Nigeria to start producing pencils in 2 years, says minister | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 6 January 2016

Nigeria to start producing pencils in 2 years, says minister

Minister of Science and Technology, Ogbonaya Onu says Nigeria will start manufacturing her own pencil within the next 2 years. Ogbonnaya said this during a facility tour of Projects Development Institute (PRODA) in Enugu State yesterday January 5th. He said the local manufacturing of pencils will provide 400, 000 jobs for unemployed Nigerians
“It is unthinkable that 55 years after independence, Nigeria is still not producing pencils when we have the human and material resources in the country. PRODA has to produce pencils for Nigeria and they have given me the assurance that this can be done and that with pencil manufacture here, we will be creating 400,000 new jobs. The (Muhammadu) Buhari administration is committed to creating new jobs and growing our economy,” he said.

248 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 248 of 248

dnt b suprised ooooo is toothpick nt been imported(God bless nigeria)

Lol..d most important is to c it become a reality and actually provide employment to d populace.. Bt mehn its so disappointing we don't produce ordinary pencil..gosh

Curvegate said...

God is a Good God, in the 80s Common entrance examination band the use of pencil made in Nigeria, meaning Nigeria was even making pencil when N1 was greater than dollar i till had those pencil very good, to the extend that if it was not HB pencil from oversea you won't be allowed into the examination hall. it made pencil companies in Nigeria to fold up and many family were crying by now those owner should be dead now because i was a child by then, we dare not enter with pencil made from Nigeria, what they were saying was the machine will not pick our score it was just a lie to sell the imported once. thank God corruption of the 80s is fading.

D most important is to c it become a reality and actually provide employment to the populace.. Bt mehn its so disappointing we don't produce ordinary pencils.. Gosh

DG NYSC

Curvegate said...

God is a Good God, bring the pencil companies back even though technology had improved. dont forget "there is no future in paper or simply say no paper in the future" ICT is growing faster than we think, i wish the examination bodies were not corrupt to have stop all made in Nigeria pencil in the 80s

Which way Nigeria? Am ashamed of my fatherland

Lilian chinomso said...

What u can do within 2months highest. U are saying 2years.....shame shame shame......he has just annoyed me with this statement

Wait for the next generation for nnigeria to start manufacturing cars,
And this yeye people go dey tell us for exam hall to come with our HB pencil.I pity dis people, okay contnue

Until recently, I didn't know we don't manufacture pencils.
So shameful.

LINDA IKEJI'S DRIVER:- Am so ashamed Aunty Linda..so we cant produce pencil choi..anyways since we import Tootpick what do u expect

Not pencil na penis he wan talk jare

WTH? Really?

Rapuluchukwuifenineadigommakings@yahoo.com
Reporting from Delsu.

Chai..chai..chai..naija..even pencil?wah a shame

Chai....my beloved country which way. People are going to space, manufacturing air planes ✈ and we will start producing pencil ✏ in 2 years time. God is strength 💪

It's a shame we were importing ordinary pencils! May God help us.

praise said...

imagine to set up a pencil industry will take 2yrs that means biro is 10yrs...God bless 9ja...DEMOCRACY**SMILES

am dead... ordinary pencil we no dey produce

So sad to hear. Shame!

Lol kedu udi akuko di nkea

Don karlitto said...

I no fit laugh......wat of toothpick.nigeria my great country

omotara said...

See stupid and lazy people.. why must y'all wait for govt to do everything for you,why haven't you done your research all this while and found out that pencils are not bn produced in this country,someone finally realised thatt and you all aare abusiing him.. you are actually abusing yourselves you knw, the problem with this country is not the govt, the problem is that we are just too lazy and lacks creativity.. since its ordinary pencil and toothpick,why haven't y'all produced it all ds while.. dumb people!

omotara said...

See another fools.. as if they can afford the car when it's bn produced, think of the millions of people that will use these pencils and think of the few people that will use cars.. NIGERIANS THINK! Haba!

omotara said...

Like what.. jet? Which one can ur father afford out of ur so called "better things" dumb assholes

omotara said...

And where has ur brain been all this year's for you haven realised it and manufacture it.. yes the insult goes to you too

omotara said...

Whaat sector? That average nigerians wont't be able afford?.. what exactly do u people want..?

omotara said...

What else can u produce.. flying mattress? Let's see how creative you are

omotara said...

You must be so dumb.. how many nigerians can afford to buy the car and aeroplane? I'm ssure u urself talking can't afford it,or how many foreigners will come to ur country to buy aeroplane..make them just produce for u to watch abi? Don't u think of profit when doing business?

omotara said...

And u will buy all this with ur 17k minimum wage?

omotara said...

Pls give them clue

omotara said...

A VERY BIG YES.. i'm just tired of replying u people

omotara said...

Making cars for who to buy?.. when people are even complaining of fuel money.

omotara said...

How doesn't it make economic sense?

new girl said...

For affordable bodycon dress add
51667be6

Honestly I think if the Honourable minister and the government is so serious about this, it will brigde some gap in our economic losses considering the magnitude of Nigerian children that will benefit and the accompanied local employment. Let's be abjective guys!

u people are stupid, na pencil una mate they produce?

Ayashyna said...

Abeg wetin Nigeria come dey produce

Miss Ferragamo said...

This has got to be a joke! Hahaha...so they're just looking at starting? And in 2years fa. Haha...

Miss Ferragamo said...

Hahaha...I weep for Nigeria. Chai! Chai!! Chai!!!

Miss Ferragamo said...

Funniest post so far this year.

Ugochi said...

Ok we are waiting.

Adebisi said...

like seriously!!!!! Linda Ifeoma Ikeji when the world is producing and think out of the box!

MUSICIAN said...

Common pencil most of you fools say? Listen, we don't produce, there are no jobs, why not be positive and hope it works..Look at the bright side of things before commenting...Oloshi people..Other countries that are producing pencils..they started from day one abi? shallow brainies EOD!!

Mizz Taygah said...

Lol. For ur info, half bad isn't better than puff puff. I'll take puff puff anyday over full bread.
Tee girl

Mizz Taygah said...

I'll take puff puff to full bread anyday

Mizz Taygah said...

Lol. For ur info, half bad isn't better than puff puff. I'll take puff puff anyday over full bread.
Tee girl

Isi noo gini mmadu naa nu nii m' ododo anyi bikonu o....PENSRIL KWA!!! Aru! Tufia!

Is this supposed to be announcement of progress or declaration of shame...? What is this!?

We import pencils too, that's serious!

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 248 of 248   Newer› Newest»