Man to return millions to people he duped for online prayers | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday, 18 March 2016

Man to return millions to people he duped for online prayers

A Seattle man, Benjamin Rogovy, running a so-called Christian prayer website and other businesses has been ordered to return millions of dollars to consumers of all over the US  who paid for prayers, the Washington state Attorney General Bob Ferguson said Wednesday.

As part of an agreement,  he will pay back as much as $7.75 million to approximately 165,000 customers who were victims of his fraudulent business practices in several companies he ran.
Rogovy deceived a lot of people in his operation of the Christian Prayer Center. He created fake religious leaders and posted several false testimonials on its website to entice people to pay from $9 to $35 for prayers.

The Christian Prayer Center website, now shut down, showed a message Wednesday saying it is now closed, with links to other prayer sites it says it's not affiliated with.
"We thank you for all the prayers, and we cherish the opportunity to have created a place where Christians could meet to support each other," the message said.
People who bought prayer services from Christian Prayer Service or from its sister website Orcion Cristiana between July 1, 2011 and June 30, 2015, have been told that they can receive a full refund.

Source: AP

29 comments:

Beautiful,

LIB REP (中华人民共和国) said...

Yahoo yahoo pastor, omo ale

Fraudsters everywhere

Mmmmmm
Fake

#spritual

Choi! So ndi ocha na eme udi ifea

He better do.

Charles Chukwuka said...

A lot of grey areas here if you ask me o. You are not supposed to pay for prayers because God's blessings are free. But you need the prayer to activate the blessings, particularly if you are looking for a specific blessing. So if you cannot pray for yourself, shouldn't you be able to 'contract out' your prayer requests? Also, was the guy actually praying for these people? if he was, isn't that fulfilment of his obligations under the contract for prayers? Did the people who he prayed for receive answers to their prayer requests? if they did, should they still ask for a refund of their money? This is funny as kilode...

See the web's funniest content in one convenient place at CharliesLaughs

He is forgiven

Now dats what I'm talking about. Prayer is supposed to be free. Linda take note!

chommy said...

He should pay back everything jare. Linda observe!

Nawo oooo we don't even know Who is Who again they've turned everything to business ; #OlorunKusuru

Damolia.DEW

Good for him...

jamilashaibu15@yahoo.com

Gud one..lessons to others

Goziem Oh LORD said...

Can that happen in my Nigeria country?

ngfineface said...

Abeg he did not dupe anyone. Their prayers may be delayed but it will surely be answered if its for good intention

All this end time pastors God pass una.

Okbye.

online prayers kwa

lollll

Demmy said...

End time is nigh.

Serves him right,you dnt pay for payers. I was even thinking this shit happens only in Nigeria.SMH

Pearlie said...

Fake pastors everywhere
Anybody that collects money before praying for someone is not a man of God. The bible made it clear that" freely you received,freely you shall give".
He should be made to pay to the last kobo
Ole!!

Why are d giving money for prayer

Psalmuelle aka Samstone. said...

End time praying

okey said...

Men are so impatient and vulnerable that is why they give out their earnings to these fraudsters.

Vela said...

419 even in church matter.

Buy why are people so stupid? Even the one u go pgysically n 419 takless of online..Ebe akuru kpom! Ndi mmadu. Pple should wake up oooo#Lindangwanu#

if i hear say naija man do am

PrettyChi said...

Scam pastor

which one is online prayers again.