NBC bans several songs including Gobe, Caro, Ghost Mode, Afefe.. | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 6 December 2013

NBC bans several songs including Gobe, Caro, Ghost Mode, Afefe..

This censoring sef! According to Beatfm On-Air-Personality Gbemi Olateru-Olagbegi, NBC has banned several Nigerian and foreign songs/videos for either 'obscene lyrics or visuals'. See the rest of the banned songs after the cut...

Lol. What do you guys think?

147 comments:

InfoNubia.com said...

NBC must be high on rum! Ghost Mode? They are not serious at all.

dhobiz said...

Mad pole,na now morning reach for them

Wats all dis ban ban all about sef?mtcheew.

This people(NBC) dey look 4 work, they are idle and don't know what to do with their time...

Nikapetrelli said...

U can ban dem,I care less..But my phone n de internet still dey.*Who cares*

NBC are a bunch of wankers! What is obscene about ghost mode abeg? This people are a bunch of frustrated idiots! Them no get work! Abi na because of copyright people gbege them dey do this one?

noted
#rock gurl#

why do these people ban songs that are already over played!are they fools

Wrecking Ball?!!.... Really?

Songs wey don reign comot for market sef.... It's well sha #juliblaze

this NBC can just like to fool themselves sha. it is when song has reign finish and already on every mobile or portable player that they always come to ban song. abeg when last u hear nawti by Olu Maintain? or Gobe by Davido...Infact i laff in Taiwanese at the banning of Tony Montana. this NBC can like to carry last on a looong thing joor. they should go and jonz somewhere...BALUssss

We all knw they r looking 4 ways 4 share those guys hustle results. Its jst jealousy + they want those celebs to bribe them. Wht a shame!!! Mtcheeeeeew

Lol! Which song remain again nah? Nne jide ihea! jidesie ya ike!*phyno's'voice*

OMG not my GHOST Mode, i so much love that song
but Linda this is old news ooHH!

They are over doing it. What's the criteria for banning songs?

Nonsense!

Blackberry said...

Who cares!

Foolish pple,y nw?If fink dy've nt seen ukwu kwa by Pocado

LMAO.... Na wa oooooo... Abeg nah wetin phyno do dem nah... His Man of the year was ban and now ghost mode!

Those jobless NBC people should go and sit down, we they stop all these songs from being played in the club or being downloaded or even shown on MTV. If fact they should * GO AND DIE*

na now dem dey wake? watz even wrong with d videos ?

I fink*

rootwoo.com said...

what did ghost mode do. i think the video and lyrics are ok.

Haba Mana!!! Just when I was starting to love 9ja songs.... Warefa sha, make I go download my "Caro" and "ukwu" biko!

Dzzjin

Songs don finish naa......if dem ban all dese my fav songs, wetin remain again? Yeye pple!

flavour nko?

vampire lestat said...

They should let us know the kind of songs they want us to listen to.tot this was a democracy not a police state. I know for sure their reason will be absurd.

tyra banks said...

Dis pple are nt serious @ all mke thunder fire der mouth wen dey use tey tak am mtchewwww

na dem sabi we go still rock al d songz 4 club n pari NBC my yaaansh.GBAM

Na wa oh? Wetin we no go hear?#Anwuli#

There's internet.....hehehe.

Nigeria and hypocrisy chai

na wa o wetin b dx one nw

They shld kukuma ban all the songs na abi?

Wrecking Ball?!!!... Really?

Yeah I support the move 100 percent. its high time they started sensoring all these obscene songs that teaches our children immorality. Eachtime you turn on the tv these days, you see women dancing half naked,see guyz smooshing young women on national television while you hear lyrics like fuck,suck,bang,dick,pussy being freely used. Small time u will hear ukwu sara mbara, ala dala-ada, ife di na ukwu etc. Spoiling kids with nonesense songs and lyrics.

Good morning NBC,most of these songs are as popular as the Nigerian anthem now. they're just banning ghostmode.
Ndiala Ndiala !

Wrecking Ball?!!!... Really?

story story story #unto d next one live dis pple abeg

they deserve to be banned cus i don't see how they affect ones life positively but instead it turns the life's of our young ones into bad morals.this days u cant imagine d gravity of words coming out from a child of 7,8 years old and its due to wat they hear and watch on screen,please they should be banned cus it has no positive influence both in young and old.instead they are filled with dirty language which will deteriorate ones life.

Dey could as well say dey don't want any nigerian music cus dese songs r d norm 4 d day

only in Naija they band songs we are even tired of listening to...

makes no sense after so long of being online

Music first and last should sound well , should allure and enchant the ear , never mind he inner significance BUT what do we have with these artists ; nudity and foul language .
The function of music is to release us from the tyranny of conscious thought , certainly not to enclave us to suble pornography and indecency .
What happened to good music without debasing womanhood and celebrating profane language .
Families can't hangout anymore at restaurants , bars and eateries without begging that the television be turned off because of the obscene videos and lyrics even on radio ..

OLORI said...

I laff in spanish....snfdhppaahdfgdbnfllmaohj

OLORI said...

I laff in spanish....snfdhppaahdfgdbnfllmaohj

Lol, tbh some are not that bad but I can understand. But Your number Ayo jay? Gobe? Common man...

If na Gospel u wan make pesin begin dey sing make u talk am straight. Rubbish

Confused set of people,they fail 2 ban d songs they are suppose 2 ban.

-Blunt Ibo boy-

Hmm!nawa o. All dis bad belle people

Bastard pple!!....na when song don hit finish dem dey ban am 4 naija...stupid pple!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hmm!nawa o. All dis bad belle people

-Blunt Ibo boy-

Music first and last should sound well , should allure and enchant the ear , never mind he inner significance BUT what do we have with these artists ; nudity and foul language .
The function of music is to release us from the tyranny of conscious thought , certainly not to enclave us to suble pornography and indecency .
What happened to good music without debasing womanhood and celebrating profane language .
Families can't hangout anymore at restaurants , bars and eateries without begging that the television be turned off because of the obscene videos and lyrics even on radio ..

Dis is just crazy...let dem just ban all d songs in 9ja

jide said...

about time...all them lyrics and videos is already devaluing the younger generation. girls feel naked is the new sexy..

Soul said...

Miley Cyrus kukuma do 2 videos, so make dem choose one. Btw, there is absolutely no obscenity in Ghost mode. I am Ibo and it is my first language so I understand everything being sang in that song. Well, except what Olamide was singing.

but how wrecking ball and pour it up take consign us?

Still On Still said...

anytime way dem no see money collect, naim dis kind tinz go dey show face. una dey ban song way don turn household song already? abegi!

ejiwunmi said...

Keep banning ... Downloaded all already

Still On Still said...

NBC of life... lolz... una dey ban song way don turn household song??? una don drink.

The Person in charge of ""Censoring contents for Music η Videos"" is a Villager!!!!!!!!!!! SooooO Conservative!

Some of the songs banned are for just pure Entertainment!! We are not complaining!!

Caro!!of all songs!!

i need to know who this person is or the team incharge!!

Both BON and NBC has fools as directors. Make dem go kiss goat.

I support this 100%. Ghost mode has obscene visuals. Nd even though the songs are out dated, they re still being played. U should go back nd listen to the lyrics of those songs, they re plain stupid nd are being played at kids birthday parties. But there are some songs that has been censored that should not be banned. God help Nigeria. Post ma comment o abeg!

Why caro??nothing bad about the lyrics na......caro dey fire pass ferrari..am looking for caro haba!

U*JAY said...

Songs wey don sell finish. Na em dem dey ban...

vampire lestat said...

They should ban the National anthem for saying peace and unity when boko haram is killing innocent people in the north and the northern governors divided a people of the same race and history through sharia. A.holes

brina said...

Can't stop laughing!!!buuuuaAaaaaah....really????!!!they decided to do this now???its a little too late NBC...your brains are just waking up?..amazing...you people are bunch of incompetent fools who just want to be noticed.join the queue...una never start sef!!! What nonsense???banning ghost mode really???this is the height of stupidity..there are worst videos there and these are the ones you choose???!!!mtsheeewww...awon aridi oshi!!!

Yea its jx a warnin 2 all our naija musicians who dnt censor dia songs......next tym dey will learn 2 do d ryt ish

U re very hopeless!y re ur kids watching such?u re a failure as a parent.it is ur job to protect ur kids.I know of a couple dt allow their kids watch only christian stuffs n kiddies tv.that is when they ve to cos most times,the tv is off!don't come on here to talk nonsense biko!protect ur kids.it is ur job!asshole!!!*toni*

Wait o,what's wrong with caro by wizkid? One thing I lve about banning a song is that it makes it more popular.
NBC you guys shoud wake up
You always late on your bans and always banning the wrong song.
Am suprise you guys are not banning I swear by ice prince

Don't do ur job n protect ur kids!be talking nonsense!growing up as a child,we had tv time!!!suprevised by my parents.9pm network news n then an hour for kiddies tv on saturday mornings!wat is ur child doing,watching tv 24/7???be waiting for nbc to do ur job for u!ndiala!!!

Stopid people! Me get my phone nah,I will download d song I want 2....useless people. *Debbie Chelsea*

I agree with Anon 4:22, we cry everday that the country is getting bad yet Corporate bodies help promote this uglyness. Imagine MTN showing these songs on Tv and telling us to subcribe to their callet tunes. We still have artists in the country with good lyrics and(or) lovely videos, try Ecetera.

lmao! hausa man say "daga baya kenan"...meaning after everythng don happen! theeehehe...thnk God say i don download all the ones i lyk..*walks away with boom box blasting ghost mode...NDI ALA..NDI ALA..DEY NO DEY SEE ME!*

Finally. From most of the comments i'm seeing there ar a lot of ignorant people on here. nbc has done the right thing to ensure that music/videos do not debase a particular gender or offend people's sensibilities and no, it does not have to be gospel music. Have you seen Bez, TY Bello, Kefy, tuface and others videos? Infact nbc I have some videos I need you to ban, no 1 Banky W's Jasi too much alcohol and stupid senseless grinding. after that you can warn iyanya to be wearing shirt *drops mic*

Too late !!!wen d songs don enjoy massive airplay finish..Jobless pple(NBC)

Marc Francis of Chelsea said...

This is where is starts. Today they will control your freedom of speech (senate trying to pass bill to arrest government naysayers), next your freedom of artistic expression (ban music), and next...you can only guess.

Just like we are not America or England, we are not South Sudan or Dubai. We are Nigeria! Don't be fooled into the hyper-morality trap because when you find out that you are in it, it will be "immoral" to get out.

If you don't want to listen, turn the radio off or block your DSTV. Parental controls are available. There are bleeps for explicit lyrics, and the list goes on. It is unfortunate that you feel the music is "spoiling the kids," completely neglecting the fact that the music is actually made for adult entertainment. It is your duty to protect your children from such visuals and lyrics, not the artistes. I've said it times without number that if your child learns his values from the television, then you have failed as a parent. It is up to YOU!

Igor said...

Phyno,ha choro iri gi.Banye GHOSTMODE !!!

I dey tell u!!all dese songs n dere videos small compared to dt ukwu kwa video!They nid to go watch dt video

Plz nigerians shud shut d fuck up, this is good!
Stop copying white pple!
Be original.
Evry1 is jst bad!
No more gud hard workin guys, no more virgins!
Jst bunch of yahhoo yahoo's and ashewos who do shits fr money!
X

At least dey cnt take it away from our phones... Pretty Anonymous

Kemsie said...

Lol@Go and Die. Honestly, they shld ve don dis long ago, its of no use now. Go and Die abeg make we rest

Smooshing?? like seriously?

After dey have finish selling all the disk in the market now they re banding. this wiln't affect them at all, make NBS go sleep

long over due ban....everything is now all about sex and nudity..abeg...why naa..sing reasonable songs..intelligent ones

That means they will end up banning all the songs coz na same semi nude babes we dey see,rubbish

CrazyCrazy people.

focus on school

Thirsty 4 u by Ash Hamman, LMAO well that video sexy small i no fit lie, although i have seen worse. lool

I had a strong feeling Ash Hamman video would be banned, but kai that girl get back side shaaaa. Wetin

Anonymouse!!! said...

When the songs don reign finish. Bunch of fools.

I even tire 4 ds generation's music,all they sing abt is ladies ass,sex,drugs,liquor."Caro dey gimme every minute,Caro,ur body necessary,Caro dey bang like Ferrari", "Ale oni sha ma yato,idaji o se ko,omo j'ajolepo,telemi ka ma lole oo" etc. Every song is d same...just d beat that's diff... We need to start listening to songs that teaches moral,patience, songs that teaches respect 4 d female body.. Then d videos r worse.. My mum hisses every time their videos r been played..we hear less of Christian songs&songs like Infinity's "Aye ole"(Life's not hard)...I support them 100%.

SiSi EkO said...

So embarrassing! You said it all

Tayo Osinubi said...

NBC itself should be disbanded... they are not doing their work properly.

Rivkah said...

The first sensible comment here. Let's be honest most of these videos are explicit. I nearly fainted when I saw Rihanna's pour it up video. I wonder why Wande Coal's 'The Kick' isn't here sef. The agency isn't saying you can't watch or listen to them, they r just saying that due to the contents and lyrics of these videos they would not be shown on national tv. You want your daily dose of shameless women shaking their droopy ass in a video? Simple to you YouTube and waste 5minutes of UR life doing so but not on national tv. Don't most of you have kids? Imagine them watching these explicit videos and acting them out. Nigerians open your eyes and brains!

Dr.Pinch said...

And none of flavour's songs were banned. That guys lyrics should be rated 18. Ikpu yee, inyachiee, ukwu nwere nti...in flavour's voice. LOL

Haha !! Dis pple r jst sadist... I watch only dstv stations so am still gona see these music vids, they shud comma ban it na Msscccheeeewwww !!!!

Wtf!!!! Ghost mode, wreckin ball, coupe dekale, VOS???? Dey must b high on some high.....dem no get heard 1bit

Ada said...

lyk seriously? wats wrong wth bck 2 d matter or gobe.... shocking

No dey should just ban all d songs na dere is no song for us to listen to on tv again......oshi

Wat abut Headswell by iyanya??? Wen will dat one be banned too??

i dont understand why they'd ban songs that isnt even current anymore, not like these songs are new release or something. mehn, they are just bluffing!

If dey ban all dis songs, dat means dey hv over banned flavor's songs
Sallysmart

Haha, Why dem no even BAN all the songs wey dem don sing this year...lol

Dr Sheldon Cooper (PhDs said...

the songs in question are of no relevance. They have attained and obtained status. No party you drop stupid love and people won't hype so I don't see the point of trumping old songs and like really Tony Montana That's just hilarious. Why not ban tongolo

U can ban dem,I care less..But my phone n de internet still dey.*Who cares*

Oluwadamilola said...

Where did this anon come from?
Useless bunch of hypocrites..

These ppl must be high of some cheap drugs. How does it affect 'GOBE' by Davido. If songs should be banned by their lyrics, then they have to start with FLAVOUR'S songs cos they are too raw. He sang N'ABANIA and nobody banned it, he released 'ALA DALADA ADAGO', NBC didn't cough and up till date non of his useless lyrics has been questioned and they stand there and tell me how GOBE has affected their morals. They must be insane. E be like say dem dey look ppl 4 face dey do dat rubbish

Thank God dey banned dat jack sparrow by rayce,dat song is too raw...tank u nbc..

@anonymous 6:16pm...u mst be retarded..please jst get a life for ursf and stop beefing...U r so pained by dis ur comment.....Failed undergraduate,dats is even if u r in college @ al....Ewu Kano

Abeg since na oldies dis mumus' wan D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲y ban,y dem no ban 'Sade by Remedies'?STUPID FOOLs...

Music first and last should sound well , should allure and enchant the ear , never mind the inner significance BUT what do we have with these artists ; nudity and foul language .
The function of music is to release us from the tyranny of conscious thought , certainly not to enclave us to subtle pornography and indecency .

Instead of banning the video after being heard/ watched.. why dont they ask for Pre- release video and ban before it is released

Mayowa said...

E be like say NBC just get time to listen to this songs and watch the videos....Song's wey don reign finish...SMH!

Iyanya's knack me nko

TOV said...

They should ban the music industry na. mschewww

Nelson Mandela was a Great Rapper - Patience Jonathan

President Jonathan Sets up Panel to Investigate Nelson Mandela’s Death

Nelson Mandela's Death - APC Acuses PDP

Boko Haram Claims Responsibility For Nelson Mandela's Death

WHY YOU SHOULD STOP USING YOUR PHONES IMMEDIATELY

HE/She/It is a mixed breead of ewu kano and ewu gambia. bloody unfulfilled hypocrite.

Maybe the 'ghost' in the 'mode'.... Lmao! They don't want children to be scared

Lol.too funny

Them forget Burna Boy, run my race video? Abi them never watch am. Yeye NBC

Lot of people just come here to rant rubbish. This videos and lyrics does not only affect the kids, it affects d grown ups too, it has taken up 85% of our reasoning faculty all we here this days in most of the songs re so crude and its reducing our spirituality. Look at what is happening in our country today, we need prayers and I knw people re praying but the number of prayers reaching God are not up to the number being prayed. Am sure there are better things to sing about than sex buzz and exposing or going nude in d name of entertainment, there are better ways to it. Am not claiming to be a saint here o cos I listen to this songs too. But I believe a change could be made positively. Ronniearik

mautique said...

Na wa ooooooo.

mautique said...

Na wa ooo....... But why now?

mautique said...

Pls post me ooo

DD said...

Dys NBC guys are a bunch of jobless ppl tho. @anon u sef no dey copy oyibo? Check ursef well.

Jade said...

I was at an eatery having lunch with my colleagues last week and the things we watched on tv? Cringe worthy! All manner of nude and obscene scenes from one song to the next.Lets not even talk about d dumb vulgar lyrics. It was uncomfortable for us adults. Imagine if we had kids with us. Eateries and national tv should not be a hub for such.

In Yoda's voice : Hmmm,dey can ban d songs but they can't stop us 4RM listening to it(lai lai ko possible)

In oshio's voice : NBC go and die

@ H swen,u sick o

Honest Critic said...

Hmmm, what an insightful n educated comment

Bullshit!

I listen to lyrics and beat most.If nbc want to ban artistes it should be the ones that bore audience with noises.like terryg,davido and few others.When i put my earpiece and listen to their songs i change the station instantly because of the constant,sharp noises and poor lyrics.I are talking about talent.ghost mode is one of my Alist.

I listen to lyrics and beat most.If nbc want to ban artistes it should be the ones that bore audience with noises.like terryg,davido and few others.When i put my earpiece and listen to their songs i change the station instantly because of the constant,sharp noises and poor lyrics.I am talking about musical talent not musician.ghost mode is one of my Alist.

Please NBC, make una go look for work. people should know that u guys are hyipocrist. May God delever them form the hand of devil. coruption! coruption! coruptions! I dont knw why Nigerians are fillied with evil thoughts. hell is awaiting for all. so, why do they claim to be holy people from buggatti.

One day NBC will completely kill creativity in this country...nonsense

Some people just open dier mouths to say rubbish? Whats wrong with dancing and drinking in a video? Its what people do in clubs. Whats wrong with iyanya taking off his shirt? Why do Nigerians make a big deal out of nothing? Most of those songs are not even for kids so if your kids are watching dem den you must be a bad parent. Hypocrisy is another big problem in Nigeria.

Exactly what I was thinking , what is wrong with ghost mode
-__- , they r just being enemies of progress jobless idiots

Ghost mode's video???? Smooching too? Abi wetin u call am. Biko check out the songs and realise NBC or whatever they r called are jobless. Some of these songs are over 4months. Where theey sleeping? Abegi. Train ur child and let's see road

Headswell by iyanya nko

Hahahahahah....dem even D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ ban foreign songs....anyway,they've done well,I like ̶̷̩̥̊͡ÇŽ̜̣̍t they did....bt they shld av jst said no more music in naija..so all artist shld go †̥♥ church or mosque †̥♥ sing.....GHOST MODE!!!!!!!!!!!

At least it's good they banned wrecking ball.like who wants to see Miley Cyrus nude on a wrecking ball?

Dey dnt hv sense oo..banning it does it change d fact dat we still hv dem on our fones n laptops....mtchewwww

boo said...

Ur rly daft!!must the children watch the channels??what happend to PG's et al besides there's stl sumthg lyk disney and cartoon netwrk for the kids

Backward country! Not different from Afghan' or Iran. smh.

These people are not serious at all. Hope nobody is paying them for what they claim to be doing? How can you allow a song to go on air first before determining if it's okay for the public or not? Are you not supposed to censor them before they are released?

whizzev said...

mtcheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeew!

this people are mad already imagine banning caro OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!