Oprah to blame for Golden Globe snub of ‘The Butler' say cast & crew | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 20 December 2013

Oprah to blame for Golden Globe snub of ‘The Butler' say cast & crew

Hilarious report. Check it out below
When asked how come ‘The Butler’ film has been shut out of the nominations for the 2014 Golden Globe Awards- after getting rave reviews from critics and doing well at the box office- the entire cast and crew of the film unanimously pointed accusing fingers at Oprah Winfrey, according to reports.
“Frankly speaking, look no further than Oprah,” said The Butler Director, Lee Daniels. “I knew it was wrong casting her as Gloria Gaines but I didn’t have the bottle to tell her. I mean how do you tell a billionaire she really can’t hack it on the big screen?”
Forest Whitaker, Academy Award winner, is said to be devastated. As the lead character in The Butler, playing Cecil Gaines, Whitaker is said to have been very optimistic on adding a 2nd golden statuette to his Oscar glory next year. The Golden Globe is often seen as a barometer for Oscar nominations. Whitaker is said to be furious Oprah could have cost him a second Oscar.

“This is exactly what I tried telling Lee when he told me Oprah was going to play Gloria Gaines,” Whitaker confided to close friends. “Seriously I had my doubts about her. I told Lee ‘that woman has no place in a film’. Nobody wants to watch a billionaire in the movies. The only place for a billionaire in a film is as a producer. I mean just give us some money to make the film and forget about getting a part.”

At post time Hollywood grapevine has it that Winfrey has vowed to use her wealth and clout to influence next year’s Academy Awards nominations in favour of her character in The Butler, as best actress or best supporting actress or whatever.

Culled from Thehorstrich.com

61 comments:

Hotgirl said...

Yawns....I miss White House Sabo Amala with gbegiri and orisirisi meat.

blablablablablablablablablablablabla......

Lol......#grabs a seat# waiting for her reply

Nonsense! The director should be blame for lack of guts to do his job properly. He lacks professionalism. He knew she ain't acting right and he let her get away with it. So what if she is too much money? I fuss @ his kind.

Abeg DAT one Na their own cup of coffee

Flexy said...

i need to watch this movie really....then i can reply better. lol

MARCEE said...

I was wondering Oprah???seriously???he should have used angela basset or kerri washinghton or thandie newton they would have done beta.beside she looked older than forest whitaker smh tho

You call the report hilarious because you think Oprah is the best and worthy of all role model. Forget, her money and fame do not make her the best.

Phaeton Phoenix said...

Na wa oh Linda! Fake fake news! I am surprised you didn't even fact check this news before posting it from whatever source you snatched this from! I have not read this anywhere else lol. I would not believe a veteran actor like Whitaker could be so petty as to publicly make such a comment on his long time friend after all the movie snagged three Screen Actors Guilds nominations already with more to come and would definitely win.
Anyways lol, I also initially felt the same about Oprah's role in the film and its effect on reviews but since its release the movie has gathered rave reviews and critics love it!

MARKET MONITOR said...

Oprah isn't someone i fansy so much. So she ain't gonna get married??

sugar boy leaks nu-de pic of popular young woman online

Who is he to judge her...go to the gutter my friend and take a sip..

No name said...

Money is Gud but can't actually get u everything in life

which kind many story cun be all dese won na mtcheeee.

next!!!!!!!!!!!

dollyjossycakes said...

I don't believe it,d veiwers shuld even b more bcos dey'll like 2 see oprah,as 4 me,I'll like 2 see oprah acting...their hopes were 2 high,dats y it flopped nt bcos of oprah,shikina

Na dem sabi

Onwumere Divine (DUNO) said...

Lol. Sulking fucktards. U knew all these and still gave her the role. Get over it.

Hahahahahaahahaahahaahahaah!very hilarious!d producer or whoeva lee Daniels is dint consider dat fact b4 castin her in d movie?now he come dey regret am?medicine after death!lwkm4h!

How do I help now,medicine after death,directors use casts u can direct and not the other way round.

Ama says........This story smells very foul. I don't think it'd true.

Sigh. Poor Oprah

Uloma said...

When dey were casting her, dey dint knw, nw kasala don burst.... Everyone's pointing accusing fingers... Rubbish!

Eeyyaahhh... Okay!

okiki said...

She can't be good in all things

jessica morphy said...

Lolz @"how do u tel a billionaire she really can't hack it on a big screen" n "that woman has no place in the film"aunt Linda why not try goin in2 acting?

emmy said...

Well...make she no force am...u can be a good actress jst bcos u host a show!

Golda Awosika said...

4get abou wat money can do,I tnk its pretty trashy,awards shud hapn bcos of merits nt bcos sm1 has d bloody money 2 buy it #*karlishah*

lol is this for real wow
Love for Miami

But this is Oprah's acting debut na! Can she be that bad?

Lady Stelusy said...

Wetin concern agboro with over load. Non of my business, beside l have not seen the movie so can't really criticize it till I watch it. l rest my case.

Oprah is not an actress.

Pearls said...

Can't wait †☺ watch it.

THIS IS OBVIOUSLY FAKE. WHY DO YOU GUYS BELIEVE IT. FOREST WHITAKER IS TOO FORMAL TO SAY SUCH IN PUBLIC.

93_7 said...

She did look older dan Forest in the movie, even when they portrayed the younger and the older version of her in the movie, she still looked older.
She definitely had no real acting skills, except when she slapped her son (the yoruba actor #Oyelowo or Ade something sha). Am sure they wud hav taken that part couple of times for it to be dat perfect.

APPLELIPX said...

D MOVIE WAS EXTREMELY DRY AND BORING WHEN I SAW IT IN D CINEMA

ITWAS ToTALLY UNBELIEVABLE WEN I SAW HER AS D BUTLER'S WIFE

#BIG DISASTER

Lip sealed...

BLISS said...

Well she can't be good @ evrything but I love her, love d movie. She was also wonderful in LOVE THY NEIGHBOUR

#watching in 3D LED#

The website you got this story from is not credible. Linda, always cross check. I know you won't post my comment but TAKE NOTE.

Oprah is jinxed when it comes to movies, her 2 or 3 attempt at movies also ran into trouble with critics tearing into her. After which she swore never to do movies any more.

On seeing that epic blockbuster ' the butler' , I knew casting Oprah was not such a fantastic idea. She could not even pull off the alluring sensual scenes that were part of her role. Although I give her credit for her effort being a non professional actor, I do not believe she was responsible for this movie being shut out of the nominations, it was more or less the direction which the story was told. Recall that this an adaptation of a true story. However, its been a fantastic year for the blacks in movies ranging from 12years a slave, long walk to freedom , the butler etc, wether the movie industry choses to accept it or not.

Upon seeing this epic blockbuster adaptation of a true life story, I realized that casting Oprah was not such a perfect idea. She wasn't exactly able to pull off some of those alluring sensual scenes as part of her role. Howler, I still give her credit for her not being a professional actress who got coasted anyway. Moreso, I do not think she was the reason for this movie not being nominated. My belief is that the movie line did not clearly depict the real story. I am glad anyway that this year was awesome for black movie actors ranging from 12years a slave, through a long walk to freedom, the butler etc. and each had a clear view on white supremacy aka slavery.

Abeg! I nor dey feel their food jare....

Wait. Don't tell me u visit der too oo.me na regular for der as we no get pot for house .lemme know anytime make we go together. Add me 25C2DBCB

Try Eni afe lamo

Am Searching 4 d movie

Anuty Mee..go sleep jor..abi sleep no dey ur eye. Sleep, uo don try since mrng.
4rm Gnomic Pretex

Tiana said...

well @least no be Nigeria e happn, if not all u go dey read as comment is "coruption dis manipulator dat.........

U r funny lol

Errrr.....anyone ever hear about "The Onion"? Smh @ you lot. This ish ain't reallllll!!!!! Even you Ms. Ikeji

TegBaby said...

Medicine after death...! NEXT...

Ms_oyinkansola said...

Abegi!they should all shut up!I watchd the butler,its a good movie n oprah impressed me with ha acting.playd ha role so well.n I dnt get impressed easily.I v a feeling ds pipl dint say ds much bt d tabloids just write anytn they lyk.

Oprah did, a bloody good job, she hacked it for me.

Fuck your opinion said...

@Hotgirl God bless youzm been thr once whne I visited lag.

@ phaeton phoenix, you cant find or read the news anyway, it is a stire to make humour of the snub of the blockbuster The Butler

This is what I read on thehorstrich.com about us: The Horstrich reports the news with a fabulous edge. We don’t take life too seriously. Neither should you. That’s why we satirize public figures, animals, cyborgs, aliens and the odd inanimate object. Any use of real names is accidental and coincidental. That’s unless you deem yourself to be a public figure or some sort of celebrity, in which case we presume you’re already a deft hand at self-mockery.

Haha???

Cool story...next tym dey would think
Before acting

Hmmmmmmmmn

Same way Oprah messed up Beloved. Not again,OW!

Watched the movie..she was AVERAGE!

I thought she did wonderfully well in the movie after all this is not her first movie , she also acted in the movie THE COLOUR PURPLE. I Thing she is a brilliant actor