Photos: See this amazing ice hotel made entirely out of ice and snow that opens only in winter | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 8 January 2016

Photos: See this amazing ice hotel made entirely out of ice and snow that opens only in winter

The Hotel de Glace in Quebec Canada is an amazing edifice made out of ice and snow and attracts millions of visitors yearly. The hotel made of 30,000 tones of ice churned together has beds made out of ice, has 44 rooms and suites and has been open since 2001. See more amazing pics after the cut...

A team of 50 people begin construction of the hotel every December when temperatures fall below zero degrees centigrade and after building the hotel for six weeks, open its doors to tourists from all over the world.

Jacques Desbois, CEO of the ice hotel, was inspired to build it after reading an article about Sweden's Ice Hotel, famously stating: "If they can do it in Sweden, we can do it here in Quebec." He packed his bags and flew to JukkasjÀrvi, Sweden, to meet the creators of the structure with its touristic potential.

142 comments:

Alright, noted.

Wild flowers!

Wow

The heater inside would be out of this world

Whoahhhh!!!!beautiful hope it's not dat cold ooo

Canada for life...... Let's go Linda

Chaweetee_Slim said...

Linda take note,your honeymoon will be here..

Absolutely amazing.

***ECHOMASS***

JAYZSBOSS said...

Wow..so cool

Biko pardon my ignorance but how do they stay warm in these kinda hotel? A building whose walls are totally made of ice?

See you all there........ Let's go Linda

GHOSTFACE said...

Wondderful

numero uno said...

Creativity at its best

amazing...

Nice, white 2much jare #sneh

Makjesty said...

Enter your comment...ahah Aunty Linda that place will be suitable for people like
YOU!

Long live the queen
(Linda Ikeji)

shuga diva said...

wow,so wat happens during summer

Lovely; creative people everywhere.

looks beautiful

Stern's crush

Der is nothing person no go see for dz world..ice hotel kwa?

#linda give me 1bo#

Der is nothing person no go see for dz world..ice hotel kwa?

#linda give me 1bo#

This is wonderful.

paparazi said...

creativity at its height. Nice one

Oyibo

linda Last Born(IPHY) said...

Awwwwwwnnn luvly

Wow! Beautiful!

So they rebuild it every winter??? Its pretty but not safe...and it'll be cold in there...no thanks!

This is not new na Linda, ,maybe its new for all those who depend on LIB for daily news

Mayberry said...

I'll b dere during winter

Edobabe#replinda#

Wao! It's amazing.

Trust it to be freezing in there.
love the ingenuity put to work here.

Linda our honeymoon is going to b der o!

#let's get prepared #

Linda our honeymoon is going to b der o!

#let's get prepared #

Beautiful, I love it

Heavenly, bu d place will b damn cold

Pearlie said...

This is so lovely..seeing myself there already

All I can say is "Waow"

Ann Chetachukwu Ubah MD said...

Beauty!

SHORTEST DUDE said...

Innovation at its peak tho

Mr 47 said...

Reminds me of 007 - Die another day. Me favorite bond movie ever

Omo , no be small pneumonia incubator be this... But very creative..

LINDAIKEJIWANNABE said...

Nawoo,wetin person no go seeoo

Comment by a naija model

A-mazing!!

anaekwe.ucheslimj@gmail.com

Why would i want to send myself to an early grace in a place like this?

I will visit when I travel to Canada next winter

Peony said...

wow!! dis is awesome

blessyn ene said...

Issorit, money miss road

Oyinbo ehn can we ever meet up with them

mijindadi said...

Wow

Wale Mikael said...

Linda this is where we'll spend our honeymoon. 😠

During winter wen errywhr wil trust xtremely cold, person go com tok sey na inside ice hotel him one sleep? And hw do the burners in there not melt the ice mbok? Biko al pass, na too much moni dey cos this kind thinking!!

Wow dis is beautiful, lovely & awesome. Would love to visit someday.

JOYOUS said...

amazing

andre kelvin said...

No be this one dem use for James Bond movie

thank God she made it ....

Eranola Adelani said...

Artistic!

princess Stella said...

Amazing

Wow!!

E make sense. But how Dem wan take preserve during hot weather? LindaGatti help me ask Dem, u dey wait for fees back

AJ MAIN BOY...

Thor's Dad said...

Pneumonia is sure....Jesus is Coming soon tho

funkecrown05@gmail.com said...

Scary

SMURF said...

The day it will melt ehn!!!

Em, no. Don't like it.

Nenyechi said...

Creativity at its peak...reminds me of frozen

There's abundant wisdom in the human brain

KENTON ONUORAH said...

Oyibo wan kill person,my country dey fuck up

Bright De Joseph said...

Ehen, will storm d hotel next winter

Wow

It's nice and creative. Bt after winter, wat happens to it? Hope it won't melt away?

moss said...

Common sense. It's made of ice n snow. asap

Bright De Joseph said...

Yes oohh. She must get married this year.

Chiisunshine(carolips) said...

would be nice to ve my wedding here

I MUST WIN LINDA GIVEAWAY said...

I won't try myself..... And if I must try myself I would use it for my wedding to get beautiful pics that's abt it after that I won't play that kind of rough play

GETAWAY IN THE FREEZER!issorai

*LINDA'S ROOMMATE

WOW....angelmakiz@yahoo.com

GETAWAY IN THE FREEZER!issorai

*LINDA'S ROOMMATE

tee 23 said...

Creative

This is nice...

-LIB PIKIN-

Kris said...

Looks kool. But wouldn't it be very cold in there

omo cold go kill person

#Al sah-him

omg adorable. I am so gonna visit there someday

sandra edah said...

THERE'S NO WAY I'M STAYING IN THIS HOTEL. ITS NOT SAFE!

issokay, seen

Nawa

markJ said...

Shebi person go go use e money buy sickness say na enjoyment?

Chudi Origin said...

You can achieve whatever ......dream big

don snipes said...

So freeking awesome

Ade Joke said...

But, I like it.

Psalmuelle aka Samstone. said...

Now that's creativity, not drinking liquor by turning plastic water bottle to cup. But wait o, what if the ice melts? Guess checks and balances are already in place.

Great job

See brain God give person. I marvel at this jorr

#commonsense

God forbid, I can't subject myself to severe punishment in the name of tourism. Abuja was cold December I sleep in double duvet, so how can I sleep in an ice room I be fish?

Uwa amaka ma ijide ego

Life is sweet gbagam

Hhhhh said...

Dreaming...

This is just amazing though no doubt....

Very creative..

Lindaz in-law(my brother's wife)

So amazing..

Cold go just kill this people

abeg I want to knw won't somebody freeze in it.

Breathtaking.... #udo

Stessy said...

Amazing

DBANJ CRUSH said...

Speechless

LINDA NOTIFY DBANJ

Chap!
What will make me enter there

Great work of art

Mortuary

Linda's pearl said...

Creativity at its best

Nice..

I kept scrolling down to see if I'd see a comment or question of this nature. If I didn't, I'd have known there's a problem on this blog. Walahi. It's still sad that it's just us asking.

Nice creative work!!! % Linda Your Greatest Fan %

Japs said...

Lovely.... Money good sha

Alpacino D said...

Mehn! The heat inside will be so unbearable for me

Elegantmii said...

There must be a way of warming up the place I guess. Really creative!

Wow..nice

Wow

Beautiful...

This is confirm madness! Hotel made of ice. Instead of them to reduce unemployment and reduction of tax,they are building a hotel made of ice. Foolish country

Cold no go kill person for there. Linda take note!

Hmmmm cute

kronikle artz said...

Definitely not for Africans!! Tupu oyi atugbuo umu mmadu!

Na bad belle dey worry you

Cold no go kill person fr dis kain hotel?

emeka4rl said...

Bond...JAmes Bond

It doesn't melt?

Wonder how the heating system work without getting the ice melted.

Whites no go kill us wit creativity

Oh how I love creativity....dis is magnificient

Fantastic

Sure men😊

Amazing..... Beautiful but cold go finish person ooooo

mercy said...

Wow. Creative begins from the mind

Wow beautiful I love this LIB note

Selfmadechef said...

This is absolutely amazing!!!

Babylawyer. said...

Wow! Indeed we are gods. There's ni limit to what a human van achieve.

@Lindaikeji No. I FAN.

Ndi ocha di egwu

Magnificent

Its written there that the hotel is rebuilt every december which happens to be the winter period. So yes it obviously melts buh gets rebuilt

Did u not read d news?? Dats why ppl didnt ask. The hotel only operates during winter. Plsss read d msg b4 looking at d pix. It gives u a clearer view.

Good ...

Creativity at its best....am planning of making something like this in nigeria but with ice block...e go work die

#XENO-FABIAN

Miz Naomi said...

Amazingly beautiful and creative

#Bye