Photos of Oshodi market after it was destroyed by Lagos state govt | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 6 January 2016

Photos of Oshodi market after it was destroyed by Lagos state govt

Owonifari market in the Oshodi, Oshodi/Isolo Local Government Area was destroyed in the early hours of today by Lagos state government officials. Continue to see more photos...

192 comments:

Damn

#LibGotMeUpAllNight

Heeeee

Hope the Government compensates them!

I think the govt has plan

don snipes said...

Maybe d govt has better plans

.....just saying...

Wao, this is awesome oooo

moss said...

WHY THE DISTRUCTION. THEY HAVE NOW PAVE WAY 4 MORE ROBBERS. Asap

It is for a better Nigeria! But I hope they'd provide another place for them soon!

@CruiseControl
mercycruise@yahoo.com

In the bid to stop a problem, u don't create another problem, he jusf left many people jobless now,like its their fault Lagos lacks security, there are better ways to tackle insecurity, not taking away innocent citizens livelihood

Na wa

It is for a better Nigeria! But I hope they'd provide another place for them soon!

@CruiseControl
mercycruise@yahoo.com

Omg na wa ohhh..levelled to the ground noni...its gonna make that place look pretty good...but as long as u guys relocated the marketers to a better place..am cool..

~Make I go drink one bottle of beer~

Is dis d change we vote for? Dey will now giv us stupid excuse, den build shops dat d poor won't be able to afford

Issoriat...

Good one, peace and order will be replaced.

LINDAIKEJIFAN SAID....Chaiii nawa oooo...Umuigbo ataala ahuhu, why dem destroy almighty Oshodi mkt nah?

Not cool. Build a new and more secure market b4 destroying the old. That's people source of livelihood. The crime case will only increase in Lagos . No sense. Change indeed

Hmmmm! #LindaNgwanu#

Admin Xclusive said...

Why??

For crying out loud! why are the demolishing those market places?

Eyesore...!!

This people are seriously mean oh,anyway sabi na lagos carry change for head so make no too complain #Abi#

But why kwanu? What will happen to the traders there now? I hope the state government made available alternative before destroying the market.

#GLORY2GLORY#

Nawa

But why kwanu? What will happen to the traders there now? I hope the state government made available alternative before destroying the market.

#GLORY2GLORY#

JAYZSBOSS said...

What's gonna be the fate of these marketers now? More hunger and suffering!

Hei,y did dey destroy the market na?

Nawa oooooo

Good opportunity for them to go back to Biafra after all they claim Nigeria is a zoo

Ebony AKA Mama Pearl said...

Enter your comment...Choi! Na wa o..people starting the new year in pains,deir businesses gone

Out of the ashes, the Phoenix will arise.

Anticipating

princess Stella said...

Good thought and move by d state Government. That place is a haven for many yeye things. Dirty market that harbour criminals.

princess Stella said...

Good thought and move by d state Government. That place is a haven for many yeye things. Dirty market that harbour criminals.

princess Stella said...

Ambode is working...eko oni baje

Chai...

princess Stella said...

SEEN

I am Coonett

Ruphina said...

On what ground. Linda do something.

This is the 'CHANGE' we voted for. Hardship on low class people.

"Destroy " is deep. #lindaAntiAPC

Kelzz09 said...

Ehyaa!!!!...I hope they have an alternative plan for the traders there.

stelll maya said...

Ehwooh

See apc change oops wicked people

Kelzz09 said...

Difficult to build.... Easy to destroy. Such is life.

Season of change

Na the change Nigeria want dis?

Psalmuelle aka Samstone. said...

Y na? Wat's goin on?

You are a fool .. why don't u think before u write...

Heiyaaa

Gbese re o

Tunde ariyo said...

We want security yet we are not willing to make sacrifices!,

eedris said...

As in, wat daaaaaaa, short of words.

Too bad...
Eyaa... I feel for the traders there

Pesin Pikin said...

Na wa o! Where do they want the sellers to now move to?

Oboy...kai...
#sips OriJin#

That market harbors traffic robbers.

Finally...that place, and others like it, is a mess and a disgrace to the metropolitan...na Okada remain!

linda Last Born(IPHY) said...

Apc change no be una vote dem in....

Eyaa hw are dey qonna make there market back

Shocking

-LIB PIKIN-

Finally somebody someone is thinking. Long over due.

Eyaa hw are dey qonna make there market back

Yeah wonderful change indeed either demolish d market or set fire on it like d others. Mtscheeeeeeew. Wonderful country. We shd really pull d wool out of our eyes.
Anty Linda na only u and ur admin dey read my comments oh. Kontinue...there is God ooo.

hope what dey hav in mind will be better.

Criminals like your father shey?. Anuofia

The legendary Oshodi market is no more

OKORO UPGRADED

hmmmm well let's hope ambode has better plans

Nya c source of livelihood been destroyed

Toni'Fresh West

@DGoldenJenny said...

Am not in support of this ideal @ all
Not after seeing a grown up able man weeping like a child
I hope this is not war against IGBOS
And even if it is.....check out; they will still relocate to a desert n creat a broad way there(oluwa is working for igbos)
Fed.Gov., logosians, yorubas, and everyother person or group of persons can never drive igbos out of this state
The more you block/fight them, the more they are prospering.

GBAM!!!

Another unnecessary mall in view?

change is on

Dis is so sad.

change is on

Ode dindinrin, start by relocating to your state and be a special adviser to your governor. Where were you in the 90s, compare the Oshodi of then and now. Did you teach them what to do?

Imagine demolishing a market as early as 1:30 am this morning. Not giving traders a chance to evacuate their goods after sealing the market.there is no guarantee that the traders will be relocated to the new resettlement market that collapsed while still under construction. This wicked act on the igbos is what causes our fight for the indigenous state of biafra.

Goaldyn Boy said...

I know this market quite well! It is dominated by the Igbos by about 95%! Ambode has shown once again that he is a hater of the Igbos! But the Igbos are like the cedar of Lebanon; the more you cut it, the more it blossoms! It is resilient and evergreen whether in the drought, winter, dry season or rainy season! They are evergreen! They are the envy of all! No amount of conspiracy or oppression can stifle the Igbo Nation! The Yorubas are always quick and excited to hit the igbos below the belt! Otherwise, why wasn't the market destroyed between October and December when the owners are around to pick up some of their goods?! Why should Ambode and company destroy the market when the shop owners have not returned from their Xmas and New Years travels?! Why did they choose January when people are starting a fresh year?! Why did they choose to bring sorrow and misery to these shop owners and their household?! I heard that full grown men were crying uncontrollably because they were not allowed by policemen at the scene to retrieve their goods and wares! That's so heartless to a fellow countryman! Ambode should know that there is repercussion for every evil deed!!!

Imagine the goods worth millions of naira that has just been destroyed. This is nothing but an act of wickedness on the igbos. Demolishing our market as early as 1:30 am Wednesday morning with traders goods still inside of it. Ambode I hope u r ready 4 what is coming.

Wat sacrifices if i may understand

Ope they where compensated??

My view not urs!!!!

new year gift.

It's well

Wher ewill this people start from? i hope the governor has factor their well being in their budget before demolishing their shops.

Amazing Lady said...

Samstone stop using someoone's signature #LIB ADDICT# be original plz

This is sad,and dey wont relocate dem o evn wen they rebuild d poor people wnt be able to afford the shops again.

Shhhhhh! Govt has better plans!

Remi Bailey said...

Don't be surprise to see Wal-Mart store rising up on the demolished lots.

smiles23 said...

Everything is for the betterment of the people of Lagos. We all want a conducive lagos, then we should be ready to make sacrifice. It can only get better. #ekoForShow

I hope the govt did not destroyed the market with the goods of the traders?

Anyway, God will continue to provide for the traders.

TimWiseOne

www.t2sleeky.blogspot.com

Chai, is a pity.

Franklyn said...

Saw it while i was going to work today, as much as it would affect the Traders... the place is a write off.. the buildings are almost falling apart, its not secured at all and thieves do rob the shops everyday.. hope they build something better and affordable

Many buildings are going down this year..... so lagosians wey una house no get town planning better make una start now dey contact agents

AJ MAIN BOY....

Good work by the governor, thank god alternative are already provided

its very disheartening that Lagos state govt is doing these destruction of shops at this time... they came around 2am with bulldozer and destroyed the place including goods and wares... its pathetic the govt has human feeling... how long will sectional and tribal destruction of igbo means of livelihood continue.. God kindly deliver your people from these miopic, demonic, senseless and tribal bigots called eko ti baje tan... amen

They are relocating them to a already built modern market

They are relocating them, to an already built ultra modern market.

This Ambode is getting out of hand o... Double your hustle

Oh...oooo I was planing dat I'll go to oshodi mkt. Is d Govt goin to build new one or what?

Hmm.... Plz, a better provision shld b provided for dem.

Bummyla said...

VOTE FOR CHANGE! http://www.bummyla.com

Anaigbo said...

NDIGBO IS IT NOT TIME??? YOUR WOES WILL CONTINUE TILL YOU LOOK INWARDS AND START MOVING BACK HOME AND ESTABLISH YOUR BUSINESS THERE.THE HATRED WILL NEVER STOP. NOW YOU LOOSE YOUR MEANS OF LIVELYHOOD WHILE AT HOME CELEBRATING CHRISTMAS.THEY ARE MAKING PLANS DAY AND NIGHT AGAINST YOU.AND YOU ARE BLINDLY RELAXED.

He would have to compensate them

FourthOfApril said...

As a good Resident, suggest 3 of the better ways. Hurrh !

Na sledge hammer bill we dey expect for rates be dat

Saw it 2day ooo was in shock
They ave rendered many pple broke nd useless
Hope they compensate them!!

Lindaz inlaw(my brother's wife)

The Next Rated said...

Hmmm so it is this oshodi market that is Lagos' major problem?? that's what you get when you have clueless steal addicts In the helm of affairs.like aregbe like ambode all with a common factor Tifnubu! When he cannot understand the concepts of simple oceaneconomy.what so u expect
#wake up Nigeria

#Bring back our girl!!

MOST OF YOU DON'T WANT TO MOVE CAUSE YOU THINK LAGOS HAS THE POPULATION AND THE MARKET.YOU ARE BOTH,MARKET UNIONS,VILLAGE AND TOWN MEETINGS THIS SHOULD BE TOP OF YOUR AGENDA THIS YEAR,YOU HAVE THE KEY TO CREATE BIGGEST MARKET IN SOUTH EAST BUT CHOOSE TO SUFFER IN SOMEBODIES LAND.!!!!!!!!

There goes people's source of liveyhood.

There goes people's source of livelyhood.

They better have something good in mind.

Well they are illegal structures there but I hope the govt has provided an alternative that does not require the traders to rob a bank before becoming a shoo owner

See hw stupid u sound so??hw. Wz dis security attained all these years wtout destroying d market? If we all cld jst 4 once think abt others n try 2 feel their pains,d world,oh no,nigeriia wld av bin a better place,bt no! We r jst a bunch of self-centered people dat derive joy in others pains!!may God truly help us all!!

Just hope its for good ooo...consider d poor

Crystal clear said...

Any palliative provisions for the displaced traders?....#just be just#

OMO AMBODE HAS STEPPED ON MORE TOES THAN BRF DID. BROS ABEG WATCH YA HEAD OOOO. I'M SURE A LOT OF PPLE R ANGRY WITH HIM RIGHT NOW

WHEN YOU MOVE BACK,SCHOOLS HOSPITALS,BANKS,INDUSTRIES WILL RELOCATE,DO ANY GOVERNMENT DEMOLISH YOUR SHOPS AT ONITHSA,NNEWI AND CO, SO MANY VIRGIN LANDS IN OKIGWE ORLU IHIALA,IDEATO THAT CAN TAKE THE ENTIRE IGBO POPULATION TIMES TWO, YET YOU CHOOSE TO FOLLOW THIS MISTAKE OF OUR FOREFATHERS.IT IS STILL MORNING,IF YOU MOVE BACK SOUTH EAST INTERNALLY GENERATED REVENUE WILL INCREASE TO BUILD NEW HIGHWAYS. THE BALL IS IN YOUR COURT.

There's no better plan oh.. traders have already started looking for shops to rent at Arena..army shopping complex..which is way more expensive than in d demolished market. Most annoying part is most traders still have their goods trapped in their shops as at the time they started demolishing today around 1:30 am.

Teemah salau..what better plans have you heard of?

Sha! Y na? ZINO

Thank u bamidele..its 9c to know sm1 in dis blog knows what the Gov have up their sleeves. Lie lie lie..the reason 4 demolition is a lie..and any promise concerning resettlement of traders after demolition is a lie.

Dear anonymous 12:52 AKA mumu of LIB, it's ingrates like you that do not know the value of what they have until they loose it. Face fact the igbos contributed to the development of lagos with their business. It's wise to say they taught yorubas how to do business.

princess Stella said...

Refrain from name calling. it's my opinion and if you don't support my view, you can object without stooping low using vulgar words.

As dirty as that your decomposed p*ssy bah?

Enlightened fool.

Long over due.

Would you have said this same thing if your source of livelihood was this demolished market ? Or do you think the highway robbers live inside the market?..u should know better our Gov know how to twist things to their favour with crazy reasons just to justify the evil they do..4get the insecurity excuse..before, they said it was because oshodi traders were biafrans planning a protest..demolishing their market would not stop the insecurity in lagos. they want to frustrate the igbos out of lagos..imagine demolishing shops with millions of goods still packed inside of it..the agberos that stay around oshodi and Rob people on the highway at night are not igbos..4get their stupid insecurity excuse..what they did is wrong.

sandra edah said...

ONYX JUST SAID MY MIND

Uzosafetyblog said...

You must be bigot, why not show your face anu mpamah. Awon idile ni dindinrin. #IRepLIb

As long as u dont render pple useless and abandon dem den its a welcome idea.. but i hope goods werent in there otherwise all i can say is there is God oh

Like your father shey?..next time get your facts right b4 you talk. Idiot..its not only the market that harbours traffic robbers your house harbours kidnappers. Moron.

Guess what your house is a mess..soon to b marked 4 demolition

Thank you and God bless you. You just spoke my mind honestly. His reward is in hell fire @ Ambode

Ur head is very correct. God bless your hustle.spoken like a true Nwafor

I concur

The traders were relocated to another market at bolade

They did oh..imagine a demolition exercise that started as early as 1:30 am this morning. It is obvious they didn't want to give the traders a chance to remove their goods 4rm the shops.

Uzosafetyblog said...

What ever. #IRepLIB

Because the story you read is incomplete, you are quick to judge the government. The traders were already relocated

Just imagine..a pure act of wickedness as a new year gift to the traders..imagine telling policemen not to allow traders remove their goods while the market was being demolished. This wicked act on the igbos will never b 4gotten. Why won't they crave for a state of Biafra..its obvious other tribes don't want to see them progress..ambode wants to frustrate the igbos out of lagos.

Your chicken brain is a mess

At dis critical period???
Nawa ooooo
I pray dey hv better plan 4 dis people oooo
If not dia wil b big problem
Linda dont take note!

# oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

Hello, white monkey on shades. Sorry blind monkey..your house is next..if you can read.

I concur @ onyx..ignore the 2 fools in support. They don't have human sympathy.

So-Nature Ifeanyi said...

Do you even know where Oshodi Market is? Stop writing rubbish here. There are more Yorubas than Igbos in that market

Aturu! There are more Yoruba traders than Igbos in Oshodi

just like that?...angelmakiz@yahoo.com

Stop getting Igbos into your madness. There are more Yorubas than Igbos in that market

Shut up! You have never been to Oshodi!

Shut up! This is not Ladipo or Alaba! There are more Yorubas than Igbos in that market. Leave Igbos out of your madness.

Nah wah Oo!! Hope they compensated them

Wow!

Please visit my blog bettykrislav.blogspot.com and kindly subscribe

Wow what can we sey ninu odun tuntun baba ambo u fo consider dis pple

Hian,ohhh! Disgrace??with ur choice of word,i rily pity u o,u want d 'make-believe' life as opposed 2 reality???its d likes of u dat cause feeble people 2 go n steal,prostitute n other crimes. One can think of,cs wen u see dem "cutting their coat according 2 their materials" n seeking 4 every decent way 2 mk ends meet,u spit on dem witout offering dem anoda option!! #change#!!!

Dis is serious o! Linda take note!

KENTON ONUORAH said...

Nice development

Omo see gobe!

Omo see serious gobe!

every gov't uses the igbo to start or tet his powers

Kk o

I'm sure u r envying some1 doin well in dat market. Bad belle.. Gosh wats wf ds wicked change administration

Buhari pls increase nysc allawee

Teema salau pls shut up ur dirty stinking smelling mouth .don't wori d change will affect u soon Goat.#Amaka

emeka4rl said...

people have been sayin he is not working...Hin Don vex.

Japs said...

It's well....

A-JAMMY said...

Berra plans my feet,don't make up untold hardship on already deteriorating economy of the so called ChanGE!

Linda I object to the phrase "destroyed" you used in the heading of this post. You made it sound as if the Govt just moved to the site without prior warning.

1. They (the traders) had been told to move to the new market (Isopakodowo) that was already put in place for them by the past govt of Gov Fashola but they turned deaf ears.

2. The location where the demolished market stood had since inception, been earmarked for what they are now set to use it for - Bus Terminus.

It'll be nice if real details of an incident are known before crucifixion is being carried out.

Note: I am not a politician, I am just a being that follows history.

I don't think it's ideal to destroy a source of people's livelihood when u yet to built another. I don't think everyone can afford to pay for. Expensive shops like Tejuosho market and so on...let's make a better place for lagosians especially the poor#EKoniBaje#Konisewu

But this is not fair ooo petty traders women......Can they afford the money for modernised shops?

Gerrarahia..in igbo shi eba puo..more yorubas my foot. It's obvious you've never been to the main market.

Not in oshodi main market..dats if you've ever been there

Which stupid story, av got shops there..the place they relocated us to has collapsed b4 while still under construction and the previous occupants of the new market, b4 their shops were demolished and this new one built on it have threatened chaos is their shops are given to the oshodi traders. Point is those that have the money have already started looking for shops at the arena. U can confirm the story. It's around 300k.

I wonder if you've ever been to oshodi main market where I do business. If so, you wouldn't be talking like this..95% igbos..go ask.

I do business there moron..and av got boys ur age working 4 me.next time think b4 u type..or u comment as anonymous..which u are.

It's obvious you've never been to oshodi main market..is you've .. you wouldn't be saying shut up to some one that trades there..95% igbos. Dumbass..get your facts right

The previous occupants of isopadowo market have treated hell..if the gov allocate shops for the oshodi ..infact last 2weeks, they came out with all black attire saying. *let us see how oshodi marketers will come and enter our market when we are still alive*..this are people that are known 4 being highly diabolical..their juju is something else..i guess you are not aware that when there market was demolished b4 this nu 1 was built, the policemen that cordinate the demolition exercise all died that same day in a motor accident..oshodi traders are not willing to go and fight with potential herbalist 4 their birth rights.

They had been told by who? ..were they not supposed to serve the traders with an evacuation notice b4 d demolition?..is it oral speculations which could have been a rumor that the traders are supposed to act with?.when it became clear to the traders what was going on was when their market was sealed at midnight on the 2nd of January.. traders that where quick to get the information ran to their shops to remove their goods at about 11:30 pm..only 4 them to be beaten and chased out of the market with tear gas..you can ask 4rm any of the traders..now after sealing the market knowing fully well that traders goods were still trapped in there why did he still demolish the market without allowing them remove their goods. What about those that travelled to the east 4 Christmas and new year..there is no justification 4 what he did my dear..the lagos state government were quick to demolish the market after they were served with a court injunction by the traders lawyer..now tell me is that not wickedness?..that was what prompted his demolition of the market with traders goods still inside their shops.

Who let this fool out of the asylum..no-nature ifeanyi..get your facts right b4 commenting rubbish. Am sure you've never been to the market b4.

Help me ask them oh..if using the market as Bus terminal will help solve the problem of insecurity in lagos

Illegal gang lawon eleyi..

He is just learning how to use the word awesome..new word to him

Ugochi said...

its very disheartening that Lagos state govt is doing these destruction of shops at this time... they came around 2am with bulldozer and destroyed the place including goods and wares... its pathetic the govt has no human feelings..some traders had cash of up to 6million naira in their shops.one of the traders was pleading with police men at the scene of demolition to take 200k and allow him go retrieve his cash from his shop but they refused.is this not an act of wickedness on the igbos? 95% of the traders are igbos... how long will sectional and tribal destruction of igbo means of livelihood continue.. God kindly deliver your people from these miopic, demonic, senseless and tribal idiots... amen

all those speaking good of the actions are just not detailed about the action taken against the market which is primarily dominated by igbo people.

that action can actually trigger war in the country if you dont know
let me tell you , i am not a trader but i know very much about oshodi. as of now and for a very long time now. i will confidently tell you that, the part of the market destroyed is the most decent market in oshodi and to be sincere, if you are very knowledgeable, you will know it is not for the betterment of any nation or state or lagos its just a clear wickedness against the igbo people and God will fight their battle for them just watch and see.

you think ambode is more thoughtful and creative than fashola? did fashola no reach there take off the upper dirty buildings on the market and left the bottom part the wicked man has now gone to destroy with false intentions?

Imagine the police men jubilation and laughing at the traders while the market was being demolished. The idiots still had the guts to batter traders that were trying to recover their goods while their shops where about to be demolished. this are the same traders that pay rent and tax for their shops. Do we have rights as civilians in this country or are we just slaves to this military personnels?..imagine the police men at the cite of demolition beating people that were found snapping or recording the event as if they are criminals. they even locked some people in their black Maria till evening b4 releasing them

Cause they want to frustrate the igbos trading there.

Anonymous 11:52, u r nothing but a big fool that lacks common sense.. is it d traders that are protesting for biafra?..oponu oshi..u must sha comment stupidly

What kind of stupid opinion is that?..if you can't get your facts right, then don't comment. Have you apprehended any criminal b4 that told you he or she is a trader @ oshodi main market?.. how would you feel if I accused you wrongly of being a criminal? e b like say u use dat wig cover ur brain.learn to get ur facts right b4 commenting trash.

Finally, someone that knows the truth of the matter. God bless you jare

My dear your opinion is a very senseless one..how will u say the market harbours criminals, do you sell there? Have you ever been to the market? If you can't get your facts right then shut up Or r u commenting out of mere false speculations you heard.

I pass there everyday & I even saw when they were burning it.

Critics are normal, but I think the reason for these action is best known to the govt which I hope is for the interest of all irrespective of those affected. We all owns our opinion.. Let no one be to aggressive, I sympathize with the victims.. Sure govt must have plans for them! No pain no gain.. #9ja 4eva#