Is there anything wrong with a woman not wanting to change to her husband's name? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 4 March 2014

Is there anything wrong with a woman not wanting to change to her husband's name?

So because prolific writer Chimamanda Adichie asked to be addressed as a Ms and not a Mrs, some people are assuming she's separated from her US-based husband, Dr. Ivara Esega?

In an interview with Sun Newspaper on Saturday March 1, Ms Adichie told the interviewer who addressed her as Mrs Chimamanda Adichie, to simply call her Chimamanda Adichie.
“Before we start (the interview), please, I just want to say that my name is Chimamanda Adichie. That’s how I want it; that’s how I’m addressed, and it is not Mrs but Miss. Ms: that’s how I want it. I am saying this, because I just got a mail from my manager this morning. It seems that there are people who attended the church service, and they wrote about it, addressing me as Mrs. Chimamanda (Esega). I didn’t like that at all. So my name is Chimamanda Adichie, full stop!”
Is there anything wrong with what Ms Adichie said? If you go back to history, African women didn't bear their husbands name until the advent of colonization. They bear their parents name. And it's especially difficult if you have already made a name for yourself with your maiden name. Thoughts?

272 comments:

1 – 200 of 272   Newer›   Newest»

I agree with chimamanda, there is nothing absolutely wrong with it if, if the husband is ok with, then so be it

PRIDE!

Too much western education dey worry her

Linda people r not assuming.. U r assuming bcox u like hearing of break up!!

There's nothing wrong with that Linda.

Hmmmmmn...if u'v already made a name for urself,good.But I dnt see d reason why such a lady cannot make her surname compound e.g SH can nw be adressed as Chimamand Adichie-Esega.

Personally,I feel its more respectful and shows d love u share wit ur husband whn u adopt his name in addition to ur father's name.
#myopinion

Why is history history? Isn't it because the dynamism of time and all that go with it has its unique way of putting some things behind and carrying on new aspects that people eventually and most times, subliminally come to accept.

If you think it (civilization) a problem, you should as well hate yourself for not being circumcised. That's if you're not...

Civilization makes you a beneficiary of the times.

Ms can mean miss,or mrs and it is used to avoid using miss 4 smn1 who is a mrs or mrs,for smn1 who is a miss. Just to be safe,use Ms for women,married or unmarried. As for chimamanda,that's how she wants to be addressed,let them stick to it,its no biggie.

Am begging to suspect that woma....am not impresses with her responce on 2 recent interviews.1 about gay right.2.changing of Name.she soud sooo unigbotic.

jay junior said...

maybe she wanna come out Gay,since shes an advocate of it...

She's a Feminist No Doubt!! Anwaz i Dont Believe In Feminism!! A Man Remains The Head Kpakam!!

.SWEET TORTURE
.GENTLE DISPLAY
>Comment Moderation Disabled<

No... nothing wrong... It is a stable decision.. You don't have to change back when the relationship fails. I have always wanted to keep my maiden name but had to change it for immigration purposes..

Mayowa

sherylicious said...

if I like ans miss, mister or master who cares.

@izzSinzu said...

She shud remain single den... she def has an evil plan.

Lindiway let us not allow ourselves to be confused by Chimamanda's decision,coz it was borne solely out of desire to jealously guard her fame earned with her parents surname.
Chimamanda us very smart that she finds a suitable excuse or story to make u buy her argument.
If I may ask her a question,what if her husbane was from the Gates or Obama family would he still stick to her surname?

jay junior said...

sure u have to put ur hubby name..u r legally married so his name must be on ur name..n why she refusin 2b call Miss? Daz nt been educated..she s just been arrogant recently..the fame is gettin on her head

Darling Happy said...

This ɪ̣̝̇ș simply bcos of her job and as u said she has already made ᶰ̲ᵃ̲ᵐ̲ᵉ̲ with her father's ᶰ̲ᵃ̲ᵐ̲ᵉ̲. I think changing it will ñ✽t favor her

it very Obvious the guy is a fool.Cant you even see his look.

Adedayo said...

I see nothing wrong with women keeping their maiden name. It's their choice. I guess it is up to the woman and the couple to decide what works best for them. Marriage supports people but doesn't necessarily define them so changing surnames is not that important. Live and let live

Darling Happy said...

Since her hubby ɪ̣̝̇ș nott complaing I don't ŝҿҿ anything bad about dat

Darling Happy said...

This ɪ̣̝̇ș simply bcos of her job and as u said she has already made ᶰ̲ᵃ̲ᵐ̲ᵉ̲ with her father's ᶰ̲ᵃ̲ᵐ̲ᵉ̲. I think changing it will ñ✽t favor her

Topdawg said...

Well, the idea of not changing a woman's surname after marriage to a man is not peculiar to African women but also strongly imprinted in the Islamic culture. More so, it was not the colonial orientation that brought about this but some that has been there and brought by the Romans. However, if someone like Chimamanda cries about how unconventional Nigerian constitution of anti-gay is and supports the present convention then changing her surname by putting her husband's name is the best. This should show that she is not against the principle that she stands by. However, what does it mean when you talk about having a name already? Does it change her personality if she changes her name from Miss Adichie to Mrs Chimamanda Esega? Well, one could argue that such a woman really owns the marriage and not the other way round.

Truth b told everyone is entitled to their opinion. If her hubby is fine with it then so be it. As for me I'm not dropping my surname I would jst add my hubby's surname... she has a point, she has made a name for herself. She doesn't wanna lose her identity

I'm a feminist too and I agree with Adichie.Changinbg of name doesn't mean you respect your husband more or luv him better.luv is in the heart!

This girl is weird o n which name are u talking about promoting Homo enough of her Gist Linda. She shld go n sit don for dirty Lambert. Ewu Gambia

IMI said...

I see nothing wrong with it.

She's right! i dnt see any valid reason a woman shud change her name cos she's married, she can add d husband's name but outrightly changing it is a huge no 4 me. Its annoying dat my sisters will change dere wen dey gt married. Nd dnt even quote d Bible here...its a personal choice anyway..

Leonard Omotayo (Hormortaryo #Frosh) said...

If her hubby is ok wit it, its nobody's prob... She should be addressed as she wants"

Islamically is not necessary or compulsory. Is just an African way. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

This Woman ιƨ so beauriful! Pls don't correct me the ITK team. I knw what i Just typed. Back to the topic, its her choice.

o yea, and that's y we have "Nee" to show who she was formerly

Everytin is wrong with it oooooooooo

That's her choice,on a personal note,I will drop my maiden for my husbands name,since am now married to him&not my father.

If she doesn't have an issue with it and her husband doesn't; which one consain anybody???

Yes of course sister linda

her name her brand! imagine if bey was called mrs cartier wharefer that particular album will sell NOT!

I just added my husbands name to my name and my fathers name in d middle.....so wen they are addressing me dey use my husbands name. I no fit comot my father name....e get weight for nigeria and africa at large.

If her husband doesn't mind then dats fine otherwise na she the look for wahala.

mkaysays ::::no its not , marriage is an understanding and if the husband doesnt mind den so be it..... plus the name is no longer just her name its her brand so no i seee nothing wrong with it if her hubby no complain

errrr linda if she is d one marring him dat's fine, buh if it is other way round dem mam drop dat ur name & ansa ur husband name dat's wot make's u a married woman.#THAT AKWA IBOM BOY

Somtin wey de onlin since 3dayz ago,na nw u de bring ur own

Many women who had made names for themselves still add their there husband's name @ the back.even if she answers mrs 'chiamanda adiche esega'won't people still know she s the one

Whatever she decides with the consent of her husband, to be called, should be respected.

Richard was here!

hrm paul ojeih said...

Linda there is nothing wrong if a lady decides not to drop her maiden name esp if she is married hell Angelina Jolie and a host of female western celebrity still bares their maiden name but on Adiches saga i call it a saga becos she over blew it out of proportion of course we know she is married and of course she has been addressed that way for ages so why now why start casting aspersions to it well we dont care what she wants to be addressed as that is her business it does not concern us by the way nobody even knew she was married until just recently when that fair mulatto dude started stepping out with her Adiche should watch it before she falls into the category of divorcee

Dats her biz! What am more concerned about is her very bad dress sense!

Everybody (married or not)should answer their father's name. Shikena.

This lady don dey do pass herself now, it be like say that her success don dey enter her head. mumu

i think fame don dey make dis woman go crazy what's wrong with her, bia madam chimamanda its good for women to change their name and ans their hubby's name, sorry maybe its bcos u are a divorcee biko jiri nwayo ur own don dey too much

Na she sabi *yimu*

this woman is beginning to attach too much drama to her personality and the likes of Linda will help her thrive. anywayz i love her work (books and write ups). dont give a shit about her personal life, i got mine to mind. cheers!

Everything is wrong Miss

~Beautiful lopez~

PetDoc said...

in African culture, a lot is wrong. you either want to bear the man`s surname, or you go go your way. Better still, go marry your people so that you can retain your surname. Don`t dare change our culture!ok?

Y did she get married? If she loves being address as Miss, she shld do the right thing Joor...Divorce.
Na by force to marry.

Is her bussiness linda, am begining to hater dis girl as a person

Its normal.. Her fame came with her Maiden name so changing it might be misleading.. Joke Silver did same.. There's no big deal!!

On her own pls

Is her bussiness linda, am begining to hater dis girl as a person

In Islam your not meant to change your last name to your husbands! The change is of western culture. But for official documents reasons, one May add their husbands name to enable ease. Eg Linda Ikeji-Peters.

have tot and tot over what it takes to be Chimamanda.. her actions is best known to her ..#SMHW.. See here for your sure gist

All I have to say is that.... If Chimamanda talks like this in real life? She's one cocky BITCH!!! As for the husbands name? Please let it be the choice of the woman jare. maybe it should be added to the list of things couples should discuss before tying the knot, before people will start divorcing cos wife refused to answer her hubby's name.

Truth Hurts!! said...

Personally, I don't see anything wrong with what she said, especially because she has made a name for herself with her maiden status. Its her choice. Its not a must, after all, a man never has to change his name.

Men here would come out and insult and belittle her decision because of ignorance. Changing one's name isn't always easy especially when there's some form of importance attached to that name.

LUPITA said...

i am LUPITA....i am here to stay

Aunty Linda pls help us ansa dat question o biko.chima baby e b like say too mch brains fit cause kasala oh.God pls give us evrythin in moderate.

Lyndy said...

Yea, I think its mostly cos she has made a name for herself wt her maiden name, but the seriousness/antagonism I detect in her tone also makes it seem lik there's more...like they re truly separated. Time will tell sha

She's confused

She's very corect.

Linda I hope dis is not an agitation to bear ur own maiden name witout adding hubby's name wen u get married. I don't see anything wrong wit retaining ur maiden but for Pete's sake add ur husband's name to it, its only a sign of respect to d man u r married to. And pls d titile "Miss" is for spinsters, so Chimamanda should pls leave d tiitle for d unmarried unless she has plans of leaving her hubby in d nearest future. My thought anyway

Different things work for different couples.

Whatever rocks her boat..

It had better be visible, u ve been eating my comments for sometime now

Ms Linda, are you trying to pass a message to your would-be hubby??? lol.

The way she stressed it sounds funny. But I dont blive it's necessary to change to ur husbands name like I know Linda Ikeji wont personally I'll merge my fathers name with my husbands name. I don't know if its traditional but I know igbo people have always been demicratic in nature so its possible that we didn't take husbands names before.

Something is fishy. Ms ke?

Ko kan aiye mehn, if her husband is cool with her like that who cares?

Absolutely nothing.Note however your husband must be liberal enough to agree to that.

Why get married in d 1st place if u want to be addressed as miss?...i didnt evn knw she is married b4 now

Its her personal choice nd all abt d fame that comes with the name

So linda cos u have made a name for urself u want to follow her footstep? Go and sleep jor

NOKIA FMC said...

NOKIA FMC SAID:
FOR RESPECT SAKE AND CULTURE LET HER ADD HER HUSBAND'S NAME TO ALL HER'S. BUT IF THE BOO IS OK WITH HER DECISION, OUR COMMENTS HERE IS ONE OF THOSE TIME WASTE FOR THE DAY. MY GRAND MOTHER ADDRESS HERSELF BY ALL HER NAMES BEFORE ADDING HER HUSBAND'S SURNAME.
CHIMAMANDA ADICHIE MS. HER CHOICE. TO HELL WITH UR PHILOSOPHY. MY WIFE BEARS MY NAME, AND I BEAR MY FATHER'S NAME, SO MY SURNAME IS DIFFERENT FROM HER SURNAME. CHOICE

Chimamanda Adichie thank you for making my day. thank you on this note. thank you for coming out. thank you for paving way for women who are silently dying inside. Linda wrote it well. in Africa in those days before colonization, our fore parents, most especially in Nigeria bore their fathers name even through out their marriage. you guys may start to throw stone now, but bearing a man's name in marriage in soooo optional. how do you expect someone who made her big name while still single to drop it cos shes married. thanks also to her husband for understanding. more reasons nigerian ladies are marrying white men or naija men that never came home before.

TO LINDA, MY FAMILY READS YOUR STUFFS HERE AND MY DAD SAID YESTERDAY, THIS LADY IS A BLESSING TO HER FAMILY. (just saying)

new york is xtremely cold. coffee cant solve this.

Y(NEW YORK CITY)

There's nothing wrong in keeping your father's name...as long as the couple have an understanding. Am more concerned about the surnames of their children. I think they should bear the last name of her husband.

Very funny but till tomorow I will answer my maiden name..
Its a thing of choice and trust the choice will be carefully managed with him soon.

There is nothin rong... She is a brand.. Nd must keep it Tht way

Miracle Onuoha said...

I support and adore this lady. Her writing gives me an orgasm anytime I read them. I believe the world is evolving and she's right with the part of keeping her father's name.. if my wife wan do that and is comfortable with just her father's... so be it. life is not that hard anyway.

mshorlie said...

Not a bad thing but her tone seem harsh making it suggestive......and i see linda ikeji not changing her name when she marries jude okoye

Igor said...

In the first place,I did not even know that she was married.She might be doing it for professional reasons.Secondly,the Idea of a married woman being addressed by her maiden name might be obtainable in the Western world,but not in Nigeria.And Linda,I see it as a wrong thing for my wife being addressed by her maiden,or even having her maiden name being mentioned before or after my own surname.Even Kanye West is insisting on Kim Kardashian bearing his own surname after their wedding.

Maybe we should ask her for clarification before we say what we don't know.

Well she is speakn 4rm ha pespective of a MADE name whc am sure she have discussed with d hubby,den apart 4rm dat,I dnt see any reason Ʊ shuldnt bear name of ur hubby!!
Amicable

BRUCE G. said...

Reasons are best known to her, only time will tell. It could be of one of these reasons here, either she's seperated from the man, cos no married woman who would not wish to adopt her husband's name no matter weather she has made.Name for herself. @least the husband's name would come last. Or pointing from the atticle Linda she said," Miss" it could also mean, she doesn't want the respect accorded to those bearing 'Mrs'

Na pride dey worry am. Her headache

Igor said...

So Linda,your plan is to continue bearing your maiden name after marriage ? Well, your friend,Tiwa Savage still bears her surname professionally even after marriage.

Swaggs isimemen said...

In my own vew noting wrong with dat.

Whateva!! She is old enough 2 choose hw she will like 2 be addressed, but certainly not all men will like that. Its her life though, true talk Linda, especially when u ve achieved a lot with ur maiden name.

i never thought you believe in african culture and values so much that you want to be addressed by your maiden name because you made a name of it, this just clearly showed me your earlier view about gays were not real but sentimental in which you were totally against our culture and values... I dont care you can decide to choose whatever name you want for yourself, but dont back it up african history which you dont believe in. Thats Hypocrisy!!

Didn't know she was married sef. Anyway I don't c anything wrong with it.

Linda stop dat nonsense!!! As long as you, a woman, want to remain married you must drop dat ur papa name and carry his name. Fuck whaeva level u fink uv attained wth d name, its time u let ppl kno d costly stone on ur finga wasnt a gift frm ur father.

Dats her Biz

Let d sleeping dog rest nao, haba!!!....she said she want to b called Ms then leave her alone.....#busy body people

She is being proud. Unknown anonymous.

She is taking this her freedom too far.nothing wrong in keeping her name. But saying she is MISS is utter rubbish.you can't be married and be a MS or MISS.she is also very harsh........she just needs to chill.

Its ok to keep your maiden name. I'm married, and doing my residency. Hubby, is fine with me using my maiden name. But, i use his name in certain occasions. But, her tone sounds too condescending, and suspicious. Its not that serious.

nothing is wrong with this issue

DENCIA said...

U are Lupita? Then u must be fucking freaking dark and ugly. Pls come get a whitenecious. I'm willing to give it to u for free cos I know u cant afford it. I noticed u could not even bring out $1 from ur kpangolo called purse when Ellen asked for what u have in ur purse at the Oscars. Poor U!

Nothing we no go see for this blog.

Actually I think taking your husband choice is a matter of choice. It's even more flexible nowadays. Didn't even know chimamanda was married.

Lmao... LUPITA... Be yourself bitch.. Fucking retard oshi..

Linda I hope dis is not an agitation to bear ur own maiden name witout adding hubby's name wen u get married. I don't see anything wrong wit retaining ur maiden but for Pete's sake add ur husband's name to it, its only a sign of respect to d man u r married to. And pls d titile "Miss" is for spinsters, so Chimamanda should pls leave d tiitle for d unmarried unless she has plans of leaving her hubby in d nearest future. My thought anyway

I See nothing wrong if they are both ok with it, the man should go and make name for himself, Trust me as soon as the man's name becomes famous, she will warn another reporter again. lol. it all good.

She wants to try new dicks.

If u ask me, i'd say its not so right for a maried woman not to want to bear her husband's name, nd to want to be adresd as Miss nd not Mrs, it means she's practicaly sayin she's single thrby erasing anytin linkin her wit mariage... Even if she had made a name for herslf wit her original name, she culd jst write her name den wit an hyphen(-) her husbands'

The level of illiteracy increases anytime a Nigerian University admit people into her walls...... What you get from school is called indoctrination not education... People who don't know what names and name their great grand parents goes by are not fit to judge intellectually ... Those who don't know their tribal calender can't know their history therefore are rootless ...... What's in a Name ? I am an egocentric African man but won't kill my wife's shine for silly excuses period ....

Bee said...

Many people has failed to understand somethings.
She said don't call me Mrs Chimamanda Adichie but Chimamanda Adichie.
When you call someone by her maiden name why should you add MRS?
Its when she is called Chimamanda Esega, you add a MRS.
but in her case, she wants her maiden name, that's her brand name, cant people understand that. that is what she wants. What is the Fuse about.

Even if she wants to be addressed as Mrs, it should never have been Mrs. Adichie but Mrs Esega. The journalist made a mistake.

Blunt Fuck said...

She's got good breast. That's all I can say:-)

Her too know don too much abeg. how can you be married and still want to be called a miss? I think her success has gotten into her head, madam please chill because pride goes before a fall. Mtcheeew.

Its not pride its being an individual... people loose their individuality in marriage. Changing bank accounts, documents etc. hian Nothing wrong with that Linda... like i advised you travel more and open your mind

What bullshit point are you trying to make? Do u know what part of ur history/linage was changed or is still being kept a secret? So don't talk bout history cos u don't know jack of it.
And as for name,its an identity u can change if and when u want. And the bible says a man leaves his parents and leans on his wife ( not the other way round)

NA WESTERN EDUCATION DE WORRY HA. SHIOOOR

She's protecting her brand. She made money writing books and doesn't want to confuse people by using her married name. Her brand is worth money

sasha bone said...

Lol...#Respect

@Badoo of Toronto. Good to know you like bleached skin and fake breast. Lol.

Madam linda post my comment and also read this becos it might do you lots of good! This woman is only going to lead Nigerian women astray(the sheep, I mean).......I am a lady but I dnt see any problem having my maiden name with my husband's name too. And the miss part?? my goodness!! she might have her reason for it, but ppl dat dnt know will follow blindly and burn for it.....its time she starts keeping her opinion to herself if she cnt follow what she initially fought for which is equality for women, not waging a war against men.....you shld see the women in the u.s that are just like her, they r very bitter and see, she went to marry a mixed man that grew up with a different mindset, in a different environment that would probably not care and she is trying to advice women in a whole different situation.....that's just like a doctor telling a medicine man how to treat people, it wld not work...even beyonce had to change her name at a point, and yes, she is a big feminist! y'all be wise following a supposed "smart" person!!

U pple ve nt seen anytin, back in University of Nigeria , Her name was Ngozi Amanda Adichie, she cam to class oneday nd said nobody shld call her Ngozi. Amanda suppose to b her English name but she turned It to ibo name as Chimamanda. Dt Ngozi sound so local. No b today ng Adichie started her wahala nd bin a proffessor's daughter she had pride but she was saint to compare to her sisters Uche Adichie nd ije Adichie.

while i dont think the name change is a big deal, i think she's being ridiculous.
when u marry a man, he is ur new head and that should be reflected in ur name. the name isnt just a name. its a reflection of who is ur new head and ur marriage status. whats suddenly so wrong with being called mrs? pls she should check herself.
moreover,she is taking this whole overly-individualistic woman crap to another ridiculous level.
as a woman, i feel this is unacceptable.

CANNIME said...

People stop stressing over nothing it is a free world as long as those involved are happy. That's all that matters.

this woman should shut up already. with all due respect, if she can approve of homosexuality, i have cause to believe that everything that comes out of that confused head of hers is as ridiculous as approving of homosexuality.

Amarachukwu said...

Too Western education is really affecting her but is okey.

if dis is really dencia ....u must be so childish..bcos i know u to b a street fighter

Islamically a woman is not compelled to take her husband's name.

www.glowyshoes.com said...

I honestly dont c anyfn wrong in a woman nt wantn to bear her husbands name
Check out www.glowsofiscated.blogspot.com

Islamically a woman is not compelled to take her husband's name.

FUNMINISTA said...

ChiaMADa...kolo geh

It's because she wished she could marry her papa.

if the husband is ok with it

#milito da great#

No married woman?
Respect for Mrs?
Ure surely very backward and African

Alloy u re fool to have succumb to that useless chimamanda or whatever she calls herself..that is disrespectful nd pride frm her..wen u get married tell ur wife not to use ur name..better go nd use ur husband name nd stop all ur useless article u writing about gay..foolish woman.

I agree wif u jhor!

Fuss not Fuse biko

No married woman?
Respect for Mrs?
Ure surely very backward and African

JJ said...

What children? Do you honestly picture Ms. Adichie pregnant? That would be anti-feminist and against everything she stands for. She feels men are getting a free ride and in her world, ought to be carrying the pregnancy.

Cutest said...

Gosh! Are u speaking english? Evening school product.

5 likes for this post! Hypocrisy of the highest order.

Chimamanda is asserting herself as a woman and individual who has and can survive and exist without the appellation of her husband.

JJ said...

@Bruce, It is all about Ms. Adichie. She doesn't want any man's name over shadowing her father's name. It is also possible she is separated or divorced from her husband. Only a special kind of man can put up with a woman that behaves like a bull in a china shop.

Olodo corrector *people have, * fuss.
But I get ur point sha

JJ said...

What has doing residency have to do with not using your husband's name? You go on to add that you use your hubby's name on certain occasions. What occasions? Lady, make up your mind.

Go and die, fool, she owe you her life?

Off topic

Linda, please her husband's name is Dr. Ivara Esege, not Esega. Well done.

Who is dragging your empty head with you?

abegiii... she should go and grab a sit jare.

Prophet, she is married already, sorry to disappoint you.

You hate women, you are a chauvinist,... You go school school so?

It is not a must, every coward fall in line, only few dare to be different.

The real Lupita(that idiot is fake) said...

@LUPITA, I'm the real Lupita u idiot! Go get another name for yourself bitch.
@Dencia, u idiot, I didn't want to drop the only 50pounds in my purse,do u want me to treck back to Kenya. Btw, I don't need ur bleaching cream u bitch. I got an Oscar,what have you bitch

Wise man/woman, put ur pics make we see na, moron.

I love your comment....you are wise

Are u Begging or beginning tank me later.

The only sensible comment you made the entire time.

Mumu

its a woman's God given right to bear her fathers name. especially for us Muslim women. we don't change names even after marriage. you bear your fathers name while the man bears his own fathers name.
this is to ensure& maintain the right of a woman [girl child] within the society. i often wonder where people got the de womanising practice from[discarding your fathers name], even though it is not mentioned in any of the holy books. we have the right to be our fathers daughters, n nobody should take that away from you.
you Go girl, Chimamanda! we are right behind you

Poverty go kill you, Aturu Awusa

Abi? Good

Nothing is wrong with it.

See mumu

Why all these ranting? A beg make we forget the stupid girl, Linda enof of this fool whey no no her origin.

And what is wrong with being a divorcee?

Women hater, your father

Go back to your village , idiot...its her life, and she is amazing...#haters

Nothing is wrong.

HER MATA!

I bet she wouldn't @BONARIO u spoke my mind

All these Egocentric igbo men who want to rule and authorise everything and everyone. They are the ones so igbostic! Gosh!! I hate hate igbo men!! Full of themselves and their useless ego. The lady already made nqme for herself and if she chooses to remain that way, whats your beef?
Husband, Husband tory everywhere! ! Are we to die because some man married us? Someone who will succed will succeed with or without husband. Kai! So annoying!
BTW, Am igbo, but I hate the guts of igbo men. They nauseats me!
She's not igbotic, she's just being a woman who knows her place!!

Your reference to the Bible shows you're a fucking religitard..... I know beyond believing snakes talk or that my ancestory is from adam when in that your god forsaking bible there is no letter sent to you ....... Go back home and have your parents teach you if they know but if they don't you just earned yourself a schoolarship ......... I know a lot in History to make a textbook ..... Original sources are preseent to learn proper

OMG!WOMAN said...

In my opinion I think she's just trying to deal with this whole euphoria ladies get on changing their title to mrs, its a beautiful thing to be married, but the hype isn't all that, and they even go ahead to flag their ring finger when they're amongst other single ladies, that's utter bullshit, since when did being married become a priceless possesion.... I guess she's just trying to deal with that madness... That u chose to become a mans wife is mainly for companionship and maybe precreation, and not just to change ur title to mrs in other to earn social respect.

Hot Cool Gist said...

Is ain't wrong b'coz she feel her husband is not a Nigerian..... Ms. Over make sense nah! *Habamana*

Stay tuned! With the Nigerian,s Best Cook in Entertainment, Latest Fresh Gist & Latest News: www.hotcoolgist.com

She dey crase!

I like her response because it contrasts well against Omotola's revelation that she's a submissive wife. Shows that couples do what's right for them in their relationship. One size does not fit all.

Lmao@ anon4:27...

Aby said...

Abi ooo, please help me ask them.

I dont know if bearing ones maiden name after marriage stops the woman from being a good house wife oo.

Understanding matters in any marriage and adopting ones maiden name after marriage should not be and issue for discussion.

There is no law that says a woman "MUST" drop her father's name and adopt her husband's name after marriage.

The should be a decision to be made by the woman involved.#shikena#

CHIMANMANDA ADIICHE IS AN UNREPENTANT FEMINIST, 1000% FEMINIST. she should just walk down the road and hug a transformer.

Nkechi Just. said...

Pls why you dey drink Panadol for someone else's headache? How does her choice of lifestyle change your life, do you know her or the reason for her decision or is she not entitled to her opinion? Take a chill pill before the you get an aneurysm for another person matter

I think she is just proud. A woman should submit to her husband by bearing his name. Even almighty Beyonce is known as Mrs. Carter.

Nkechi Just. said...

One of Naija's biggest problem is the refusal to respect individuality, how her opinion take offend you? Last I checked it is her life and a very successful one at that. When you marry (if you marry) make sure your wife takes any name you want... shekina

The level of utter illiteracy when I read some comments, yours inclusive makes me wonder. Very high strung chauvinist you are , so because a lady marries she must drop her name. Men or probably boys like you just need every form of validation to feel manly

Nkechi Just. said...

Over backyard education dey worry you!

Oluwatosin, your use of words shows just how far you are from proper manners. Besides, families change their surnames how much more a choice to stick to maiden name. Its a choice bro. As much as you sound like u r the controlling type, its a pity your power extends only to the woman that chooses to take your name and never beyond her. Deal with it and keep ur curses to ur damn self. Thanks.

Thanks a lot dear. I think the major problem Nigerian youths have is ignorance and Impatience. A lot of pple that hv termed cursed her on this link cant even tell d difference btw miss n mrs. Let alone knowing her reason for staying with her name.

There is a difference between advocating for something and condemning the injustice associated with making gay a crime. Get ur facts right or shut ur trap. Thnx.

Why should she bear his name. Is he her father?

whitefalcon said...

I couldn't have agreed with u any less.
Ever since she wrote that controversial article about gay, I've hated her and everything she represents.

Beginning of better things to Come. Ikeji follow, nnaji here we go, Toyosi Akerele carry go. I think the papas will be happy. I agree, at least it's fair enuff for successful women. Instead of unnecessary compound names.

whitefalcon said...

Original lol geh

You, my friend are an intelligent man. Well said.

Aymii said...

Mayowa, so you go into marriage relationships already expecting them to fail before it's even started........Hmmnnnn Nawaoo!

A woman should answer her husband's name.........i don't buy chimamandas view!..... Na wetin Feminism/ over sabi book dey cause....A woman should be proud of answering her husband's name...even if she doesn't remove her maiden name, @least the husband's own should be added.
I wonder how the man gree for dat kan nonsense sef! ..Although .women who achieved fame and fortune for demselves with thier maiden names are quite reluctant to change it..

#lindayouwillfacethattoo#

ON 2 The Next!

Linda,I used to defend you against accusation of feminism but this particular blog of yours is making me change my mind.as a woman progresses,she begins to challenge the headship of men,this is the reason for most of the divorce cases we have these days .

Andy

I disagree with you. The concept of surname (matter of fact) and 'Mrs' (arguably) are both western and alien to African (at least I'm sure of Yoruba culture). People knew my great grandma and grandma by their names and not by Mrs Whateva.

I don't have time for rubbish. Take my name or leave me. There are many ofeke in the world and in Nigeria in particular that will sell their manhood for a plate of porridge. So find those girly-men and marry. Case closed.

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 272   Newer› Newest»