US President Barack Obama put the weight of the Newtown, Connecticut, shooting behind his newly announced gun measures yesterday morning, crying for the 20 school children who died in the 2012 massacre as he stood with their families.
'Every time I think about those kids it gets me mad,' Obama said as tears rolled down his face.
Obama was introduced by Mark Barden, the managing director of Sandy Hook Promise. Barden’s son Daniel was killed in the Dec. 14, 2012 shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary School.
Also on stage with Obama today: Jimmy Greene, the father of Ana Grace, another child murdered in the Newtown massacre.
The president was flanked by gun violence survivors and the families of others who were not as fortunate as he spoke.
Peter Read, a retired Air Force Lieutenant Colonel and the father of Mary Read, killed in the 2007 shooting at Virginia Tech, joined the president on stage as did Jennifer Pinckney,the wife of Reverend Clementa Pinckney, murdered at the Emanuel AME in Charleston last year.
Obama pointedly lambasted Republicans decrying his executive actions and told presidential candidates, including Donald Trump, who have characterized the new measures as the beginning of the end, 'This is not a plot to take away everybody's guns.'
'Contrary to the claims of what some gun rights proponents have suggested, this hasn't been the first step in some slippery slope to mass confiscation,' Obama declared in remarks from the East Room of the White House.
We will not allow law-abiding gun owners to become scapegoats for President Obama’s failed policies - NRA official Chris Cox
To those who are trying to 'twist' his words on the Second Amendment, Obama reminded them, 'I taught constitutional law.'
'I know a little bit about this,' he said. 'I get it.'
'But I also believe that we can find ways to reduce gun violence consistent with the Second Amendment,' he said.
The president berated lawmakers on Capitol Hill for not doing more to keep guns out of the hands of criminals and said, 'The gun lobby may be holding Congress hostage right now but they are not holding America hostage.'
96 comments:
Eeyah
It's well!
Weak president ever
PEPSI ADDICT
His a powerful orator so I won't be surprise if he even gets the audience in tears.
@Lindaikeji No. I FAN
Wat an heart....
Dat is touching
If na my presido he will be formin general as if military people blood dosent run 2ru their veins I wonder when he will show us how emotional he is abt bomb victims
world presido, I grit u sir
Your comment will be visibe after approval waiting
I'm definitely impressed, when you tears rolling down a leader's cheek... you could see the humane feelings towards humanity, unlike some animals here... who have burried the future of the yet unborn children through selfishness and greedyness! #Obama cries for Americans future!
williamsokikiola94@gmail.com
Gun violence in USA is just too much, its terrible...
I feel your pain Obama!
Nice act
Should confiscate it all joor..all these shooting is too much..what's d point..the shooter kills someone he is arrested and sent to jail..a life has been lost..this gun freedom in d state is doing more harm than good I tell u..
~Make I go drink one bottle of beer~
Crocodile tears
!brightosman aka fake phyno .#gerarahere
lol...or eye Don clear abi
princehayz.wordpress.com
He is so passionate like a father...Believe
Fake tears
President with compassion ! Aboki can never cry in the open like this.
Enter your comment...Awww... so emotional.
So sad may there soul rest in peace. PEACE OUT LINDA!!!
touching
Sad
It is terrible o
He is human after all. Linda take note!
Eyah. How pathetic!
See as my man just wept.. Chai!
an African doing so well outside africa,had it being he is a president in africa,corruption would have been his name by now.
He is human.
Okbye.
Too bad!
#linda give me 1bo#
Too bad!
#linda give me 1bo#
one of the best President so far rid on
Am with you Obama. Something needs to be done and very urgently too. Please republicans should remember anybody could be a victim any day.
He feels d pain of people dt voted for him. He represent d masses...
everything na cry.
and buhari no de cry for people wey dem de kill for here o.
LINDA SHOW US UR BOYFRIEND.
I KNOW YOU HAVE ONE.
seen
Eyaa,so sad.
May their soul rest in peace.
Obama I don't knw wat to tell u....My name is fairqueen....
My emotional president Obama,for remaining days in d office
I pray dat God will grant u wisdom to control d uncontrollable
My most trusted president ever
Edo Babe speaking d mind of many
Eyaaaaa..Obama e joor e ma su ekun mo,oti to
Linda's Boo
I don't know why they allow them have guns anyhow.To me,if you are not in the force and have a gun,you are a criminal.
Ban them nah.
Rapuluchukwuifenineadigommakings@yhaoo.com
Straight from Delsu.
Now that is a president, I remembered he cried d day those kids were murdered..it is just too painful
Cry cry baby
#needanalibitojoinmetastethenewgeishasardine
Now this is a president, he feels his people's pain... Double your hustle
Am sure this man can't wait to hand over, make him rest
Very emotional man. Same as me . I for done cry tire
sad...it was really a sad news concerning d children
For the president of a world power to cry on national tv is to tell u how touched he is all he is saying is dat guns should not be allowed in d hands of pple who can not control themselves
Whateva will stop inceessant killings of innocent souls!
Crying will not solve the problem... he should ban the gun once and for all....
Enter your comment...Better for everyone
#Haveyouprayedfornigeriatoday
Awww. When people like this cry, I know that they are gonna do something tangible about the issue. Not when Nigerian leaders sit on the floor with victims of fire outbreak or when Dame Patience cried about the Chibok girls
Where are those that was criticizing Patience Jonathan AkA mama peace for crying on national Tv....Here no 1 president of the world cried on international TV
He's so emotional...I like dis man
From the time America took away the Bible and Christian religious activities from their schools, their educational centers had become death arenas.
Rip kids
Awww...so touchy & sad too.
May God comfort these families.
Nice one Obama
May Almighty God hear your cries and help you.
Such an emotional speech... It's highly time gun laws in USA are revised!
#TheLordMayor
Negodu president crying for his ppl.
I aboslutely agree with him on this...This gun thing is out of hand
Even thou him fake it is still touching, na our president wan do this one? Heart wey strong pass rock
It is well
Always crying
Saw it at Aljazeera.
It's well
Stupidity.. Yet he is bombing innocent Syrian children EVERY DAY!!!!!
@Steven Paul, I agree wif ur comments.
That is a president and a father feeling the pains of his people.
He's human..... he's emotional.....@ivy
Obama a strong leader
hmmmmmmmmmm!
Eyah..i feel for him
Serious problems like this need drastic solutions. They should at least cooperate with president Obama. Want to make it financially in 2016 through network marketing. CALL: 08033187482
The gun rights law obviously brought about more deaths in the U.S than it saved lives.... they should give ceaser what belongs to ceaser by leaving security to God and the police nd other security agents. Period!
Am arra here mehhhnnnnn!
Youngmanuel442@gmail.com
Long Live LIB!
All is well...he just proved he's also got feelings
He should do something about it,like stop legalizing the use of gun,other than shedding crocodile tears.
tears that dont move a nation to change its way......so why cry?????
In a way, I would say having a gun is for good security it's justice for a few disgruntled elements, these terrorist all have an organised way of acquiring weapons one cannot be left without protection, moreover, why is he so Hello bent on removing security from the people, a lot of these people have families they need to security. Lalala
When Patience Jonathan cried shey una make fun of am, say she dey embarrass Nig. Now cos na Obama, una don see emotions. Biased people.
When Patience Jonathan cried shey una make fun of am, say she dey embarrass Nig. Now cos na Obama, una don see emotions, 'an heart'. Biased people.
You must really grow mentally in Jesus name.... my advise is this....try to have atleast basic knowledge before commenting!
Good move Mr president
Sad.
Very dumb idiot... Can you even understand the story behind d news.... Buffoon.. Sorry... Jesus said I shld tell u that u can't grow INJ
Sorry ooo Mr President
sorry sir...angelmakiz@yahoo.com
Touching story
Obama Ebezina o ga adi mma
God sees your heart my president. RIP MY ANGELS!
It's well