Jamb CBT: A Look at Then and Now | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday, 16 March 2016

Jamb CBT: A Look at Then and Now

The Joint Admissions Matriculation Board (JAMB) went a step higher in 2013 with the Computer Based Test (CBT). For most of us, this was a necessary and timely innovation on their part. Most Nigerians are either giving a bow or a round of applause to the JAMB team.

THEN

In the 90’s, when students sat for JAMB, it was a whole different ball game from now. The examination was kept on a pedestal of FEAR for most students. As opposed to recent times, most people wrote JAMB a minimum of twice, before they could ever think of gaining admissions.
As a result, exam malpractice became a common denominator in the JAMB examinations. It seemed that no matter the angle approached to tackle this scourge, it just would not go away.  Parents were a major part of the growth and immortality of exam malpractice at this time.
For a good number of students also, there was a feeling that their papers were not being handled fairly. There was a belief that the results were “given” by those who marked instead of really being what they “got” in the examination.
There was also the issue of not finding your result when the results were released, or, exam centre results being ceased. This caused problems for even the innocent ones in those centres.
The step that JAMB took in 2013 has really changed everything. When we heard about this new decision, there was a mix of both anticipation and skepticism (good and bad): Can this really work? Finally, JAMB will be free and fair! Hmm, will Nigerians not find a way around it? Will my children be able to pass their exam now? Can we still cheat?

NOW

There is a renewed confidence in the students writing the exams. The confidence stems from the belief that, machines are better than people. The knowledge that at least two days later you haveyour result is also a great motivation and sense of relief to students now.
It now encourages young people to read as opposed to waiting to “sort” (give bribes or pay mercenaries). On account of the CBT, the students need a general knowledge of basic computer skills, which in turn, adds value to each student in the long run.
New things are not always easy to accept, but all parents and guardians should embrace and wholeheartedly support this move, knowing that your children and wards would be better off in the long run.
On a lighter note: I wish I was writing JAMB now.

Question

In the early 2000’s universities started conducting their own tests after students passed JAMB and “gained admission” into their institutions. For most of us, the reasons seemed obvious with the plague of malpractice at the time.
Now that there is the CBT is there still a need for that post UTME? Can’t the universities work with JAMB to settle the needs they believe JAMB was not meeting (if any)?

49 comments:

Kayode Odusanya said...

Speaking of Jamb, one of my students just called me thanking me for teaching him Geography well. He scored 80 out of 100 in Geography and it helped boast his overall score. I feel so proud right now.

Do You Have Problems Lasting Long in Bed?

I think POST UTME is still very much relevant,cos the CBT isn't 100cent certified,there're still loopholes!. And who says malpractices can be totally curtailed? Maybe to the minimum,certainly not 100cent.

CBT is a failure

Jamb is a lie. At least they were Ok at the start of the cbt. But this year is an entirely different story.. now there's the problem of faulty systems that log u out while u are working on your questions just minutes after logging in.

Ok nice

jamilashaibu15@yahoo.com

OMIDAN ABBY said...

Good thought!
IMO, I think post utme should b scrapped off completely owing to that reason jamb gave cos then there's just an assurance of malpractices compared to now wen some prospective uni students ( the olodos)shake ryt in front of the computer and then do all dy know and fall out..
No room for cheat, malpractices whatsoever as time counts I think..

The introduction of the CBT is commendable, computer studies should be a compulsory subject at the secondary school level with the necessary equipment in place ...Want To Naturally Reverse Type 2 Diabetes Click Here To Read
More

I think Jamb was not well prepared to commence with this years' exams. for them to begin dishing out free marks shows there's irregularities they were trying to cover and were not able to. I think Mr. Dibu, The education minister or someone should intervene

It's a positive move and I also hope those inadequacies dat was noticed be quickly tackled in order for better reliability on the process

#LibBadBoy

I think Jamb was not well prepared to commence with this years' exams. for them to begin dishing out free marks shows there's irregularities they were trying to cover and were not able to. I think Mr. Dibu, The education minister or someone should intervene

Dats would be so good! Linda take note!

Lol I remember writing waec English exams next to my English teacher...mennnn that was one exam I won't be forgetting so soon

My question exactly. The series of exams are just too much.

Linda, did you write this yourself! am glad you did this! Now am going to read the post. My Name is T.I.A

This will nvr happen universities will nvr go bck on their aptitude test before entrance cos also the skool see it as revenue to generate income for themselves .

Mr Blogger said...

Gbam!!! U have spoken so good.... Now it should be direct admission dey should scrap post utme now

Definitely if the universities could work with jamb and set the whole questions and score on jamb and post utme base den I believe there will be less youth on the street and more student in school#myopinion

At last, u posted something concerning d worse ever conducted jamb..Nigeria will always be what it is...don't let us deceive ourselves, there's nothing free and fair in jamb..it total rubbish..students are nt more engaged in malpractice but now the body itself..imagine one who hasn't even sat for d exam saw result already..dis is to show that jamb is nt giving mark based on wat u've done..They give mark randomly which is not supposed to be..They are not encouraging hardwork..jamb is lacking nd ruining d life of so many people out there..#saynotojambfakeresults#dibumustgo. .
#affectedjambite

PrettyChi said...

Nigeria will never change

No need for UTME anymore .

My daughter has 3 different results. The registrar should bury his head in shame

businessanswers said...

The then and now has a lot of difference. The cbt far better. We can do more
www.sandalili.com

I hope the universities will stop the internal exam that's if greedy will allow them to do so

Is the additonal 40 marks for every student that sat for the exam or only centres that have problems? Jamb sent 204 to us, the printout says 180? Which is which?

For results to be sent to people who hadn't sat for the exams...is pure rubbish

We are not ready for Cbt. Students were logged out. Nepa failure etc. Pls revert back to pbt or 30 percent Cbt especially areas with poor internet connection and power supply

Thanks Linda for this. Dibu has failed. Cbt was not very friendly with computers messing up

IK D DON said...

Linda u can't understand how can someone who have not use computer before come and take exam with it and u expect d student to pass

Dis hustle is real

Post Utme Tutorial Centre - 08038644328 said...

This Year's JAMB UTME CBT is really a BAD experience for Students Nationwide! Linda, don't YOU feel the complaints From Dubai...?

chai

OG WRITE said...

Linda please save the life of jamb candidates, we can't wait till next
year again.
I sat for the Unified Tertiary Matriculation Examination on Wednesday,
March 9, 2016 at the Difas College In Ikorodu. I sensed trouble when
the exam that was scheduled 9am started 1:30pm.
The exam eventually started at 1:45pm, four hours behind schedule.
About 1hour,15 minutes later, all the systems went offline and we had
to wait for some minutes before we could log in again.
The following morning, the Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board
didn't send me a text message, so i checked online and saw my result,
I scored 176. I broke down in tears. I wept because there was no way I
could have ended with such a low score. I wept because all my efforts
were in vain after reding my exam syllabus.
I can't jst imagine i got 36 in english i blasted. Even if my grammar
is bad, at least i knw emphatic stress,word stress, fill in the gap or
forcados
90% of Jamb candidates that wrote on the 7th,8th and 9th scored below
200, we have been complaning that our exam must be re-marked because
we sure of what we wrote.
Therefore, I urge JAMB to review our exam script. I wish to know what
went wrong. I believe that my real score is much higher than what I
have been given or they should add 40marks just the way they did to
people that wrote on the 27th, 29th of Febuary and 1st of March

Revert! Not revert back Omo Igbo

Kudos to you linda 4 bringing up such an important issue, the truth is that jamb has been compromised for crying out loud how on earth will they set the exact questions that was set last in English comprehension without making any changes and issuing a book to candidates to read and not a single question from the book was set in the exams but rather the question were set from the book the issue last year.

chommy said...

Seen. Linda observe!

A step further-Op-Ed. Good one with points well outlined. Looks like a paid advert at first!

Ok seen...

jamilashaibu15@yahoo.com

Linda please save the life of jamb candidates, we can't wait till next
year again.
I sat for the Unified Tertiary Matriculation Examination on Wednesday,
March 9, 2016 at the Difas College In Ikorodu. I sensed trouble when
the exam that was scheduled 9am started 1:30pm.
The exam eventually started at 1:45pm, four hours behind schedule.
About 1hour,15 minutes later, all the systems went offline and we had
to wait for some minutes before we could log in again.
The following morning, the Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board
didn't send me a text message, so i checked online and saw my result,
I scored 176. I broke down in tears. I wept because there was no way I
could have ended with such a low score. I wept because all my efforts
were in vain after reding my exam syllabus.
I can't jst imagine i got 36 in english i blasted. Even if my grammar
is bad, at least i knw emphatic stress,word stress, fill in the gap or
forcados
90% of Jamb candidates that wrote on the 7th,8th and 9th scored below
200, we have been complaning that our exam must be re-marked because
we sure of what we wrote.
Therefore, I urge JAMB to review our exam script. I wish to know what
went wrong. I believe that my real score is much higher than what I
have been given or they should add 40marks just the way they did to
people that wrote on the 27th, 29th of Febuary and 1st of March

Linda you didn't write this piece..where did you copy it from? Please acknowledge the real author before you get sued for plagiarism ...

kc said...

Linda, how much did jamb pay you to write this sweet hyping crab. Did you even listen to all complains of the jambites?
Let me refresh your memory.
Server failure, generator breakdown, system failure.
Senseless score, result combination of Crk, govt. History, wen One sat 4 Physics, maths, chemist,
Its ev en better we go back to the system of basic 7 with which one can apply with directly to any university within and outside the country. JAMB has never been good enough. JAMB Should be SCRAPPED OUT. SHEKENA!!!

I think CBT is a good initiative, it needs some fine tuning but its definitely on track

Noted

#lindafavourite#

not 100% but not as bad as people are making it out to seem. I feel JAMB should improve the system but I do not agree that there is a need for a overhaul

Okay...

jamb has always been failure..................moreover since 40 marks has been added to some candidate then its should be giving to all cuz every Nigeria has equal right ..............................#FUNDAMENTAL HUMAN RIGHT.