Photo: Woman with rare skin condition says men find it irresistible | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 19 October 2015

Photo: Woman with rare skin condition says men find it irresistible

A 37-year-old woman, Takeisha Archbald - known as Archie, diagnosed with a rare skin condition, vitiligo, says that her patchy skin tone leaves men weak at the knees - and women sick with envy.

Vitiligo is a condition that makes the skin lose its normal pigment and develop pale marks. While many women would dread to have the eye-catching condition, Archie loves the attention and loves flaunting her white bits.
She said: “Men love my skin. They come up to me all the time and ask to kiss my white spots or tie my shoes. “They call me exotic and beautiful. I love it.”

Although Archie has plenty of male admirers, she often finds that women are not as flattering.
She said: “Women often come up to me and tell me I should cover myself up or get medical treatment. "I find it really offensive – they seem more bothered by my vitiligo than I am.”
The mother-of-two, who is the creative director of Miss Fancy Pants, an organisation that empowers young girls, first developed the condition when she was eight-years-old around her genitalia and knees.
But when she turned 27 she woke up one morning and her skin was drastically different.
White patches appeared on her face, hands, legs and bum – and they had not been there the day before.
She said: “My vitiligo had remained dormant for years and years and it wasn’t until I turned 27 I woke up one day and my entire face was white. “It was alarming and an adjustment.”
After seeking treatment Archie was diagnosed with vitiligo, but the condition is incurable.

While there are treatments available to improve the colour of the white patches, Archie refuses to change her appearance. She was also recommended counselling to cope with the sudden change of her skin – but had no need for it.
Archie with her daughter
She said: “They said I would have a difficult time fitting into society or that I would wake up a little bit more depressed than others. “That’s never been the case, I’m still a normal woman. 
“I do like to wear make-up and I do like to feel sexy and all those things but not to the point where I want to cover my entire self up. “I wear eyeliner and eyeshadow but I don’t wear concealer, blush or foundation.
Archie, who is currently single, hopes to instill her positive outlook in her two daughters.
She said: “The one thing that I can say I’ve taken away from having vitiligo is that you have to either sink or swim, you’re either going to own it or accept it and just be confident with it or you’re going to allow to take over every aspect of you." 

67 comments:

She should havw shown us her nyash (bum bum)

shes pretty....

meenah_wakil on instagram

shes pretty....

meenah_wakil on instagram

Mtsheeewww when she says men you will think it's like everybody o.. whereas it's just like 3%. But I like the motivation you're giving yourself tho

Okay, goodluck to her.

Good for her...

ehidiamen anita said...

Wow... very inspiring, beautiful woman

I like her confidence, looool.. Beautiful woman.

Hmmmmmmm.

She not rich, that is the reason men are running away,lol

Hian! I wonder what's there to envy??? No offence meant sha. Linda take note!

Kayode Odusanya said...

I respect her confidence. I like the picture where she is wearing a black top. This is the same complication that Michael Jackson had, but couldn't live with, so he bleached his whole skin to even things out. Have a great life mami.

Do You Have Problems Lasting Long in Bed?

Everyone is now forming sexy both albinos n vitiligos. It's alright! it's good to feel beautiful in your own skin.

That body aint moving me though.....

Its well wit her soul and I pray d Lord reach her wir his healing arms IJN.

Beloved Linda Ikeji,
U inspire&bless our lives wit everytin dat concerns u mostly ur blog - LIB! Thank u so much for ur New Luxury Home post&ur inspiration msg. Congrats&stay bless alwaz.
Long Live LIB!

SMURF said...

The model girl is making it popular, terrence Jenkins of E! News has it too!!! I know some advise them to bleach the black away and be white.

Well I love her positive spirit but sometimes u just have to console yourself when no one can... What else do I expect her to say..?

Nawao nawetin na hm. Well choice tingyzzz

That vuvuzela P guy
Linda congrats

AMARACHI (LindaIkeji's Daughter) said...

Pls eh cover up. We know you are not ashamed of ur body but pls as a mum put on some clothes

FRANK APOKWU said...

Why would they find that attractive? I guess that's a certain kind of men. I can actually divorce a woman if she wakes up with that on her face lol.

LOL NA JUJU?

AUNTY LINDA.......

Akin said...

I salute your courage and acceptance of faith, as long as you are happy in yourself I think any other opinion is secondary.

I encourage you to keep the keeping on. good girl.

Mother and Daughter very charming indeed.
Akin

LOL NA JUJU?

AUNTY LINDA.......

LOL NA JUJU?

AUNTY LINDA.......

Love Urself nd dats d best way to get others to Love U.

Seriously?

#It WiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
#iT MuSt eNd IN pRAisE

Hmmmmmmmmm

Beautiful woman!

SWEET MOTHER said...

Every man with his own preference

find out your skin type and how to keep it glowing and healthy skin

10 things a woman should NEVER be caught without!!!

lose weight fast with these natural foods

9 things your children should see you do

Women envy it? Guess I'm not part of dat group dat envy dem..

Emdos Supernova said...

She's single and has two child already. *sealed lips*
#emdossupernova

Beautiful and strong.

I see...

She is beautiful none the less

Lol.lying to feel better i see.its alright,i understand

Bravery at its best.Moral of the story-women, love the skin you are in. It's God's gift to you.

She's beautiful

She lucky she's not in Nigeria, ha story wld hav bin a different 1

Glad she is proud of her skin and living her life to the fullest!!!

What?????

They see beyond her condition

amakaluvlyG said...

she is beautiful in her own way..it doesn't stop her from reaching her goals...#inspired by Linda

Only God can heal you for now,sorry and take care

Tears,tears rolling outer my eye,tears of joy,Aunty linda you are a blessing,you've inspire a lot of people out there,LORD JESUS when will my time come. TIMILEYIN BLESSING

I love Her positive attitude.

Order for your beautiful bedspreads @ 5671CDBE. Delivery available nationwide.

Apple Berry said...

I love her self confidence. Her skin is not pleasant to look at but hey, she's not going to kill herself because she's got patches onhet skin! You go girl!

Its well wit her soul and I pray d Lord reach her wir his healing arms IJN.

Beloved Linda Ikeji,
U inspire&bless our lives wit everytin dat concerns u mostly ur blog - LIB! Thank u so much for ur New Luxury Home post&ur inspiration msg. Congrats&stay bless alwaz.
Long Live LIB!

Why u always lying, y d f**k u lying
Hmmm oooh my God
Stop f***king lying heheheheh
She's pretty

She can lie for Africa

Ok, good for her

the flash said...

You're disgusting

Even u dey talk? Everybody wan answer linda ikeji pikin, who go nw answer linda ikeji driver?

Advanced eczema.....

jamal cojo said...

Hehehehe...black and white ass

Y ar u always stupid.....u lseem very confused and lack direction ar u sure u ar alright?

Exactly. D first step to success is to love yourself.

And she's pretty....

Courageous woman. But ild still say she should get medical assistance.

Her confidence is charming.....

If she was Moody no one would have wnted to read this story, not to talk of dropping a nice complement like all of this. Positive attitude .

Did her hubby divorced her becos of her condition?