FG closes Federal Government Colleges in Yobe, Borno, Adamawa | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 6 March 2014

FG closes Federal Government Colleges in Yobe, Borno, Adamawa

Following the killing of over 40 students of the Federal Government College in Yobe State by Boko Haram members, the Federal Government has shut five FG colleges in Yobe, Borno and Adamawa

The schools that were shut down are:
*Federal Government Girls College, Munguno
*Federal Science and Technical College, Lassa in Borno
*Federal Government College, Potiskum
*Federal Government College, Buni Yadi in Yobe
*Federal Science and Technical College, Michika, Adamawa.

Minister of Education, Nyesom Wike, made this known yesterday Wednesday March 5th. The schools were closed because they were considered to be located 'within the high security risk areas in the North.'. The schools will remain closed until the security situation in the states improves, while the teachers of the affected schools will be sent to new schools.

69 comments:

Campaign after election

wise move....nd jona ensure high security at d other schools left open

Is that the only school that are vulnerable? what if they start attacking other state school? More precaution method should be taken

Lol am laughing, chai dats it dats where it ends no other actions...

Igor said...

The closure will only offer temporal relief. GEJ should find a way to end this incessant terrorist attacks in the North Eastern states.

Is that all they can do #bright bravo#

For how long will they remain closed? The way I see it BH are not willing to lay down their bombs and the FG is not ready to get their hands dirty with BH.Soon the 3 states will be shut down too and the menace spreads like cancer to other states.FG must seek foreign aid if Nigeria is to survive the danger I see looming!

Viola007 said...

Only God can save us in this country. How many schools will be closed ? Will NYSC stop posting corp members to these high security risk areas ? What is d fate of the citizens in these high security risk areas ? We look up to You God in this country.

Janelicious said...

Closing the schools will not stop boko haram to stop attacking,FG should act to stop them from killing innocent souls and even guilty souls.

last baby said...

Is that all they can do. Pls Govt should do something serious about this problem pls

And Boko Haram wins! Remember western education is what they are opposing (if really that is true)

*Sigh*

Stupid Government r u suppose to shut down d schools or improve d security measures in dat regions. Smh for dis Jona

Hmmmm its a much better decision.

boko have finally gotten what they want. abolish western education

Better.

Hmmmmmm,Better.

May the good course behind the closure of these school never be regretted. Amen!

stranger said...

Closing these schools ain't d answer 2 d problem. If anything, this move would be seen as a victory by d boko terrorist. This will only embolden em 2 do more hoping that federal government will continue with d closure. With this dick move, Government might as well cede Borno, Yobe n oda terror zones to Boko Haram.

Wot wl happen2d students??? Is a shameful thing2close federal colleges down all in the name of Boko haram

¤¤¤Post a Comment¤¤¤

Cynhams Cakes, Abuja said...

Good move.
Lord take away the source of their funding so we will have peace.

That's what they should av done since but sadly it took innocent kids 2 die b4 they cld realise dat.

What happens to the students kwanu.Abi na only the teachers they made provision for?

As if that will stop the Boko Haram from attacking again.

Its a good thing before they will kill all our children

REXOVIC said...

is dat the final solution?? atleast let the kids be safe but pls Jona find a lasting solution to BH wahala bikonu

About time they did! How can they be going to school at a time like this?

Nigeria is going through a rough patch in history after the civil war and we shall overcome if only we shall come together and work for the advancement of the country rather than sit and criticize on social media without proffering any solution...May the souls of these Angels rest in perfect peace and their blood callously shed on the altar greed, selfishess, wickedness, politics, religion never be in vain. God help Nigeria(ns). AMEN

You pple will send d teachers to another new sch. Nice one what abt d student ? Nija nija we hail

....and wht hapns to the students??? stalled education...God save us frm dis immense...

SYLVIA.O

Manageable! Next look into d security issue.

D students nko?

Wat abt d students?

quin said...

Awww!!! Wats d fate of d students?? Will dey be transfered †̥o other federal schools??

Not a bad move at all.. But for how long will those schools be closed? Are the students not residing around same school? My country! My country!! I weep for this country

Nice step

Is not about closing skuls
Get rid of those evil men

Amarachukwu said...

Na wa ooo,things are getting bad in this country.

Right thing to do now but relocate the students to other fed schs in safer regions so as not to jeopardise the educational carrier whilst returning them to terrorism since most of them are obviously from the muslim north...

What wil happen to d students?

Eiyaah. Pro unitate

Well done, that's good,

So what happens to the students? Hope they will be transferred and catered for as well

And the students will sit at home????

Sexy R said...

If teachers re sent to new schools, biko wat happens to the students?

This is sad, depriving those who want to be literate d opportunity to do so peacefully. Damn Boko haram, useless illiterates

And Whr will d students be?

F.G FRAUDULENT GANGSTER SHAME ON THEM CLOSING SCHOOLS BECAUSE OF BOKO HARAM NO SECURITY AND YOU WANT PEOPLE ABROAD TO RETURN HOME SHAME ON ALL THE MINISTER WITH THAT ABATI ABI AND OKUPE ALL THEM BI BASKETMOUTH

And the children? What happens to them? They need to find new schools too....it's easier for the younger kids...not the post secondary students...it means at least 1 year of school miss!!

The advantage here is that student will no longer be killed but the disadvantage here is that rascals, thiefs, and prostitutes will come up to light no doubt...

Boko haram will never see my destination... Amen....

=ONLY D TEACHERS? WAT HAPPENS TO D STUDENTS AFFECTED?

AnnMarie said...

isnt that what the boko haram people wanted? Stupid boko haram fools

I await the time our leaders will be proactive in tackling matters such as this,rather than this their reactive method.....God help Naija...#arab money#

IFY NWAJESUS said...

God plz help niger.

nita26 said...

Where will de students go to? New school too. Smh wat a country.

That is where their strenght could carry them.close down facilities,impose curfew and right under their nose,boko haram strikes again.security at zero level

All ready the north is full of illiterates!

So what happens to the students of the affected schools. Debee.

Topebrass said...

â„“̊ sowie for d students Oº°˚˚˚°ÂºO

Princess said...

What about the students in the closed schools? Who speaks for them? Who will give them the meagre education they were gleaning before? Of course they can't trek to these new locations. Instead of the Presidency and his Minister to reinforce these schools with super trained security personnels and do everything in their power to protect the children, they took the easy way out. They chickened and sacrificed the children. What a dumb move! These children will loose interest in education and grow up hating the government for depriving them. If nothing changes, they will be the new generation of Boko Haram. I guess the cycle never ends.

My pain is that Jonathan can stop this rubbish but either refuses to or is just clueless. Employ foreign help if you have too haba.

God Pls See Us Tru In Dis Country We Call *Naija*

hehehehe na wa oooo.....this wont solve anything now

Cheating Husband Escaped Being Caught by Wife
Here

Too Bad! See How a Police Officer is Molesting a Little School Girl in Public
Here

Crazy Things Uniport Babes Do in their Room when they ‘re Bored.
Here

See the Moves these Pretty Girls are Doing in their Home
Here

Sandy said...

Exactly!! Thank you FG for blatantly admitting defeat. Please can someone remind me where that atiku's American university is? Is that not western education by a prominent Muslim? Book haram una no know road there? This whole nonsense is not about any 'Islamic cause' jor! It's political, financially-driven and pure evil. Jonathan stop thinking of your political ambition only. Do the honorable thing and really commit to fighting terrorism on our shore and maybe history will be kind to you.

sojiment said...

Closure if 5 Institutions! Mehn! The future of Nigeria looks bleak.

Some people on this media speak intelligently while others comment like stupid illiterate's who can't even read a common sentence, how can sombody say Jona should equip the schs with super security? When BH has ability to run down police stations & barracks killing all in sight! Closure is the best thing right now the only thing is we should asks the Govt to relocation the students to other fed schs so as not to hamper there academic pursuit.

nnamani said...

What happens to the students?

When I think about decisions and steps being taken by GEJ about issues affecting this country, I wonder the kind of advisers he has with him. I can't believe how a government who claimed that if had suspended Centenary celebrations, the Boko Haram guys would have believed the government is succumbing to their wishes, will go ahead and close down schools because of the same Boko Haram, when the meaning of BH is "no to Western Education". Can someone in government please tell me whatelse the BH guys want that GEJ has not done.

Some people don't think o. To them it makes sense to turn secondary schools with students in it to battle ground between BH and the army with the children caught i the fun fight! The fg took the right decision i only hope it is temporary while we run terror aground