realizing that we are not zombies.

Interesting and well said thou I read dis wt my dictionary very well said sir...

Omo dis english too much oooo! Didn't understand nada!

chy said...

Emmmmmmmmm. GEJ Nawaoooo.

I am highly disappointed by president joe and his clownish cabinet, it is unreasonable stupid for grouping unreasonable thieves as a stud in our nation, I know someday Nigerians will wake up to realizing that we are not zombies.

ChyChy said...

I totally agree with you sir, there is absolutely nothing to celebrate for in this country at this time, this is a period °Æ’ mourning for us as lives are being taken by bh on a daily basis, it could hv been anybody.

hmmmm

God bless you sir! He said it all. Goodluck & his pack of wolves have no shame. Abacha did nothing but taint the image of this country, died in a shameful way which we all know and is now being honoured. For what? Only God can help us, we're being led by a retard!

I just had to Comment. I am with you Sir. I also reject thiese national insults. Na only Abacha? Babaginda nko? Obasanjo nko. Mtchew

Yes big insult #bright bravo#

True talk bt we re tired of al dese talks nd no actions..Dey shud go nd confront jona in face 2face

At least some of us are still sane in this country. God bless Prof Soyinka. #first to comment and first time to ever put up a comment

Good for you! The whole concept of these centenary celebration is just bizarre and stupid! What exactly are we celebrating? 100 years of exploitation, lies and deceit. I'm sick of this country, but then, it's the only one we've got. We can only work, hope and pray for a better tomorrow.
Tri.

MARKET MONITOR said...

It all fits. In this nation of portent readers, the coincidence should not be too difficult to
Bad: see girl intentionally uploaded her own full na*ked pics on twitter

am wit u daddy

I agree . Abacha ke?

Much respect to u sire!!abacha of all people?linda was celebrating his son abi daughter d other day.showing us how much dey ve got.children of a dictator.a man who rendered so many fatherless!God help nigeria!

Aymii said...

Ah love this dude! ..#Widesmile#....a literary icon indeed...i. always get to learn new words from his articles, with the right context of how to use them...

Tooh! Dont blame our nobel prize winner for refusing the award..... Abacha hounded him during his presidency till he went into Diaspora.......Am not a supporter of Abachas moral disposition....but Economical/Fiscal wise, hes one of the best presidents we've ever had!.... The Dollar to Naira ratio was @an all time low. He established PTF, we can still see the effects in all our universities till date, ....etecetera etecetera.

But like i said....His Appreciation for Human rights was Ridiculously low.......If we can keep that aside he would have made Nigeria a much better nation than most of these weak/lily liver presidents weve bin having. #Mythotstho#

ON 2 The Next!

Mr. Wole I was as disappointed as u re when I saw linda post it while ago, it was like giving criminals awards, abacha award, I think Anini(the legendary armed robber) shud av been giving too...

Hmmmmm, the prof has spoken

T-Blaque said...

Bad or nt Abacha was a president of dis country which makes his name 2 be in d history of Nigeria. So Prof, I don't believ dis counts as one of d wromg doings of GEJ administration.

GBAM!!! Lobatan!# small london sandra dunkwu.

Touche` prof.... But I'll rather u share an award with Abacha to this current politician. I'll ve Abacha as ma president in place of any of dis living policians

I too luv dis man 4his honesty, openess &straight forwardness. its really a shame on GEJ n his govt. (miss LIBly addicted)

Mab said...

What is Abacha's name looking for on dat list, Nigerians forget easily or shld I say choose yo ignore things

Opelicious Morgann said...

Kudos sir. Glad to know some people will not sell their souls for additional recognition.

Well Said Sir!

I agree with Soyinka intoto.Some ridiculous names like Abacha are not worthy of that award.Are we celebrating dictorship or what?

Ok I don hear, U don try. Linda unto other things. #strollsaway# sweer anonymous.

#word!

Thank God I ve seen ppl who reason along with me "chemmywalata" I like what wole soyinka did check ma last comment on the pics of the centenary award u will see what I said there how can u award a thief and a failed govt of Abacha, dis is to tell u that GEJ is beating about the bush, n going off track as usual, if u wanna comment bad on mine (fuck u tho)

Miss Obie said...

It's strange how we've lost sense of what is right and what is wrong.

kidykuz said...

e is already dead..respect d dead...in d part of d world wer I com from...dead pipx dnt do kno wrong...datx same wit gej e respct d dead

may God bless prof 4 being bold 2 tell d truth. u r the hero of our time.

Well said prof

Very good. Jonathan is an idiot, a complete moron, and a very greedy one at dat. Let them keeping amassing wealth, that's al they think about. SHAME on you Goodluck Jonathan, you are a big disappointment! Look at how they keep frustrating the efforts of even the young ones that are trying, see how unconcerned they are about innocent children being killed, about d lack of amenities, instead they're spending billions on rubbish. What the fuck are they celebrating? Shameless assholes.

Indeed is a shame to dis so called leaders without a vision

Ayodunni Oloyo said...

He clearly knows what he stands for.

Ha?

zagaza said...

Mr soyinka, i blive u r learned 2 knw dat dis award is 4 ur personnal contribution 2 d unity of Nig

His eminence said...

Abacha was a mini devil, i was a kid during his tenure but could remember vividly when reverend fathers in our church will ask all to pray that God should remove him.such was his wicked nature.

Where were U Prof Soyinka when Gen Abacha did all that You said. Why didn't you attack him then. Will it be right if his (Abacha's) name is omitted as one of the former president of this nation. Let the truth be told.

Great thing he rejected it! What an insult! smh....... for govt

Prof I remembered you threaten Gen Abacha with Arms struggle.He is No more & am disappointed you still hold hatred against him.We can't move forward as a country.I remembered you once paid FRSC funds into your personal account.We understand it is not ur field. so its Abacha's mistake .He is part of our history..

Admiral said...

ENDTIMES INSULT

Hmmmm! Well said. Bravo sir!

Thanx baba soyinka for speaking up,exactly wat was on my mind when I was watching it on tv.how can mr presido give an award to abacha,someone that brought so much pain to the society during his reign.abeg he doesn't worth it.

enny said...

Damn, this is deep, very deep #word

hismahillz said...

I totally agree with you sir.I watched the trial of Ken Saro Wiwa and how the plead made by the international bodies not to kill the man and others fell in his deaf ear.

give urselves brain said...

Live long Wole Soyinka, Long enuf for me to have the honour of shaking hands with you b4 u finally depart..u come once in a lifetime..you are to me what Messi is to football...God bless ur soul...i am so freeeaaaking proud of u man....

nekkyville said...

Gbam!!! D Orator has spoken!!!!!!!!

Geez!

Baba niyen! If you stand for nothing you fall for anything. Abacha gets an award! Such insolence!

Nigerian state encourages corruption, barbarism, tyranny, etc by glorifying ppl who exhibit these traits. When Babangida was acting up, they were calling him Maradano etc. Until we start to discourage and punish these types of behavior, we shall not move forward

u dont hav respect or sense is d president ur mate? N why should Abacha be d only past leader excluded? clearly u just needsd to test ur new phone. dummy

never do well u r d idiot

Dummy.his wife accepted on his behalf since he don peme

Hahahahahahaha U are craaaaaazyyyy mehn.

mave said...

Well,i just feel all leaders hav dia wrongs,if Abacha does nt deserve d award,den host of someodas do nt also deserve.....then i think this kind of award wasn't given for good contributions in the country alone,but d award wz just given to all head of states weda gud or bad....,,Nigeria leaders don't know what award is meant for,dey just dish it out lyk its their father's estate..SMH

Linda I come to your blog, I don't comment this is my second time and I feel Jonathan regime is suppose to be called a FOOLS regime,how can they insult us and slap our face in this manner what effrontery do they have time even give Shagari an award too. Imagine the slavery without chains in our hands,giving Abacha that almost wiped out all the important African leaders we have in Nigeria it's so sad.

You are right mr prof u deserve no honour.pple are clapping their hands for YOU.I don't like you my reasons are very clear.You and ur other six friends and you making it 7 in no,brought secret cult into nigeria university system which have spread to the primary school level.as a result of these some many youths have lost their life.it's a shame u still have the guts to speak to the youths in nigeria.until u come out and address the issues of cultisim back off.what about the FRCN funds?,the day is coming when the blood of the innocents children that have died as a rersult of belonging to a secret cult society will cry for vengence.if u like post make una prof read am.God is watching

My dear Mr or Mrs Immaculate, u ve spoken. Seriously, We don't have president. We only have heartless head of state. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

Don't mind this country of half assed rulers, who insult us at every turn and think we know nothing. Our time is coming, the time of reckoning is coming and every man must pay for his sins.

Anonymous 7:23&7:24 are u sure u are nt reuben abati,reno omkri or even gej himself. How can u spew forth such stupidity. This man went into asylum bcos of d then president and u are here asking whr he was. And to d best of ur knowledge d way to move on is by honouring a murderer. Do u know d heights gadaffi took libya and even africa to economically and otherwise. Abacha did nt even get to 1/100 of that. Libyans will still nt honour him. And u say bcos u want to move forward. Why nt honour anini and even fred ajudua so we can move forward?mtshw

Lmao this really cracked me up.

Igwe Osita One said...

Was Abacha worse than Gowon who killed the Igbos particularly women and children in their millions? Was he worse than IBB having Dele Giwa and the young Army generals who perished in that plane crash in mind? Was he worse than Abdusalam who hasn't told us what happened to Abiola? Was he worse than even Abiola who betrayed his brother and denied all Nigerians the best president we could possibly have had in the person of Awolowo? How about Shagari who accepted mandate for an election even a child in the mother's womb knows he did not win? That was the foundation for the mess we still have in our electoral system today. What would u say of Buhari who has never condemned boko haram? How about the post election violence in the north after the 2011 elections? How many people have died? Would you say Obasanjo is better than Abacha was? Then I will have questions to ask you. People may say I should be crucified for daring to say this, but I will say it anyway. Abacha did lesser evil, killed fewer people, caused lesser hardship than all of those past leaders I saw there. He was just unfortunate to have died in office otherwise he would have been a strong 'leader' today in any of the parties and maybe would have been 'forming' opposition or progressive against the Government and people would still sing his praise. The truth is that the celebration itself defeats its purpose. While I do not agree with those who say we should not celebrate because of boko haram, because it would mean victory for boko haram, I also do not think that we should be celebrating amalgamation. It actually reminds us that we are not one but what in pigin you may call 'cut and nail'. And that is dangerous. Celebrating amalgamation divides us rather than unite us. The evil of the night wasn't the honour given to Abacha. At least, not the greatest.

Doesn't matter...dunno y he(soyinka) was awarded in d first place! De idiot brought cultism to nigeria...foolish nobel winner.

Hahaahah cowwwwww @cute G

Hiz a clown but has an enormous award in his pocket. And ur a broke ass lame motherfucker

Hahaha, na real daddy..by force daddy

Swaggs isimemen said...

Thank u sir soyinka, is nt only abacha, so many of them there what abt babagida? danjuman? Buhari? Etc. GEJ is a corrupt man.

That's a man with integrity

Nnodim said...

I don't know who drew up this list. I took a glance at it and started searching for those of Onyenusi, Anini and Shina Rambo.

I'm very sure dat some people here wont understand dat English but dey would still open their mouth 2 disgrace demself. Let me wait and see dose dat will open their yanch here. ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

Igor said...

I kinda agree with him.

The guy is right. Absolute insult to recognize Abacha. Was Jonathan asleep during the days of Abacha? He sure was.

He just remember that to dine with d devil loooonnnng spooooon is needed

Wole Soyinka a clown? A noble laureate? And what are you? For sure nothing, just a piece of shit, dung.

I DON'T THINK GIVING ABACHA AN AWARD IS WRONG IT IS WRONG OF SOYINKA TO SINGLE HIM OUT LIKE THAT.EVERYBODY WANT USE OTHER PEOPLE'S FLAWS SHINE.

Na God go help us, God help us

Maheeda naija Goes Unclad yet Again

As far as one is dead in Nigeria, he is a saint. Death purifies you, make all your wrongs rite. Abacha was a dictator, a tyrant. The only thing he deserves is nothing...complete oblivion. 4 d lyks of Obsanjo and Babaginda, those thieves and terrorist. Wickedness personified all I can say is Karma is a bitch. Jonathan is dummy, a tool of destructions. He is being used. They are celebrating cetenary on our behalf? Are they more Nigerian, than we are? Why wasn't the celebration opened to all Nigerians? And awards given to people that actually suffer, n sacrifice 4 dis nation daily - NGO's, the poor doctors, the poor teachers, the poor journalists. Y celebrate wit d elites only, the ones that steal money? The strength of Nigeria lies not in this thieves but in the honest, hardworking Nigerian.
#Ify

Did you go through any form of education? WTF is all this you wrote? You kids need to stay off the blogs and focus on your education.

My dear, I agree with you o but there is no need for you to go on about Abacha- your tormentor died 16 years ago and it's time for you to move on- whether or not you like it, he was Nigeria's president until he exerted himself and died of a heart attack on top of an imported prostitute! Surely Baba, that should be enough of a consolation for you after all the torture he put you through???

Gbam! Come to think of it, Abacha's admin was better than this GEJ's own. And why would he not give Abacha an award? Someone who pardoned Alams! This is the worst govt Nigeria has ever had.

Jona is just a joker. A criminal joker.

Laaaaaaaffffffs No b small tin oooo

FDJ

Nonsense! Y ddnt he mention obj, was bola ige n so many politicians nt murdered by his govt? Wat abt IBB? Co's abacha is late so he becomes the only devil? Abeg he shuld go joor. Ronke says so

Exactly

And I believe u are daft

Is he scared of IBB's bombs?

9ice 1 Baba Soyinka

U can do better by weeping all day. Is it GEJ that created d problems? Ever since d contraption and emergence of dis unholy entity called Nigeria, is there scarcely any year that passes by without muslims slaughtering human beings in d north to appease their god? Where were u wen d born-to-rule mallams threatened fire and brimstone if power does not go back to d north?
Abeg, park far...

You better be highly disappointed in yourself for not living up to expectations...

Nice one. Once again misplaced priorities. God Help Nigeria.

Good! So good to knw dat thr ar stil som ppl in dis country who ar nt ready to bury thr dignity for a few cake... A vry gud step baba, we ar proud of u

Baba dat killed Dele Giwa nko? Who no know say baba kill am? Is d muderer of Bola Ige in doubt? We all know these. But posterity will judge ! My anger is dat History teaches that History teaches nothing! Lyn, publish if u lyk.

Your generation of houseboys and housegirls will never in a million years produce a member who will be worthy to clean floors for the man you just called clown.

WOLE SOYINKA remains one of the few Nigerians with functioning brains. #realtalk

When an outsider reads your careless and stupid rantings about morals and decency (s)he would be nearly misled into believing that your type are decent and honest; when in reality are experts and champions of stealing, falsehood, greed, tribalism and nepotism bedevilling this geographical expression till date.

Your tribesmen and their co-travellers ruled this country for many years and had virtually nothing to show for it except decay, corruption, stealing and looting the treasury. And here you are stating utter stupid things about Jonathan who had done creditably well within a short time in office. Having a bizarre nature to always have something false to state just to paint another fellow black even if it doesn’t make sense, and create a false impression that you're really hitting Jonathan hard to arm twist him. You failed! Try and engage your head before writing gibberish.

SHAME on you and your likes!

Do Abiola, Obj, Babangida et al who looted and ruined Nigeria deserve to be in the list? You must be a retard, not GEJ.

When an outsider reads your careless and stupid rantings about morals and decency (s)he would be nearly misled into believing that your type are decent and honest; when in reality are experts and champions of stealing, falsehood, greed, tribalism and nepotism bedevilling this geographical expression till date.

Your tribesmen and their co-travellers ruled this country for many years and had virtually nothing to show for it except decay, corruption, stealing and looting the treasury. And here you are stating utter stupid things about Jonathan who had done creditably well within a short time in office. Having a bizarre nature to always have something false to state just to paint another fellow black even if it doesn’t make sense, and create a false impression that you're really hitting Jonathan hard to arm twist him. You failed! Try and engage your head before writing gibberish.

SHAME on you and your likes!

U can do better by weeping all day. Is it GEJ that created d problems? Ever since d contraption and emergence of dis unholy entity called Nigeria, is there scarcely any year that passes by without muslims slaughtering human beings in d north to appease their god? Where were u wen d born-to-rule mallams threatened fire and brimstone if power does not go back to d north?
Abeg, park far...

The award if I understood the write up is for those who have sharpen the country. Now my question now is, who among all these leaders apart from late president Yaradua sharpened naija? I think the caption should have been "award for those who have and are still partaking of the national cake"

Exactly... He said it all..

OBEHI said...

What's wrong with this one.Go back to school

I was very shocked when I saw a aback as name in that list. I was wondering why. Tanks soyinka for speaking up

This Wole Soyinka should getaway!! Who d hell does he think he is?because he won one yeye award a million years ago for speaking rubbish grammar people no go rest. Rubbish!!! All dis Yoruba people will always sit and be causing trouble in the name of opposition.Rubbish hypocrites. They criticize everything and every policy of government. Meanwhile they can't do any better.

Mr professor, u self go and relax, dis is ow u were, criticizing OBJ's government he gave u an appointment u went and f**k up, u call ursrlf a learned person but sir u talk too much dis days.

@izzSinzu said...

Nigerians are just too dumb, infact thr whole world is.

Aminu Yusuf said...

This guy,u r a fool,who told you that the whole northern part of Nigeria is occupied by muslims? You think boko haram are muslim terrorists? Boko haram are been sponsored by FG, how can a boko haram agent kill his people? I can't imagine that.in 2013,few boko haram were captured and christians were part of them.so what are you saying?is yobe not in the north? How can islamic terrorist kill their own children? There are so many people christians in the north,so many..and you are here saying rubbish

Steve said...

@ Bobby can't u see shes having a great time. Its u that needs to go back to sch.

Wole soyinka d learned legend was Sani Abacha a head of State?yes he was! Babagida is not a saint either but they were al heads of state!so kini big deal?u of all pple shd knw wat d award ws al abt!its not for a good or bad governance weda we lik it or not!wen al heads of state r mentioned Abacha wil be mentioned!and those of u callin GEJ a fool on ds Blog!u al are Foolssss!even if u dnt agree wit his method u cn express ursef without insulting ur President!respect ur Master so u wil one day be respected only fools can identify der fellow fools!my President is nt a Fool,I May nt agree wit al his doings but he is no Fool...

Englis ni ko spelling????Linda I am perplexed cos of d kind of pple dt comment on ds Blog!is now a place whr kids come to play.

Wole soyinka d learned legend was Sani Abacha a head of State?yes he was! Babagida is not a saint either but they were al heads of state!so kini big deal?u of all pple shd knw wat d award ws al abt!its not for a good or bad governance weda we lik it or not!wen al heads of state r mentioned Abacha wil be mentioned!and those of u callin GEJ a fool on ds Blog!u al are Foolssss!even if u dnt agree wit his method u cn express ursef without insulting ur President!respect ur Master so u wil one day be respected only fools can identify der fellow fools!my President is nt a Fool,I May nt agree wit al his doings but he is no Fool...

Vampire Yusuf:
We drink our victims blood - Boko Haram Member Confesses

Our agenda is to wipe out Christians. We have govs, senators as sponsors, our members are in police, army.

However, all of that was, according to him, up until he made a turnaround in a most dramatic way. Nasir Isiaku is from Gusau in Zamfara State. He said while still in the group, he killed many Christians when he reigned as second-in-command to a terrorist group that wages war against non-Muslims in northern Nigeria.

The group, sh*tte, is a Boko Haram franchise. “Our own group is called sh*tte but we have the same agenda with the Boko Haram sect. You people have only been hearing of Boko Haram, but there are other deadly Islamic groups who are also part of Boko Haram sect,” he said, adding: “Whenever we heard that any of the sects was fighting Christians, we always joined them,”

He was speaking to a gathering of Christians recently of his activities as a member of the terror group. He also told of how he renounced what he called “the cult” where he drank his victims’ blood so their ghosts would not appear to him in dreams. via naij

Northern islamic fundamentalist leaders are talking now because BH cannot murder Christians as they used to. Even d fanatic Buhari is talking. Remember that BH invited Buhari to mediate btw them and the Government and he declined because that time they were having a field day, killing Christians and bombing Churches. Now the table has been turned.
Muslim leaders sympathised with BH and were feeling like they were building militancy so that they will be granted Amnesty then he can start collecting allocation on it.

Inasmuch as all former Heads of State were honoured, if follows that Abacha should have been honoured. I don't think allegations of corruption and violence made against Abacha were not made against other Heads of State. The problem is the honours system in Nigeria. Once you get into a high public office, you are given a high national award before you have worked and proved yourself. It doesn't work that way in the countries from where we learned about national awards. Indeed, to honour all is to honour none. Granted that nobody is perfect, I think Buhari and possibly Gowon are the only living former Heads of State worthy of the centenary awards. Of the dead, I'd say Azikiwe, Ironsi, Murtala Mohammed and possibly, Yar Adua. Didn't Shagari's appalling second republic devastate Nigeria? What about Babangida's horrible tenure, culminating in the frustration of democracy?

U are foolish for saying dt he brought cultism to 9ja he brought d idea of intelligent students to study togde so u beta keep dt ur mouth shut.ode.

Abacha seriously could get a roll honour??Phewwww!!!so much for our leaders of today grooming the youths for tomorow,Gej is so effing pathetic and ridiculous..... This is 21st century,why do our leaders still feel this "ass licking and foot kissing politics is still the "key"? You make a clown of yourself in the public view of your masses, people with "white hairs"(elders) used to be intelligent in the past until "money happend".....#Cheezyjayne

I can't wait for 2015 to cum so as to see u kick out frm dat presidencial seat @gej.

AnnMarie said...

I just love this man

Let 2015 come quickly, you tribalistic, greedy irredentists would be taught a bitter lesson in history. GEJ all the way.

PD said...

Lol@‘i reject my share of the national insult'....Ride on Prof!

BLAJO said...

Prof Wole Soyinka is indeed a role model. Others would have jumped at the shameful and degenerating offer. Love u Prof

Shobby said...

It is an insult placing Prof Wole Soyinka with world acclaimed EVIL genius Abacha

Yusuf...ur jst a fool of the highest order every single thing u said is nonsense!!!!im sure ur one of this boko haram people!!!mallam idiot!!

you guys insulting your president dont know the office of a president and secondly was abacha given the best president i don't know what Nigeria as a country weather you like it or not they must be honored where were yours fathers in the past they should have come to NIGERIA AID THEN

obizzle said...

It is mmiminiminous...dats all I can say

obizzle said...

It is mminiminious...dats all I can say

constant kk said...

i respect ur honesty and sincerity,but u shldnt hav bn biased. all the same,thanks for speaking the truth. as for gej,hmmmmmm

constant kk said...

i respect ur honesty and sincerity,but u shldnt hav bn biased. all the same,thanks for speaking the truth. as for gej,hmmmmmm

Umm, guys, there's a sense of humor in calling someone a clown; I don't think he meant it as an insult

Dear fellow anonymous, were you born during the abacha era? Were you a toddler? Definitely not an adult, becos somehow you'd be aware of the feud between abacha and soyinka, that's all I'ma say, go figure out the rest.

I think the word I'm looking for is befuddled, mostly at the comments and the picture of the people I've got in my head making them comments. It's quite unfortunate that the president or his aide or even anyone at all from the so called top would hardly run into such platform and the comments, as a perusal of knowing just how Nigerians truly feel. In my opinion, nobody as a Nigerian leader deserves an award, both past and present. But the bias as to why abacha alone shouldn't be given amongst all the cockamamie of leaders we've had is just plain unbelievable. I have got no respect whatsoever for abacha, not even his damn memory, but it's obvious Mr Prof here still holds a grudge with the dead man to have singled him out, he's of course entitled to his opinions, like all o' you are! Having said all o' that, I would now add that all our anger-infused comments would not change anything, really!
No time for moderation, please post this Linda; dunno why she hardly posts my comments #just musing.

@Igwe Osita One please be very careful in mentioning some names of past leaders who have served d nation properly. what Wole Soyinka said was correct but he needs to be diplomatic in talking about people. Not bluntly insult. As the bible says let he without sin cast the first stone,even he has his skeletons.