Sad photos from the NYSC camp in Kwara | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 22 October 2015

Sad photos from the NYSC camp in Kwara

Photos show Corps members in Yikpata camp in Kwara state. The living condition is horrible. NYSC can do better biko.

128 comments:

This is like a police cell

Very bad mehn......Smh

Sad video~Guys beware! see dis babe on FB bragging abt having HIV&spreading it

Hmm

Hmm

Haba! Dis is too bad nah. What is the work of the State Governor. Linda take note!

Quite unfortunate. I friend who served there told me about it, but I didn't believe him. This is sad.

Haba! Dis is too bad nah. What is the work of the State Governor. Linda take note!

Really appalling and pathetic.

Chai! Dis is serious punishment

That is hw nigeria is so one shock am not. This country is fucked and if i lie make i die.....

I was in this camp in 2011, i was lucky not to have been placed in this hall, i stayed in ecomock hotel.... The housing facalities there are not sufficient but yet large numbers of graduates are posted there ....i enjoyed the cold though ..2011 batch C ...aka mr mancho..lol..

Poor living

Yikpata, I was there. Trust me Linda, this is not horrible. This is just a stepping stone. Look for toilets, look at the hostels, and the environment. A snake was found in my hostel. People lived in the box room, without ventilation. Thank goodness I'm out of that place.

Josh Atuanya said...

And to think that I suffered in PH camp?
Bu wait a minute,is ds not IDP's camp?

Too bad, what an NYSC situation.

I remember this place...Terrible!!!

too bad for nysc

plumpy j said...

Please any one has an idea how taraba camp is.

I remember this place...Terrible!!!

too bad

This is beautiful to compare poultry in Obubra camp Cross River State.

Funmilayo Matuluko said...

And i am posted there for batch b stream 1. Chai!

And i was posted there for batch b stream 1. Chai!

Holl@r said...

Dis is horrible

and i am posted there for batch b stream 1

NYSC officials in KWARA state need to visit Ogun state NYSC orientation, make dem learn work.. Omo OGUN ise ya...

OMG!

Dis is really pathetic and unacceptable. Upon all d monies pump into providing amenities for d comfort of dis corper's, some body some where wil pocket all d money.

I call dis handwork of corrupt and pervert individuals dat d Lord wil surely judge.

aproko manager said...

Ugly

Northern Princess 7 said...

what is this? .. Nigeria my Country

E go better

They won't do something about it o, if its how to embezzle fund now, they will master it....

#It WiLL oNLy gET beTTer
#iT mUsT eNd iN prAiSe

carnation41 said...

not good

Nysc is not by force if it's not working out we should scrap it.I dnt know y this country still engages in this no value event that just waste people's time and put them into suffering,all in the name of serving a nation that doesn't even know they exist.

Linda, pls I hope u see this am prAying u see dis, has am writing this am about to sink into depression all because of NYSC. The stories we av erd abt the camps are frightening. Very importantly, the president during his campaign promised an increase in allowee to 39800....I wlD be enormously grateful if u could use ur clouth and media to remind the president cos d present money doesn't cover anything, plus deir shld b a body dat ensures state governments pay. Ontime. You are my last hope and I pray that when u do talk abt dis it wil b wit fervency and dat d govt will do somtin abt it. Thank u

If the government can no longer sustain the program it should be scrapped. I remember when I was in camp we were only 3 in a room

OMG...dis is terrible

Diamond said...

It's same in sokoto camp, terrible

AWWWWWWW...SARAKI.........TOO BAD

Moye says so via BB Passport courtesy LIB....

I served in kwara. Just passed out. Linda, this is not the hostels. These are the people that came late. I pray they get their accommodations issues sorted out though

Deplorable sight, what is wrong with us as a people? I observed my NYSC orientation @ Yikpata in the Eighties, I still recall poignant memories at the camp but this picture profoundly devalues and desecrates my sweet and fond remembrance of a serene and near pristine environment. We need a Revolution!

I was there lastyr. It's not only this hall that's bad I! I was v. Sick, I went to the camp clinic. The doctors there who hvnt even gone for housemanship gave me flagyl to calm down my fever as if I hv running stomach. Please they should close that camp.

The people wey get the mind to sleep for that place, una try.

Hv a frnd criticaly ill in kwara cos of d bad, unhealty treatment given 2 dem corps members. Shes in d hosp now batlin for her life. May GOd heal her IJN. N dis is actualy ma biznes

WORKAMAN said...

Linda please buy beds for them.

I served in kwara State in year 2004/2005 batch B. The condition was this bad too cos I got to camp late. We were sleeping on the floor throughout and at some point, there was shot put(feaces) put everywhere. We just couldnt wait to get out. It was so irritating. At least by now they ought to have improved. Haba!

Yes aunty Linda, I served in kwara Yikpata camp the camp is so horrible and terrible...we see snakes and scorpions everywhere den......Baddest is an understatement

I was there last year and the DG came around to see how bad things were himself, he actually g g governor some weeks to fix things or he will b forced to close the camp,I wan to believe this is one of the picture we took during our stay in that he'll of the camp, I must confess there was little improvement back then but I will be surprise if things are now back to the way it was

Dis camp was better than mine maiduguri 2007 slept outside for 3 weeks inside.

Quite unfortunate, and to think the billions budgeted for this exercise.

Etsako Pearl said...

Hmmm.

nikky said...

I went to this same camp and I must tell you, the condition of the kwara camp is really terrible. I remember when the NYSC director general visited the camp, he said and I quote "Even prisoners live better than this". U can imagine being compared to prisoners. The state government is supposed to build another camp, not even renovation can save that place. Everything about that camp is wrong; feeding, the toilets and bathrooms are appalling, the environment is disgusting, some corps members had scorpion bites...I can go on and on about how horrible yikpata camp is. The government really doesn't care about the welfare of the corpers in the state. Kwara is one of the few if not the only state that doesn't pay state allowance for corpers.

Its not by force to serve I wonder why I will go and suffer my self like this cus I want to serve one country and even the alawie sef na by God intervention before you go see am collect,heaven knows if I get a good job I will just grab exemption letter next year

my opinion said...

This was even the best part of yikpata

Served there

The box rooms were terrible

*no single window in a room housing 20girls or more*

#scrapnysc#

Dey only knw how to steal our money can u jst imagine

Wtf is dis...dey can do beta

esha said...

I guess people need to be enlightened before they speak on issues they are ill-informed about. I wish to enlighten the fellow who sent in this post that it is not NYSCs responsibility to provide accommodation for corps members but the statutory right of the state governments backed by the decree enacting the scheme to do soo,so I expect you to channel your grievances to Kwara state govr to do better. Afterall states like Jigawa, sokoto, katsina, ogun nd recently plateau have befitting accommodation. The scheme have to go through herculean task to get the states to even provide mattrass and bunks @ times to make these CM comfortable. Pls be informed.

When will our Country be in good shape again

When will our country be in good shape again

I was at this same orientation camp in Yikpata(2008). Wasn't this terrible, at least there were bunks, power supply, water tankers erywhr! Guess it keeps deteriorating, zero maintenance...

FG will just turn someone's child to IDP after years in the university..

Please cut off NYSC pls

BIM DIARY MEDIA said...

God help us, please the Government should something about this issue

This is bad!

On the floor ? Chai

Order for your beautiful bedspreads @ 5671CDBE. Delivery available nationwide.

klasique said...

So true... I know d hall

I served in kwara state in 2013 and seriously the camp is hell. I fell sick all through my camp days. It was a very bad experience for me because I never enjoyed my camping there.

If d govt can't make students feel better with this meaningless and corrupted Nysc scheme, then they should do us all a favor and scrap it abeg.

If u see Las Vegas for obubra camp cross river state u go shout

Nassarrawa camp is d best, NYSC help kwara camp oooooo

Madonna University in Kwara State #animalfarm #memories #worse

Godforbid! Just look @how a whole corps of nigeria serving our valuable country for almost 1 good year is living in the camp "phew" so horrible , Government dn't care all they care abt is their own nd of their children it's well!!!

...CYNTHIA commenting from my TOYOTA CRICKET

This is so bad

Still don't know how I survived in dat camp some years ago! The interesting part is dat I met my husband @ Yikpata hehhehehe! We blesses with a son and we give God all d glory. Something good can still come out of Yikpata, ladies pls watch out for d good guys biko!

Goziem Oh LORD said...

Nawaa oooooooo

This is bad news ..

Osun state camp is the best, I enjoyed my stay there.

SMURF said...

I served in this same camp 3years ago, and I slept on that floor 3yrs ago, they claim the rooms were occupy by those that came early!! I slept for 3 weeks on the mattress put on the floor, bathed and defecated in the bush!! I see it hasn't changed still. God Save us all, and the photographer were warned not to snap you in the rooms!!

amanda said...

Hahahah .....how Delta beeeeeee ooooooo,just crying since

And Saraki is senate president? What were him n his father doing as governors of this state? WTH is this? This is highly appalling and unfair! Mscheeeew.. rubbish!

andre kelvin said...

Aminat said...

I remember this place!! Yikpata camp is number one worst NYSC camp in Nigeria.

Olamamasblog said...

Quite degrading!

Haba dis is just embarassing

Kwara state do not value corpers
My kid sis is serving dere
And the treatment they get is horrible

Infection rate is at its peak

Linda wahat can i do, i have been posted to krawa camp despite submitting my marriage certificate and change of name news paper publication and as an international graduate. My hubby and i lives in Abuja. What can i do pls? have only been to ilorin once before. Am to report there on wednesday the 28th of October.

Linda u just scare me with that I'm going there next week, fill like crying now

I served in katsina in 2012 and we also slept on the floor in the hall like this as the hostels were full. We were about 100 in the hall

I served in katsina in 2012 and we also slept on the floor in the hall like this because the hostels were full. We were about 100

Linda u just scare me with that I'm going there next week, fill like crying now

Pls help me linda, am married and we live in abuja, also am an international graduate. Av bn out of the country for seven years. Despite all the documents i submitted I've been posted to this camp. What can i do pls anyone there to help?

Na wao hope I will survive too, going there next week ooooo, linda u just spoil my mode

It's well I will survive this

Naija gym said...

This is so pathetic.Na God go help us for this country..

Naija gym said...

Nawa oo

Elvis.... u don't have 2 lie 2 make a point...Infact Y not type lol instead of lying....
Obubra camp was cool, every1 had a bunk and 1 person 2 1 mattress,enough hostels 4 guys and Infact, guys r alwaz given new mattresses.... the place is well taken care of...

Yes o!i served there!camp was on point!

orisadare muritala said...

Sup, am posted to kwara state, u can beep me on 08063995168

Amarachi that is definitely not true, I stayed in that hall which we called military zone and I didn't report late to the camp

NYSC camp or IDP camp

How is it sad?! No them say under the sun and in the rain

Linda oooo

Na Yikpata dem post me go oooo
resuming on wed............Father have mercy

Francis Rukky said...

gragduate fr dat matter

i served here last year and seriously, the living condition is not favorable. the whole place smells of feaces because no good toilet and we all bath outside because no bathroom. the whole place is sooo irritatingly irritating. the government should do something about it. just imagine, peoples children sleeping on the floor. this is totally preposterous.

PEACE DIKE said...

Terrible, trust me i can never serve outside southeast. #whatnonsense#

My dear, u'r so wrong. It was converted into a hostel when the rooms were not sufficient

May God help our leaders....

enough "catching" of disease here oooooo

Ask our senate president

God save our country o

This is so true, We had the same situation in 2013, There was no proper Hostel accommodation.

I served hia sha... its d no toilet situation dt is worse.... otondos, jst carry ur flagyl on lo key mehn... lol

Numerouno Princess said...

Obubra camp was nice,,so stop lying 2 gain attention..I served there last year

NYSC pls don't post me there biko, choi! It is well #singinavemaria

Go to there office in abuja and complain

lol. i remember this hall like it was yesterday. hahahaha, u dare not leave ur money inside ur bag, cos u might come back n not find the bag entirely. God will c them tru the supposed clarion call

Corpers coming to be benue wannune ur welcome

Heard taraba camp is newly built going there dis Tuesday see you at the camp

Are you for real? Looks like IDP camp, hmmm not nice at all.

Omg I served, there in 2014 and I cried till I left that camp, corpers usually come to my window to take a shit cos there was no toilet, I cld not even open my window no matter how hot the wether, I cld not eat in my Conner or even sleep we had to take our bath outside with the nasty soldier guys flasy touch

With the nasty military men flashing their touch light on our boobs and ass when we are bathing outside, Kai that camp scared me

Huuum let me not even compliAn about the water, I can't even use it to bath but that's what they where using to cook

Or is it the rude camp officials or the coordinator that cannot use his eyes to see a yellow girl

That camp shld me closed dwn permanently

I'm sure NYSC is seeing this