Senate bans same sex marriage in Nigeria | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 18 December 2013

Senate bans same sex marriage in Nigeria

The Nigerian Senate have officially banned same sex marriage in Nigeria. Man + Man = Not allowed. Woman + Woman = Go to prison. :-). Only a union between a man and a woman in a recognized worship center is allowed.

The new bill states;
1. A marriage contract or civil union entered into between persons of same sex by virtue a certificate issued by a foreign country shall be void in Nigeria.
2. Marriage or civil union entered into between persons of same sex shall not be solemnized in any place of worship either Church or Mosque or any other place whatsoever called in Nigeria.
3. Only marriage contracted between a man and a woman either under Islamic Law, Customary Law or the Marriage Act is recognized as valid in Nigeria.
4. Persons that entered into a same sex marriage or civil union contract commit an offense and are jointly liable on conviction to a term of 14 years imprisonment each.
5. Any persons or group of persons that administers, witnesses, screens, abet and aids the solemnization of a same sex marriage contract or civil union or supports the registration, operation of gay clubs, societies and organizations, processions or meetings in Nigeria commits an offense and liable on conviction to a term of 10 years imprisonment.
The bill awaits the approval of President Goodluck Jonathan.

357 comments:

1 – 200 of 357   Newer›   Newest»

Isssokay. Shey Macklemore and Ryan luis don hear?

ok cool

Useless Nigeria. They won't face their problems na gay people dem dey worry about. Nigeria focus and stop corruption and poverty

Afrikkasual said...

Brilliant!

Blackberry said...

How many same-sex couple have wedded in Nigeria? Ban something that takes place every now n then. Ban "yerimalistic" tendencies.

hehehehehe..
issokay!

God bless 9ja!despite all we r still morally upright,tho some Yerima's go about using virgin's blood 4 ritual...nemesis will catch up wif ya soon o,oloriburuku!

Kk. Dey shld also ban yerima 4m nigeria law makers.#JC

They shd also ban senator Yerima from defiling little girls

Al hamdulilah ..It officially ban ....God bless our senators

BLISS said...

Dis thieves shud tackle paedophile. They r here fooling demselves. As if they dnt do 3some n 4some evry nite.mtcheeew. Watching in 3D LED

Nice one from d senate. God bless Nigeria

Ann Marie said...

the senate has done one sensible tin this year

ebi said...

Commendable. But I'm sure this isn't what Omojuwa sent to you. Waiting for that gist. Hurry up.

ebun said...

Good one!

Very good news.
This is perhaps the best decision the Nigerian Senate made this year.God bless them for it.
Gay pple pls give ur life to Christ and desist frm ur demonic acts.

Sigh!!!!!!@ least them no follow oyinbo culture this time....thank God ooo....#drinksgarri

9ce Action..I so Hate Gays..thank God am not a lez....how can a man marry a man, it makes no sense...mtcheew..Aunty lindi post my comment

Beautiful say so

Atuma Dubem said...

He should approve it fast!
Jeez! Am so homophobic.
For those fags who're gonna run their mouth about how am such a retard. Bet am smarter than you
@Mr_Atuminho

Uloma said...

Nice one! I wonder wats the fun in same sex marriage! Irritating

beesonova said...

1st gud thing coming out of dat house

ogaoooo! some people are in serious trouble. Lemme run tell Denrenle to call Uti that Alex is worried.

Nigeria making sense. Mr president, nak Ūя̲̅ sign there. @ Zenki brown

God bless the Senate of the Federal Republic for dis

They better add under aged marriage ban as well

Very good.

makasteve said...

Very good I like

i pray they attack other pressing issues wih same zeal they have pursued this. then Nigeria will be so good.

Ughhh,what about those important things affecting the economy! They should stop worrying about that happens to other pple's butt holes.

Excuse me please…of all the problems facing Nigeria, it is the issue of same sex marriage that is deemed most important by the senate??? I just can't sometimes with that country

DADDYSWIFE said...

Ok ooo we v heard,let us wait n see d executive arm of govt approve it,I wonder next frm these supe people,God hv mercy on us

#Sigh#Best news in days.....tnk God it wasn't legalised

Good! I read US GAY magazine named POPE Frances Man of the Year .... Obago lol

Thank God for dat.wise move.its opsy noni

Very good

I love this so much wow, I support am oo... ♏Ɣ jooo oya accept am quick.. Nor mind does america na den D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ cause war for nigeria, them wan try thief our oil.

Thanks..

d picture d lyk say d oda guy 1 pick pocket well its all gud. itz all about choice

14 years is too small jare LIFE imprisonment better

God bless Nigeria ,GEJ pls sign it lnto law fast

Gud supported

praissssssse the Lord no matter how d devil may try victory is sure belngs to God almighty Kingsley basey #teamJesus#

temmy HOT said...

Is dat our prob in dis country, dey sud all go n fight coruption 1st b4 tinkin of anytin.

xtian said...

kul

MISSPERFECT said...

Nigerian's can neva accept dis rubish,we only recognise a union b/t man and woman.

Honestly, this is pretty stupid like I get u don't want them to get married yeah? But stopping them from having a relationship is just uncalled for, like wtf is your business we have bigger fish to fry and they had time to pass this? Nigerians are just beyond me and btw we are totally hypocrites. If u have pre marital sex with the opposite or same sex you'll still go to hell so wats the fuss??...

Good news,im sooooo happy about this...........Lindodo,u have never post my comment,God is watching u on 3D

How about under age marriage ? That too should be on top of the list . Domestic abuse / violence should be included also .

Jona should pls use his signature o I don understand dis one whr hm dey impersonate iyabo now.

IKWERREBOY said...

Honestly in this situation I refused to be educated. I am in full support of this ban.

Good but most of this politicians are gay don't let them deceive you.

did obsanjo pass here?he siezed my period m gwa ya,o na asim.d&c

#dat igbo gal nwere connection wit mesut ozil#

Glory be 2 God.now dis Lady shld be careful if possible relocate 2 a country that support same sex marriage. She lost her show 4 featuring a fag on it, now she'll probably go 2 jail.

Nigerias standin up for wats gud,,,,,super cool

famonzo said...

Nice one.... We have enough problems in this country already.I also say no to same sex marriage.

God punish this #Senators.....,just because they have nothing to gain from it...nor it is of any value to the economic growth of this cursed #Nation....!
You would never hear them #BAN any other thing that contributes to the steady growth of corruption per period....,for instance #Immunity,third term in office,rotation of high office holders from one position to another.....
Shalom....!

As they are banning it they should also ban underage marrige ooo. Not jst the 1ns they feel favor them because what is wrong is wrong n i doubt any1 would happily profess being gay in naija bans or no bans----C21

ZEuz said...

I no fit laugh,jail finz..let's kick out gay n lesb in Nigeria..#teamihate gays

ZEuz said...

I no fit laugh,jail finz..let's kick out gay n lesb in Nigeria..#teamihate gays

oda be!

SouthernSoul said...

uti nwanchukwu will need to relocate to anoder country.... Lol. Kudos to d Senate

Quintessence said...

Was it ever legal ? Or does it mean they can indulge in homosexual acts but no marriage. My religion is against this : Gay,Lesbianism,Bisexuals etc. So I support the ban

Finally,dis is de only gud thing I've seen senate do,,

Editor said...

I don hear

zee plus said...

May god bless the senate for this.

bastards why not deatj sentence for anybody found guilty of corruption! Or 50 year retirement age? Leave trivial matters and focus on matters that affects the well being of the populace!

Nneka said...

Nigeria don do new year resolution. Y don't they also do smthing abt Yerima's typ of marriage

Igor said...

President Jonathan,sign the bill ASAP

GOOD LET NGERIA NOT JOIN THE CRAZINESS HAPPENING IN THE US...

Thank God. Atleast they did one thing right.

Cute B said...

Uti and Alex take note!

i hope these senators also adhere to this bill and for goodness sake what is GEJ waiting 4, he shld jst sign and approve this bill. it's bad enuf dat odas gals try to snatch anoda lady's man, it will be worst if guy also try to snatch a guy 4rm a lady. so GEJ shld jst sign and pass the bill into law

Wow! Thank God.am happy about this

Way to go

Gaylords and Lesbians Beware...UTI, Alex Ekubo and Co. Una jail term go long...LOL

Don Freddy + said...

Y nah? As a gay rights activist, I condemn dis act. People shud be free to marry whomeva D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ want, regardlessod dia sex. Nigeria remains a primitive country and dis act doesn't aid †ђξяε̲̣̣̣̥ claim as a developing world power. Let's just wait 4 d backlash 4rm oda nations!

For once dey hav done sometin rite..tank God

#epiphany#

i love this. nice one senate.

seuntola said...

lmaoooo, e jebi, like sey na issue..yeye peepzzz

jennifer said...

It remains a passed 'bill' until it gets a presidential assent.....so Goodluck has d VETO power to make it a law...we are waiting patiently..

jennifer said...

It remains a passed 'bill' until it gets a presidential assent.....so Goodluck has d VETO power to make it a law...we are waiting patiently..

mimi said...

Oh thank God dis is wht am waiting to hear all dis while, pls mr president should quickly approve it

jennifer said...

♏ɪ̣̝̇ss E̶̲̥̅̊ngineer said...

Which gay person ɪ̣̝̇§ ready to come out publicly in naija,more or less get married...waste of bill,wat will happen τ̅ kidnappers and those ugly senators engaging in child marriage?

Funny law.

Abeg they should also include the clause of jail without any option o. No be say dem go say 14yrs or pay fine of 20 naira. Goodluck had better approve dis

mimi said...

Oh thank God dis is wht am waiting to hear all dis while, pls mr president should quickly approve it

Regina said...

Good work....

Soul said...

Shey na only marriage? That means they can go ahead and live in sin forever. Who needs marriage anyway? They don't hold water these days. So, all my lesbos and gayos, keep licking and humping away. Good luck. And oh, if you can afford it, travel to another country, get married and come back home. They only penalize you when you marry in their country Nigeria. Have fun!!!

These fuckers should go and pass a bill that actually betters the lives of Nigerians... Hellooooo.... Like the Petroleum Industry Bill, A$$holes...... who gives a toss what two consenting adults do in their bedroom??
Talk about misplaced priorities. Should moral or ethics based bills be at the top of your legislative agenda???? Or bills that actually impact on the dysfunction that pervades every pore of the Nigerian State? GTFOH with that nonsense....

mimi said...

Linda post my comment nah

jessica morphy said...

God bless Nigeria ma country n elect leaders dat wil kip dis up,Good job.

Uloma said...

Nice one senate!!! Same sex marriage!!!! Yuk.. Dts quite irritiating, wonder wat's d fun in dt!

This is d first tym dis ppl will impress

I thought this bill was already passed

YES! .........YES!!.........YES!!!
I love 9ija, I no go quit..na inside am I go marry my Okpeke....no matter what ever we are passing through nw ,all I knw is it will be 4a while.........(choros)..ohoho........Ogaoooooo

At least they used common sense on this one....

Oh happy bannning...lol

Yes o! Eeyaaa for the gay folks.

Nice one David mark n co

Jamal said...

Nice 1. I love it.

OK....abeg Linda I heard Karen Igho tweeted she nao has cancer...give us gist joor.

if reall lv wat dey are doing,, antway let c if d president wil approved it or not

That's very good o we don't want it here,just imagine my Linda getting married to Maheeda"Tufiakwa"
#WorldfamousVictor

i really lv wat dey are doing,, anyway let c if d president wil approved it or not

Eric Uroh said...

Thank God
I knw dis ll b a very sad news for Derenle n Uti Nwachukwu, am sorry 4 dem shaaa
To hell wit gay
Maybe in nextworld thay wld Adam n Steve, am definitely not comin 2 dat world
Jesus is coming soon

That's very good o we don't want it here,just imagine my Linda getting married to Maheeda"Tufiakwa"
#WorldfamousVictor

DR. GEJ SHOULD APPROVE IT FAST ABEG, NO TIME. SAY NO TO SAME SEX MARRIAGE.

Adorable Jewel said...

Before nko??? Call a Spade a Spade!! Good one, senate

Gross pic above! But oh YES to d senate for standing up to Sodomy in this country. Its a choice, people aren't born that way. Period!!! A Union like mine, and my parents and my ancestors is between A MAN And A WOMAN. End of story.
Our Americanisation never reach that point yet. Good one senate, I applaud u with a standing ovation. LEsbos and Gay brothers go to another country. Bye tudoooooos.

i so much dislyk dis country,y cnt we ve d right 2 do anytin.same sex marriage is nt dat bad.i wil continue 2 admire ladies

ewww Linda that your picture is just so wrong....shagging another man's asshole is despicable*smh*

AMY said...

Hmmmm goodnews! Let them travel to countries such is allowed if they really wanna gt married! Oshisko!

naija single girl new post is funny sha. Weyrey

oyindoubra commander OJB said...

Perfect!

Choi! So no hope for Uti and Alex to make it official. Eeeeya!

Glory be to God. lets not add gayism to d list of problems in this country. 14yrs. hahahah.

Same sex marriage is not socialization and it can never never be.

its abomination in Nigeria and so shall it ever remain in Jesus name. God bless Nigeria

Glory be to God. lets not add gayism to d list of problems in this country. 14yrs. hahahah.

Nwa J.

Nwa J.

Before nko??..Serves them right. If they want to get married they should go to the US.

*Nita Briggs*

pwitie B said...

#gbam am 100% anti-gay if u no lyk am go hug transformer

Yh right!

Hmmmnnn.... That's Good!

The Nigeria Senate can YES to the marriage between an child and an adult, but say NO to the marriage between 2 adults!

Nigeria, we hail thee

Dancing swange. Y'all gay ass fools can die like ryt nowwwww

them do well 4 dis one sha... Its UNGODLY!

Wetin GEJ dey wait for bfore authorisation?

'YTE'

Large said...

Nice 1! So them senate sabi good things?Thank God for them shaa.

Lobaloba said...

Ok! *grabs chair and groundnut*

BONKY GEE said...

G̶̲̥̅Ơ̴̴̴̴͡.̮Ơ̴̴̴͡D̶̲̥̅ development!!!

ebony0107 said...

Oº°˚˚°ºĶ now, let's go there....at least we try for dat one

In as much as I fantasize about making out with a girl, I can't imagine myslf being married to a girl..not with all the cool and handsome dudes with healthy bananas in d world!

Till its approved, its still null and void... Gay people go soon relocate go ghana

mzjenjulius said...

GOOD

Mr. President shldnt act otherwise o, God designed it a male and a female , whoever chose to change the ways of God deserve to die.

Atleast they use dre sixth sense for dis one. Cos I wonder wat dis country we look like wen dey allow sure union!!!

At least that is one good thing they have done... Kudos to them.

Golda Awosika said...

Nw dats sometyn 2 make me smile #*karlishah*

sweet said...

Best news I hav heard all day

Fuel into fire, Nigeria is already the most hated country what now that we are homophobic??? @Wittydarhny

Beta! Thank God bfor nija go turn to sodom and gomolia

Ajaka tayo said...

Ban lol.. How many peepz dey go church or mosque go marrY dis days.

Yes yes yes...nice one

Tunde Eldorado said...

Still on d matter

Nina said...

There are worst things to look for to ban in Nigeria,LOOK out for such. Same sex is not our problem in Nigeria.

Chisa said...

They need to set their priorities right. First BAN CHILD MARRIAGE!!! BUNCH OF NONENTITY. Gays are definitely adults before deciding to marry. What about the poor innocent girl child who can't speak or fight for herself that has been forced into the slavery called marriage? ?? KMT... I shake my head for this country because it's clearly a hopeless one.

Height of joblessness....instead of them to focus on more pressing issues lyk finding out the truth about what OBJ wrote to Jonathan in the letter, they r busy interfering in people's personal life...whts my business if a woman marries a woman, does it put food on my table or send my Future kids to school or provide for me to cater for my extended family. Jobless mofos

And these r d same people that passed d bill on underage marriage...smh....na joblessness and too much money they disturb them..

Homosexuals hurt no one. How about Yerima who's abusing and dumping little girls under the cloak of religion? Outlaw sanctioned pedophilia first.

Hehhehehhehe, no be small "yerimalistic" tendencies. ROTF

Linda, it can be so frustrating commenting on your blog...I want to say something about Mary Mary'sErica's gospel cover.
The dress is nice but not ideal for that. All things are expedient but not all things are permissible. 1Cor8:12 And when you sin against other believers by encouraging them to do something they believe is wrong, you are sinning against Christ. I could wear a dress that isn't bad but if my Spirit says remove that dress and I don't then I've hurt my spirit but someone else can put on the same dreaa and feel very comfortable. I'm so surprised at the comments I read. Anyway, we are living in a world where abnormal things are now normal.
You all can call me anything but I really don't care. I'm just pouring out my mind and I'm happy I did. 'If meat causes my weak brother in Christ to sin, I won't eat meat near him'.

poker said...

U go soon get pile finally...

God bless u my dear

this law should have been enacted ever sinnce. Its a good thing to know that finally, this stupid gay and lexy marriage will be nullified in this part of the world

anon said...

Asin eh. N 2 think Same love was receiving wide air plays. Nonsensical idiats

anon said...

Faggot!!!

of all the issues on ground. you still have time to think about what some pple r doing in their closets. Rubbish.
do something about child labor ,do something about corruption,do something about the well being of the citizen.
when all these are in place then you can have the moral right to criminalize whatever. and to some foolish Nigerians celebrating that shit call 14yrs......get over yourselves already. no wonder south Africans has no regards for you pple. nelson Mandela that we all celebrated today gay the gay pple freedom to do what they like. and SA is far better than this rat hole we call Nigeria. celebrate anti corruption. celebrate uninterrupted power supply...then we can now come back to gay issue. some pple in the aso rock are busy feasting on Nigerian money and they are distracting you will this issue that has little or no concern with you fools.

You know sometime when something is paining u the best thing to do is to hit you skull on the wall. So what? If we have other pressing issue we should let another evil continue abi? Never! Leave opposite sex sin first (not saying is right but something are just to aborminable to be thought of) why have relationship if it not the sole purpose of marriage. You and your kind should stay away frm our beloved country so we can deal with pressing issue not bring same sex marriage to disturb a disturbed country. Dig it

lINDA u DID NT POST MY COMMENT, WHY NAH

Hello Linda. This is kind of for you as I believe your voice on this will be heard louder.

Why does section three say, "Only marriage contracted between a man and a woman either under Islamic Law, Customary Law or the Marriage Act is recognized as valid in Nigeria". My emphasis is on "Islamic Law, Customary Law or the Marriage Act". It doesn't seem to include the 'church'. That might be something to look into. Except they want us to beilieve the Churh is already covered by the marriage Act. Be that as it may, they should have spelt it out like the others.

I just thought to bring this to your notice so you can look into it. If I'm correct, your blog will be a good place to start a campaign to get that changed before it is signed oficcialy.

It won't be a good thing to see Christian marriages being termed as illegal in Nigeria.

Kind regards.

You r a Fool...Idiot!! Is it not d same Religion Europeans introduced to u "Xtianity", d pple who introducd d religion 2u Legalised it so WTF r u sayin!! We aint Talkin abt Religion here we talkin abt pples right and Freedom who are Adults not kids u dis greedy Bastard self Centerd Ugly Ogre. Fairness n Equity I stand For as far as it aint Tramplin on oda pples life!!

Soul said...

Shey your religion is against straffing a man you're not married to but you do it anyway? Hypocrites! I can't even deal abeg.

Anonymous 3:15pm lik u r a gay sorii ur show don spoil...am so hapi 2 hear dis great news.Guds news komin 4m dem 4 d first tym so mr president approve shap shap.

vampire lestat said...

Simple maths anus is for passing out faeces not to be penetrated by a penis. We evolve does not mean we should start sleeping with animals o. good one senators

Well said

lf u b gay or lesb u talk rather than condem ds 1daful bl dats passed n2 law.same sex marge no b corrupt practse 4 ur eye.f u don't ve any reasonabl comnt y u no jst luk waka pass.anofia

Dats good.
4rm Gnomic Pretex

Tonto Dike,Rukky Sanda and all those Yoruba actress plz giv ur lyf 2 christ nw and stp dis sinful act cal gay be warned.

Ok.. So no same sex Marriage ehn?? Didnt say anything about same sex relationship (dating) tho.. Ya'll can be live in lovers then, thats a window.

Lasun Omonile said...

Our lawmakers doing the right thing for the first time.

Www.giz-pen.blogspot.com

Nice one*** they should also include a license age for marriage
Your truely Ennizy!

Igor said...

Abeg who you be.Make you no come out talk am before you suffer punishment reserved for Denrele et al.----------------------ISIS.

Finally!!!!...we do the right thing!!!the president had better approve this bill quickly!!!

Unwana Johnson said...

my friend spell correctly, no de confuse people for here

Unwana Johnson said...

Let's forget the past and think of the future

The west is trying to legalise Gay marriage in Nigeria to cultel the influx of Nigerian immigrants using Gay to seek asylum in the west!

xmanemperor said...

wht's GEJ waitin 4!!!???... Sign da "damn" thang!!!

Christian Marriage not included???? Or dont I understand English?

Nigeria my country...its so sad that our Senate doesnt even understand basic human rights. ..how can u send a man to jail becos of who he chooses to sleep with...Gej will not be stupid enough to sign that bill.
..if he does he will expose his unintelligence even more than it is right now

If you can't prove it don't talk about it oh. Let's be fair, don't conclude based on hear say.

Fuck your opinion said...

Ode ni e sha. Are de Nigerians?

Fuck your opinion said...

UTi and Alex are no more, its now Alex and IK Ogbonna. Btw Derenle no b gay, all na na gra gra.

While I hate the law... this comment wins

Emma said...

I support gay marriage nobody should tell a fellow human been who he or she should marry to and for those who quote bible on this issue should also remember that the same bible supported slavery. i am not gay but i still think gays deserve the same equal right as me. i guess Nigerian is not yet an advance country to think with open mind.

Crystal said...

Are you one of them GAY? Cos u sound pained. Faggot

Dey banned d Union.. nt d act....

Crystal said...

So what about UTI and ALEX what will be their fate? Cos they couldn't make it official.

Crystal said...

Why won't u admire ladies, wit your sag face.

Thank God!! †ђξ hell Α̲̅ guy be sticking his dick in another guys butt-hole with some many pretty girls around?? #teamnogays&lesbiansallowed# good move senator!

Gbam! #Sealed! Itz ​A̶̲̥̅̊ very Ǧ☺☺d decision but frankly speaking. Sen yerima ought 2 b convicted F̶̲̥̅̊ợ̣̣̇̇̇я̩̥̊ child abuse. Child marriage ‎​ȋ̝̊̅§ also an aborminable act nd pple respnsible in it shld b penalised. Nw in diz junction. i'm homophobic buh at d same time shrewd. Itz unjustified 2 legalise child marriage. Gosh! Irritated. Nd nw D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ banned Same sex marriage. We need ​A̶̲̥̅̊ free nd fair government. Tank God 1 ‎​ȋ̝̊̅§ down. It remains d other! Ban Child marriage nw.. It beats me 2 see innocent children suffer diz. Linda biko post my comment. Speaking frm my heart. For gay marriage(life imprisonment biko) 14yrs ‎​ȋ̝̊̅§ lyk 14days in diz era.

Abeg shut up, if u wan die, dieeeee. No to same sex marriage, fucking fag go die.

Ok........

Like we care, they should backlash na, na 2day international community begin backlash us? Abi na 2 day u remember say yansh de back? Shiooooo.

Sorry O°˚˚˚. Seems U̶̲̥̅̊ ar affected.

Lol @ "yerimalistic" tendencies.

$$k@y$$

Sorry O°˚˚˚. Seems U̶̲̥̅̊ ar affected.

Bona chic said...

Baby boo,if u eat that 100k alone God wont 4give u o.been begging u only 20k since linda declared u one of the winner.xmas is next wk no ope of makin my hair.#cryin.bona chic

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 357   Newer› Newest»