Presidency defends Abacha’s Centenary Award honour | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 8 March 2014

Presidency defends Abacha’s Centenary Award honour

President Jonathan's spokesman Reuben Abati has explained why late military dictator Gen. Sani Abacha was given the controversial Centenary Award, saying that the government was in no way supporting corrupt practices...
"This (award) does not in any means translate to supporting sharp practices or corrupt practices. It is important to make the clear distinction in this regard.
I think it is important to make the necessary distinction here. The centenary award, like every award, has its own criteria. That centenary award was in relation to the amalgamation, the national unity, the history of Nigeria and the roles played by certain individuals.
The centenary award was not a test of sainthood. In giving the award to the former Head of State, Gen. Abacha, the committee in charge made it very clear that the award in the category in which the former Head of State appeared was awarded with regard to the contributions of those individuals in keeping Nigeria together." Continue...

You will find out that under that category, there were largely former Heads of State, persons who have at one time or the other presided over Nigeria and under whose watch, in spite of whatever challenges they might have faced, helped to sustain the unity of the country and helped to defend the integrity and sovereignty of the country. That was a specific criterion in this particular category. Of course, every award at all, be it for beauty or any other thing has its own criteria.” Reuben Abati tells Punch

152 comments:

Abati will surely come to his senses when the GEJ tenure is over. Abati has forgotten that “soldier go, soldier come, barrack still remain the same”, money can definitely change people’s character. Anywaz He's Doing His Job And Also Securing His Food!!

.NO VIRGIN IN LAGOS
>Comment Moderation Disabled<

how Nigeria, the best place to broadcast yourself said...

Politiciians? You must always cover up...no matter how...interesting though!

Simply put he was awarded coz he was once Nigeria's head of state.
And not for any good deed of his

Linda you can take side sha, bikonu with all the hungry fake runs girls that is all around the town, you think a 29 year old woman would just be raped with many years of experience from men, I'm also a woman and I work for my money, no matter how little salary I got I'm contented, you must be a runs or party girl to be able to have any connections with all those stars, unless you are member of their family or one of their friends and not some responsible homely girl will be calling 2face or going to his house to help her with some business, when Annie isn't around. I'm sure if it's 2face and not some yoruba artist, even with his history with women you will definitely believe his own side of the story. SMH.

Akuko ifo

Opelicious Morgann said...

*Yawns* Next!

Instead of keeping quie,Abati is aggravating the situation with gibberish comment.Abacha did not keep Nigeria one.He should say that to the many souls that were condemned to death under Abacha's regime.

At least there must be an iota of where he is good na!
Only that the bad outlined the good things he did

#Danjay#

That's the most unintelligent response by anyone in power. Its a known fact that crimes or corruption, assasination, coup, faslful imprisonment, etc disqualifies you in whaterver spectrum you might be placed. Who cares about the criteria used. The fact is, a corrupt personal(s) has been celebrated. Not just Abacha but all other corrupt officials included on the list. God help this country. The day we are bold and strong enough to fight and die for our country, would be the beginning of that change we all crave.

No matter what award it was, a murderer and looter should NEVER, I repeat should NEVER be celebrated or given an award either dead or alive. If u give such person an award, then u r supporting him and commending him. Such person should be condemned and NEVER supported or commended. No two ways about it. For giving such person an award, it means u encourage, killings, coup, lootings, corruption and hardship on Nigerians. There is nothing like Unity in these atrocities. U and ur clueless, heartless and incompetent president should get that into ur thick skulls.

Ode talk.

Abacha pikin una don hear make una no feel important. DERA MI

This makes sense.

Rubbish!!! U r all liars and thieves

I'm tired of this abacha thief face

LMAOOO THIS POST ON NSG ABOUT men's d**k is super funny

Presdo is such a corny man ! DERA MI

Stupid explanation.

@BOBO_EDO said...

All Crap!!!

@Bobo_Edo

Mischievous said...

Abati, you are a nuisance! Trying to defend the indefensible.

Go back, and read your articles in the Guardian Newspaper during Sanni Abacha reign of terror, you will be TOTALLY ashamed of yourself for making this statement.

As much as it is necessary to award so to said individuals, its not wise to "Build up by tearing down" Abacha is a dictator, one who takes lives at his whim.

Richard was here

Igor said...

In essence,the centenary awards was more of a subjective thing,rather than an objective one.Similar to Times Man of the Year award.

This man deserves respect #bright bravo#

onyinye.E said...

ok we don hear

See his tribal mark!!!wicked man!may u rot in HELL

He sustained the unity of Nigeria through dictatorship and the use of force.he falsely imprisoned and killed innocent citizens. I guess the message here is -the end justifys the means. Acts like this make me ashamed to identify with Nigeria internationally. Its disgraceful!

Reuben Abati: The Abacha loot that is still being discovered till date helped to defend the INTEGRITY of the Nation. REALLY???? I Quote

"... in spite of whatever challenges they might have faced, helped to sustain the unity of the country and helped to defend the iNTEGRITY and sovereignty of the country. That was a specific criterion in this particular category. Of course, every award at all, be it for beauty or any other thing has its own criteria.” Reuben Abati tells Punch
Linda Ikeji at 9:39 AM

May God HELP Nigeria. The Presidency has added salt to injury. :(

Story story oooo,story story story

GEJ's lying spokesman has spoken.

thayor said...

Long talk....Abacha deserves nothing after all he did

The award has been given so..Rot in hell Abacha.

Hmmmm story story

Why are you defending the award... talking rubbish in the process... abeg abeg let mw hear! In my opinion he(Abacha) is by faaaar better than Good luck and OBJ put together... lets stop looking at only the negative aspect of his rule abeg abeg... anh anh... it don do. We Nigerians are too unruly... na Abacha (military rule) fit us. Please... we are also all a bunch of bloody cowards that can only comment on posts instead of actually fighting for what is right. And point of correction... Abacha did not kill or condone the killing of inncocent children.

jay junior said...

stupid explanation..which unity did abacha defend? What was his damn contribution?? Abeg shift!

Why did it took you so long to respond to this.Thinking of what to say that will justify your action.

Marshall Matters said...

I love naija sha... Things are not white and black...lmao.. We fit turn satan to Jesus for this country..#just saying#

Shut up Mr Abati! Stop patronizing us!!

Cool story , keeping us together in pain , sorrow and stealing of our dear country money.

Shut up Abati. You'd have been the first to criticise that gesture if you hadn't sold your conscience. Just shut up!

~~Success Has No Limitation~~

Naija Movies Nollywood said...

H e doesn't deserve it at all
news from nigeria nollywood

Amarachukwu said...

Whatever!!!

I know for sure they must defend their failure. I just dey pity dis useless ruben abati guy. We are waiting for u, ur villa works ll soon end. Stupid man with bald head. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

Abacha does not deserve any award! Irrespective of the criteria! This man is the most hated former president ever! Why does this government continue to insult our intelligence for goodness sake! Why are we like this? This man was a dictator! This is a democratic govt,what on earth brings the two together? Nothing! Our govt is giving him an award yet the international community is doing the right thing on our behalf by seizing his stolen loot! How on earth can reuben abati sit down and think that there is any justification for awarding abacha! Giving his family the effontry to lash out at a reverred scholar in the name of wole soyinka. Honestly this government has to put a stop to this buffonry! We are tired and ashamed with the way our government is so in sensitive to the people!

reuben comes barking again..........tryin so hard t secure hid job in this time of "rampant sacking" by his oga.

Trash

Okay oooo... Na dem sabi.

ugochysom said...

and abacha contributed to national unity? how?d dat he was head of state no mean say na we want am dia! u can as well present osama an award for being head of state once... mtttchw....

Gabufada said...

Based on this criteria, Abacha must definitely deserved the award.

Lyndy said...

Pls, this issue should be put to rest already. From every indication, that award was a huge mistake on the President's side. He was simply trying to please everyone which is wrong. Let's learn how to call a spade a spade

Honoring Abacha just cos he was a president is like honoring Judas Iscariot just cos he was a disciple of Jesus.

INTEGRITY!?! Perhaps the presidency needs to look up that word in the dictionary. Integrity and the late Sani Abacha shouldn't even be mentioned in the same sentence. Smh.

This award exposes how cueless the president and the government under him is! The government can not even give a meaningful explanation for the award sef because they don't know! People are suffering and dying per second in Nigeria and they all spent 2bilion to gather at the stadium to give out worthless awards!

The only thing Abati and his boss can do to top the recent US actions is to issue an apology over their massive blunder.

Oh pls shut it!

Bull shit

NONSENSICAL DEFENCE FROM ABATI.
ABACHA ALMOST PUT AND END TO AN ENTITY CALLED NIGERIA WITH HIS DICTATORSHIP.HE FOILED GEDION COUP OF 1990 BECAUSE OF HIS PERSONAL AGENDER TO SIZE POWER LATER IN 1993.I HAVE NO GOOD MEMORY OF THAT VAMPIRE AND OPPRESSOR.WHAT THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT HAS DONE IS THE CELEBRATION OF MEDIOCRITY,OPPRESSION,DICTATORSHIP AND UNLIMITED CORRUPT PRACTICES.

Ruben smokes dry paw paw leaf, imagine this silly excuse.

Personaly I think there shouldn't be any form of controversy in this award given late Abacha. If all former heads of state were given the centenary award and Nigeria as a country recognises Abacha as a former head of state then he deserves the award, its as straight as that. PLZ LINDA POST MY COMMENT I BEG U

SwtQueen said...

Wat is this man trying 2 say now?????

Blah blah blah blah. ..... nonsense! !!
Still not justified

Mamma mia luv

Just in 1 sentence GOD IS NOT ASLEEP

Bobby said...

Ruben abati or whatever the call you, what do you people take Nigerians for? This is a very stupid, flimsy, lousy, useless, off point reason. Which unity abeg?

Dee Brown said...

Exactly what I thought. so Mr. all righteous Soyinka relax.

It's still d same thing, no need 4 all d grammer

Just shut up!

Moneywealth Info Systems LTD said...

Stories that touch the heart! The next awardees are; Dieziani, Oduahgate, Kigogate and others...

Well said Mr Abati...at least now we know the criteria in which the award was given to Abacha is for corruption & murder. My question is how did this Mr Abati even became the president's spokesman giving this lame explanation.

Roma said...

How i wish Prof Soyinka was still intelligent, !!!
Every man with comon sense understands d reason for dat Award except some self righteous fools... !!!
Abacha handled Nigeria the way that fits it....
Nigerians are way wicked and really needs a strong Hand !!!
Roma says so
via Atm

Moneywealth Info Systems LTD said...

Stories that touch the heart! The next awardees are; Dieziani, Oduahgate, Kigogate and others...

Not interested, Jonadull pls...

I ve completely lost any kind of respect i used to have for rueben abati. Trying to defend the indefencible,its just like the german governtment giving Adolf Hitler an award posthumously for strengthening the german federation,its just impossible. You just can't reason with that kind of twisted logic.

Seriously,Jonathan's spokeman "Reuben Abati" has been d most stupid αηδ senseless spokeman ever liveth!! No matter what,A̶̲̥̅♏ so disappointed in Jonathan as well.We ain't fools anymore in this country αηδ we refuse to be cajoled or brainwashed! Were the awards d solutions to our problems in this country called Nigeria??.To hell with him αηδ the presidency's criteria for giving centenary award to "late thief abacha"!! People are suffering αηδ dying..the sixth largest oil producing country is suffering of fuel scarcity,..graduates are still jobless..there's epileptic power supply αηδ many things have been turned upside down..Yet Abati rose up stupidly to defend a centenary award given to some irrelevant fools..Only this idiot would defend d sacking αηδ appoinments of d corrupt ministers under his Boss' regime..Sick country!! Sick governance!! Sick,corrupt αηδ dull..is what ℓ̊ describe Jonathan's government!!!!!ǤÕ̳͡D̶̲̥̅̊ will soon cleanse Nigeria after HE might av executed one by one (just like abacha) d corrupt leaders making d people of this country to suffer!

Queen Eliza said...

TOO LATE FOR EXPLANATIONS.

I still hate this man even in death.....

Screw u Abati shove ur explanation down ur anus

See face abeg...... The face really dey fear me....

Okk...So they know...?

Dis dnt make no sense !!! Dey dnt hv to rply everytime ...

Deolar08 said...

Even still, Abacha hasn't played any role in the lives of every Nigeria instead he brought pain nd hardship to every Nigerian Lives so i dnt see any reason for his award#

niger SMH

Imagine! Keeping the country together and the unity of the country! Hw has d dreaded dictator kept Nigeria 2geda or united the country? This is just one flimsy excuse to justify GEJ's actions. E no make sense abeg...KDP

niger nawa

niger SMH

So he actually fought for this country....how pls,can his son explain to us how he united dis country...sick retarded beast!!!!I no blame anybody nah,na jona I blame wey get d guts to mention hin name talkless of giving the award...like someone told me"you want to please everybody you end up displeasing everybody".linda bikonu post am!!!

So why did they give the woman who claims to be the first female pilot an award? She isn't the first female pilot, what made the woman who destroyed nigerian college of aviation technology fit for the award?

So in which way did abacha help to keep Nigeria together? Who was fighting to break apart in his time ?
The truth is abacha did plenty to try to divide us. He tried maligned the Ogoni people. He tried to make the Yorubas sub-servant by imprisoning all their leaders from mko, to obasanjo and even his own number two man Diya. Don't even talk about how he did nothing for the igbos. He did nothing positive to to keep us together so that excuse for the award is honestly just one thief rewarding another thief!

Wait..is this the same Abacha that stole money from Nigeria? Since when did theft, brutality and a lack of decency towards your fellow man promote unity? With
all of the great minds we have in Nigeria how is it possible that idiots are running
the country??? I pray this mumu chokes on his vile words !!

dypo said...

Point of correction " president jonathan's dog nt spokesman" all he does his bark out rubbish. Looking intensely at what he said, this is just a defence mechanism dat makes no sense. Cause abacha did nt maintain nigeria's or nigerians integrity, he almost ruined it all for us. He his nt someone we are proud of so I see no reason for the award. That's my own opinion.

Mrs E said...

Akuko!

Brilliant defence !!!

Very funny next pls

Cock n bull crap story they always tryna find a way to cover things up nonsense if it is in other country there won't be any award for any corrupt past leaders Bullshit shameless Nigerian politicians

Reuben Abati for this statement shld be sentenced to death by stoning #angry. Did he say d award was given "in spite of d challenges they might ve faced.....helped sustain integrity n sovereignty of d country" where or what parrt of this qualifies Abacha to be a recipient? Besides of all d trival issues especially insecurity, shld dt be what they sit n think to do when innocent lives are cut short brutally?? Indeed d world is coming to an end and it's starting from Nig. Jonathan n Reuben balls shld sliced and then given to Gumsu n Sadiq to feed on. Bloody irritants and indeed disgrace to d entire human race. Awon eleribu ashoshi mamo ti koni ragba fun won tomo tomo. E maa blow nii bi time bomb (serz curse from my hungry belly) Amin

Yeah! The award was all about togetherness.. "Keeping Nigeria Together" ..in spite of his quest for power he did not divide the Nation. Thanks!

Ur defense is so lame abeg! He was a tyrant! Nothing justifies the award. Mtcheeeeew! Unless u count joe's licking of the northern ass to 2015 a reason Hahahahahhahahhahaha

Good...So sleeping dog can carry on nw.

Hitler also unified Germany and oversaw a period of growth and economic stability maybe the germans should honour him. TSK! Useless Nigeria

Absolute hogwash. Ever heard that when you are in a hole, it just might be a good idea to stop digging? What is not good is bad. Only in Nigeria would someone in the category of Idi Amin and Hitler be given a post-humous award. Do you see Hitler being celebrated in German?? This government has no shame. Stop defending the indefensible.

Reuben abati is a national disgrace and a hypocrite. tufiakwa

Bull fucking shit!

Story! Story!!

I think is also necessary to make my own clarification and view against your defense. An award according to the literal meaning from a lexicon is a prize or other mark of recognition
given in honour of an achievement. What has Abacha with his tyrannical rule in power achieve. By restoring democracy? Does he even want democracy? By killing any souls which he deem fit as opposition for his future agenda including Obasanjo- one of the awardee. Do you know his tenure causes unrest, insecurity and disunity. He was only using militant means to shutdown anyone or group. I guess Reuben himself was scare to his throat and family to write his view about the Abacha government.

In a simple term, he doesn't deserve, his tenure causes disunity, insecurity and it doesn't helped to sustain
the unity of the country and helped to
defend the integrity and sovereignty
of the country.

Birds of d same feather.....

abeg no need for defence abacha is a lot better than the crooks shuffling btwn pdp n apc. Free the man abeg.

Reuben needs to have his tongue cut out and his fingers cut off so he can neither speak nor type any more BULLSHIT. Starting to give me a mind blowing headache. Mstcheew

The problem we have in this country is not GEJ it is incompetent foolish selfish useless fools like abati around GEJ. People are blinded, who can call black white and have lost touch with the masses. Imagine this non sense. Reuben one day you will regret these things you are saying now, I doubt that anyway because it's obvious you don't have conscience.
You were very poor no wonder you could defend these useless govt with your blood

Anonymous 10:25am
Abeg shut up

Mumu comment! Who is patronizing a coward like u?

U shld shut ur gutter up! Sold his conscience by how? Is it by explaining something that shallow brain cld not comprehend? All this retards on this blog vommitting rubbish frm their belly of shit at regular intervals. Linda warn urself oooo. Its not all comments that u must publish.

You are one of the jobless goat on this blog, that is always here to cough out rubbish. I pity u. Even if he is no longer in government, not even u or ur generation will even smell a leadership position near the villa because u are so running mental and the madness is obviously in your family for the comment u just dropped.

Its better to remain silent and be deemed a fool than to speak and remove all doubt. While I'm not being literal here. I'm saying sometimes when the deed is already done just keep quiet till it all blows over. But nooo

Mr. President grants presidential pardon to a thief, give an award to a murderer. Now I believe no good can come out of this government. If anyone failed me more is Reuben Abati, I adored him then, hung to every word he said now I know he is no different. Abacha murdered with guns and acids, Reuben has chosen the pen as his own murder weapon. O ma se o. Linda biko nu, I'd like him to read this. O se omo dada. SIGNED: An evolution craving Nigerian

What is wrong with this rubbish talker? What unity, integrity and soveriegnty is he talking about? What is wrong with Jonathan and his advisers?

Anon 1:09 PM. Go and set up a blog where you can publish the comments you like.

Reuben Abati, you've gone Kuku.

Not suprised

Nollywood star reveals her Favourite s*x Position

What a stupid post.

Why don't you start the revolution? I am sure you will have followers. Thick fool

Focus on making your life better. You sound like someone frustrated with life and looking for someone to blame for your failings in life.

Abacha "was" a dictator. Hope you don't blame him for your level of stupidity as well?

This is democracy and it has come to state permanently in Nigeria. Didn't GEJ and company ever think Nigerians need to be part of the celebration. We need to be part of people who deserve to be awarded. They need to hear our views. But GEJ did his own thing for selfish gain to the extent he was looking up to human being as saviour. What a desperate, stupid, coward and visionless leader.

PDP should produce a better candidate for 2015 because I love you and other contenders don't have anything for a better Nigeria. I rather stick with PDP for now, but remove this clueless GEJ as your presidential flag bearer unless, the other major party might just carry the day. This is one voice in the millions.

Omo oba

Why did it "take" not took. You will soon say abacha made you daft as well

See how stupid you are? Was Osama a president?

How did abacha affect your life. Instead of you to blame your parents for not working hard you are looking for a scape goat. If you like act like your parents maybe your children will blame GEJ for your failures

dypo said...

Hitler's plan was to unite d world and b d sole ruler without the world's approval, is dat ur defination of togetherness? Abacha's reign was nt a defination of togetherness cause a larger percentage of we nigerians wished he was nt our ruler and were living like slaves dat simply obey commands due 2 fear. Dnt see dat as togetherness but oppression.

The first mistake was to give an award to any military head of state. Those people didn't earn the credit to rule us. They forced themselves on us. We didn't elect them to rule us. So why giving a man an award for forcing himself on you. Its like a girl rewarding the man that raped her

@potam007 said...

@Bonario... Simple! Thanks for summarising it for him jare.. #BigMouthAbati

Really he helped keep Nigeria together by arresting and killing those that stood fit democracy and Yoruba people especially. There are some of he didn't die do you think nigeria won't have scattered. Abegi

Koni Dafunwon said...

He created the petroleum trust development funds for the Niger Delta n put Buhari in charge of it 4 transparency.Nigerians would be shocked to find out that a lot of d killings n looting were ochestrated by his children.Those kids and their mother shd be hanged!

Koni Dafunwon said...

@1:09pm aka abati,see ur life on linda's blog joining issues with a boy young enough to have been birthed by you if you'd found a female to look past ur intense ugliness early enough

Seems like I was one of d few dt cud see thru abati in those days. I remebered he was invited to give aspeech and he went on and on abt nigeria's problems deviating away frm d original topic. I jus hated myself for wastin precious tyme. Tday,he is one of d problems. I can wager my salary dt reuben had and still has no allegiance to nigerians and even to GEJ. D only allegiance is to his pocket,he will thus dancecto d tune of d highest bidder.

Thank you!! I was seriously disappointed, not just because of Abacha, but also because of so many others that had no business receiving any kind of award that received the centennial award.

This man called abati doesn't know dat one day he wld leave dat office of his where he thinks he can tidy up every mess made by pres.jonathan.money has made him lost his credibility and sense.what a shame

Truest talk

Shut up your dirty....

What da hell r u tryina say? Not 1 sentence makes sense. #illiteracycomesindifferentforms

Amen

I can see why you dislike abacha so much. He must have been the cause of your illiteracy. Get a life

One question: how does Reuben Abati sleep at night? His conscience has been seared with a hot iron. In saner comes, Abachi would have been posthumously STRIPPED of his rank, not awarded anything! It is a warped retrogressive attempt at justifying the unjustifiable. As RB continues to partake in the sins of others instead of honorably resigning, he will also receive the same reward served of all those raping our nation.

AnnMarie said...

And in what way did he bring unity among Nierians?

Shame unto you Abati, the one without honour.

Thank you 9:57AM. You make sense.

Correct talk. The fact was that Hitler actually revived the german economy and was admired by his ppl. Yet his name was struck from d books.His family cannot speak in public. Others like Pol Pot of cambodia improved their country's finances but commited mass genocide. These individuals have long been forgotten by their respective countries and not honuored like our incombent is doing

Na so!thx 4 clarifying

Anony 1:09 PM is Reuben Abati on Linda Ikeji's Blog. No doubt about that!

@Anon 8:03pm: He is a devil and just like you the deputy. You will all experience no peace in your entire lifetime until you right the wrong with good deeds. Stupid ass licking idiot.

Wtf are u on about ... I guess even idiots have access to leaving messages on blogs

For nysc redeployment ping 76caafb9

Shame on you all who are too tribalistic to appreciate the fact that GEJ has done far better than your greedy tribesmen who ruled this country with virtually nothing to show for it.

@March 8, 2014 at 1:09 PM can you just shut that hole in your face you call a mouth....nansense oniranu somebody

Some of dis my aboki friends no de hear English at all...its a shameful tin! Mr Abati just continue the good work...no mind them, if u give Abacha award wahala if no give am ..Haba double wahala...boko for haram more dan dis...i blame lugard girl friend.na she put us for dis gwesee mtchewwwwww!!!

i watched the award and it was categorically stated" past heads of state of Nigeria". why all this fuss about Abacha? whether we like it or not he was once the head of state. Lets stop being biased about this government and give them some breathing space.The award did not read "OUTSTANDING/CORRUPT FREE PAST HEADS OF STATE OF NIGERIA".