Hulk Hogan wins sex tape lawsuit against Gawker, gets awarded $115million in damages | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 19 March 2016

Hulk Hogan wins sex tape lawsuit against Gawker, gets awarded $115million in damages

Hulk Hogan has won his lawsuit against porn site, Gawker and has been awarded $115million in damages by a jury in Florida after the website posted a leaked sex video that showed him engaging in sexual intercourse with his best friend's wife without his knowledge. Hulk Hogan said his best friend and his wife had an open marriage and the bestfriend knew he was having sex with the wife. He said he had had sex with his best friend's wife three times but never knew his bestfriend recorded each encounter for his own entertainment.

The jury awarded Hogan $55million for economic injuries and $60million for emotional distress. 
Hogan broke down in tears in the courtroom as the jury's verdict was read.
Gawker will appeal the case, but under Florida law will still have to hand over the monetary damages. 
Gawker founder Nick Denton said outside the courthouse following the verdict; 'Given key evidence and the most important witness were both improperly withheld from this jury, we all knew the appeals court will need to resolve the case. 
'I want to thank our lawyers for their outstanding work and am confident that we would have prevailed at trial if we had been allowed to present the full case to the jury. 
'That’s why we feel very positive about the appeal that we have already begun preparing, as we expect to win this case ultimately.'
Gawker released Hulk Hogan's sex tape after he openly talked about it in the media. They say talking about it in the media gave them the right to release the tape because the public needed to know.

Hogan, whose real name is Terry Bollea, said he did not know the encounter was caught on camera.
He also said during the trial he had his lawyers ask Gawker to take down the tape and told them they could still keep their copy about the contents, but they refused.
Then, after Hogan filed his lawsuit, a judge asked Gakwer to take down the video.
The site published an article soon after with the headline; 'A Judge Told Us to Take Down Our Hulk Hogan Sex Tape Post. We Won't.'
They wrote in the post; 'We publish all manner of stories here. Some are serious, some are frivolous, some are dumb. I am not going to make a case that the future of the Republic rises or falls on the ability of the general public to watch a video of Hulk Hogan f****** his friend's ex-wife. 
'But the Constitution does unambiguously accord us the right to publish true things about public figures. 
'And Campbell's order requiring us to take down not only a very brief, highly edited video excerpt from a 30-minute Hulk Hogan f******session but also a lengthy written account from someone who had watched the entirety of that fucking session, is risible and contemptuous of centuries of First Amendment jurisprudence.'
The video was eventually removed from the site.

The lady Hulk Hogan had sex with in the tape
Hulk Hogan's people said the video shouldn't have been leaked because Hulk Hogan was entitled to his privacy and the video had no value to the public hence shouldn't have been released.

49 comments:

So Api for Papa Hulk Hogan...congrats

Too much money! Congrats to hulk

Hogan can keep the money but the truth remains "he phucked his best friends wife" kai...so much for friendship. Moral of the story is trust no friend wit ur wife.

#LibBadBoy

Hulk Hogan the racist bastard! Is this compensation for your WWE fall out??

Fcvk

Good for him.

Okbye.

Being paid for cheating.

‭OKORO UPGRADED

Rotimi segun said...

Mehn......Naija court no ft grant u dose kin moni...emotion distress moni!!!

Smile to the bank never the less.

Engee said...

I am on the side of hulk,we should keep some things private jare. Hulk collect your money for damages and rock hard.

Sipping my hennessy

Good for him

CreebHills said...

awww, but that money though, MR Hulk can you western Union Me some

Serena Williams Flaunts her Curves in Sexy Black Bikini'

Your friends wife/ex wife.. That's just soooooooo wrong on so many levels.

Wetin person go talk for matter like this😕 hiss

#reeshahr

Dan said...

Let's win more

Cynthus said...

Hulk na wa...

Congrats to him. Linda take note!

Congratulations to him

I'm happy for him

Goood for him.

Gud for dem.

End time court case.. With your friend's friend?😱😳😳.. Hulk Hogan, you won't make heaven 😬

Hmmmmmmnnnnnnn!

o'ben said...

Chuckles""their economy is stable and well planned,,why wouldn't they engage in frivolous activities.

Ann Chetachukwu Ubah MD said...

'Broke down in tears' indeed

promonigeria.com

hrm paul ojeih said...

Damn dey just made hulk a millionaire again

Mirror inTheSun said...

Sleeping with your best friends wife makes you earn a whole gulping $115 million dollars are you kidding me! only in America this can happen...SMH, am sure he is now richer that his best friend.

Smilin......Hulk Hogan kee? Smilin.....wondas shall neva end. Buh y on earth do dey do dat? Des whit pple av fish brain ooooo

Pls were is the sextape link😀😀😁😂

Happy for him

Cee Jay said...

....where the LAW and LAWYERS are working

They have just made him 115 million richer. That can't happen in Nigeria

Whaooooo! Thats much

jamilashaibu15@yahoo.com

Congrats to him on winning the case. I hope his friend whose wife he was banging would claim a part of the money too.

Chyachebe said...

U didn't read where it was said the couple had an open marriage (that means they were sleeping with other people)

Ode, in this case, his friend consented to it

chommy said...

Hmm, see money, it's lyk dis sex tape tin dey pay wella o. Linda observe!

D frnd n d wife were in an open marriage. Na. @Ndubisi

Pls gimme just a million dollars

uju juliet said...

Good for him

That's a very, very HUGE amount of money!! $115mil upon say he fuck person wife???

Long Live LIb!!!

Psalmuelle aka Samstone. said...

Open marriage! So much for friendship

Didn't you read the part where its stated that the friend was in an open marriage with his wife and he knew about hulk having sex with the wife?my friend read the story and comprehend and don't just read the headline.

This oyinbo people sef

Babz said...

O Linda, Gawker is not a porn site!

Who told you he fell out of WWE.he is a legend and will for ever remain a legend as far as wrestling is concern.

Gawker is not a porn site..

Wresting legend always in one problem to another, we are expletive u in wrestelmanial