Federal Government recruits forest guards to fight Boko Haram | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 4 March 2014

Federal Government recruits forest guards to fight Boko Haram

According to Punch, the Federal Government has resorted to recruiting forest guards to assist the Joint Task Force in combating Boko Haram insurgents in the northern part of the country.
Most of the insurgents are believed to be using routes cutting through forests in states like Borno, Yobe, Taraba and Adamawa to smuggle arms into the country from Cameroon and other neighbouring countries.
The Conservator General of National Park Service, Mr. Haruna Abubakar, told the House of Representatives Committee on Environment on Monday that the guards would help the JTF to comb the forests for hideouts of insurgents.
Abubakar had appeared before the committee in Abuja to defend the 2014 budget of the agency.
The NPS had been classified as a para-military agency in January this year by the government.
According to Abubakar, the agency will rely on its knowledge of the country’s forest terrain to conduct sweeps with the military.

He informed the committee that the agency controlled seven national parks in the country, covering about 24,000- square kilometres of land.

Abubakar said, “The National Park Service has been playing a crucial role in intelligence gathering for the country’s military in the North-East and the forest bordering Chad and Cameroon.”
The committee, which is chaired by Mrs. Uche Ekwunife, stated that insurgents operated camps in forests like Sambisa, Mafa, Wulgo and Kirenowa, all in Borno State.

Sambisa forest camp which was said to have been first discovered during a military raid in 2013, covers an area of about 300-square kilometres.

The chairman of the committee expressed concern that besides the loss of human lives and property, Nigeria was losing revenue from tourism due to the activities of insurgents.

84 comments:

GEJ you're a dunce.period

Mtcheee, medicine dat won't work

Tourism in nigeria, never heard of it, when you people signed anti gay bill,who would want to come to nigeria.

Nigeria we keep digging our own grave.

After so many lives have bn wasted rubbish govt.

Wow! What a sigh of relief, at least they are beginning to respond, the government is beginning to take responsibilities, to take a pro-active action

All na wash... At the end of the day, they'll all run for their lives! Na today??

GEJ should have also recruited boys scout and girls guide also.mumu president,you better go to america and ask for help,but I doubt if they will help us after you signed an unnecessary anti gay bill.

busted said...

when ll my country learn...re they suppose to make these public...this should b an undercover thingy...mschewwww

Is this the next thing? I dey laff o. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

OMG!WOMAN said...

Heaven show Mercy, we'll be forever grateful that you delivered Nigeria.

e dakun, ewo tu ni forest guards? Do you mean hunters? asin olode...It's well with naija o!

Leeely Clinton said...

I really don't understand why they have a lousy strategy. Why must they announce this? why can't they employ the forest guards and let them work without letting anybody know. These insurgents are intelligent, they will counter this information.

Hi linda, pls i want to send u an email, how can I do that? (Pls don't post this comment) Mfon Essien.

Are you kidding?

Hmmmmmmmmmmmm.

All hands must b on deck...ur support is needed....not ur "echo"..Talk is Cheap. .(until u need a lawyer)....but Cheaper here on LIB...

This is what they should have done along time ago #bright bravo#

Gemzy said...

Why the fuck do they have to mk it public??? Nw the idiots hv bin alerted!!!!! Mtcheww....

Leeely Clinton said...

I really don't understand why they have a lousy strategy. Why must they announce this? why can't they employ the forest guards and let them work without letting anybody know. These insurgents are intelligent, they will counter this information.

sojiment said...

This GEJ just dey waste our money ooooo

if u people will even recruit babalawo, mammy water n other witches n wizards join these force, it will be ok, but hope they wont start bringing those arms via hellicopter? God pls save ngeria....yaxx

Cutest said...

This our government will never learn, stories like this will warn those lunatics and get them ready. This forest guides should have silently comb the forest without media attention. It would have yielded result.

eva G said...

Nice 1! But must dey anounce it? Dem 4 just také dem unawares wit huntin dogs n sophisticated weapons.

Cant they do sumtins wtout letting evrybody knw abt it?..do boko haram tel u dia own strategies n plans? mtcheeeew

nigeria is doomed thats my prophecy finish

#milito da great#

Goverment just made a gud step.... i pray God lead them to success....

I hope this forest people will not increase the wahala.....

flaky said...

May God help them so,Amen.But na now dem just dey know? Ki oluwa ko wa yo

I hope they can do sometin positive. Pls God help them as well cos d killing is jst too much

otevee said...

is dt d best they can come out with...hmmm til d day dey will come to d nations capital first,,,lawd help us all

Why is is so difficult to buy a drone for surveillance? Thats not difficult to do and wont be expensive for Nigeria. Nawa for these people.

May God help us to put an end to this menace IJN. Amen

Dear Lord,may this not just be another money thiefing avenue for them but may they really work to comb out these blood suckers!

Ridiculous.some countries are using drones,my country is using forest guards.Goodluck to the guards,I hope they don't get flushed with bazookas and explosives by BH

Di√a₢ΰiƨ̣̣̣̇̇̇̇ε said...

Lwkmd! #chimoooo so naija forests get guards?!

Swaggs isimemen said...

Hmmm forest guard? God dis is getting out of hand seriously men

FG should match ds bloody idiots fire 4 fire. I believe that some government officials know some of d Boko sponsors, u pple shld start talking, dig ds fools out n disgrace them. FG should equip d army, JTF, d police in these troubled states with standard ammunition, FG shld bring out them beast in them n clamp down on these bastards, enough is enough.

We r supporting all d ppl fighting d insurgents wif prayer..........TESSY

SUGAR DOC said...

About time.

IFY NWAJESUS said...

Take dis animals unware (bh) nd stop annoucning it to d whole world

Hian!!!! Are they trained to fight? Pls forest guard don't allow yourself to be used as a sacrificial lamb for their inefficiency.

Don't tell us. Do it. Now those guys will be at alert

Even if it requires putting a smile on d faces of d bush meats' bank account, we don't care how it's done, just 4kn do it and we shall 4reva remain indepted 2 d federal govt. Nigerians are looking foward 2 saying thank u very pretty 4kn much 2 d govt.

Linda, maybe this would tell you its not Islamic sect like you alwys say...
May God show mercies on us cus its jes getting too much n i pray FG implement what they say...

Its hgh time dey did smtin. Dis heartless pple have caused a lot of pain.

oge said...

Another way of looting and wasting govt funds.God wil save us in ds country

Nigeria govt this is suppose 2 be a classified infor, now it's everywhere in d news.

Zuriel.

Ok na,unemployed youths should apply.job opportunity

Rosie Said......This is total bull crap,forest guards that boko haram boys will take out in one minute.Seek help and information from countries that have counter terrorisim agencies.You guys have no idea what it takes to take down boko haram,for the umpty time seek and ask for help.

Amarachukwu said...

I hope it helps sha

Sir Victor's Blog said...

Well if its going to better the sad and disheartening situation, its a good one

Good to hear, make I dem do pls people are dying

Nice move

YESTERDAY GUYS! YESTERDAY!

First, these things are not supposed to be made public because it will give them room to re-strategize. Take these guys unawares and stop getting carried away by the media and their pressure.. Good move anyway

May God help them

sasha bone said...

Really? They are just discovering a forest in Nigeria in 2013? Was it hidden before???

dis should not be in the media,dats where dey go wrong again

Make una do am ASAP

Sir Victor's Blog said...

Well if its going to better the sad and disheartening situation, its a good one

Haba! Dis is suppose to be a secret na. Must everything be said on d media? Oga

Amnesty is here! Accept it or north! What military can't deal with, forest guards will? Mumu!!!!!!

Infos like this should back classified. Don't make news out of this.

Terrorists are nothing else but agents of the devils, bent to fulfill Satan's 3 fold mission which are to kill, to steal and to destroy. There devil knows is using as many that are available to execute its mission at this end time, the devil knows that it ve a very short time and it is unleashing terror on the world to destroy as many as it can before its time is up and it would be bound. We are living at the last days and the signs are everywhere you turn to. The only solution to all these War, Crisis, terrorizing, Austerity and Global Economic meltdown is the Prince of Peace Jesus Christ. And He is coming back very soon... Do u ve a relationship with Him thu His Spirit...Is He or Death comes now where ll u end up. Heaven or Hell are all real. Think about these and make a decision now whom you will serve God or Devil and where u ll spend ur Eternity Heaven or Hell...The Choice is up to you. For more info about the revelation of our Lord Jesus Christ and to understand the time we are living in visit; www.www.heavenlykingdomnews.blogspot.com
He is Coming soon. Be ready.....
The world today is full of evil, from Boko Haram terrorizing in Northern, Nigeria to Al shabab terrorizing in Africa to Al Qeada terrorizing all over the world

Naija we hail thee. ....... d only country where plans to catch her prey is revealed. Smh
Isn't dis suppose to be a secret? Isssorait

Linda as usual use my comment makes sandwich

Mamma mia luv

peperina said...

Yarn...u and the Govt dey waste inna time

Chop Chop said...

Seriously..So Nigeria cannot defend her citizens? Can you imagine the training and logistics b4 implementation? Waoooo

This is very commendable, but I think local and state police is long overdue. I also think the government needs to spread its touch and influence on the Armed forces beyond Lagos and Abuja. It's seems it is only where the government have vested interests, that the police are treated well.

BONARIOS BABY said...

What an idea dat should have been a secret now its on air,I believe dis 1 now is another wild goose chase.a rat won't taste a plate of food knowing dat it has been poisoned.anyways wish dem d best.

What??? Ólódé kéh?Lobatan

OLUWÆßÖßßÝ

This shows hw incompetent our presidents security adviserss are. This shouldn't hav bn a public thin, hw wil it b effective wen even d boko have a knowlegde of it. Plz post my comment linda oooo

AnnMarie said...

And u just announced it to them

I sorry sorry ooo.. I sorry for nigeria aaa....i
sorry sorry oooo, i sorry for Africa (repeat)....In
FELA Voice

And so its ur epileptic brain

If dey don't talk abt it u and ur likes r 1st to condemn and criticise nw u knw dt its nt gud to discuss security measure!mstewww

U pple shd shut ur trap and such bn hypocrites!wen dey don't talk u condemn nw dey talk u condemn!guess wat ur opinions don't matter!wat u shd be doin is praying for divine help!dts God shd Lead in d right direction!der r pple giving up der lives evriday for fight dis!al u al do is to sit and type rubbish!ve u enlisted?no but u cn condemn nonsense....

Aviky said...

Soon we'll have hunters and fishermen fIghting boko haram.

U n ur family are doomed IJN

biko, which one be forest guard???

Neeqilata said...

Ah dis is Progress

Too much talk less action....

How will this work? It is the height of idiocy and mumurity to reveal your war strategy to your enemies. God save those forest guards from the hand of BH.

good way to plan for 2015 electioon