Robert Mugabe wins China's Nobel Peace Price | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 23 October 2015

Robert Mugabe wins China's Nobel Peace Price

Zimbabwe's president, Robert Mugabe has been awarded the Confucius prize, China's version of the Nobel prize. The 91-year old beat off competition from Bill Gates and South Korea's president Park Geun-Hye.  A statement from the prize committee declared that Mugabe had helped to improve the welfare of his people, despite his continual use of intimidation and detainment.
'Ever since Robert Mugabe was sworn in as the president of Zimbabwe in the 1980s, he has worked hard to bring political and economic order to the country and to improve the welfare of the Zimbabwean people by overcoming hardship,' the statement said.
'If Zimbabwe did not have Mugabe as its president, the country would be facing great difficulty – even public security might be in danger,' he told The Guardian.

The Confucius prize was set up in reaction to the Nobel peace prize committee's decision to award imprisoned dissident Liu Xiaobo in 2010. Past winners of the award include Russian president, Vladimir Putin and Cuban despot Fidel Castro.

45 comments:

Congrats to him

I hope they heard what happened in Canada and how old he is. Mtcheew
...Mama J...

Dude really deserve that award though no doubt....

It pays to b outspoken and stand for d truth if not he wouldn't qualify for dis award let alone winning it. Congrats!

Hmmm lol odiegwu, this man lol make I comment my reserve.

He asked obama so marry him bcos of that gay law. Each time I see him I laugh.

That vuvuzela P guy

Beating bill Gates is actually impressive.. God bless your remaining lifetime sir. Psalm 119:17

#It WiLL oNLy gET beTTer
#iT mUsT eNd iN prAiSe

All i can say is.... Lmfao!!!!!!!!

Beausteven said...

He is my... Man... One... Of Africans greatest leader..tho his way doesn't fit with the general... Public opinions but... He sure knows how to work things out.... He is the oldest and the most educated president in the world.... Congratulations to him

Beausteven-blog

What a fat joke...mugabe winning it and the prize itself.A man who has refused to step down from power for how long and he's "president"...look at the past winners anyway.putin man not be a bad man but he's ruthless.but castro is as good as a terrorist.a true despot.china obviously has low standards for peace being a despotic country it self.it has no business issuing peace prize to anyone due to its repressiveness........linlin how far ;) abeg post am

www.glowyshoe.com said...

congrats to him....he is scared of no one

Glowyshoes's blog

My Facebook

The Therapist said...

Congratulations to the well educated man.

Mr_SouL Get Naija Twitter/IG followers/7AB109CB said...

This guy sha, hope he doesn't die still in power

Ladies enhance ur curves with the latest waist trainers, add BBM 55AEFDD Asap

i just love mugabe

Only God knows how much this ape that calls him self the god of zimbabwe bought the prize with looted money.
Noting to celebrate.

Wow.....congratulations sir. Nice one.

I'd rather call it d confusionist prize, I'm sure that's how they derived d name. D organisers are crazy

A big congrats to him. Linda take note!

Tamuno said...

China the Neo colonial penetration experts

Tamuno said...

China the Neo colonial penetration experts

aproko manager said...

ken...phc said...

I totally disagree. Zimbabwe is one of the poorest countries in d world. The fact that u helped gaining independence Fr ur country, does not give him the prerogative to hold on to power for 3decades now. Y won't china give him an award, wen he is in romance with them, allowing dem to ship in plagiarized goods into Zimbabwe, and helping them make millions of dollars, while d average Zimbabwean languishes in penury. Utter Rubbish!!!!!!!!

Congratulations to him

Wow, surprised about that one!

Mimi said...

Yaaaayy!! My hero!!!!! No judgments pls.

TheRealAkon said...

Thank God it is the one from China.

Wao,this man is an hero to their country,God bless him. TIMILEYIN BLESSING

You are correct

Hope the award is worth his contribution in the society.

Delta Truth said...

Mugabe the ruthless head-breaker!

The West-Masters of Double Standard and Killers of Good African Leaders!!!

Tefe said...

clean your own yansh first before u clean others,you are talking about mugabe and Zimbabwe, what about your president whose official age is 75+.

The Leaders, that wants to stay in power till death, should seek to become emperor. Shikenah

This man is very Hanson,

A man so inhumane and prejudiced about gays, what peace has he promoted really? He promotes hate, ignorance, oppression. Of course the main, the real Nobel Peace Prize judges would not honour him. He only wins an alternative, a substitute Nobel Peace Prize.

Thank you! People no know wetin dey happen for news again!!

You are not enlightened!
Please,read more!

China has taken their economic and diplomatic war to another level

Huh? is this true or am i dreaming... president for life, a f***k**g dictator given Nobel what... chai there is God o

I dey laugh.

The title should read "prize " not "price "

Hahaha......tit for tat prize.

AGB said...

You're obviously brainwashed by western media, so you don't know anything.

Yup. So silly. I wonder if they give a 1 mil RMB award with the prize